Where were you when you heard princess Diana had died?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

I had slept the night on a fold up yoke on my sisters sitting room floor and I woke to the phone ringing in the kitchen, my brother in law answering it, yapping for a few minutes, then hanging up and slagging off my mum over being devastated that Princess Diana had died.

I went to All-Ireland Football semi final in Croke Park later that day (Mayo v Offaly) and we were wondering would there be a minutes silence or what but there was no acknowledgement at all. Pity - I was curious to see how a minutes silence would have been observed!

• Site Banned Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

Westbrits the lot of ye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Laois_Man wrote: »
    I had slept the night on a fold up yoke on my sisters sitting room floor and I woke to the phone ringing in the kitchen, my brother in law answering it, yapping for a few minutes, then hanging up and slagging off my mum over being devastated that Princess Diana had died.

I went to All-Ireland Football semi final in Croke Park later that day (Mayo v Offaly) and we were wondering would there be a minutes silence or what but there was no acknowledgement at all. Pity - I was curious to see how a minutes silence would have been observed!

Every time people mention her I'm always brought back to that game and the fact that we haven't played in an all ireland semi final since that day.Really depressing thinking it's been so long.

Our performance was by far worst thing that happened that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

What I found jaw dropping was the amount of sad middle aged Irish housewifes who were 'devastated'.

What type of a sad empty life must you have to be devastated by the death of a foreign former...whatever the hell she was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,885 ✭✭✭Allinall

What I found jaw dropping was the amount of sad middle aged Irish housewifes who were 'devastated'.

What type of a sad empty life must you have to be devastated by the death of a foreign former...whatever the hell she was.

Even sadder that you gave it enough attention to have your jaw drop.

Empty life indeed.

What's sad is that many people who have died since, who've contributed much more to this world, have been been completely forgotten.

Pugzilla wrote: »
    What's sad is that many people who have died since, who've contributed much more to this world, have been been completely forgotten.

How would it make any difference if they were remembered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

It's probably a bit geographical too. Where I was I don't remember that much fuss about it but because there is nothing else going on events like Diana's death get more attention. I think the whole 20 years from is getting attention because there is still material to be milked about her but it's clear that besides being a celebrity she had very little influence on the history. That does not negate the impact her death had then. Who today still remembers Jade Goody and yet as far as I know her death was big deal at the time (and I actively avoided any coverage of her). There are some people who have big impact at the time but are then just as quickly forgotten. There won't be much said about Diana in 20 years time.

Allinall wrote: »

Better than being wasted on someone who's greatest achievement was marrying into a foreign royal family.

Pugzilla wrote: »
    Better than being wasted on someone who's greatest achievement was marrying into a foreign royal family.

Every royal family is foreign.

How would it be "better"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Dinging

When Diana died I was on an airplane with my girlfriend (now wife) to the Canaries. Just the 2 of us, we usually keep to ourselves on holidays. I did notice and said to the gf that the place was lacking in something, there was no buzz about the place and the nightlife was ****, everyone seemed to be in a bad mood.

Not sure if Diana's funeral was the Friday or Saturday. Anyway I'm going to take some money from our safe at reception as we are heading out. I have had a few afternoon scoops and was feeling pretty happy with myself. So there's a big crowd around the tv at reception. I ask a guy who's playing? whats the score? he just shakes his head. I assumed they were watching a football match but they were watching the funeral. This woman looks at me, she's balling crying, tells me to hush. I just started laughing I had no idea what was going on but the mix of the afternoon scoops, general giddiness and the intensity of the mood in the room I just got the giggles and couldn't stop laughing. I had no idea anyone died but at this stage I had tears running down my face and people at staring at me. Finally the guy behind reception hands me my money and then tells me that Diana died the week before. It was all very sombre but I had lost it at this stage. I legged it. I think I could have been lynched if I stayed. Poor Diana.

Even sadder that you gave it enough attention to have your jaw drop.

Empty life indeed.

How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

It's the first major world event I remember clearly. I was at my dad's (I always stayed on Sat nights back then) and my step mam had come into my room to pick up my infant brother (who's 21 this Dec!) for his breakfast feed. She came running back into the room (it was an apartment so the kitchen was right next to my room) shrieking that Princess Diana was dead. Watched on telly for the rest of the day.

I know we don't "do" royals, but it was still such a huge deal.

What's your point?

Every royal family is foreign.

How would it be "better"?

Jaysus...do you need everything spelt out for you...slow learner or just lacking imagination..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

See pic

See pic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Well it is.

Pic is terrific!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

I must be blind cant see a pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭alberto67

You ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭pimpmyhat

Is there not a UK site you can post on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Can't believe it's not butter either

There ya go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭alberto67

2 threads for that, you ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

worded wrote: »
    There ya go

Dunno what I can even say about this thanks I guess idk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

Feels like it was ages ago to be honest. Don't really give a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Did the French ever apologise?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Autochange

Cant believe it. Its so sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

I must be blind cant see a pic

Katy_French_Windswept_large_e13740158845752.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-Threads merged