Who would your ideal non politican Taoiseach be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Michael O'Leary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Lucy Kennedy

She would bring a gravitas to the office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I know this is a mere soundbite, but yet there is much truth in it... so to paraphrase Douglas Adams.

Anyone who has the power, the cunning, the money, the connections, the will and everything else to get themselves in a position to be elected leader should under no circumstances be allowed to do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭tigger123

Liam Brady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,775 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Probably Michael O'Leary. He'd get things done with the least fuss and in a sensible and affordable manner which would be in total contrast to the bunch of clowns that currently call themselves government.

I think this would be a populist choice. I agree that he is very good at what he does but I don't think most of those skills are transferable to being Taoiseach.

He would solve the housing crisis, but, everyone in the country would be living in apartment blocks within the M50 (all painted the same colour in every room) with no carparks or room for wheelie bins, because, with no room to store them, then people wouldn't have them. If people didn't have them, he wouldn't have to ensure services such as road maintenance and refuse collection, thus saving money. The waiting list crisis in the countries hospitals would be solved, by determining that some palliative care is the predominant treatment option for those over 75 unless you can afford the true cost of procedures (not health insurance) the true cost which you would pay directly.

Personally, I think Dr Edmond Harty, CEO of Dairymaster would be a good choice. He is intelligent, PHD qualified, was Entrepreneur of the year, has multiple patents to his name. His company is a global leader in its industry. He is a member of the international ISO body and the IDF (dairy industry body) so would be familiar with political behavior. I've hear him speak at conferences a number of times and he is extremely pleasant and unassuming while being very direct in his message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

^ Well thanks for the thanks, but I'm looking at you Attila! ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

backspin. wrote: »
    It shouldn't be a ceremonial role, should have more power.

Like the Queen
    The Queen is not elected. The Irish President is and it seems daft that he has no power. I mean what does he do all day except opening Tesco stores and reading poetry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Miriam O'Callaghan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

branie2 wrote: »
    Miriam O'Callaghan

The gaff in the park wouldn't be enough for her and her 41 kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Ush1 wrote: »
    O'Leary is nothing what so ever like Trump.

Is that a good thing or a bad thing?

Michael Flatley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,200 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The Queen is not elected. The Irish President is and it seems daft that he has no power. I mean what does he do all day except opening Tesco stores and reading poetry?

A job with no power that's better paid than the Taoiseach.

IMO we should have a referendum to decide if we even want a President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Probably Michael O'Leary. He'd get things done with the least fuss and in a sensible and affordable manner which would be in total contrast to the bunch of clowns that currently call themselves government.

Would the cabinet have to purchase their seats

I'd go for Tom Ford, the designer/movie director/fragrance king

It'd be all on time, on budget and they'd be all smelling lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,697 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

A teacher or a doctor maybe

not much sense out of the fella who said Roy Keane or Michael O'Leary, chalk and cheese, one a successful businessman the other a failed manager

RTE's financial guru Eddie Hobbs, financial expertise and business acumen, has his own business plus he also dabbled in politics lately,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,640 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

RTE's financial guru Eddie Hobbs, financial expertise and business acumen, has his own business plus he also dabbled in politics lately,

Hi Eddie

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Hi Eddie

if you give me €5000, i can and will double it in 6 months and treble it in 9, :cool:

imagine what i could do with the countries finances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

I'd take O'Leary as leader any day over Hobbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

A teacher or a doctor maybe

not much sense out of the fella who said Roy Keane or Michael O'Leary, chalk and cheese, one a successful businessman the other a failed manager

You must like our current and previous Taoisigh so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin, but with the condition that no reconciliation with Ryan Tubridy is allowed.

maudgonner wrote: »
    You must like our current and previous Taoisigh so.

no i just think fair play to them for accumulating pensions and i don't even have one ;)

Teachers know everything anyway, everyone knows that, well teachers know that anyway :D

Bob Geldof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

I'd start a poll in this thread on this but it would be a waste of time. Michael O'Leary would win hands down.

Martin O'Neill, world statesman and tells it how it is, fairly put that RTE clown back in his box tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Bono

if you give me €5000, i can and will double it in 6 months and treble it in 9, :cool:

imagine what i could do with the countries finances

note ultimately, in investments, it is the possibility that you could lose money or that your investment may not fulfil all your expectations

Rhianna

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

Davey Fitz all the way!!! The amount of Michael o Leary lovers on here is shocking, a self centered callous git who'd line his pockets in a heartbeat give us the two fingers and ride off into the sunset laughing. He'd make C.J look like Padre Pio...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭bellz_x

Brian Dobson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

jca wrote: »
    Davey Fitz all the way!!! The amount of Michael o Leary lovers on here is shocking, a self centered callous git who'd line his pockets in a heartbeat give us the two fingers and ride off into the sunset laughing. He'd make C.J look like Padre Pio...

Just how much different would that be from some of our past politicians?