Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 157 ✭✭Hawkeye6

dubcat51 wrote: »
    Young o connor is doing well at the saints.big loss on this years minors

What makes you think that, as a matter of interest?

His only underage intercounty experience was for the Under-15 south where his performance was average in Wexford. There is very little evidence to support that he was going to turn into a great hurler. No more than any 13 year old who gives up or concentrates on another sport. In fact his most dominant displays in GAA were probably in Gaelic Football for his club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Hawkeye6 wrote: »
    What makes you think that, as a matter of interest?

His only underage intercounty experience was for the Under-15 south where his performance was average in Wexford. There is very little evidence to support that he was going to turn into a great hurler. No more than any 13 year old who gives up or concentrates on another sport. In fact his most dominant displays in GAA were probably in Gaelic Football for his club.

All players become better when they are left out, injured or change codes. It's always being the way in every sport, always find it amusing but we are all guilty of it at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

O connor loojed teal good 2 me when new ross won colleges v cork.at that point he looked county class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

Anyone know how the 21s are going ahead of next weekend?any practice matches or any fresh injuries?will doheny be near a return?we'll probably see the same team plus pat lyng?hopefully we've rectified the issue at corner back but very little learned since the leinster final.
    Shane walsh,alan murphy and john walsh will be fighting it out for the corner forward position but we need big performance from everyone,maybe blanchfield could do better in the corner or out wing forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

danganabu wrote: »
    All players become better when they are left out, injured or change codes. It's always being the way in every sport, always find it amusing but we are all guilty of it at times.

"Andy Reid Syndrome"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Village87

dubcat51 wrote: »
    O connor loojed teal good 2 me when new ross won colleges v cork.at that point he looked county class.

I heard about that from a friend who teaches in Galway who Good Counsel played in the U16 All Ireland Semi Final. He taught he was an incredible talent, Good Counsel went on to win the All Ireland. Looking at the Kilkenny minors they were lacking a bit of quality.
    Without advertising soccer he is probably better off where he is at the moment with the incredible wages and transfer fees at the moment

Village87 wrote: »
    I heard about that from a friend who teaches in Galway who Good Counsel played in the U16 All Ireland Semi Final. He taught he was an incredible talent, Good Counsel went on to win the All Ireland. Looking at the Kilkenny minors they were lacking a bit of quality.
    Without advertising soccer he is probably better off where he is at the moment with the incredible wages and transfer fees at the moment

So he was outstanding in a Junior "A" Colleges campaign in 2014 and this makes him a huge loss to this years minor team??

Although mentioned in the comprehensive match report for the final, he isn't painted as a superstar and the mention of the semi-final refers to 2 other players as being key. In fact the report also seemed more impressed that he was an Irish Soccer international rather than his hurling ability.

http://www.independent.ie/regionals/goreyguardian/sport/gaa/magnificent-seven-power-counsel-home-30796033.html

I don't want to be undermining any young sportsperson. he certainly has a talent that he is putting to good use. Well done to him. I suppose what I find irritating in GAA, is there is always more concern about those we haven't got rather than those we have got. Fortunately, we still have Ciaran Brennan at the moment so he deserves the plaudits so far and he has earned them in county colours at Under-14 and Under-16 now, though it is unfair to heap too much on any young player that he is going to be the next superstar. Those of us who followed Richie Hogan, will know it did not happen over night in the end for him either.

I often hear lads in clubs talking about this young fellow has huge potential but he is also "big into the soccer" or whatever. If you know this you have two choices; Swing him back to GAA as quickly as possible or focus your development time on the lad you'll know will stay with it. But you see the issue is often those type of lads take more work and a lot of club coaches are lazy, yes lazy, and take the easy option by not developing what look like average or maybe even below average players at underage. If that was always the way, what would have happened the likes of Derek Lyng or Martin Comerford?

Now I'm going to throw a grenade into the mix for a bit of objective debate on the weekend of an All-Ireland Seniro Hurling final that Kilkenny are not involved in... The overall standard of underage club coaching is probably at its lowest point... :eek::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Village87

So he was outstanding in a Junior "A" Colleges campaign in 2014 and this makes him a huge loss to this years minor team??

Although mentioned in the comprehensive match report for the final, he isn't painted as a superstar and the mention of the semi-final refers to 2 other players as being key. In fact the report also seemed more impressed that he was an Irish Soccer international rather than his hurling ability.

http://www.independent.ie/regionals/goreyguardian/sport/gaa/magnificent-seven-power-counsel-home-30796033.html

I don't want to be undermining any young sportsperson. he certainly has a talent that he is putting to good use. Well done to him. I suppose what I find irritating in GAA, is there is always more concern about those we haven't got rather than those we have got. Fortunately, we still have Ciaran Brennan at the moment so he deserves the plaudits so far and he has earned them in county colours at Under-14 and Under-16 now, though it is unfair to heap too much on any young player that he is going to be the next superstar. Those of us who followed Richie Hogan, will know it did not happen over night in the end for him either.

I often hear lads in clubs talking about this young fellow has huge potential but he is also "big into the soccer" or whatever. If you know this you have two choices; Swing him back to GAA as quickly as possible or focus your development time on the lad you'll know will stay with it. But you see the issue is often those type of lads take more work and a lot of club coaches are lazy, yes lazy, and take the easy option by not developing what look like average or maybe even below average players at underage. If that was always the way, what would have happened the likes of Derek Lyng or Martin Comerford?

Now I'm going to throw a grenade into the mix for a bit of objective debate on the weekend of an All-Ireland Seniro Hurling final that Kilkenny are not involved in... The overall standard of underage club coaching is probably at its lowest point... :eek::confused:

Any St Kierans team that win an All Ireland Junior will be backboned by 5 or 6 players on the Kilkenny Minor team, so i presume an "outstanding player" for Good Counsel who win it would potentially be a loss for Kilkenny Minors, I think so anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭northern lad

Some club underage coaches are really excellent, some good, some average, some poor.... No different to any other time in Kilkenny Gaa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

On the subject of underage coaching, some interesting comments from DJ on the matter. Could it be that the kids are harder to coach these days rather than an issue with the coaches/coaching?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Ceist_Beag wrote: »
    On the subject of underage coaching, some interesting comments from DJ on the matter. Could it be that the kids are harder to coach these days rather than an issue with the coaches/coaching?

I read that article yesterday and was thinking that DJ will be the target of faux outrage and PC rubbish from children's groups, ADH experts etc etc and what ever other label they now put on disruptive kids.

But I was also nodding in agreement with everything he was saying :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

The overall standard of underage club coaching is probably at its lowest point... :eek::confused:

You would hardly have any stats to back that up? or is it just your opinion.
    As was mentioned, there have always been good + bad + indifferent coaches for every sport, always.
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

Village87 wrote: »
    "outstanding player" for Good Counsel.

You are basing that purely on hearsay.
    The match report does not suggest that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

danganabu wrote: »
    I read that article yesterday and was thinking that DJ will be the target of faux outrage and PC rubbish from children's groups, ADH experts etc etc and what ever other label they now put on disruptive kids.

But I was also nodding in agreement with everything he was saying :D

From my own personal (admittedly limited) experience, I'm finding that kids are less interested once they leave the training pitch. Kids come back week after week and it's obvious they are doing nothing in between sessions so the progress is very slow. Looking at some of the older groups it's also quite noticeable that a lot of kids are just lazy - basics like running and jumping are an effort. But of course I could be imagining that things were different when I were a lad! :P
    I haven't seen the attitude issues personally but possibly that's more to do with the ages I coach so it could well be all ahead of me yet! :D

Isnt it great that the Waterford people living and/or working in Kilkenny expect Kilkenny people to "shout for" Waterford !
    Isnt it great that some workplaces down here on the border (kilkenny business's in Kilkenny) put up Waterford flags .... to appease their few Waterford workers....

Where are all the Kilkenny flags in Waterford buisness's when Kilkenny are in the Final ?? For some reason the Deise expect us in Kilkenny to want Waterford to win, and if we dont , we are just "Bitter barstewards" and "begrudgers" .....
    In fairness, its mostly from the Bandwagon jumpers, never at a game since the Final in 08, and they cant understand the meaning/feeling of rivalry when the 3 counties are a couple of kilometers apart.

Anyway , may the best team win on Sunday......

greenspurs wrote: »
    Isnt it great that the Waterford people living and/or working in Kilkenny expect Kilkenny people to "shout for" Waterford !
    Isnt it great that some workplaces down here on the border (kilkenny business's in Kilkenny) put up Waterford flags .... to appease their few Waterford workers....

Where are all the Kilkenny flags in Waterford buisness's when Kilkenny are in the Final ?? For some reason the Deise expect us in Kilkenny to want Waterford to win, and if we dont , we are just "Bitter barstewards" and "begrudgers" .....
    In fairness, its mostly from the Bandwagon jumpers, never at a game since the Final in 08, and they cant understand the meaning/feeling of rivalry when the 3 counties are a couple of kilometers apart.

I'm sure they will reciprocate next week for the Under-21 final and the Camogie Final.

oHHH ABSOLUTLEY ............ :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 James lakes

See Mullane wants Mullins, or Aidan Obrien to supply him with a horse if they win, a pie bald pony would be good enough for him. What an insult to a good horse Mcgregor is only trotting after him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,561 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Lads, I don't know why you are getting your knickers in a twist over Waterford. Just sit back and enjoy the match on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Really want galway to win on sunday and put a end to the blanket.hope galway do what dublin did to tyrone last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭kk.man

Common the Leinster champions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

Leave it go man. Life is too short to be as bitter as you are. Every county has bandwagoners. Like Waterford, Kilkenny certainly has plenty too. Lets look forward to hopefully a good game tomorrow and an exciting 2018 where any one of a number of teams could win Liam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,858 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I've actually seen loads of Waterford flags around (north) Kilkenny...people living here etc I assume. I'm shouting for Galway, it's nothing against Waterford or bitterness just really respect their team, have more friends and people I know over there than in Waterford. Galway's is one of my favorite places in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

No real favourite for tomorrow. Just hoping for a cracker. Would like to see Brick win an all Ireland as I would Joe Canning. Probably Bricks last chance though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭davidx40

The last few days has reminded me why i never wanted to see the waterford team with mullane to win an all ireland ......what a absolute embarresment to waterford and gaa.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

kk.man wrote: »
    Common the Leinster champions!

Isn't it great to see Liam back in Leinster, where he belongs? :D

davidx40 wrote: »
    The last few days has reminded me why i never wanted to see the waterford team with mullane to win an all ireland ......what a absolute embarresment to waterford and gaa.........

What the fcuk was the point of your post? :rolleyes:

Stop embarrassing the rest of us KK folk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

How terrible of him to have passion for the sport and his county. That's not what the gaa is all about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

Definitely not a fan of mullane as a pundit but I wouldn't paint all waterford with the brush of mullane,the likes of ken mcgrath or tony brown sound like gents.
    Hard luck to our neighbours but truth being told galway were the best team in the country all year and backed that up today with a better spread of scorers although I thought there full back line looked nervous at times.
    Unfortunately poor brick probably leaves the county scene without a precious medal but fair play to galway no one could begrudge them or joe.

The U-21 final next Saturday is on at 3pm. It's normally on around 5 or 7pm.
    Any particular reason why it has been moved forward? Is it because KK are in the camogie final in Croke Park the next day?