Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Most important factor today and with the final in mind was our kickouts. Almost faultless. Helped by Kerry's set up but it was great to see. If we can be that dominant in the final it'll be a massive platform.

Special credit to Clarke, Seamie, Tom and Boyler who plucked a few from the sky when we had to go long. We were much better around the breaking ball today, Kerry dominated in the first game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

I'm fairly happy I booked the hotel after the Derry game anyway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

naughto wrote: »
    Have to agree Loftus was excellent when him came on

One hundred percent agree.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Congrats lads. Make it count now and go and win it. Rochford deserves great credit. Got it spot on and won the battle of the sideline comfortably.

Fair play to you,Keane2097 and the regular Kerry contributors.

It won't be long til you guys are back feasting at the top table with all both minors coming through,a four in a row beckons with the imperious David Clifford at the helm.

But we just want to get our hands on Sam after such a long famine and are ravenous with the hunger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

seligehgit wrote: »

t won't be long til you guys are back feasting at the top tablewith all both minors coming through,a four in a row beckons with the imperious David Clifford at the helm.

But we just want to get our hands on Sam after such a long famine and are ravenous with the hunger.

Best part about batin' Les Animaux in the champo in Croker, is getting to shower them with the same patronising claptrap that they have been sending your way for years. ;)

#ISeeWhatYouDidThere

The kick passing is absolutely outstanding and a joy to watch
    And it was worked on all during the league

km79 wrote: »

Yes it was commented on in the All Ireland thread,our kickpassing is of another order.A joy to behold.

Anyway after a long joyous journey down into a wonderful sunset,it's time to celebrate and dare to believe.

Big time. It's funny, Kerry probably forced us back to it as much as we were forced to go back to our running game against Clare.

What was most impressive today was the blend in our attack. Running well as we know we can, kick passing was superb when used and then we recycled it out without panicking whenever we were up against a wall. I'll have to watch it back again but amongst all that I think we kicked an awful lot of silly shots again... maybe not as much as the first game.

The first goal was a major turning point and that started off as a poor attempt by Donie.

It won't be long til you guys are back feasting at the top table with all both minors coming through,a four in a row beckons with the imperious David Clifford at the helm.

And a huge thanks for Donie Buckley.

(Not said in patronising way, ProudDub)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Fair play to the lads, that was as good as Ive ever seen from mayo. Intelligence in attack and in defence, just brilliant. I must mention the Kerry lads, no narky stuff from the fans in the run up to either game. Some fans of other counties could take a leaf out of their book.

Also, that was a serious managerial performance from Aidan O'Shea today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,651 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

naughto wrote: »
    Have to agree Loftus was excellent when him came on

I did mention that I liked the cut of the lad and thought he should have been brought in earlier last day.
    (Even if I may have been a bit biased after getting a AI Final ticket of his grandfather away back when he was a baby :)), I thought he was excellent and full of confidence today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭TommyDe

maximus15 wrote:
    Loftus deserves mention after replacing Diarmuid. Excellent pass to set up goal and 2 lovely points. He didn't weaken us. Kerry pushed forward trying to get back into game and were always goin to get more space when we retreated abit more.

Loftus could've done with a bit more movement and running. Overall great to see him get a full half. That fisted point shows a cool head- he wanted a goal but tapped it over for a point

Jason Doherty - class.
    Boyle was brilliant.
    Stephen Rochford - take a bow you know what you're at.

Phew.

Paddy Durcan nearly does his own chances of starting games harm with the ridiculous impact he makes to this Mayo team from the bench.
    Once Rochford calls upon the Castlebar Mitchels man,the Mayo crowd are sent into raptures,and his teammates are visibly lifted by his drive and gusto.
    He was called upon earlier than usual on Sunday, on the stroke of half-time,and he impacted the game immediately with a typically committed lung-bursting drive along the sideline.
    Durcan brought energy to the table, he brought direct running,and he brought fire to an already fired up team.
    When he received his second yellow card in the 73rd minute,just moments after a typically inspirational score, the 19th card of the day issued by referee David Gough,Mayo fans were understandably worried.

The people of the west will be delighted to know,then,that Durcan will be available for the final,as he’s already served a one-match ban for his red card against Derry earlier in the year.
    Duecan served a one-match ban in the subsequent game against Clare,which means that he won't miss the final.
    The GAA’s Central Competition Controls Committee (CCCC) confirmed to RTE Sport that he was in the clear.

Courtesy of SportsJoe.

OK I'm off to the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

What about Diarmuid ?
    Donie and him going off left us wide open
    Shows how important twhy are

To be fair though Kerry had no choice but to ditch the sweeper and were always going to go hammer and tongs in the second half. Loftus was definitely an improvement

O'Connor worked hard but completely slowed down the play when he got on the ball. He's sadly miles off his best form with ball in hand. He was always good for a few scores from play but not this season.

Fair enough he got a goal and while he followed the flight of the ball brilliantly, it was very opportunistic. Rochy ain't afraid to make a big call and I could see diarmuid making way

I think we are finally getting the bit of luck needed
    We have played so many games but escaped without many injuries
    A mi**** shot punched in for a goal
    Straight up the other end and the ball goes wide

It was like opposite land today !

3 weeks now and please God no major injury scares

The people of the west will be delighted to know,then,that Durcan will be available for the final,as he’s already served a one-match ban for his red card against Derry earlier in the year.
    Duecan served a one-match ban in the subsequent game against Clare,which means that he won't miss the final.
    The GAA’s Central Competition Controls Committee (CCCC) confirmed to RTE Sport that he was in the clear.

Courtesy of SportsJoe.

OK I'm off to the pub.

no idea what they're on about but joe.ie was always a load of ****e. Two yellows was never a suspension - period. What the earlier red has to do with that I don't know

Aido got two yellows v Donegal 2013 and was sound for semi

And if ya told anyone that donie would be gone off along with Diarmuid by half time and Cillian balckcarded with a quarter of the game left AND mayo would win by 6
    Against Kerry
    The men in white coats woodl have been called for

I think we are finally getting the bit of luck needed
    We have played so many games but escaped without many injuries
    A mi**** shot punched in for a goal
    Straight up the other end and the ball goes wide

It was like opposite land today !

3 weeks now and please God no major injury scares

Indeed, I don't ever remember mayo getting a stroke of luck like that - usually the opposite. I wouldn't really blame Kelly, it was freakish how perfectly the ball landed for DOC.

Small margins.

jr86 wrote: »
    no idea what they're on about but joe.ie was always a load of ****e. Two yellows was never a suspension - period. What the earlier red has to do with that I don't know

Aido got two yellows v Donegal 2013 and was sound for semi

I know it's not the most reputable source,there was a query re the cumulative effect of two red cards irrespective of suspensions served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Good stuff men, great management.

Stoner wrote: »
    Good stuff men, great management.

Did you survive the eye surgery?:)

Wouldn't want Jayop missing out on his three pints!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Best of luck in the final.Great performance today.Totally dominated the game from the beginning to the end.

Something went haywire with my recording... only started at the 65th minute!

Probably for the best given that I've a match in the morning.

What a point by Loftus in the 66th minute. Right after that super block by Higgins and catch by Boyle.

Our first wide of the second half came in the 67th minute@

Donaghy is going to hit Aidan soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Outstanding performance from a Number of players
    Clarke - best day in a Mayo jersey that I can remember. We lost 1 kick out and he kept a clean sheet (though superman Boyle slid in nicely to the rescue for one).
    the back lines, was at the game, and watched it back. Though Barrett could have done better before I watched it back. When I watched it back, I revised my opinion. Higgins, Harrison, Boyler, Aido, Durcan and Vaughan when they were on were outstanding. I did think Keegan was quiet again today. I do think the Cellulitis is still holding him back, but I can see that he's getting back.
    Midfield Parsons and Seamie were excellent. Parsons his usual brilliant, bar an errant pass. Seamie much improve from last week, and Coen a very capable replacement when he came on.
    I'll be honest lads, I can't find a fault with Jason Doc so for me he starts and finishes every game, end of story. He's the reason we play well when we play well and when he's not there we're awful. His nailing of the 45 and free kick when Cillian went off were to me crucial for us to maintain the score line cushion, not just in the board but mentally also. Clearly if teams want to target our best free taker, they need to bear in mind we have another who can do as well if needed. Any Burrishule lads able to say how he does club wise on dead balls?.
    Diarmuid - class goal and reminded me of his previous form, and a flash from his performance for the under 21's last year. Loftus did better than I thought on second viewing when he came on. He can be a bit static in play but his 2 points showed maturity beyond his years and his pass to Andy for his goal was outstanding.
    Andy - what a man, what a legend. Having his best year by far. Nailed on for an all star I'd say, short listed for POTY too I would imagine.
    Cillian, I'm getting worried about his dead ball shooting, but he does enough elsewhere and he's not the top scorer in the championship (by a virtually unassailable distance) by chance either.
    Kevin Mc never set a foot wrong today and himself and Jason Doc are 2 of the best and most consistently excellent forwards the county has produced on work rate alone.
    Kirby did well when he came on, he'll certainly benefit from the run out and I'd like to see more from him, but he's a bit to do to displace a number of starters.

And fair balls to Rochford for ignoring the absolute bile and filth that's been written about him by scribes that are not worthy of tieing his laces. The amount of wankology that he has had directed towards him by some that purport to be some form of authority or omniscience of the game has been nothing short of scandalous, scurrilous and I'd hazard a guess is even bordering on libellous. I'm ****ing delighted for him and if anyone deserves to lead a Mayo team to the holy grail, he certainly does for all the absolute **** that has been directed at him by a number of poor writers who know nothing better than being able to offer a sly dig from behind the cover of a poorly edited rag of a newspaper, internet click bait site or even the licence fee funded national broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Best part about batin' Les Animaux in the champo in Croker, is getting to shower them with the same patronising claptrap that they have been sending your way for years. ;)

#ISeeWhatYouDidThere

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Will it be an Eamon Fitzmaurice leap of desperation or a Stephen Rochford stroke of genius?
    Oldtree wrote: »
    Definitely the latter :D
    what-you-did-there-i-see-it.thumbnail.jpg

#ISeeWhatYouDidThere :D

ToMjGpuDlPJP9k5NHdC.gif

Pretty sure Durcan got booked instead of Keegan. Saying that, it has taken a lot of viewings.

Savage got booked at the same time. You can't see the incident itself but himself and Lee were just coming together before they went out of sight. Gough was told through his earpiece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

seligehgit wrote:
    Did you survive the eye surgery?

They called it off, and I'd given the decent ticket back . Watched it on the TV.

I missed the replay in Limerick too before I get labelled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

PressRun wrote: »
    So impressed with Jason today, and all year. He's been immense and had another manly performance today. Stepped up when needed.

Have to admit I never rated Jason Doherty and used to wonder how he kept making the starting 15. But he has been excellent this year, and especially in the last two games. He always gave you workrate but what he has added to his game now is superb use of the ball, he never wastes it. Where Jason Doherty a couple of years ago would have ballooned it wide the Jason Doherty of 2017 is using the ball intelligently and he has become a key player.
    Squatman wrote: »
    How do people feel the ref fared out? A lot of stoppages i thought. Seemed hard on both sides. And a yellow for everyone in the audience. Lol

Personally I thought the ref was awful. Easy to bash the ref I know. But he was way too whistle happy and was brandishing cards like it was confetti at a wedding, in what wasn't a particularly dirty game. I don't want to see him reffing a major game again.