Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

I think it's too easy to blame the referee. From the throw in there was a bite to the game that wasn't there last week. Personally I think the ref did a good job and that includes CoCs black card. If he let stuff go it would have exploded into a brawl at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Amazing. Incredible from Mayo. Just the bravery. We knew we were the better team and boys like Colm Boyle, Jason Doherty, Andy Moran, Keith Higgins made sure everybody else was gonna know it too by 5pm.

Andy Moran is also now bookies favorite for footballer of the year, deservedly so IMO.

Didn't expect that Zinedine Zidane moment from Donaghy, sad for him that he'll probably bow out like that but goes to show how well Aidan and the defence did in general.

I don't know what I can say that's not already been covered. So proud. Don't care who wins tomorrow, bring it on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,651 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

jr86 wrote: »
    Indeed, I don't ever remember mayo getting a stroke of luck like that - usually the opposite. I wouldn't really blame Kelly, it was freakish how perfectly the ball landed for DOC.

Small margins.

Nothing to do with luck today or small margins.
    Ye set down a marker today from the throw in, got your set up spot, on and ran Kerry ragged all over the pitch.
    Kerry have been noted as a great kick passing team, (and rightly so imo), but today ye killed that and your own kick passing was absolutely superb.

Today had nothing to do with luck or margins or anthing else, and the final winning margin didn`t flatter ye.
    Kerry were lucky to keep it as it ended up.
    Truth be told it was a five point hammering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Brusna

charlie14 wrote: »
    I did mention that I liked the cut of the lad and thought he should have been brought in earlier last day.
    (Even if I may have been a bit biased after getting a AI Final ticket of his grandfather away back when he was a baby :)), I thought he was excellent and full of confidence today.

I assume you got the ticket from Dr Micky Loftus.

Just to clarify Dr Micky is a grand uncle to Conor not grandfather.

(Apologies if I assumed wrong)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

charlie14 wrote: »
    Nothing to do with luck today or small margins.
    Ye set down a marker today from the throw in, got your set up spot, on and ran Kerry ragged all over the pitch.
    Kerry have been noted as a great kick passing team, (and rightly so imo), but today ye killed that and your own kick passing was absolutely superb.

Today had nothing to do with luck or margins or anthing else, and the final winning margin didn`t flatter ye.
    Kerry were lucky to keep it as it ended up.
    Truth be told it was a five point hammering.

Ah here stop trying to make my post into something it isn't

The goal was a complete stroke of luck, my point was we haven't tended to be the recipient of good fortune an awful lot

We were far the better team and would have won anyway but it's still an observation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭dazza161989

From a Kerry man the first thing I'd like to say is congratulations to Mayo, well deserved win by a good group of players. Completely dominated every area of the field and showed massive heart & hunger. Defence was superb and fantastic off the ball running by the forwards. I really do hope they can get over the line in the final and wish them the best of luck. They will have our entire county's support!

From a kerry point of view there needs to be big questions asked of both players and management. Played extremely poor and it seemed no one knew their role. Full back line was atrocious again especially Shane Enright who has to be replaced at this stage. Forwards were poor except for paul geaney. James o donoghue needs to get his eyes off the women and back on the football. As for the donaghy incident I think o shea had it coming if I'm being honest, he was fouling and niggling Kieran the whole game and I think he had enough! Bad way to bow out tho as it seems he will retire.

Mayo for Sam 2017

James o donoghue needs to get his eyes off the women and back on the football.

That's a nice comment about a player that was the POTY that won an all Ireland for ye with a relatively mediocre Kerry team.

He showed far more heart than most yesterday

The joys of being an amature player and slogging it out all year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

km79 wrote: »
    The kick passing is absolutely outstanding and a joy to watch
    And it was worked on all during the league

That's Rochford's style.

Corofin played very similar ball when he was with them.

djPSB wrote: »
    That's Rochford's style.

Corofin played very similar ball when he was with them.

It's far better than it's ever been

It really cost us in previous years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

franklyon wrote: »
    I think it's too easy to blame the referee. From the throw in there was a bite to the game that wasn't there last week. Personally I think the ref did a good job and that includes CoCs black card. If he let stuff go it would have exploded into a brawl at some stage.

I thought the ref did a fantastic job. It's not his fault players were pulling jerseys, punching, tackling around the neck and engaging in off the ball fouling. I thought he kept it from spilling over by punishing where punishment ws deserved. He reffed exactly what was in front of him. I thought he got nearly all decisions spot on, although perhaps mistaking Paddy Durcan as the culprit late on. It was some difference from Deegan's performance in the first game. I had my doubts about Gough before the game, while others on here were talking him up. After yesterday's performance I'd happily take him for the final. You know what you're getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭dazza161989

That's a nice comment about a player that was the POTY that won an all Ireland for ye with a relatively mediocre Kerry team.

He showed far more heart than most yesterday

The joys of being an amature player and slogging it out all year

He was absolutely fantastic that year and more than deserved POTY that year. But his off field antics are well documented. I hope he can screw his head back on because he is a huge talent but at the moment the mental aspect is non existent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

aidan24326 wrote:
    Personally I thought the ref was awful. Easy to bash the ref I know. But he was way too whistle happy and was brandishing cards like it was confetti at a wedding, in what wasn't a particularly dirty game. I don't want to see him reffing a major game again.

It's all good now I guess since there's no issues for the next day.

But if one semi has a ref like that and the other doesn't you could end up down key players in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Ah here stop trying to make my post into something it isn't

The goal was a complete stroke of luck, my point was we haven't tended to be the recipient of good fortune an awful lot

We were far the better team and would have won anyway but it's still an observation

I commented on this a few times yday
    It was like opposite land
    We got all the small breaks
    How many times have we conceded THAT goal and then gone up the pitch to narrowly miss straight after ?
    We had no injuries heading into game while they picked up 2.
    Can't remember us ever heading into a game against them or a final without a key player injured.
    So now a big 3 weeks and hopefully injury free and we get the breaks in a final at long last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

I know this is early but can the Kerry folk please oblige us to get our hands on tickets for the final .

#Infiltration_of_the_hill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Oh the joys of a lazy and sunny Sunday morning.I don't think I've ever been as nervous before a game as yesterday.

Can now sit back for once and watch the others slog it out at 3.30 after watching the game back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

seligehgit wrote: »
    Oh the joys of a lazy and sunny Sunday morning.I don't think I've ever been as nervous before a game as yesterday.

Can now sit back for once and watch the others slog it out at 3.30 after watching the game back.

Agreed. The tension was so huge, even throughout the game, that it took away from my usual sheer unabashed joy of watching mayo play.

Going to watch it again today making it a double header too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Well done to mayo. Disgraced kerry on and off the field. They looked real poor. Pundits like tomas o se writing garbage like 'knock aidan o se on his arse and you knock mayo on their arse'. well o se, the only ones i see on their holes are kerry.

Hopefully you can win it, tyrone could be the tougher opponent in the final.

Rightwing wrote: »
    Well done to mayo. Disgraced kerry on and off the field. They looked real poor. Pundits like tomas o se writing garbage like 'knock aidan o se on his arse and you knock mayo on their arse'. well o se, the only ones i see on their holes are kerry

I guess Tomas and his singular tactic.was listened to and finally paid off qed ;)

image.jpg

inpho_01256338.jpg

Oldtree wrote: »
    I guess Tomas and his singular tactic.was listened to and finally paid off qed ;)

image.jpg

inpho_01256338.jpg

From what i saw of the 2 games, donaghy is the only kerry player that would make mayo's team. Yet all these so called analysts get it so badly wrong. Or are they trying to be controversial to get a gig?. Laughable.

They are supposed to be the aristocrats of the game, yet they were reduced to rubble. Punching off the ball, red cards, sweepers, and all against a rather limited mayo. Let's give mayo credit though. They are a top 3 team. Not hard.

Care to elaborate on your opinion of "a rather limited mayo"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Seriously, do you care?

Similar to the pundits like tomas o se, i'm no expert, but mayo struggled v roscommon, kerry, cork, galway, derry. So i wouldn't be getting carried away if i was mayo. I'd say the kerry minor team would beat the kerry senior team.
    so at the moment, i'd rank it like this:
    1 dublin
    2 tyrone
    3 mayo
    4 kerry

keane2097 wrote: »
    Seriously, do you care?

No! just bring attention to the talking us up here and talking us down there and drawing it out of its she'll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Similar to the pundits like tomas o se, i'm no expert, but mayo struggled v roscommon, kerry, cork, galway, derry. So i wouldn't be getting carried away if i was mayo. I'd say the kerry minor team would beat the kerry senior team.
    so at the moment, i'd rank it like this:
    1 dublin
    2 tyrone
    3 mayo
    4 kerry

Like I told the other poster get the f1uck out and stay out what sort of rubbish are you talking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

So now that the Donaghy factor has been taken out of the equation it will be very interesting to see how our full back line etc set up in three weeks time after we discover our final opponents.

naughto wrote: »
    Like I told the other poster get the f1uck out and stay out what sort of rubbish are you talking

That's scary stuff. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

That's scary stuff. :rolleyes:

So's the sh1te your writing

I will accept your climbdown.

I'll be for mayo the next day, and reiterate, they embarrassed kerry, but my point remains, that was 1 poor kerry team. That's why I remain doubtful if mayo can get to No. 1 position.

I don't think.your heart is in it, so enjoy your TV and I would refer you to what naughto says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

From what i saw of the 2 games, donaghy is the only kerry player that would make mayo's team.
    Paul Geaney would be one of the first names on the Mayo team sheet. JOD would also start for Mayo when fully fit.