Electric Picnic 2017 **Discussion Only // No Ticket Sales**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭stead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭rebelreded

Stillill42 wrote: »
    Kinara kitchen all the way.

I've a feeling there might be a Boojum van there this year. Was at Indiependence and had massive queues all weekend. Tasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

Something that doesn't come up very often. Can anyone recommend any good food stalls at Electric Picnic? Over the years I have generally been very boring and played it safe with food I can stomach and one meal a day. Had a Wok N Roll last year and it left my stomach in the heap for the rest of the day.
    '
    Italian place right next to Mindfield, big portions and lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

rebelreded wrote: »
    I've a feeling there might be a Boojum van there this year. Was at Indiependence and had massive queues all weekend. Tasty.
    I'd love that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,788 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

I was hoping someone would say boojum, that would be excellent. If not has anyone else got anywhere to recommend for a burrito? I had that Italian place next to Mindfield last year and it was lovely actually. At Castlepalooza and Body & Soul there was a chicken wing bar that was pretty tasty and gave HUGE portions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 eileenf99

declanleo wrote: »
    Depends on where you are coming from. It's a 1hour drive from the red cow to stradbally at the best of times if coming from dublin but Friday rush hour will nearly double it. Leaving at 7 could get you to wristband/ticket exchange for 8.30/9 o clock.nearly 10 before you have tent set up more than likely in joplin. I'd leave as early as possible.

Thanks everyone have a podpad so setting up tent not an issue I might move heaven and earth to see if I can go a bit earlier in three afternoon though sounds like it takes a bit of time to get in and set up.

I was hoping someone would say boojum, that would be excellent. If not has anyone else got anywhere to recommend for a burrito? I had that Italian place next to Mindfield last year and it was lovely actually. At Castlepalooza and Body & Soul there was a chicken wing bar that was pretty tasty and gave HUGE portions.

A wing's place would be brilliant, messy but brilliant

eileenf99 wrote: »
    declanleo wrote: »
    Depends on where you are coming from. It's a 1hour drive from the red cow to stradbally at the best of times if coming from dublin but Friday rush hour will nearly double it. Leaving at 7 could get you to wristband/ticket exchange for 8.30/9 o clock.nearly 10 before you have tent set up more than likely in joplin. I'd leave as early as possible.

Thanks everyone have a podpad so setting up tent not an issue I might move heaven and earth to see if I can go a bit earlier in three afternoon though sounds like it takes a bit of time to get in and set up.

Setup is grand if in a podpad,drop bags, open can, pick up bag of cans and stroll to the salty dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Lzmunky

Something that doesn't come up very often. Can anyone recommend any good food stalls at Electric Picnic? Over the years I have generally been very boring and played it safe with food I can stomach and one meal a day. Had a Wok N Roll last year and it left my stomach in the heap for the rest of the day.

Barracuda in Hendrix is brilliant for the brickfisht...

Lzmunky wrote: »

Barracuda in Hendrix is brilliant for the brickfisht...

There's a place in Trenchtown that does Breakfast Bla's which are the business, spent a lovely quiet hour there last year, soaking in the 'atmosphere'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,156 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Four more sleeps, for advance volunteers that is :):)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭paulieeye

Just vince staples is playing and there's that history of hip hop...happy days.

Anyone know any other rap or scratch dj type stuff going on??

MJohnston wrote: »
    eoghan18 wrote: »
    Does anyone else think the Electric Ireland Throwback Party is a bit disappointing this year?

I think it is disappointing that it exists, but then I hate musical nostalgia for **** artists.
    Absolutely agree. But could you make a minor exception for Bananarama? Not bad last year, they have the tunes, but the set-up was a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭eplady2017

eoghan18 wrote: »
    When going into the Main arena you WILL get searched. Lads get patted down and pockets sometimes checked. If you have a bag you will definitely be searched.

On the bag issue, I had previously emailed them asking about bag sizes a few weeks back. They said then A4.
    However, I received an update from them today.....

"Following on from previous email, I would like to notify you of a change in policy.
    There will be separate lanes upon entry to the arena for bags smaller than A4 / no bags and for all other bags. You may be subject to longer queues should you decide to bring a bag larger than A4.

Kind Regards
    Electric Picnic team"

So it seems now we can bring in any bag size but expect to have to queue longer to have a larger bag searched..

paulieeye wrote: »

A Tribe Called Quest, Run the Jewels, Vince Staples and Rusgano Family among others.

Four more sleeps, for advance volunteers that is :):)
    Am envious man. Gotta try that sometime, though I don't fancy doing the festival volunteering before getting onto the advance stuff. Have a good week there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,212 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I'm pretty sure for the money you pay for a tray of Heineken you can exchange your cans for cold ones during the weekend. They used to anyway.

Whether that makes it more reasonable is subjective.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,311 ✭✭✭✭alastair

eplady2017 wrote: »
    On the bag issue, I had previously emailed them asking about bag sizes a few weeks back. They said then A4.
    However, I received an update from them today.....

"Following on from previous email, I would like to notify you of a change in policy.
    There will be separate lanes upon entry to the arena for bags smaller than A4 / no bags and for all other bags. You may be subject to longer queues should you decide to bring a bag larger than A4.

Kind Regards
    Electric Picnic team"

So it seems now we can bring in any bag size but expect to have to queue longer to have a larger bag searched..

That's DEFINITELY going to work. Rollyeyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

paulieeye wrote: »

A Tribe Called Quest and RTJ both bound to give it a lash!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

everlast75 wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure for the money you pay for a tray of Heineken you can exchange your cans for cold ones during the weekend. They used to anyway.

Whether that makes it more reasonable is subjective.

That's the beuaty of the festihuts. We have the power cable and one of my hutmates has purchased one of these bad boys.

http://www.halfords.ie/camping-leisure/camping/coolboxes/halfords-40-litre-mains-and-12v-24v-electric-coolbox

Holds 56 330ml cans so probably around 40 500ml. Icy cold beer all weekend!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

rebelreded wrote: »

Much as I love Boojum, I would have to think it'd be an explosively bad idea to have a burrito at a festival :pac:

Kinara would definitely be one my favourites out of the usual food stalls, Rathmullen House is also superb. Saba do really amazing Thai curry chips. There's also this German cheesy bread that does lovely fresh baked bread stuffed with mozzarella type cheese and bits of bacon, topped with sour cream - highly recommended for low energy moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭eplady2017

alastair wrote: »
    That's DEFINITELY going to work. Rollyeyes.

Agree.. Can see that lasting about a day before it will be back to previous years checking etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Dalkeybabe

Have gone to EP since 2007, missed last year but heading this year.
    I cannot wait!! We used to sneak in drink using a particular item but lost it back in 2006, cannot replace it unfortunately. Any ideas? How do most of you get drink into the Arena?
    Much appreciated.

Dalkeybabe wrote: »
    Have gone to EP since 2007, missed last year but heading this year.
    I cannot wait!! We used to sneak in drink using a particular item but lost it back in 2006, cannot replace it unfortunately. Any ideas? How do most of you get drink into the Arena?
    Much appreciated.

Woo hoo! Here we go. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 eoghan18

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    Am envious man. Gotta try that sometime, though I don't fancy doing the festival volunteering before getting onto the advance stuff. Have a good week there.

Where are you posted on Sunday? I might see you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Serious enough question like, If I have a cup with a lid in my hand going into the main arena will that be OK so ling as I didn't have anything else with me in a bag? Kinda want to bring a cup like that with me so I can boogie without spillage so if I can fill it with a can and then pour the beer I buy in the main area into it I'll be happy out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,212 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Jayop wrote: »
    That's the beuaty of the festihuts. We have the power cable and one of my hutmates has purchased one of these bad boys.

http://www.halfords.ie/camping-leisure/camping/coolboxes/halfords-40-litre-mains-and-12v-24v-electric-coolbox

Holds 56 330ml cans so probably around 40 500ml. Icy cold beer all weekend!!

So um.... which hut are ye in? :D

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Jayop wrote: »
    Serious enough question like, If I have a cup with a lid in my hand going into the main arena will that be OK so ling as I didn't have anything else with me in a bag? Kinda want to bring a cup like that with me so I can boogie without spillage so if I can fill it with a can and then pour the beer I buy in the main area into it I'll be happy out.

shouldn't be that big an issue, actually quite a decent idea

zoo-moos-bobo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 eoghan18

shouldn't be that big an issue, actually quite a decent idea

zoo-moos-bobo.jpg

You are allowed to bring empty containers into the main arena