Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Noon with George Hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I listened to Ciara Kelly for about 30 minutes and it's clear it was fairly last minute she was drafted in to replace G. Hook. She is just about fumbling through the stuff. There is absolutely no proof she went behind his back or signed a petition or did anything else.

The abuse of her on this thread is despicable and completely over the top.

And btw anyone with an iq higher than their shoe size would know wh txts about G Hook are not read on the programmes. They are trying to put out the fire not burn down the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Check out a certain Chris D for that particular Caesarian event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭Passenger

Is it public as to who signed the petition to have him ousted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

In response to the numerous posts above - she could have said no to presenting today's (in particular) show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

In response to the numerous posts above - she could have said no to presenting today's (in particular) show.

Maybe George asked her to do it? There is no evidence for any fight between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

duploelabs wrote: »
    I am yet to see a single George Hook defender who is female

nice to meet you.

There are quite a few of us you know.

Interesting how the names on the petition were not leaked. Unlike the petition itself. And it makes me wonder.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Passenger wrote: »
    Is it public as to who signed the petition to have him ousted?

Chris O'Donoghue is chief organiser, he went round and personally handed the petition to his colleagues, he even signed a few extra names in himself with the aim of getting back on prime time radio*.

*Probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

quintana76 wrote: »
    Interesting how the names on the petition were not leaked. Unlike the petition itself. And it makes me wonder.

What exactly makes you wonder? Why some of the probably not that well paid production team weren't named to be abused on social media? Do you think Hook is the only one getting abuse? Should Newstalk publicly advertise the spat which is probably at least partly the result of uncertain times on Newstalk that predated Hook's blunder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Five Green Bottles

What Dr. Kelly could have said especially as its Friday is to maybe suggest to all young people both male and female and to issue a warning that no city is safe least of all our cities and that all young people female and male have a duty and responsibility for their own safety.
    Not to take a lift from a stranger. Not to leave your friends with them not known where you are or who you are with. Not to go off to a house or apartment with a stranger that you haven't met before. That we all have a responsibility for our own safety at all times and our actions or inactions can and do contribute to us all putting ourselves at risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,731 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I think what he said has been exaggerated into a more damaging comment. You can't defend rape, but we have seen cases of women who go out drinking, get drunk, go back to hotel rooms with a guy, have sex, regret and forget what happened, and call rape. I think that is what he meant. Sending innocent men to prison in these types of cases is hardly right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Was the petition started because of George Hook or what George Hook said?

I would imagine he's not very popular but if this situation is being used to oust him well then shame on all in Newstalk .

Is Pat Kenny the one one who has spoken out for Hook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭DeadHand

The petition didn't do as well as envisaged by the bullies who drafted it with only a minority of NT staff putting their name to it.

They'll be keeping their heads down now as cowards do when they aren't in the overwhelming majority.

With the dishonouble exception of Dil Victimasinga of course, who has strapped herself to the cross in a massive effort to insert herself into this controversy and make it about her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭optogirl

I think what he said has been exaggerated into a more damaging comment. You can't defend rape, but we have seen cases of women who go out drinking, get drunk, go back to hotel rooms with a guy, have sex, regret and forget what happened, and call rape. I think that is what he meant. Sending innocent men to prison in these types of cases is hardly right.

Well by all this logic then those men only have themselves to blame. (I don't agree with that by the way)....but if we follow the 'sense' of Hook, is no responsibility to be on the shoulders of the falsely accused? Having gone home with a stranger, is he to be surprised when suddenly he's being questioned in court about rape?

What I was really talking about was the original leak. I blame Chris. Chief conspirator in a palace coup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,026 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

What I was really talking about was the original leak. I blame Chris. Chief conspirator in a palace coup.

I'd say what Chris is really outraged about is that he got the boot from Drive making him even further away from owning his own place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 GottaLaugh

His Twitter account @ghook has been removed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

This thread is even more awful than normal.

Hook is an employee. He made statements that cost his employer money. He made comments that brought his employer into disrepute. He made comments that disturbed his colleagues and imperilled the working environment. His employer was more than within its rights to apply any sanction they sought fit and in accordance with their employment terms and conditions.

That is the sum of the matter and no amount of hysterical shrieking from the perpetually agrieved righties will change that.

Opinion is not a magic word that one can attach to the vilest, most irresponsible nonsense you can drag up out the depths of your bowels to incoulate you from criticism, or that means what you've sad can't be flatly wrong and called out as such.

Freedom of speech is not freedom from consequences and it is certainly not an entitlement to host a daily radio show.

A bunch of you need to practice the 5Gs.

Good God Girl Get a Grip.

GottaLaugh wrote: »
    His Twitter account @ghook has been removed.

I'm actually starting to feel sorry for him now.
    He's being used as a scapegoat and now Leo jumping on the bandwagon

Shame on you all for making this out to be a much bigger issue than it really is

He should grow a pair then in his presenting style and agenda. He may be good at office politics but he is delusional if he thinks he is replacing Hook, who is not gone yet, by the way.
    He has a future mission to bore us all to death with his unchallenging righteousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭arrianalexander

Newstalk have no back bone , they have stated they have a process which is ongoing in regards to the comments made

So the process is either someone is suspended until the process is completed or they stay in their position until the process is complete .

So Newstalk let external factors be it sponsors , other media companies social media influence their "process"

I don't condone what he said but everyone is entitled to fairness in a process not having the process changed . And definitely not influenced by the opinions of external factors .

Not that Newstalk cares but I won't listen to the station again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Shame on you all for making this out to be a much bigger issue than it really is

I agree with an earlier comment that his most ardent supporters and fans have actually done him no favours in contributing to the issue escalating to the point it has. Including those on this thread.

What did the Minister for gay pride marches say?

"Taoiseach condemns George Hook remarks following his suspension from Newstalk" reads the headlines

So do we take it Leo didn't condemn his remarks before his suspension???
    Took him long enough to wade in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭DeadHand

meeeeh wrote: »
    I listened to Ciara Kelly for about 30 minutes and it's clear it was fairly last minute she was drafted in to replace G. Hook. She is just about fumbling through the stuff. There is absolutely no proof she went behind his back or signed a petition or did anything else.

She hasn't openly betrayed him but she has failed him as a friend in not supporting him publically.

She could have accepted his apology and vouched for Hook the man as Pat Kenny did while at the same time condemning his clumsy comments. Kenny was a far better, braver friend to Hook than Dr. Kelly despite the fact that, in terms of their respective media careers, Ciara owes Hook a hell of a lot more than Pat does.

As it is, Ciara has wilfully profited from George's wrongful suspension. Unless she did so with Hook's blessing she has betrayed her friend.

At best she has abandoned Hook in his time of need- at worst she betrayed him.

Ain't no bandwagon high enough, ain't no bandwagon low enough to keep Leo from jumping on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

I just listened back to the start of today's programme. What the hell was the "And yes, I'm a woman" comment about. Poor Ciara. A doctor who lives in a big house in Graystones and is given a public platform by RTE and Newstalk is so oppressed. I hear women in Saudi Arabia are planning marches in Riyadh with the slogan "Justice for Dr Kelly"."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

The whole point of listening to NT instead of RTE for me is to listen to uncensored opinions, or at least, more unbiased than t'other one, more opinionated, regardless of whether that hurts my feelings or not on occasion. And many's the time I was infuriated or vexed by comments I heard on NT, many's the time I thought some NT content was "unhelpful" on topics that I'm familiar with.
    So what if there are the few mishaps in language or judgement ? At least it makes you think, it might spark good debate and discussion.

Their reaction in this situation is simply turning me off the radio station. What's the point, if I'm going to end up with the same ultra PC, non-confrontational drivel as Rte ?
    I don't really want to listen to High Noon presented by others to be honest, meh. Controversy is good, even when it's annoying, or vexing, or when apologies are needed afterwards. Then you move on. You don't just wipe off the controversial element.

edit : I'm female btw.

I agree with an earlier comment that his most ardent supporters and fans have actually done him no favours in contributing to the issue escalating to the point it has. Including those on this thread.

You see this is the problem I have within this thread.
    Just because I can see what the man actually meant (albeit in a clumsy awkward George Hook kind of way), does not mean I'm an ardent supporter or fan

I have stated long ago that Im no fan of his.
    What my problem is the bandwagon for "feminism" going on and the ousting of Hook days after the event ( not the day of) . Why? Pressure that's why.
    Not because Newstalk thought it was wrong (if they did he would have been gone straight away)

And now we have the bloody Taoiseach of the country wading in as well!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

The whole point of listening to NT instead of RTE for me is to listen to uncensored opinions, or at least, more unbiased than t'other one, more opinionated, regardless of whether that hurts my feelings or not on occasion. And many's the time I was infuriated or vexed by comments I heard on NT, many's the time I thought some NT content was "unhelpful" on topics that I'm familiar with.
    So what if there are the few mishaps in language or judgement ? At least it makes you think, it might spark good debate and discussion.

Their reaction in this situation is simply turning me off the radio station. What's the point, if I'm going to end up with the same ultra PC, non-confrontational drivel as Rte ?
    I don't really want to listen to High Noon presented by others to be honest, meh. Controversy is good, even when it's annoying, or vexing, or when apologies are needed afterwards. Then you move on. You don't just wipe off the controversial element.

edit : I'm female btw.

Best comment I've read on the topic so far.

Michael Graham came out of this very well. Whether you like his politics or not he was impressive in his support of George. He called him a friend amongst other professional complements. Pity about a lot of the fairweather types closer geographically.