Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Season 7 Episode 6 "Beyond the Wall" - "Non book readers" - Spoilers from post 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭marcus001

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Another thing I was hoping to see where Giants in that battle scene, we know the night king has some in his army but there was no sign of them anywhere.

Throw in Giants, a Dragon and an army of undead, things are looking pretty sweet for the Winter Olympic Javelin gold medallist night king.

Giants fighting on an icy lake. What could go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Doola

I'm not sure GRRM (if he's still guiding the writers in the background) cares all that much about the ickyness factor! :-)
    We've lived with Cersei and Jamie for 7 seasons for instance.
    The writers are really emphasising that there's an attraction on both sides, that it would be wasted effort surely if it came to nothing.
    I guess we'll have to wait and see. My money is on them doing the deed next episode!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Doola wrote: »
    I'm not sure GRRM (if he's still guiding the writers in the background) cares all that much about the ickyness factor! :-)
    We've lived with Cersei and Jamie for 7 seasons for instance.
    The writers are really emphasising that there's an attraction on both sides, that it would be wasted effort surely if it came to nothing.
    I guess we'll have to wait and see. My money is on them doing the deed next episode!

I posted this on the speculation thread, but I think there's a big difference between Cersi-Jamie having an incestuous relationship and Dany-Jon. Cersei is a villain, Jamie is a flawed hero, with this being his biggest flaw.

Jon and Dany are the 'great white hopes' of the series. They would be held to a different moral standard by fans.

You could be right about George RR Martin though, his icky-metre doesn't seem to be calibrated the same as most people's :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Doola wrote: »
    Secondly - there was SO much dialogue in this episode about children and succession lines (even Jorah to Jon about passing the sword onto his children), it sounds to me like there's definitely a Dany-Jon saviour sprog on the way.

I wouldn't put it past this to lead to friction between Jon and Dany when it's revealed that they are related, he is a true heir and can have children, while she can't. Therefore people would look to him as their true leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,724 ✭✭✭✭flazio

And as I've mentioned before, while the Targeryans and two of the remaining Lannisters are OK with keeping it in the family, I don't think the Starks were too keen and regardless of the blood in him Jon was raised with Stark morals.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Doola

I wouldn't put it past this to lead to friction between Jon and Dany when it's revealed that they are related, he is a true heir and can have children, while she can't. Therefore people would look to him as their true leader.

That's an interesting view! We could potentially have Dany having to 'bend the knee' to Jon, which given the last 6 seasons of her banging on about being the rightful heir to the Iron Throne, would be a hard pill for her to swallow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,394 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I'm rooting for those crazy kids. Auntie/Nephew or not.

Jon will be probably be a bit put off when/if he finds out, honourable fool that he is, but Dany will be like "My Dad married his sister and I turned out fine, kinda. We'll be grand." and they'll live happily ever after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,351 ✭✭✭Guffy

maudgonner wrote: »
    I definitely think that's building to something but I'm wondering if there's a different angle to it. It's pure speculation, so I'll spoiler it.
    I think Daenerys will die and Jon will be her successor. I can't see the show endorsing incest to that degree, I think the ickyness factor would be too much.

Ah no... why did i unspoiler. This makes so much sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Guffy wrote: »
    Ah no... why did i unspoiler. This makes so much sense

Ah no, I'm only talking out my my arse and I'll probably change my mind about it within the hour, I wouldn't worry :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,468 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

GRRM said the ending would be very bittersweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

....... wrote: »
    Id imagine the deed will be well done by the time he finds out he is a Targ, and then itll be too late.

Exactly, just what I was thinking. And you'd wonder with the speed ravens fly in the show, why Bran couldn't have sent one to Dragonstone to tell Jon what the craic was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,062 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Penn wrote: »
    The wights only realised the lake had refrozen enough for them to cross when the Hound threw the rock.

Did this remind anyone else of Pippin throwing the stone into the well in LOTR? Course the difference is, noone is going to tell the Hound to "throw himself in next time.":P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mr Crispy

Did this remind anyone else of Pippin throwing the stone into the well in LOTR? Course the difference is, noone is going to tell the Hound to "throw himself in next time.":P

Yes! Although it wasn't a throw done on purpose in Pip's case. Knocked over a skull or helmet or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭foxatron

I wonder which is frowned upon more, riding your sister or riding your aunt. These questions need to be answered 😜

Hazys wrote: »
    In this episode, you knew the dragons we going to save the day, there was no suspense when Jon Snow and his gang we running out of space on top of the rock.

For half the episode I was like, they can't just have the dragons swoop in and rescue them at the last minute, there has to be some sort of twist here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,595 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

For half the episode I was like, they can't just have the dragons swoop in and rescue them at the last minute, there has to be some sort of twist here..

That was stupid and could have dealt with it way better than being stuck on a lump of rock in the middle of a lake.
    Have them holed up in a cave or pass of some sort.Still out numbered and ****ed but a little less obvious.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

Story quality has declined a lot this season. If I wasn't invested in the show, I'd stop watching.

Yes! Although it wasn't a throw done on purpose in Pip's case. Knocked over a skull or helmet or something?

Yes it was kind of accidental in the film but he deliberately dropped a stone in the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭wfdrun

....... wrote: »
    I dont think the insectuous nature of Jon and Danys relationship will matter at all.

Sure we are well used to Jaime and Cersei and we liked Tommen and his sister.

Hey Ant (aunt)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Washout

not the only scene that reminded me of LOTR.

1) Dragons are coming was like the Eagles are coming to rescue Frodo and Sam from the rock in Mordor.

2) Jon Snow waking up in the bed reminded me of Frodo waking up in Rivendell. I was half expecting Sir Davos and The Hound to come in and start jumping on the bed ala Merry and Pip in the film.

I am being light humored. I found the episode excellent.

Washout wrote: »

2) Jon Snow waking up in the bed reminded me of Frodo waking up in Rivendell. I was half expecting Sir Davos and The Hound to come in and start jumping on the bed ala Merry and Pip in the film.

That struck me too.:) And of course the struggle through the blizzard was reminiscent of TFOTR, but that's more generic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

ziggy wrote: »

We have to show Cersei that zombies are real. People may have dismissed them as legend, and she may scoff at the notion of zombies, but a dangerous expedition that cannot possibly be successful in order to abduct a zombie and (seven hells) bring him to king's landing is necessary to show her that the UNDEAD EXIST!

Wait a minute

main-qimg-e7d4e0d9dc92deab34693cae58ad16d5

Okay, I'll stop now, it's too silly to send up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,038 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Pretty sure the Mountain never died. He was kept alive on the brink of death and Qyburn brought him back in his present form.

Plus it would be far easier for Cersei to believe what happened to the Mountain than the Night King and his army considering they're largely considered stories from hundreds of years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,394 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

We have to show Cersei that zombies are real. People may have dismissed them as legend, and she may scoff at the notion of zombies, but a dangerous expedition that cannot possibly be successful in order to abduct a zombie and (seven hells) bring him to king's landing is necessary to show her that the UNDEAD EXIST!

Wait a minute

main-qimg-e7d4e0d9dc92deab34693cae58ad16d5

Okay, I'll stop now, it's too silly to send up.

The Mountain is more of a twisted experiment rather than a zombie. Pretty sure he never actually died.

Edit: What Penn said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,473 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

They couldn't have survived if they were booked up in a pass etc as the wights don't need to rest, they'd just be overrun.

Mind you, I was shouting at the hound to smash the ice, especially when they saw the first guy fall in (again!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

Penn wrote: »
    Pretty sure the Mountain never died. He was kept alive on the brink of death and Qyburn brought him back in his present form.

He doesn't eat or drink and even ser Kevan believed him to be undead. Okay the tv series, unlike the books, hasn't actually spelled out that that he doesn't eat or drink, but the lack of mouth on his helmet is kind of indicative that they're following the books on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,927 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

maudgonner wrote: »
    I definitely think that's building to something but I'm wondering if there's a different angle to it. It's pure speculation, so I'll spoiler it.
    I think Daenerys will die and Jon will be her successor. I can't see the show endorsing incest to that degree, I think the ickyness factor would be too much.

I hadn't thought of that. I have a different angle, also pure speculation, which I'll also spoiler...
    I think, based on not much more than his appearance, that Jon is actually Robert's son. I think Lyanna was pregnant with Robert's child when she ran away with Rhaegar. If he was a Targ, he'd have their hair colour.. .