Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloggers / Influencers releasing products [Please read note in post #966]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SpillingTheTea

Cria wrote: »
    I literally want the whole collection! This is the difference between Desi and Katy (and I suppose Anna from Dose of Colours) and our bloggers, they actually made a video of the whole process of making the product and the packaging etc and that makes me so much more interested because they actually are hands on.
    I need to get my hands on the desi and Katy collection it looks amazing and the prices of these established brands like dose of colors are about the same as sosueme and the make up fairys products
    That's what baffles me you can buy brands like Anastasia Beverly Hills dose of colors colourpop ect for the same or less than the Irish bloggers why do people pay that money for these girls who are not well known outside of Ireland ,,,
    It's the same with Rosie connellys aluxe glasses they are on wish for €2 and people are paying €15 it makes me wonder what type of person would rather pay €15 for something worth €2

I completely agree. Personally, I'd rather buy a few liquid lipsticks from colourpop or Dose of Colors instead of enchantbyjl. It's not really a stab at MUF, it's just, I don't think I like the colour selections and I don't think the quality is worth the price point, whereas Dose of Colors and Colourpop are tried and tested and have a great selection of colours that you can choose what's good for you personally. Not to mention the prices are grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Siobhnk

Just after seeing on Mark Rogers snap chat, Suzanne Jackson claiming her eyeshadow pallete isn't private labelled at her launch night. I hope it's true but you do question why you don't see the behind the scenes work of formulating a new product from scratch. Fair play to her if she's done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Lindy97

But aren't all her other products white label? She confirmed it in an Independent article last year (after being asked). She had made the same claims about all of those products too, that they were developed "from scratch".
    I understand taking a product to market still requires a lot of work and she still had to be involved in the design etc. but don't claim you were involved in the forumulation process. It just makes you look like a liar.
    She said the same thing about her wedding dress, that she designed it with Hailey Page in 3 months. I was dubious and then lo and behold on her blog she says that she took parts of Hailey's designs from other dresses and brought them together (corset from one, skirt from another). That is NOT designing a dress. That's picking parts you like from others and a designer using their skills to blend them together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Lindy97 wrote: »
    But aren't all her other products white label? She confirmed it in an Independent article last year (after being asked). She had made the same claims about all of those products too, that they were developed "from scratch".
    I understand taking a product to market still requires a lot of work and she still had to be involved in the design etc. but don't claim you were involved in the forumulation process. It just makes you look like a liar.
    Agreed. Most of the beauty products that have been launched in the past few years are white label. There's nothing wrong with that, how else do you think these products are brought to market by people who don't have a background in science or quite a lot of funds? Most of the work is done in the packaging design.
    Her product looks good and should be very successful for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Lindy97 wrote: »
    She said the same thing about her wedding dress, that she designed it with Hailey Page in 3 months. I was dubious and then lo and behold on her blog she says that she took parts of Hailey's designs from other dresses and brought them together (corset from one, skirt from another). That is NOT designing a dress. That's picking parts you like from others and a designer using their skills to blend them together
    No she denied she ever said that to the journalist and when I said it to her she was very defensive said none of her products were white label and that there was legal stuff going on over the published article stating otherwise

Yeah I remember being confused with that article, she had said before it that they weren't white label, so I just assumed she had been caught in a lie. If she's saying none of her products are white label that's a definite lie. I know it takes time and effort with the design of the packaging etc but there's no way she would be able to churn out that many products so quickly.

But sure just look at Charlotte Crosbys contour palette, the exact same as Suzannes, just different packaging. Charlotte also had her eyeshadow palette launch last night in Dublin too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭wolfmoon87

Her lash case is the exact same as the House of Lashes one.

m_5792509399086ae69f01e20c.jpg

image2_grande.JPG?v=1486818330

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Has MUF ever claimed that her products aren't white label I wonder?

Oh That's interesting to know Lexie.

Its very strange, some of her packaging etc is near identical to other brands so surely there would be copyright if she developed from scratch.

(the above example being one, it's almost identical but there are some changes to the border..every second detail and the corners, the design is pointed. Id find it hard to believe that these weren't produced in the same place and/or picked out of the same catalogue. Either way, it aint designed from scratch...just like her wedding dress.

I follow Michelle Regazolli Stone (MRS Makeup) on Snapchat and she was at the Charlotte Crosby launch last night. She showed off the goodie bag she received on Snapchat this morning and apart from colour selection (I maybe blind) and packaging, Charlotte's eyeshadow palettes resemble SoSue's quite a lot. The contour pallets are the same. Maybe It's just me seeing things but I think they look very similar if you take away branding and obviously eyeshadow colours

ratmouse wrote: »
    Has MUF ever claimed that her products aren't white label I wonder?

In this post she implies that the lip kits aren't white labelled...

https://www.instagram.com/p/BRn-ZaCDHaF/?taken-by=enchantbyjl
    The easy route is to simply buy in an existing product and slap your name on the packaging but I'll always chose the hard, creative, albeit long winded route. Holding something in your hands you designed from scratch in your mind is an incredible feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

I wonder why she is selling them through easilocks rather then her own webiste like the brushes?

The one thing I don't get about people bringing out there products is why they don't show the whole process! Or make blog posts about it! When u blog everything but don't blog that it is a bit suss I think?

idunno78 wrote: »
    I wonder why she is selling them through easilocks rather then her own webiste like the brushes?

The one thing I don't get about people bringing out there products is why they don't show the whole process! Or make blog posts about it! When u blog everything but don't blog that it is a bit suss I think?

I forgot she sold them through easilocks. Funnily enough, Charlotte Crosby's makeup range is through them too. I had a look at her liquid lipstick swatches on the site, and some of the colours are similar to MUF's too

• Subscribers Posts: 342 ✭✭NicsM

Just saw some snaps from last night and in her speech at the launch party, Suzanne clearly says the palette isn't "private label by any means" so.... ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

yea
    idunno78 wrote: »

Yes, it would be an easy way to show it's not white label. Funny how they never do it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭GingerLily

I guess the question isn't - is the 100% white label? - but rather - how far removed from white label is it? Because she asks for custom shades does that make it technically no longer white label etc.?

Suzanne commented in a beauty group on Facebook saying again that her make up isn't private labelled, and that her contour pallete was copied. She called anyone who said it was a white label job a busy body.

I'd have a lot more respect for her if she stopped all of this and just said it was white labelled. But it's gone too far. If it wasn't private labelled I'm sure she would have shown the behind the scenes in the lab etc. I'm actually not sure she knows the meaning of private labelling.

Siobhnk wrote: »
    Suzanne commented in a beauty group on Facebook saying again that her make up isn't private labelled, and that her contour pallete was copied. She called anyone who said it was a white label job a busy body.

What's the name of the facebook group?

Beauty Boxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭qxtasybe1nwfh2

Siobhnk wrote: »

I'd have a lot more respect for her if she stopped all of this and just said it was white labelled. But it's gone too far. If it wasn't private labelled I'm sure she would have shown the behind the scenes in the lab etc. I'm actually not sure she knows the meaning of private labelling.

I just don't believe her. The money that it costs to run a lab. Is she saying that she employees staff to work in these labs etc. Even Kylie Jenner shares a lab. Jeffree star uses the same lab space as other brands too. But she has her own lab? It costs a bomb. I think that white labelling is gone so complex now that maybe because she looks and says I want that shade in that order and that one to be metallic etc. but I doubt she is making these shadow formulas from scratch.

Also I imagine she is referring to charlotte geordie shores contour palette as copying her? Doubt it.

She never said she had her own lab, just that it was not white labelled. I'd imagine if she did make it from scratch like she claims, she'd be sharing a lab like Kylie and Jeffree, it's really only big brands like MAC/Estee Lauder that'd have their own labs :)

Yeah see that's what I'm wondering, is she getting confused by thinking that picking the shades individually/choosing their finish is making it from scratch. As in she didn't just pick a ready made palette from a catalogue and pop SOSU on it. Either way if she didn't develop the formula, it ain't made from scratch.

And yep the palette she was referring to was Charlotte Crosbys! Someone posted a picture of it comparing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭heyjude88

I'm sorry, but she was posting snaps etc from her "business trips" to Hong Kong during the year. It's all made in China. Cheap tat in my opinion. Bulk bought out of a magazine and then just re branded !

Look at the likes of Pippa teaming up with blank canvas, remember Sue was all about Crown brush? All white labelling . She just makes way more money doing it directly herself, cut out the middle man which would be crown brush etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Holly Carpenter has created a new brand "LoveLift". I'm not mad on the name. Any ideas what it could be? More WL stuff?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭qxtasybe1nwfh2

anna080 wrote: »
    Holly Carpenter has created a new brand "LoveLift". I'm not mad on the name. Any ideas what it could be? More WL stuff?!

Maybe gym clothes?

Oh yes. Good guess!

Gym gear would have been my guess too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭gossipgirl10

Her Insta says "3 weeks until the pieces are available to buy" so definitely sounds like something clothing related I'd say gym stuff too good guess!

For some reason I thought jewellery. She's always showing off her earrings but never says where they're from- but the name Love Lift doesn't fit with jewellery so ye are probably right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭gossipgirl10

Oooh I dunno now about gym gear her Insta stories for the shoot has loads of river island heels and it's in a setting that doesn't really line up with gym gear... you could be right with jewellery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭ciaradx

The Beautiful Truth said on her snapchat today that she's preparing a blog post on white labelling and private labelling, will be very interested to read it.