Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Noon with George Hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Ray Purchase

What else would you expect from a liberal luvvie like Yates, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,973 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

What else would you expect from a liberal luvvie like Yates, right?

LOLwut? Yates is a liberal luvvie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

He's no liberal luvvie, but he is in need of a paying job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Morgans

Interesting that Ivan isnt going down the easy out - saying that what GH said was clumsly but is a good guy and has been for years - but he went beyond that to criticise not only what George said but also his views.

Have only heard Ciara Kelly occasionally on Newstalk, but she didnt do herself any favours on Clare Byrne last night. As Ivan said, last week, Newstalk is working hard to find the new Clare Byrne. (Not that I think she is the epitome of a great broadcaster, those were his words). Think they will need to look further than Ciara Kelly for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

This whole unfortunate debacle has certainly shown up quite a number of public figures for the pathetic followers that they are..

Strangely enough, for me it's the 3 I like the least that have come out looking the best..

One of them is George himself..

It's certainly been a victory of sorts for those who enjoy a good ol dose of outrage and offense although they've actually done their cause huge damage. They're just too caught up in their outrage and offense right now to have the sense of calm and foresight required to see it.

Common sense and freedom to articulate an opinion are the real losers here though..

It's kinda scary when you think about where all this politically correct horse ****e is going to lead us in the end.

Never thought i'd think or say or think this but give me old fashioned conservative right wing values any day..

And that's where the left are pushing normally middle of the road people like me..

Keep it up folks.. Every time you open your gobs and get outraged you lose a little bit more..

Please keep it up :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Morgans wrote: »
    As Ivan said, last week, Newstalk is working hard to find the new Clare Byrne.

This is the sort of rubbish that gets me though.. We are lectured about equality all the time by RTE and Newstalk... What about finding the best new talent, whether they be male or female?.. I mean when that backstabber was on with Marion Finucane at the weekend, she pointed out that almost all of the producers of the shows are female.. Where is the outrage for equality of opportunity for male producers.. Should quotas not be introduced there too?

Or course, a cold honest reading of the situation might be that maybe men are more suited to presenting and women are more suited to being producers. But not that I have just said that, I'm expecting Dil to be picketing the office by lunch time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Ivan Yates pretty strong on Hook's remarks. "I utterly repudiate not only his remarks but his views and they were wholly inappropriate."

Ivan has backed the wrong horse enough times. He's not going to take any further risks.

Or course, a cold honest reading of the situation might be that maybe men are more suited to presenting and women are more suited to being producers. But not that I have just said that, I'm expecting Dil to be picketing the office by lunch time.

Would have to agree..

A bit like comedy...

Most women just aren't all that good at it in my experience..

This is the sort of rubbish that gets me though.. We are lectured about equality all the time by RTE and Newstalk... What about finding the best new talent, whether they be male or female?.. I mean when that backstabber was on with Marion Finucane at the weekend, she pointed out that almost all of the producers of the shows are female.. Where is the outrage for equality of opportunity for male producers.. Should quotas not be introduced there too?

My guess, and its just a guess, is that there may have been some shenanigans of some sort that led to Collete Fitzpatrick leaving the breakfast programme. I felt the editor in her statement at the weekend was keen to show that it had nothing to do with any anti-women issue. When Sarah McInerney was chopped from DriveTime and zero women were on air weekdays primetime, an unfortunate pattern emerged and got the backs up of female media commentators.

My own opinion is that I dont think Paul Williams is as good as Collette Fitzpatrick and I dont think Chris O'Donoghue and many others are as good as Sarah McInerney. I think its wrong to assume that they arent on air because they are women, but it has led to an unfortunate pattern on newstalk.

Swanner wrote: »
    Would have to agree..

A bit like comedy...

Most women just aren't all that good at it in my experience..

Yeah, thats a sexist viewpoint. No need to apologise for it, its your view, but nevertheless sexist.

There are plenty of very good female broadcasters out there, many of which would be far superior to some of the current male presenters on newstalk. And far better than Dil also! Just newstalk doesn't have any on.

Yeah, thats a sexist viewpoint. No need to apologise for it, its your view, but nevertheless sexist.

There are plenty of very good female broadcasters out there, many of which would be far superior to some of the current male presenters on newstalk. And far better than Dil also! Just newstalk doesn't have any on.

Indeed.. I used to make an effort not to be any kind of "ist" but **** that.. People will get outraged anyway so might as well just say it as I see it..

I'm not saying all female presenters are poor. Just most of them imo..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Lyle Nutritious Streptomycin

Indeed.. I used to make an effort not to be any kind of "ist" but **** that.. People will get outraged anyway so might as well just say it as I see it..

Just look at Today FM's , Murieanns decent as is Kelly (new one covering Louise Duffy recently was good - couldn't remember her name) and the rest are awful

Seems like Yates' remarks are a bit of a disappointment. More power to him. I always thought he was a bit of fraud who'd literally go anywhere to generate a spot of self-serving controversy. Appears even he has a red line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Most male presenters are poor as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Ivan has backed the wrong horse enough times. He's not going to take any further risks.

Also Hog and Grunt applies in Ivan's case - an out an out opportunist.

Most male presenters are poor as well.

Yeah but you dont get called sexist for saying it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

VinLieger wrote: »
    Yeah but you dont get called sexist for saying it

The argument used for not having more female presenters is that most female presenters are poor kind of falls apart when you look at how poor most male presenters are.

Not really given that, on the whole, male presenters are still far better at the role.

At least you are honest in your opinion. However, Dil and her likes have every right to call out individuals (and organisations) who hold this view as sexist. There are plenty who get all hot and bothered when being called sexist for having sexist views.

I personally dont agree that females make worse presenters. That of course is very much in the eye of the beholder. I don't think its as clear cut as saying that the best female footballers are miles behind the best males. I think Newstalk might consider an attempt to poach someone like Keelin Shanley from RTE to try to clear up this mess.

At least you are honest in your opinion. However, Dil and her likes have every right to call out individuals (and organisations) who hold this view as sexist. There are plenty who get all hot and bothered when being called sexist for having sexist views.

I personally dont agree that females make worse presenters. That of course is very much in the eye of the beholder. I don't think its as clear cut as saying that the best female footballers are miles behind the best males. I think Newstalk might consider an attempt to poach someone like Keelin Shanley from RTE to try to clear up this mess.

I can't see KS leaving RTE in a million years but she is an excellent presenter and would be a worthy additon to the schedule.

At least you are honest in your opinion. However, Dil and her likes have every right to call out individuals (and organisations) who hold this view as sexist.

Indeed they do.

Shame they don't afford others the same freedoms though isn't it..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

No. Far from it. They have good audiences and have kept them

It does not wash over how worse the performances are of the women

Shanely, O'Callaghan (think people tired of her because of the over exposure rather than her talent, there was a time that she could do no wrong, also, she is easy on the eye, yum) , Mary Kennedy (yes), Joanne Cantwell, Bill's daughter , Claire Byrne and Ella McSweeney (another of the horsey girls) are very good. Tracy Piggott on the racing, some love some hate, is good with interviews .

The rest are not as impressive. McInerney at NT might improve.

Indeed but if you only said "most male presenters are ****" you would just get people nodding and laughing.

If you instead only said "most female presenters are ****" people will call you sexist.

I agree we have a dearth of good presenters across both genders and i dont think it has anything to do with the gender of the presenter either. Im just saying theres a double standard of who you are allowed criticise.

Indeed they do.

Shame they don't afford others the same freedoms though isn't it..

And wait until they are 100% sure which way the wind is blowing before making public statementz, Dil waited nearly a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

TBH the conclusion ive come to is the problem is the over reliance on journalists.

look at some of the most popular best paid broadasters we have still out there now.

marion

joe

pat

dempsy

Darcy.

what have they got in common? None of them are jounalists graduates. christ even VinnyB is a barrister by training. IMO if newstalk want to REALLY compete they need to get away from the toxic levels of nutters thats falling out of that course now

broadcasters ARENT polical activists with microphones

thinking they are is whats fuking up the nationl airwaves. at their core the BEST broadcasters are about asking questions and engaging in a debate in a manner that the general public finds engrossing. thats what pat the engineer and marion the architect bring to their shows. but ultimately they see themselves AS broadcasters.

meaning they could just as easily end up in a career spinning disks as they are grilling politicans.

ask yourself- look at newstalks line up and imagine if ANY of them could present a pop music show. this is what seperates tom dunne, pat kenny, ivan et al from chris donoghue Paul williams and Dill.

it says a lot that the LAST time RTE really had it put up to them was when the pirates were pissing all over them on the ratings fronts in the 80s.

and that was just a bunch of kids arsing around in a garage half the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,513 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Yates is such a cretin. Its not for him to comment or otherwise on whether "My feeling is that it’s the end of George Hook's career with Newstalk". The matter is in process between NT and its employee/contractor, Yates holds exactly the same status and in any other place of employment that would be bang out of order.

If anyone on national radio is likely to meet their fate in the same way, its bloody Yates.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Georges name removed from the jingle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Just tuned in, hoping that ANYONE other than Dr. Ciara would be presenting today.

I reckon she's here to stay now :(

*Time to listen to a podcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Just tuned in, hoping that ANYONE other than Dr. Ciara would be presenting today.

I reckon she's here to say now :(

*Time to listen to a podcast.

im currently streaming the half of pats show from today that i missed listening to sean o rourke.

been working out grand to get me to the 1 o clock news.