Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,193 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Floyd via DQ
    Soups123 wrote: »
    Credit to Conor, for the variance that exists in the two sports Mayweather should have had him out of their a lot sooner.

To go 10 rounds with one of the greatest boxers of all time is some achievement, roles reversed Conor would take him in one round.

Conor was dispatched when Floyd decided he would be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Floyd via DQ
    BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Boxing is in trouble if that's it's best fighter. Seriously a guy who has never even fought a pro boxing match before went 10 rounds!!! WTF??

Everyone and his dog was telling me Mayweather would destroy him what hell happened?

He has been retired for over 2 years! He's not even top 10 now after that fight

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Floyd via DQ
    BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Boxing is in trouble if that's it's best fighter. Seriously a guy who has never even fought a pro boxing match before went 10 rounds!!! WTF??

Everyone and his dog was telling me Mayweather would destroy him what hell happened?

Stall the shop. There is a major fight on the 16th September, a proper boxing match. Two lads aren't that bad

Nice little spin for a moral victory, but Mayweather was playing with him. Older, apparently out of shape, smaller and had not fought in two years . Conor could not keep up the pace, his power is a myth (which is opponents/victims have all admitted without malice that it was the speed and not the power got rocked them)

Conor will be alright, it won't affect his professional record , he did not get smashed up and most of the UFC lads are happy to oblige by being easy targets , believing the face is the best form of defence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Let's see if Floyd keeps his word and hops into the cage with Conor.

Yeah right!

It was great to see them both giving each other such respect after the fight. Classy.

Or it showed how muh they duped everyone into wasting their money for this farce and they're going to be laughing at the idiots who paid for it backstage afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    It was an exhibition really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭LastLagoon

FairPlay to Mcg having a dig.Floyd wouldnt last half a round in the octagon against him and he knows it so it'll never happen. As an mma fan Saw plenty of ways boxing could improve to sell itself in the build up. The godawful undercards,decrepit suits being rolled out at every presser etc. Gonna watch Canelo v ggg but boxing needs to sort itself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Floyd via DQ
    Let's see if Floyd keeps his word and hops into the cage with Conor.

Yeah right!

It was great to see them both giving each other such respect after the fight. Classy.

They were playing people for fools to sell the fight. Easy money for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Sparring session for Mayweather he didnt break a sweat. Conor didnt land anything.

The post fight interview by Mcgregor some load a balls.

"at least let me get knocked down before stopping it".
    I was just fatigued
    It was stopped early etc etc.

Erm Conor you were falling around the ring like someone with 10 cans of linden village in them on slippery ice. Ref saved you from possible danger and you didnt say anything to the ref when he stopped it!.

Tell the truth!. You were happy it was stopped then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Conor via DQ
    well got to say that conor was made a clown...just like all the boxing lads said....i reckoned mayweather get old but no....that was a schooling on another level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Floyd via DQ
    Amazing how little cardio Mcgregor has for a high level athlete.

Boxing muscle is different. As is boxing fitness (and being able to pace yourself pproperly).

Put an intercounty star in to do a round of the pads and he'll be bollixed after 2 minutes.

Floyd via DQ
    You'd see lads with both eyes battered closed arguing with ref they're good to carry on.... Conor didn't know what was happening.... totally dead on his feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭sonic85

The absolute worst thing about this is the same deluded people who have been posting rubbish for months now will point to this as a victory of sorts when the simple fact is McGregor was outclassed from round two on. The only reason he had any success in the first two was because Floyd did sweet FA and he started to gas in the third.

I'm not a boxer or even a boxing fan per se but McGregors technique really looked awful to me with little tippy tappy punches and arm shots that did no damage to Floyd and allowed him to just continually walk forward knowing he wouldn't be hurt.

Fair play to Conor for getting himself into a position where he could make so much money but the fight was a farce and shouldn't have been allowed take place in the first instance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Floyd via DQ
    Sparring session for Mayweather he didnt break a sweat. Conor didnt land anything.

The post fight interview by Mcgregor some load a balls.

"at least let me get knocked down before stopping it".
    I was just fatigued
    It was stopped early etc etc.

Erm Conor you were falling around the ring like someone with 10 cans of linden village in them on slippery ice. Ref saved you from possible danger and you didnt say anything to the ref when he stopped it!.

Tell the truth!. You were happy it was stopped then.

To be fair, he had to say something, use an excuse when the clowns at UFC , who should be holding a picture of Conor on their wall like the Irish did with Jesus H Christ, Pope and JFK, start mouthing off about this fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Floyd via KO-TKO
    sonic85 wrote:
    I'm not a boxer or even a boxing fan per se but McGregors technique really looked awful to me with little tippy tappy punches and arm shots that did no damage to Floyd and allowed him to just continually walk forward knowing he wouldn't be hurt.

Completely agree with this, and it's poor form that McGregor played right into Floyd's plans by taking shots at Floyd's arms and gloves. Every punch thrown means less power in the next one. Conor gassed himself and that's where his true inexperience showed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

This fight went down almost exactly as wonderfulife predicted. A round out.

Conor land a few early, win a few rounds the get stopped in the 9th I think he said..

111 punches landed by McGregor in 9.5 rounds according to some dude on Twitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    This fight went down almost exactly as wonderfulife predicted. A round out.

Conor land a few early, win a few rounds the get stopped in the 9th I think he said..

111 punches landed by McGregor in 9.5 rounds according to some dude on Twitter.

He had a few . It was awful . Pitty patty half slaps that tickled Floyd . He was literally walking at him In a straight line . Anyway at least we can move on now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

McGregor competes in a non sport. Mayweather is top pro. Fight could have been over in 5 minutes.

Mayweather carried him.

Fair would have seen McGregor disfigured and damaged for life.

Embarrassing (for both codes). Does nothing for the credibility of boxing to try place it at the same level as MMA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭marcus001

Floyd could have won it whenever he wanted tbh.

This is bull****. If Floyd had gone for the kill early on there's nothing to say Conor wouldn't have landed a big one on him. Floyd knew that hence why he fought smart and bided his time.

McGregor competes in a non sport. Mayweather is top pro. Fight could have been over in 5 minutes.

Mayweather carried him.

Embarrassing.

Why would Mayweather take unnecessary risks? Especially when McGregor is at his strongest early on. That would be foolish.

Perfect tactics by Mayweather tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

RoboKlopp wrote: »

Mayweather carried him.

Embarrassing.

Why would Mayweather take unnecessary risks? Especially when McGregor is at his strongest early on. That would be foolish.

Perfect tactics by Mayweather tbh

Which is it? Floyd could have finished him or he respected Conor?

He carried it for the cash. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Conor via DQ

Didn't realise he was getting paid by the hour.

Cheers for clearing that up.

?

You quoted someone else with mine . Thought my point was pretty easy to understand.

What point are you trying to make?

Carried it for cash?

John_D80 wrote: »
    Didn't realise he was getting paid by the hour.

Cheers for clearing that up.

Did you see the fine print of the contract? No, either did I.

I can say with absolute certainty that a number was put on the rounds. It's a corrupt pay day.

That's all it is. McGregor is not a professional athlete. He is thrown in to a boxing ring with one of the best boxers ever.

Use your head.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    What point are you trying to make?

Carried it for cash?

Advertising revenue

I can say with absolute certainty that a number was put on the rounds. It's a corrupt pay day.

That's all it is. McGregor is not a professional athlete. He is thrown in to a boxing ring with one of the best boxers ever.

Use your head.

Tinfoil hats flags and headbands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Conor via DQ

Use your head.

not a professional athlete, come off it mate he was beat easily in the end why the need for the salt? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Conor via DQ

Use your head.

Wait just we are totally clear here .....

You are saying that Mayweather had a contract stipulation that he had to make the fight last a certain amount of time???

Also can you elaborate on how you know this with "absolute certainty" ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

Floyd via DQ
    What really let Conor down was his serious lack of stamina. He was breathing heavily after just 2 rounds and by round 5 he was completely exhausted. He didn't lose because Mayweather hurt him, there was no real knock down power. He lost because he was out on his feet and couldn't do anything.

Even though Floyd Mayweather is 40 years old He is in supreme physical condition, He was as fresh at the end of the fight as he was at the beginning.

Congratulations to him on 50-0