Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

dulux99 wrote: »
    McGregor didn't win, but the lads (Mark Horgan in particular) laughed at the prospect of it even being competetive. Would like to see him eat a bit of humble pie about it but I won't hold my breath.

Mayweather won it easily. Conor didn't get enough punches of consequence in. Only jabs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Mayweather won it easily. Conor didn't get enough punches of consequence in. Only jabs.

I don't disagree. But Horgan was part of the brigade that laughed at McGregor and said he didn't have a prayer. He predicted McGregor would not get out of the first round, and it would be a victory if he got out of the second. Absolute nonsense. Mcgregor landed more punches than the great Manny Pacquaio did vs Mayweather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

I have nothing showing on Pocket Casts after episode 941 on Thursday, I wonder what the issue is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭Raoul

I don't disagree. But Horgan was part of the brigade that laughed at McGregor and said he didn't have a prayer. He predicted McGregor would not get out of the first round, and it would be a victory if he got out of the second. Absolute nonsense. Mcgregor landed more punches than the great Manny Pacquaio did vs Mayweather.

:D You are just the opposite of Mark and totally in the McGregor camp. Equally laughable. McGregor never had a chance and it was evident from the fight too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I think Ken's article in The Irish Times today is worth a read for both the lovers and haters of McGregor.
    The fans will point to McGregor’s graciousness in defeat and say that it shows his true dignity and class. The haters will say he took defeat so well because he always knew he was going to lose and was only ever in it for the money. The haters will gloat: you morons seriously thought he could win? He’s been exposed for the fraud he is. The fans will rage: it’s sad that you take malicious pleasure in seeing brave people fall short. When was the last time you made $100 million in a night’s work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,760 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

corwill wrote: »
    I have nothing showing on Pocket Casts after episode 941 on Thursday, I wonder what the issue is.

same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,780 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Raoul wrote: »
    :D You are just the opposite of Mark and totally in the McGregor camp. Equally laughable. McGregor never had a chance and it was evident from the fight too.

Laughable...? The guy just laid some hard facts in front of you. If you're going to talk bolloxks at least back it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭WhatsGoingOn2

corwill wrote: »

Same here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭Raoul

Laughable...? The guy just laid some hard facts in front of you. If you're going to talk bolloxks at least back it up.
    :D:D:D

Did you see the fight? That is all the cold hard facts you need. I'm not anti McGregor but I think it is hilarious people being uber defensive of him. They are almost as deluded as McGregor is himself thinking he won 5 rounds.

Also, have a look at the score card:
    DINmVbbV4AUCNlR.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Raoul wrote: »
    :D:D:D

Did you see the fight? That is all the cold hard facts you need. I'm not anti McGregor but I think it is hilarious people being uber defensive of him. They are almost as deluded as McGregor is himself thinking he won 5 rounds.

Also, have a look at the score card:
    DINmVbbV4AUCNlR.jpg

Extremely strange scores on two judges cards for the first three rounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Is there any sound in the English language more horribly beautiful than Oisin McConville saying awesome?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Did he hurt him with any of those punches ? Its like saying one team had 20 shots on target if they were straight at the keeper and had no chance of scoring a goal then they are hardly relevant.

threein99 wrote: »
    Did he hurt him with any of those punches ? Its like saying one team had 20 shots on target if they were straight at the keeper and had no chance of scoring a goal then they are hardly relevant.

Pointless analogy in fairness. If ever there was a soccer match where one team had 20 shots on target it would indicate that they had dominated the match really.

McGregor gave a solid showing of himself. Simple as. I never expected him to win, but I did feel he would do better than getting the doors blown off him in the first round or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 HelloMuddha

Thought Robbie Brady's performance at the weekend would've been worth a quick mention on the football show, especially given his wonderful assist and Keown's "did he mean it" MOD2 pronouncements. I'm sure it'll get a mention with the international break coming up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Pointless analogy in fairness. If ever there was a soccer match where one team had 20 shots on target it would indicate that they had dominated the match really.

McGregor gave a solid showing of himself. Simple as. I never expected him to win, but I did feel he would do better than getting the doors blown off him in the first round or two.

Not if all their shots were hopeless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

threein99 wrote: »
    Not if all their shots were hopeless

Exactly, the only reason McGregor had so many punches was because Mayweather came at him because he had no fear of his shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,538 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I don't know if it's the sport of Gaelic Football or the way SC cover it, but I cannot hack it when they talk football. There is something about Oisin McConville's voice that has me diving for the skip button...

dulpit wrote: »
    There is something about Oisin McConville's voice that has me diving for the skip button...

I think that something about Oisn McConville's voice - is Oisin McConville's voice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

dulpit wrote: »
    I don't know if it's the sport of Gaelic Football or the way SC cover it, but I cannot hack it when they talk football. There is something about Oisin McConville's voice that has me diving for the skip button...

Same here, it's the male Armagh accent.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I like Oisin, him and Mike Quirke are quite good, their accents may not be the easiest on the ears, but it doesn't bother me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭spiritcrusher

"It's all wather".

Had me in stitches for a good 5 minutes.

Ah Ken... It's the way ya tell 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,780 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Weird pod today....

Conor mcgregor into roddy Doyle/Christian brothers abuse into football.

Odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Weird pod today....

Conor mcgregor into roddy Doyle/Christian brothers abuse into football.

Odd.

Yeah, Doyle's thoughts on sport especially GAA were odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

With Oisin McConville, normally I find his actual punditry and views on the game to be decent and interesting, but his voice is definitely nails on a chalkboard stuff. He always sounds like he’s about to puke, it’s very off putting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

What're yis on about? Oisín's a great guest. I don't know what the opposite to nails on a blackboard is, but that's what he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    What're yis on about? Oisín's a great guest. I don't know what the opposite to nails on a blackboard is, but that's what he is.

Kittens on a duvet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Pter wrote: »
    Kittens on a duvet?

Hmm. Maybe not quite that. :D

But certainly not nails on a blackboard.

I found Roddy Doyle to be interesting yesterday, if a bit cranky.

When they were asking him why the book was called Smile I half expected him to say "because it's something I haven't done in twenty years."

I thought his comments about the GAA were a bit weird. I think everyone knows the score with it - you won't find a great attendance at a mickey mouse league game or at some early round of the championship, but Croke Park will be packed on the day of The All Ireland. I think that's just the way it is, no one is in denial about it. I'm not a GAA person myself, by any means, but I think it means something to Ireland that goes deeper than attendances in the stand. I wouldn't call it a con job, especially not after regaling us with tales of salmon sandwiches at Stamford Bridge and washing your hands of any ethical qualms of who it was that turned Stamford Bridge into a place where a salmon sandwich is on the menu in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

I'd say Michael Duignan couldn't eat his breakfast, go to confession or put petrol in his Datsun Sunny without a cheap shot at Tipp!