Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Moggy13

The closer this game gets the more confident I'm getting. Because of waterfords system it means we will end up having a sweeper aswell and fortunately for us Aidan Harte is brilliant in this role so their sweeper doesn't worry me at all.

The main reason I'm confident is I just think we have significantly better forwards who will be much more capable of taking the chances that come their way, ultimately this will be the difference. Added to this Waterford haven't come up against a backline anywhere near as strong as ours all year so I think they'll find scores hard to come by on Sunday.

The one thing we have struggled with this year is scoring goals but when you have forwards good enough to hit 25+ points every day they go out goals take on less of an importance so we may not even need one Sunday.

I also think Conor Gleeson is a huge loss as he would have been ear marked to follow Joe everywhere so now they need to find another solution to try to contain his influence.

Galway by 6.

Galway haven't come up against a backline as strong as Waterfords either though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,079 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Just looking at Galway's record in finals, they've lost 19 finals and only won 4 times not to mention losing their last 6. That's one awful record. Unlikely to have any bearing on Sunday against Waterford but sometimes tradition can get into the psyche.

Still looking for tickets myself, think my best bet would be outside quinns on Sunday.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Just looking at Galway's record in finals, they've lost 19 finals and only won 4 times not to mention losing their last 6. That's one awful record. Unlikely to have any bearing on Sunday against Waterford but sometimes tradition can get into the psyche.

Still looking for tickets myself, think my best bet would be outside quinns on Sunday.

Since joining Leinster,it has been the turning point for Galway hurling as far as experience and tactical nous has been concerned.Up to this it was a semifinal to be ready for which always had a huge element of surprise for any team playing Galway.
    Invariably Galway caught most opposition by surprise but with only one game played before the final lack of game time,match cuteness and the ability to weather any bad 5 or ten minute spell would led to panic and doubt would set in.Also performances wise Galway had to be at 110% fitness wise and intensity for a semi which would always lead to a drop off in the finals they contested.
    So been in Leinster has now given Galway the game time to realise that they can trust in themselves with thier fitness,tactics and coaching ability to belief in themselves to win sticky matches as the last 3 semis have proved a point either way.Coens pass the Canning against tipp shows the difference between now and then,belief and confidence to trust each other's ability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Tyson Fury wrote: »

To be fair those stats are somewhat skewed by the period when they were outside of Leinster and straight into a semi each year. And since then they have been unlucky to face the greatest team ever in two of those finals and the only one that I would consider that they probably should have won was the 2001 final against a bang average Tipp team (albeit excellently managed).

Even if events the majority of which took place before any of this years team were to have any effect, its not as if Waterford exactly have a great record either, they have been in far less finals and have lost 66% of those they were in.

If either team was playing one of the traditional big three then yes it might play some minor psychological part but the truth is that both counties are in a similar space in that regard.

With the exception of Limerick and Dublin every other top tier county has won at least one AI since either of this years finalists took top honours, it really is piss or get off the pot for both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Sister was telling me she was talking to a lad who told her he had tickets in his hand for section 336 in the Hogan and they weren't good enough for him so he wouldn't take them.

He doesn't deserve one at all with that attitude!

aidan24326 wrote: »
    He doesn't deserve one at all with that attitude!

He will have a grand seat on a barstool where he can pontificate about how he was a better hurler that any of them lads until he got a bad injury......you know the type :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,854 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I don't mind who wins Sunday, love see Waterford do it as they been great value and they had some great Hurlers past 20 years who sadly never won a AI, but then you have a player like Joe Canning and one greatest players still missing that AI medal.

I just think Galway will have too much and don't forget Cork were on top of Waterford for much the game till silly individual mistakes. Can't see Galway doing that and as easy to do it over like Cork did.

Galway by 3

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

I am getting nervous now (Galway man) but it should be a cracking final. I really see it as a 50/50 game, despite the odds, because anything can happen in a final. They are 2 fine teams. And we must remember that Waterford almost put Galway out of the league competition just a few months ago.

I am still marked with how flat Galway were in the 2nd half of the 2015 All Ireland final. God only knows what went on in the dressing room at half time.

I actually expect a sending off or two on Sunday. I hope not but with all that power in defence, something has to give!

It's funny to see so many use the minor final of 2013 as some kind of barometer for this game.

Looking over both teams there's not half as many involved than there was in the semi final of 2009 which Galway won handily.

From those teams I count 6 and 5 from the starting teams who are prominent squad members... the only anomaly is D.Glennon who's appearances have diminished as of this year but he's still knocking around.

That game has as much bearing as 2013 though.. slim to none.
    The majority of both sets of players have under age titles and have played against each other winning them.

Development or lack thereof between minor and senior kills that fact line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,094 ✭✭✭threeball

Galway are the better balanced team. Most teams have an excellent forward line but inferior backs or vice versa but theres very few teams that have a very strong back and forward 6. If Galway get over the line, as I expect them to, l believe they could become a serious force in hurling over the next few years. They remind me a little of kk in the early part of this decade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

threeball wrote: »
    Galway are the better balanced team. Most teams have an excellent forward line but inferior backs or vice versa but theres very few teams that have a very strong back and forward 6. If Galway get over the line, as I expect them to, l believe they could become a serious force in hurling over the next few years. They remind me a little of kk in the early part of this decade.

Probably best leave them win one before comparing them to a team that won 4 in 5 years.

You should probably read the post again

It doesn't matter that you've said "if they go on and win it", it's still a very premature statement.

Tipperary are a perfect example. In 2010, there was a popular opinion that they would take up the mantle and have a Kilkennyesque dominance due to their incredibly favourable age profile and talent pool. I think they have been excellent generally since, but they only have 1 more to show for in 7 years which highlights how incredible Kilkennys achievement was. I think it would be doing them quite a disservice to compare any team to them until they actually achieve that success.

I also think this year showed the signs of the competitive and open nature that we can expect in the championships of the coming years. I personally cannot see any team being dominant. One thing that might aid Galway is being in Leinster but with the talk of a restructure I would not be counting on it either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

People have been saying teams will be "the next kilkenny" etc. ever since 2010 when they lost to Tipp.

The talent of that team was exceptional and their dominance was an anomaly, we won't get a team like that for another 30-40 years.

People have been saying teams will be "the next kilkenny" etc. ever since 2010 when they lost to Tipp.

The talent of that team was exceptional and their dominance was an anomaly, we won't get a team like that for another 30-40 years.

The stars really aligned for them because from 2002-2010 they had phenomenal minor and u21 teams that followed that Senior team from 98-2002 which itself was a very competitive team. This gave Cody the luxury of introducing intense competition within the panel.

It doesn't matter that you've said "if they go on and win it", it's still a very premature statement.

Tipperary are a perfect example. In 2010, there was a popular opinion that they would take up the mantle and have a Kilkennyesque dominance due to their incredibly favourable age profile and talent pool. I think they have been excellent generally since, but they only have 1 more to show for in 7 years which highlights how incredible Kilkennys achievement was. I think it would be doing them quite a disservice to compare any team to them until they actually achieve that success.

I also think this year showed the signs of the competitive and open nature that we can expect in the championships of the coming years. I personally cannot see any team being dominant. One thing that might aid Galway is being in Leinster but with the talk of a restructure I would not be counting on it either.

Perhaps you should also learn to differentiate when a person says "they remind me a little" vs they're a carbon copy/reincarnation/whatever other totally different interpretation you decided to find in the post to suit your non sensical argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭letowski

We will likely never see in our lifetime a county win 11 AI's in a 16 year span, but it wouldn't be implausible for Joe Canning to retire with 2 or 3 AI's. But that will have alot to do with Sunday, they have a great chance here.

Perhaps you should also learn to differentiate when a person says "they remind me a little" vs they're a carbon copy/reincarnation/whatever other totally different interpretation you decided to find in the post to suit your non sensical argument.

Ok then, justify it. Why do they remind you of Kilkenny and why do you think they could go on to be a "force". What exactly does that mean, how many all irelands do you think they are going to win?

You drew a comparison whether you like it or not. You didn't have to say they were a carbon copy, I could say the same about Waterford otherwise should they win and when questioned justify it by saying "well they'll have won an all-ireland, just like Kilkenny" ,but that doesn't make it right to compare them to me anyway.

Ok then, justify it. Why do they remind you of Kilkenny and why do you think they could go on to be a "force". What exactly does that mean, how many all irelands do you think they are going to win?

You drew a comparison whether you like it or not. You didn't have to say they were a carbon copy, I could say the same about Waterford otherwise should they win and when questioned justify it by saying "well they'll have won an all-ireland, just like Kilkenny" ,but that doesn't make it right to compare them to me anyway.

Lets break it down for you as you seem to be struggling with it.

If Galway get over the line: implies that they could well get beaten

as I expect them to,: I do however expect them to win

l believe they could become a serious force in hurling over the next few years.: That they will be in a number of all Ireland finals in the coming years. Whether they win them is a different matter but a force none the less.

They remind me a little of kk in the early part of this decade: They are a big physically powerful team with an equally impressive back and forward 6, a HB line that are exceptionally good at fielding ball and an ability to put the foot on the accelerator and pull away from a team in a 10 min spell.

But of course that won't satisfy you as you wanted to see something that wasn't there. To me there's similarities between the teams, it doesn't mean that they will achieve anything like KK did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

How are ye finding the ticket hunt this year? I got one in upper hogan but it's not great. Seems to be big demand.

Seems to be much tougher than previous years. I usually get sorted in my GAA clubs draw but no luck this year. I've someone looking for me in Clare too. Getting very nervous I will miss out now. I've the bus booked so will be going up anyhow but I even envisage it being tough in the pubs to pick one up when so many will be looking for them. Touts will have a field day! :(

Redo91 wrote: »
    Seems to be much tougher than previous years. I usually get sorted in my GAA clubs draw but no luck this year. I've someone looking for me in Clare too. Getting very nervous I will miss out now. I've the bus booked so will be going up anyhow but I even envisage it being tough in the pubs to pick one up when so many will be looking for them. Touts will have a field day! :(

If you have the option of going up on Saturday or if you know someone that will be around on the Saturday there is always a plethora of tickets floating around at the sevens out in Kilmacud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

danganabu wrote: »
    If you have the option of going up on Saturday or if you know someone that will be around on the Saturday there is always a plethora of tickets floating around at the sevens out in Kilmacud.

I won't be going up til the Sunday morning but I know a few living up in Dublin so will ask them if they are out and about to keep an eye out for me. Thanks for the tip!

Redo91 wrote: »
    I won't be going up til the Sunday morning but I know a few living up in Dublin so will ask them if they are out and about to keep an eye out for me. Thanks for the tip!

I have lucky enough with tickets through contacts etc over the years but one year the club were playing in the 7s and there was a few lads who had no tickets, I just said to the guy behind the bar in the clubhouse if he heard of any going there was a few genuine hurling men looking for a few, he came back to me two hours later with 5, and I have heard many similar stories.

They remind me a little of kk in the early part of this decade: They are a big physically powerful team with an equally impressive back and forward 6, a HB line that are exceptionally good at fielding ball and an ability to put the foot on the accelerator and pull away from a team in a 10 min spell.

But of course that won't satisfy you as you wanted to see something that wasn't there. To me there's similarities between the teams, it doesn't mean that they will achieve anything like KK did.

Deleting out the childish stuff. If you had explained why you thought they were like Kilkenny initially I wouldn't have had any issues to be honest.

As regards being a force, I would say they are already your definition of a force. They've been competing in all ireland finals and semi finals for the last 6 years regularly and have come out the wrong side narrowly against the susbequent all irelands several times.

Sunday is the big test though, there's no excuses for not winning if there as good as many believe.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,457 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

The stars really aligned for them because from 2002-2010 they had phenomenal minor and u21 teams that followed that Senior team from 98-2002 which itself was a very competitive team. This gave Cody the luxury of introducing intense competition within the panel.

More than competitive in fairness, All Ireland Finalists 4 of those 5 years, winning 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

letowski wrote: »
    We will likely never see in our lifetime a county win 11 AI's in a 16 year span, but it wouldn't be implausible for Joe Canning to retire with 2 or 3 AI's. But that will have alot to do with Sunday, they have a great chance here.

I wouldn't rule it out. Dub football is a prime example. They are on a roll.

Galway to win but it won't be easy. Great to see a novel pairing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,832 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Waterford are in the Burlington

are Galway in the Citywest or Gibson ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭spurshero

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Waterford are in the Burlington

are Galway in the Citywest or Gibson ??
    Citywest

Rightwing wrote: »
    I wouldn't rule it out. Dub football is a prime example. They are on a roll.

Galway to win but it won't be easy. Great to see a novel pairing.

Dublin are the exception and not the rule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Dublin are the exception and not the rule.

Well not every team can be winning the 11 AIs in 16 years now, can they - that's what makes them exceptional.

So we've established it's only exceptional teams that can do that. The question was: will there be another one like KK, and I don't see why not.