Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Isn't multiculturalism great...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,298 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

That man is bothered. Meanwhile, I had an enjoyable day with my daughter and thought I'd share it. I particularly liked when the Turkish barber was trying to tell her how to pronounce his name. And I was trying to break it down for her. Wins would have been in the corner, getting sick...

Glad you had a good day today. Thanks for sharing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Opama go home will ya.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Opama go home will ya.....

See the lads are back from the pub!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Jaysis the OP is great with a spoon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Academic wrote: »
    Worried about the so-called 'No-go zones'? :pac:

Where are they?

Donal55 wrote: »
    See the lads are back from the pub!!!

Na wasn't allowed out I could have come across some white guys.....

White lives matter.....

Hoora

Wibbs wrote: »
    Touch of right on flavoured projection there Ted? I'm somewhat gratified to see you're so taken with my imagined emotional state. Maybe we should retire to a wilderness and bang tom toms in sympathy? Angry? Nope. Bemused? Yep. Unsurprised at the obvious preach the catechism turgid banality of it? Most definitely. "Meet a gay friend"?. Some of my best friends are ... etc. It's like some Pokemon gotta catch em all parody. With all tropes included. Apologies missed the exclamation marks. To strike a balance.. !!!. ahhh that feels good. Or something.

Ah you're not angry at all at all...

Hope you insist on that for another few strident posts. I'm enjoying it anyway. Great day, and the night has taken a surprisingly amusing turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,527 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

You sound angry.

I had a good day, with people from other countries and cultures. If it bothers you, so be it. Maybe next week I'll meet a gay friend, maybe I'll say it here, just to see you implode with anger!

Oh come on Conor. The term 'virtue signalling' is one that's thrown around these parts quite a bit, but your opening post was more reminiscent of my granny's reaction back in the 1920's when she laid eyes on a black man.

In the 70's and 80's in Ireland that I grew up in too there were plenty of people in both the village and the town of all sorts of skin tones, cultures and countries. Less of the white, Catholic Ireland and something I didn't even bother to notice that we had Irish Indians playing on the B team in hurling before we all went into town for a bag of chips in the chipper owned by a Vietnamese family.

Multiculturalism is nothing new to rural Ireland, either now, nor in the 70's and 80's, and your child is just as likely to grow up in the same white, Catholic Ireland as we did, that seems to be somewhat of a novelty to you.

masta wrote: »
    i;ll tell you one thing for nothing "conor74",

go over to rochdale and spread your message,

I'll tell you one thing for nothing "masta".

You're a rereg who doesn't even have the courage to stand behind their posts on an anonymous forum!

In the 70's and 80's in Ireland that I grew up in too there were plenty of people in both the village and the town of all sorts of skin tones, cultures and countries. Less of the white, Catholic Ireland and something I didn't even bother to notice that we had Irish Indians playing on the B team in hurling before we all went into town for a bag of chips in the chipper owned by a Vietnamese family.

Multiculturalism is nothing new to rural Ireland, either now, nor in the 70's and 80's, and your child is just as likely to grow up in the same white, Catholic Ireland as we did, that seems to be somewhat of a novelty to you.

You didn't grow up in rural South Kerry. No Indians, no Vietnamese. But thankfully, there are now. So my daughter will be exposed to the society you grew up in. Isn't that great?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Yesterday37

Personally I like the enrichment cultural diversity brings.

But I do fear and worry about Ireland becoming a more fragmented society with the associated problems as we have seen in others countries.

I also wonder do people realize the issues that may arise in the decades to come.

For Example last night BBC Newsnight had a story that questioned whether the Justice System in England % Wales was institutionally racist given the % of black inmates in incarcerated. This is not something Ireland pre 1990's would have worried about or had to cope with but Ireland of 2020's may have to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

go to rochdale conor74, stand by your convictions

If its anything like Preston i'd give it a miss.

go to rochdale conor74, stand by your convictions

I'll book the flights tomorrow, I've heard it's beautiful this time of year.

I'll tell you one thing for nothing "masta".

You're a rereg who doesn't even have the courage to stand behind their posts on an anonymous forum!

Well, thats probably because he gets banned not because he closes his account.....nothing to do with his amount of courage.

So, youre probably wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭marcus001

Autochange wrote: »
    Love multiculturalism? how about take the wife and kids on a trip to beautiful Molenbeek In Belgium.
    Immerse yourself in the riots while you explore ghettoized neighborhoods. And if you are lucky you may even run into some radicalized jihadist groups and hear them tell tales about raging suicide attacks on innocent Europeans as seen recently in France, Britain, Spain and Italy.

Fantastic

bu...bu... but this thread is about Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,438 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ahh this old saw trotted out as some sort of explanation with a larger peppering of guilt? 1) The thousands(more like millions) of the Irish diaspora overwhelmingly went to countries that were/are entirely based on immigration. Mainly because they were colonies and the same countries decimated the actual "natives". "multiculturalism" really worked out well for the plains Indians, Aztecs, Aborigines, Maoris and so forth(where many Irish were directly helping screw them up) 2) they went to countries with few or no social parachutes in the form of welfare. Real sink or swim time.

Yep, fair enough, good points. But we're talking multiculturalism in Ireland and modern day American cites.

You've played it well and got lots of likes and thanks that you want and yearn for by bringing up New Zealand, Australian and American indigenous civilisations.

Snuggle up tight for all the good you've done.

Well, thats probably because he gets banned not because he closes his account.....nothing to do with his amount of courage.

So, youre probably wrong.

Presume he gets banned because he spits vitriol with every rereg.

It's hardly admirable either way. But his determination to keep crawling back in is delightful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Yep, fair enough, good points. But we're talking multiculturalism in Ireland and modern day American cites.

You've played it well and got lots of likes and thanks that you want and yearn for by bringing up New Zealand, Australian and American indigenous civilisations.

Snuggle up tight for all the good you've done.

And your point Is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,527 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

You didn't grow up in rural South Kerry. No Indians, no Vietnamese. But thankfully, there are now. So my daughter will be exposed to the society you grew up in. Isn't that great?

It's honestly not something I gave any great thought to Conor tbh, I grew up with it so it's not anything new to me, but South Kerry is hardly the whole of Ireland either, so the "white, Catholic Ireland of the 70's and 80's" was a bit of a head scratcher is all.

fair play conor,

i hope you get your skull bashed in with a rock

Ha! You're even angrier than Wibbs!

So, your lack of exposure to other cultures was a design of your location?

So, why the mention of "white Catholic Ireland", was it just to wind people up to get a reaction?

What was your motivation for this thread? If you wanted to highlight the differences in culture exposure between your childhood in the 70's Vs now, you could have done it without baiting.

Now it just looks like you are out for reactions and a chance to tell people they are racist.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

marcus001 wrote: »
    bu...bu... but this thread is about Ireland!

Could never happen here. Sure we are great craic. Be grand sure.

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Muslims are people's pet hates at the moment. 15 or 20 years ago it was the Polish, till we saw the fine ladies they brought with them. It takes awhile for people to actually meet some Muslim people. Not just see them out the car Windows but actually meet them. When they do they'll realize that they are not monsters. Of course this would happen faster if more Muslims went to the pub :)

Or if they took those black sacks off their women.

I ain't doone nothing bruv.......

Where all the white biatches go.....

I really shouldn't be here....

Won't anyone think of the white lives matter.

The poor children won't anyone think of them children.

Its part of da culture boss.....

Any Muslims I've worked with my age/younger (admittedly small sample 20ish) tend to smoke alot of pot,drink on nights out,do coke etc

Only 1 who didn't was a lad about 17 just outta school,and not known any better,but used to eat everything off the bbq by time I was finishing up there

Wouldn't say we were friends now tbh,but that just me....I don't tend to count anyone I work with as a friend

Wow you've made them out to be real model citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I've never felt happier since rejoining the Church. I'm a proud Irish Catholic.

If you're Confirmed you're a life long member, you can never leave. It's like the Hotel Cali.

I love my church, founded by the Lord and Saviour.

The One True Faith.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

So, why the mention of "white Catholic Ireland", was it just to wind people up to get a reaction?

What was your motivation for this thread? If you wanted to highlight the differences in culture exposure between your childhood in the 70's Vs now, you could have done it without baiting.

Now it just looks like you are out for reactions and a chance to tell people they are racist.

He's close on a troll, might be a gentleman.

I'd say he doesn't get out much, just needs friends sometimes.

Baiting is his game. Pity, he's obviously intellectual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Do you think it could be possible that he made this whole scenario up? :eek:

The motivation was that I had a good day with my daughter, with people from different backgrounds and different cultures, something that I didn't experience in the 1970s.

Thought the OP set that out. Should I rephrase it? If so, how?