Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

sonofenoch wrote: »
    We all see things we want to see, I saw differently .......to say Floyd was totally relaxed and unphased ? not for me .......has he ever had that type intensity and ferocity in his face before, he who blinks first.....there was a couple there from Floyd

Come on man. Floyd has seen and done it all. Having someone shout and roar in his face does nothing to him. If there was ever someone to compare McGregor to when it comes to dedication and focus, it's Floyd.

Floyd was laughing at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ
    Anyone else see Floyd's reaction, just before Conor walked up to the scales...??

I think that cut was tougher than Conor would have liked... time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

seanhynes wrote: »
    Absolutely agree, just an Irish company doing that to one of their own fighters , they will Stoop to any level I guess ,job done ,distasteful and all that

Ah Jaysus :rolleyes:

Floyd via DQ
    In bad taste that pp with Floyd and the underwear, would be nice to support your own :rolleyes:

Business is business. They are a company and are always going to do whatever gets them the most publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

Floyd via DQ
    Calm down lads I was only saying I wasn't happy they done it against one of their own , they'd stoop to any level , big deal , what's to get worked up about I only had an opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Business is business. They are a company and are always going to do whatever gets them the most publicity.

PP are moving into the US market big time and Mayweather wearing their brand is getting them noticed.

Calm down lads I was only saying I wasn't happy they done it against one of their own , they'd stoop to any level , big deal , what's to get worked up about I only had an opinion

And I have an opinion as well.

Why should PP back someone who has had a pop at them more than once?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Floyd via DQ

I really hate that saying.

So what if they are Irish and McGregor is Irish, you don't automatically have to support someone the the basis of their nationality.

Sure McGregor had beats by Dre on, nothing for Mayweather, it would be nice if they supported one of their own...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

Floyd via DQ
    I'm aware he said **** paddy power when a member of the audience referenced betting on him in their shop in a press conference before the Aldo fight but didn't think there was any other issue between the pair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 TheCatSpangler

Anyone else see Floyd's reaction, just before Conor walked up to the scales...??

I think that cut was tougher than Conor would have liked... time will tell.

And if there's anything anyone can say about Conor, it's that when he's had a tough cut, he comes out depleted on the night.

It wasn't a tough cut for him. He's dehydrated obviously, but he's hitting his targets.

145 was torture for him. 153 is perfect. It's his ideal weigh in weight. Floyd hit his as well. They're both pro's. They both hit planned weights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Floyd via DQ
    Thought 155 was?

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Thought 155 was?

154lbs but McGregor was 153lbs

And if there's anything anyone can say about Conor, it's that when he's had a tough cut, he comes out depleted on the night.

It wasn't a tough cut for him. He's dehydrated obviously, but he's hitting his targets.

145 was torture for him. 153 is perfect. It's his ideal weigh in weight. Floyd hit his as well. They're both pro's. They both hit planned weights.

Look at his face man. He looked much more comfortable at UFC 205 weigh in and that was only 2lbs more.

He clearly had a tough cut.

Floyd via DQ
    GiftofGab wrote: »
    154lbs but McGregor was 153lbs

I meant thought 155 was his ideal weight, definitely heard that one thrown about before.

As I said, I think he overshot by a pound. He is known for coming in bang on weight. I don't think it matters a bit in this fight of course.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

Conor via DQ
    Faugheen wrote: »
    Look at his face man. He looked much more comfortable at UFC 205 weigh in and that was only 2lbs more.

He is packing more muscle in this fight so had to lose more water.

Doesn't mean a tougher cut

Floyd via DQ

The more lean muscle he adds the tougher cuts are going to be for him, this was pointed out before for sure.

I will say this though in his defence, he does it, he makes weight no matter what, he has never missed to my knowledge so its nothing to criticise him about.

The more lean muscle he adds the tougher cuts are going to be for him, this was pointed out before for sure.

I will say this though in his defence, he does it, he makes weight no matter what, he has never missed to my knowledge so its nothing to criticise him about.

Oh it's not a criticism by any stretch.

I just think people suggesting he looked grand was is a bit much, that's all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 TheCatSpangler

Of course it was a tough cut. A brutal one. That's his style. Ever heard any fighter talk about cutting weight being a fun old time? He fought at a 145 cut off for most of his career. 145. 12 lbs lighter than this. This was 12 lbs easier than he's hit and he came out and just overpowered people. 153 weighing in is Conor McGregor, at his strongest and leanest before he rehydrates. It's his ideal, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

Floyd via DQ
    The last time i seen a fighter that amped up and animated at the weigh in against Floyd was Ricky Hatton.

I think the fights going to be as close to a replica of that fight as you can get, Floyds going to take him into deep waters and drown him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Floyd via DQ
    I meant thought 155 was his ideal weight, definitely heard that one thrown about before.

As I said, I think he overshot by a pound. He is known for coming in bang on weight. I don't think it matters a bit in this fight of course.

If you are struggling to make weight, that last pound is torture. It can drain and weaken you an awful awful lot. There's no point losing it if you don't have to.

Mayweather coming in so light probably means his last minute weight preparation consisted of having a decent crap and not bothering to eat his breakfast until after the weigh-in and drying out a tiny bit overnight.

Floyd via DQ
    If you are struggling to make weight, that last pound is torture. It can drain and weaken you an awful awful lot. There's no point losing it if you don't have to.

Mayweather coming in so light probably means his last minute weight preparation consisted of having a decent crap and not bothering to eat his breakfast until after the weigh-in and drying out a tiny bit overnight.

That's why I think he probably struggled with his weight cut, I think he overshot it.

Mayweather was eating weigh in day apparently, there was just never any danger of him being over the limit obviously.

You highlighted the part where I said I don't think it matters for this fight but your post doesn't really address that does it? Can you clarify why you highlighted that part so I can answer it properly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭hbhook

Floyd via DQ
    don't...have energy...to wade through...**** talk....Mayweather...in 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,186 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Floyd via DQ
    JFlah wrote: »
    Might be a stupid question but is there any rule in boxing to prevent McGregor using MMA techniques e.g. Spinning backfist, Superman punch ??

A fucķin Superman punch to start would be pretty sweet.

People are properly losing their **** over this Paddy Power thing and it's absolutely hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,186 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Floyd via DQ
    Mayweather is 49-0. That is incredible. But... he is now 40, two years not fighting, and this will be the last fight of his career.

In all his 49 fights, he has never fought an MMA fighter in a boxing ring. That will cross his mind. He is playing it cool, but he is "taking it serious". It's 50-0 or 49-1 to the MMA guy.

McGregor really gets in people's heads. His self belief sows doubt in peoples minds... Particularly when they will have witnessed such monumentally epic things such as the Aldo knockout. Everyone watched that.

I want Conor to win, but im partly afraid he will just never shut the hell up ifn he does. Still, tis unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭marcus001

People are properly losing their **** over this Paddy Power thing and it's absolutely hilarious.

In fairness, Mayweather was trying to use race baiting to sell the fight and now Paddy is being needlessly provocative with their "always bet on black", totally playing into the whole race war thing they were trying to get going. Very low brow stuff.

Gintonious wrote: »
    I really hate that saying.

So what if they are Irish and McGregor is Irish, you don't automatically have to support someone the the basis of their nationality.

Sure McGregor had beats by Dre on, nothing for Mayweather, it would be nice if they supported one of their own...

No, you don't, but if we only supported Irish athletes on the basis of their individual personalities the only one with any supporters would still be McGregor. You may not support him, but if you were in that position we'd support you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Imagine hanging out with these spastics

jonon9 wrote: »

Yeah, The Money Team are a bunch of benders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

jonon9 wrote: »

What type of mind did you think this non sport attracted?

It's bovine cage fighting ffs.