Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I could be completely wrong here but doesn't that van in particular have quite a fan base? Or am I confusing it with another vw van..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

bear1 wrote: »
    I could be completely wrong here but doesn't that van in particular have quite a fan base? Or am I confusing it with another vw van..

You're right, it does, but converted campers are going for 5-6k, can't see what the appeal with this one is to drive the price that high - Unless I'm missing something and way off the mark here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

A bit of an optimist here - I like these, but €27,500 is about twice what the best XK8 Convertibles of this year are making, and I could probably get 3 of them in not much worse condition for the same price if I was prepared to search hard enough.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/06-jaguar-xk8-convertible-automatic/16210404?campaign=3

Here's a very nice one in the UK that's £8,500, a year newer, and the owner acknowledges that he's looking for top money for it!

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C910141

I'm considering buying one of these as I think they're as close to a guaranteed future classic as you can get. Won't be paying €27.5k though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

The English one is a 97 not 07

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

The English one is a 97 not 07

:D Oops, that's what I get for having about 20 of them open in different browser windows at once!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,947 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The english one belongs in the classic car thread. Its a beaut.

Gravelly wrote: »
    :D Oops, that's what I get for having about 20 of them open in different browser windows at once!!!

Low mileage cabriolets seem to command quite the premium. I can see a 06 cabriolet with 40k miles for £20k right now, and the same model with 80k miles for £14k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭milltown

Overpriced, definitely, but not sure by how much.
    Big petrol engined BMWs with cheap tax are as rare as rocking horse sh!t. Apart from the ipad stuck on top of the dash, it looks like a lovely one too.
    I could see it fetching €12 - 14 grand.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-e36-323i-m52-manual-170bhp-unmodified/16634558

ZTUzYTJhNDg2ZTUyZTg0YzI3NjBhZDZmYWQ3MzM0MmNiQaLfcCoKb4fDlCYn02H5aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b184MjQ0NTgyNXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Near for five grand for a 323i with rusty arches and quarter panel. I just don't see it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭moonlighting

hes some pleb if he thinks hes getting 70g for that. not even sure if it would sell for 5 grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Definitely a bit shellfish with the price there, american mussel or not.

You could probably go to the states, live there for a year and bring one home for less than that..

Theres another one up on donedeal right now, same year and a V8 diesel for €17k. I think I'd live with the left hand drive configuration and save myself fifty odd grand

I didnt cop the rhd actually, my point still stands but swap australia for a few months instead of the US for a year :pac:

I suppose that one is an Australian import?

Not sure, but its where id go looking for one if i was in the market. The rhd conversions are top class in anything i saw there.

I'm now inundated with the memories of driving an almost identical f250 powerstroke around sydneys northern suburbs. All power & noise, absolutely no speed :D

It did have a 7t rated towing capacity though. And a lock system for a 5th wheel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That's a bit shellfish

(Read the ad!)

colm_mcm wrote: »
    That's a bit shellfish

(Read the ad!)

Is there an echo in here? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-e36-323i-m52-manual-170bhp-unmodified/16634558

ZTUzYTJhNDg2ZTUyZTg0YzI3NjBhZDZmYWQ3MzM0MmNiQaLfcCoKb4fDlCYn02H5aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b184MjQ0NTgyNXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Near for five grand for a 323i with rusty arches and quarter panel. I just don't see it

I bought a 100% rust free m sport 323i this year for half that. A clean m sport in the U.K. with a 6 cylinder engine can be picked up for about 2.5 sterling. An se would struggle to get 1.5 sterling. They are climbing in value but some lads seem to think they are rising as fast as the e30.

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Is there an echo in here? :pac:

Oops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Love the rev counter in the F250, redline at 3k rpm.

They're an awful price in Oz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

V8 American muscle... diesel.
    You could fly to America, buy one and ship it to Ireland then clear it insure it and tax it and you'd still save a fortune.
    Eejit

Wouldn't be RHD to be fair. Not that it would necessarily appeal to anyone no matter where the wheel is,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

would you look at the mileage on this one :eek: he's been to mars and back

is it correct or a typo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

fryup wrote: »

is it correct or a typo?

11 Years is 4015 days (yes I know 2017 isn't over yet, so consider this overkill)
    He would have to do avg 565 miles per day
    Avg 60 mph would mean he would have top drive constant, every day, for over 9 hours.

So it's a typo, or, you could've just checked picture 3! :P:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

fryup wrote: »

is it correct or a typo?

If you look at the odometer in snap #3 you will see that its just another example of a pleb that cannot handle a number above 9,999.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

rizzodun wrote: »
    11 Years is 4015 days (yes I know 2017 isn't over yet, so consider this overkill)
    He would have to do avg 565 miles per day
    Avg 60 mph would mean he would have top drive constant, every day, for over 9 hours.

So it's a typo, or, you could've just checked picture 3! :P:D

Jesus, you have waaaay too much time on your hands :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

Mitsubishi Legnum for €8000

YmQxY2Y0ZjRjZTVjZDM3M2NmZWFlMmY2ZjU5YTc1MGL1o_wUfnEen2kxWZNMhgfFaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183NzEyODk2Nnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Might be interested if it was a quarter of the price, if you managed to remove all the decals/stickers and it didn't have a gas conversion.