Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Isn't multiculturalism great...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,316 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Like the thousands of Irish that helped build (physically and culturally) and continue to culturally influence New York, Chicago, Boston and other parts of the world.

Fair play to you. The Irish, great bunch of lads.
    Ahh this old saw trotted out as some sort of explanation with a larger peppering of guilt? 1) The thousands(more like millions) of the Irish diaspora overwhelmingly went to countries that were/are entirely based on immigration. Mainly because they were colonies and the same countries decimated the actual "natives". "multiculturalism" really worked out well for the plains Indians, Aztecs, Aborigines, Maoris and so forth(where many Irish were directly helping screw them up) 2) they went to countries with few or no social parachutes in the form of welfare. Real sink or swim time.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

People who think multiculturalism is great for Ireland are deluded loonies hiding their heads in the sand.

I married someone from the Midlands and it's going great in fairness, and I like to think I've a good head on me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,316 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I married someone from the Midlands and it's going great in fairness, and I like to think I've a good head on me.
    There are laws agin bestiality T. And I'm not necessarily aiming that at you... :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Army_of_One

People who think multiculturalism is great for Ireland are deluded loonies hiding their heads in the sand.

We don't have to look far too see how multiculturalism works out for western societies, Germany, Spain, Sweden, Paris. England.

Yeah it's great just fecking great.

I don't want to burst your islamaphobic bubble but there is more to multiculturalism than muslims and the middle east...loads of people settle here, live here and marry here.
    South america , Asia and Africa and the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

ThisRegard wrote: »

As long as it's midlandmissus :pac:

I don't want to burst your islamaphobic bubble but there is more to multiculturalism than muslims and the middle east...loads of people settle here, live here and marry here.
    South america , Asia and Africa and the rest.

How did you burst my islamaphobic bubble when I didn't even mention Islam or Muslim?

It's you who assumed they are the problem. Does that make you the Islamaphobic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,298 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I don't want to burst your islamaphobic bubble but there is more to multiculturalism than muslims and the middle east...loads of people settle here, live here and marry here. South america , Asia and Africa and the rest.

Muslims are people's pet hates at the moment. 15 or 20 years ago it was the Polish, till we saw the fine ladies they brought with them. It takes awhile for people to actually meet some Muslim people. Not just see them out the car Windows but actually meet them. When they do they'll realize that they are not monsters. Of course this would happen faster if more Muslims went to the pub :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭FraR

FTA69 wrote: »
    Works grand for me anyway. I'm foreign, my missus is foreign, most people in our area are foreign and everyone seems to get on.

How do the natives feel about it now that they're a mere minority in their own homeland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭spoonerhead

Most people from all types of places come to Ireland and enhance it. Multiculturalism in general is okay. But let's be smart about it aswell!

The only group who don't want to integrate tend to be Muslims. Mainly because religion is cancer. Same if groups of any barbaric religion invades a society it's either their way or no way. We've just wrestled off the shackles of one religion, don't need another one to take over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Most people from all types of places come to Ireland and enhance it. Multiculturalism in general is okay. But let's be smart about it aswell!

The only group who don't want to integrate tend to be Muslims. Mainly because religion is cancer. Same if groups of any barbaric religion invades a society it's either their way or no way. We've just wrestled off the shackles of one religion, don't need another one to take over

Any Muslims I've worked with my age/younger (admittedly small sample 20ish) tend to smoke alot of pot,drink on nights out,do coke etc

Only 1 who didn't was a lad about 17 just outta school,and not known any better,but used to eat everything off the bbq by time I was finishing up there

Wouldn't say we were friends now tbh,but that just me....I don't tend to count anyone I work with as a friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Wibbs wrote: »
    I've rarely seen a more smug self satisfied expression of right on progressive piety on Boards. And that can be a high enough bar at times. I liked the self doubt around being "white", "Catholic" and "Irish" too. As if all three or one is somehow lesser(white gets the lower case for effect). Well done. *slow handclap(trap)* Bonus points. To her delight he produced a lollipop eh? Seem to have covered all the bases there. Though for future efforts, maybe throw in some Gay folks? Though ask them first. And rainbows. Rainbows are good.

Wouldn't really work with gays. Muslims aren't eh, not so fond of them.

Donal55 wrote: »
    Unless lollipops are involved. Everybody likes to give and receive good lollipop.

I love how the Irish have moved into the four corners of the earth. In some cases taking over large areas and leaving an Irish stamp on it. Mention Boston and Irish pop into your head. Paddys day is celebrated world wide. We're proud of our influence in other countries. Yet here in our own country you hear jasus we don't want them foreigners here with their traditions and languages. No we want to stay as we are.
    Sounds a wee bit hypocritical IMO

Wibbs wrote: »
    I've rarely seen a more smug self satisfied expression of right on progressive piety on Boards. And that can be a high enough bar at times. I liked the self doubt around being "white", "Catholic" and "Irish" too. As if all three or one is somehow lesser(white gets the lower case for effect). Well done. *slow handclap(trap)* Bonus points. To her delight he produced a lollipop eh? Seem to have covered all the bases there. Though for future efforts, maybe throw in some Gay folks? Though ask them first. And rainbows. Rainbows are good.

You sound angry.

I had a good day, with people from other countries and cultures. If it bothers you, so be it. Maybe next week I'll meet a gay friend, maybe I'll say it here, just to see you implode with anger!

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I love how the Irish have moved into the four corners of the earth. In some cases talking over large areas and leaving an Irish stamp on it. Mention Boston and Irish pop into your head. Paddys day is celebrated world wide. We're proud of our influence in other countries. Yet here in our own country you hear jasus we don't want them foreigners here with their traditions and languages. No we want to stay as we are.

See below for an argument agin that notion.
    Ahh this old saw trotted out as some sort of explanation with a larger peppering of guilt? 1) The thousands(more like millions) of the Irish diaspora overwhelmingly went to countries that were/are entirely based on immigration. Mainly because they were colonies and the same countries decimated the actual "natives". "multiculturalism" really worked out well for the plains Indians, Aztecs, Aborigines, Maoris and so forth(where many Irish were directly helping screw them up) 2) they went to countries with few or no social parachutes in the form of welfare. Real sink or swim time.

I love how the Irish have moved into the four corners of the earth. In some cases talking over large areas and leaving an Irish stamp on it. Mention Boston and Irish pop into your head. Paddys day is celebrated world wide. We're proud of our influence in other countries. Yet here in our own country you hear jasus we don't want them foreigners here with their traditions and languages. No we want to stay as we are.

We integrated.

And if Paddys day is celebrated world wide. We must have been pretty good at it.

You sound angry.

I had a good day, with people from other countries and cultures. If it bothers you, so be it. Maybe next week I'll meet a gay friend, maybe I'll say it here, just to see you implode with anger!

You can say all you want but I doubt Wibbs will implode with anger. Maybe you will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Donal55 wrote: »

Badly in need of a Jizzlamic revolution :pac:

I don't see them ramming religion down our throats either though. There's a pork sausage hot dog stand In st Anne's park on Saturdays. One of the guy's running it is Muslim. He doesn't eat pork but he doesn't have a problem with me eating it. Apart from being a Muslim, this is all some see when they see him, he seems to be a very nice guy. I don't see a Muslim. I see a friendly jolly guy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Love multiculturalism? how about take the wife and kids on a trip to beautiful Molenbeek In Belgium.
    Immerse yourself in the riots while you explore ghettoized neighborhoods. And if you are lucky you may even run into some radicalized jihadist groups and hear them tell tales about raging suicide attacks on innocent Europeans as seen recently in France, Britain, Spain and Italy.

Fantastic

I don't see them ramming religion down our throats either though. There's a pork sausage hot dog stand In st Anne's park on Saturdays. One of the guy's running it is Muslim. He doesn't eat pork but he doesn't have a problem with me eating it. Apart from being a Muslim, this is all some see when they see him, he seems to be a very nice guy. I don't see a Muslim. I see a friendly jolly guy

What?

You can say all you want but I doubt Wibbs will implode with anger. Maybe you will.

I'd say review the tone of our posts...

That man is bothered. Meanwhile, I had an enjoyable day with my daughter and thought I'd share it. I particularly liked when the Turkish barber was trying to tell her how to pronounce his name. And I was trying to break it down for her. Wins would have been in the corner, getting sick...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

There's 2 diverse posts if ever you saw them.

@Autochange and Sleeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

In principal it does, not so often in practice with certain cultures.

You sound angry.

Touch of right on flavoured projection there Ted? I'm somewhat gratified to see you're so taken with my imagined emotional state. Maybe we should retire to a wilderness and bang tom toms in sympathy? Angry? Nope. Bemused? Yep. Unsurprised at the obvious preach the catechism turgid banality of it? Most definitely. "Meet a gay friend"?. Some of my best friends are ... etc. It's like some Pokemon gotta catch em all parody. With all tropes included. Apologies missed the exclamation marks. To strike a balance.. !!!. ahhh that feels good. Or something.

That man is bothered. Meanwhile, I had an enjoyable day with my daughter and thought I'd share it. I particularly liked when the Turkish barber was trying to tell her how to pronounce his name. And I was trying to break it down for her. Wins would have been in the corner, getting sick...:)

Conor, your mask slips with every post.

We integrated.

Not over night we didn't. People are hardly off the boat here and the hatred started. Come back in 50 years and we'll see if that is a valid argument

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

Is the 74 your age or the year you were born? Either way, you're on a winner.

What?

Turn your hearing aid up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

Autochange wrote: »
    Love multiculturalism? how about take the wife and kids on a trip to beautiful Molenbeek In Belgium.
    Immerse yourself in the riots while you explore ghettoized neighborhoods. And if you are lucky you may even run into some radicalized jihadist groups and hear them tell tales about raging suicide attacks on innocent Europeans as seen recently in France, Britain, Spain and Italy.

Fantastic

Worried about the so-called 'No-go zones'? :pac: