ISIS Terrorist Attack in Barcelona

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Theresa May rejects

More conspiracy nonsense .

What that has to do with the latest Europe attacks ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

murpho999 wrote: »
    Ok, and who do you intern?
    How would internment have stopped the Manchester attack that was done by a British person?

That ones easy...he travelled to Syria and Libya not long before he blew up those kids...plus his father was linked heavily with a terrorist organisation in Libya in the 80's...so surely he's ripe for internment to delve deeper into his reasons for travelling to Syria at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Aristotle145

Let me guess..He was one of those scientists or doctors that Merkel was telling us about...

Yes a highly educated killer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,008 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Gravelly wrote: »
    Beards. Check the guys with beards. And the guys wearing islamic clothing. And the guys who've been to Morocco, Libya, etc. Wearing a backpack and a beard - "can I just check your backpack there sir".

not going to make a difference. extremists will just stop growing beards. and wearing islamic clothing and carying backpacks.
    Alienating the community? Tough ****

not tough anything at all. Alienating the community means the community won't work with the authorities.
    if the community doesn't want to be alienated, start reporting the mosques where terrorism is being preached.

being done.
    Start getting out in the streets in the thousands after every attack screaming "not in my name"

no . unless we start doing it when one of our criminals or extremists caries out attacks or crime. not their job to go out in the thousands if we don't do it. it's double standards expecting them to do it when you won't.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

And now something is going down in Finland??????

Mental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

Gatling wrote: »
    More conspiracy nonsense .

What that has to do with the latest Europe attacks ,

Everything. Western governments claim they protecting citizens from terrorists, but they do everything to protect and stop us knowing the support countries have provided to terrorists. Its well known Saudi Arabia is the world biggest facilitator of Sunni terrorism. Why is the UK withholding information that the 9/11 victim families need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭JaCrispy

no . unless we start doing it when one of our criminals or extremists caries out attacks or crime. not their job to go out in the thousands if we don't do it. it's double standards expecting them to do it when you won't.

When has one of "our" criminals or extremists carried out a terrorist attack in the name of Christianity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Ok, and who do you intern?
    How would internment have stopped the Manchester attack that was done by a British person?

Its not going to stop every attack but let's give it a chance. It's better than Facebook filters and candles don't you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

ricero wrote: »
    Baffles me that europe are still so soft and weak. By now there should be a closed border policy on all countries with isis links.

Also time to put boots on the ground in syria and other isis controlled areas. A european coalition force should be made. Cut the head of the snake off

Um, there are boots on the ground in Syria. What do you think has been going on there for the last number of years?

If you send EUFOR to Syria,...what will that achieve?

It's like dropping a pea sized sponge in a bath full of water and expecting it to soak it all up....completely uneffective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I heard this story when it broke first and haven't really checked in with it since. Absolute carnage, such a terrible way to lose a loved one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Its not going to stop every attack but let's give it a chance. It's better than Facebook filters and candles don't you think.

I don't see how it will stop it and will only lead to thousands of people being arrested in the wrong.

I don't know what the solution is but this is not it.
    Agree with you about candles, facebook and the "Pray for Barcelona" type posts. Total rubbish.

Longer term they will have to look at how these people are being turned into terrorists and what can be done to prevent the radicalisation.

Very difficult though.

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    If that second attack happened in Ireland we'd be ****ed. Lets use Bray as Cambrils for example.. Van mounts pavement and hits a Garda car before flipping. Fellas get out with axes and 'suicide vests'. What can the Gardai there do to stop them? Pepper spray?? Batons? By the time an armed unit from Dublin or an Army Ranger unit got to Bray there'd be over a hundred killed.

assuming the armed regional support unit covers wicklow then they should be there quite quickly.
    ricero wrote: »
    Baffles me that europe are still so soft and weak. By now there should be a closed border policy on all countries with isis links.

Also time to put boots on the ground in syria and other isis controlled areas. A european coalition force should be made. Cut the head of the snake off

not an option, it was a distaster is iraq among others. russia is all ready taking care of isis along with america to an extent.
    BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Another attack in Finland now. Jesus we had some Einstein on here this morning claiming these attacks for becoming less frequent. Time to introduce internment IMO.

internment doesn't work and isn't cost effective.
    CB19Kevo wrote: »
    Guards really need to start rolling out the armed response units,Put one in each county,More in the cities and extra units ready to be deployed on a regional basis.
    Worth the millions of investment,Be kept busy with robberies and gangland crime until needed for a terror incident.

i believe we all ready have armed regional support units.
    FraR wrote: »
    Time to close the borders. Enough is enough.

would be pointless as the attacks are caried out by homegrown extremists.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Most of the attacks of this variety come from European-born terrorists, I mean pretty much all of the attackers in the U.K. were from that country so it's a deeper problem than that unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Everything. Western governments claim they protecting citizens from terrorists, but they do everything to protect and stop us knowing the support countries have provided to terrorists. Its well known Saudi Arabia is the world biggest facilitator of Sunni terrorism. Why is the UK withholding information that the 9/11 victim families need?

Theresa May recently signed a multi billion dollar arms deal with the same Saudis.
    In short she is an utter hypocrite and the sooner the dirt is revealed the better for everyone,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

FTA69 wrote: »
    Most of the attacks of this variety come from European-born terrorists, I mean pretty much all of the attackers in the U.K. were from that country so it's a deeper problem than that unfortunately.

Yeh so close the borders and start tackling homegrown extremism instead of supplementing it.

JaCrispy wrote: »
    When has one of "our" criminals or extremists carried out a terrorist attack in the name of Christianity?

Not that i agree with this. The Iraq invasion. America and UK are christen countries who invaded the country. For Muslims drone strikes can be considered terrorism.

I find it interesting we have never attacked a Muslim country allied with Saudi Arabia and Israel? Why not if our goal was to eradicate Muslim terrorism of all kinds? Why has Saudi Arabia, Qatar and United Arab Emirate, avoided economic sanctions?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭FraR

FTA69 wrote: »

First and second generation immigrants. None of the recent terrorists were native to this continent. This is a wholly imported problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

not going to make a difference. extremists will just stop growing beards. and wearing islamic clothing and carying backpacks.

Then we can change tack. For now they wear beards and carry backpacks, if it's beardists and backpackist to search them, tough.
    not tough anything at all. Alienating the community means the community won't work with the authorities.

They don't work with the authorities now so we would lose nothing.

In the 90's I marched for peace like many others. If I had known anyone who was involved in plotting ira terrorism, I would have reported them to the gardai. No double standards here chump, on my part anyway.

Do you ever get sick of deflecting for Allah? Another one of your lads gone on a rampage in Finland, are you not embarrassed?

davycc wrote: »
    Theresa May recently signed a multi billion dollar arms deal with the same Saudis.
    In short she is an utter hypocrite and the sooner the dirt is revealed the better for everyone,

True.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

First and second generation immigrants. None of the recent terrorists were native to this continent. This is a wholly imported problem.

How is a second generartion immigrant not native?

Is Leo Veradkhar not Irish then?

Total and utter nonsense. The hunger strike has a history in Ireland stretching back to Celtic pre-Christian times and is a long-standing tactic in political resistance across the globe. I'd suggest you read Bobby Sands' diary, there's nothing at all in there about the need to conform with Catholicism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I can't see that making any difference. Unfortunately, there seem to be lads (and occasionally young women) born and bred in European countries that get radicalised, I can see this happening more if Europe takes a harder line with immigrants from Muslim countries. Tactically, it is a bad move. Close borders, open borders - you can't win and we may never see an end to this.

Did he live in a no go zone or parallell society in Ireland,or was he actually integrated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Everything.

Bs but then again people will say anything these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

I suspect it's a question of self-identity, for example the men who yesterday and today decided that they identified more with their deranged religious ravings rather than their fellow European citizens would I believe find it difficult to identify as European.

Lux23 wrote: »
    I can't see that making any difference. Unfortunately, there seem to be lads (and occasionally young women) born and bred in European countries that get radicalised, I can see this happening more if Europe takes a harder line with immigrants from Muslim countries. Tactically, it is a bad move. Close borders, open borders - you can't win and we may never see an end to this.

Remember there are generations to come as well,you want them to suffer from this too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I don't see how it will stop it and will only lead to thousands of people being arrested in the wrong.

Most of us would rather tens of thousands arrested in the wrong than the sight of children's bodies lying in the street. You need to look at your priorities. I know you feel for these guys, but a few days or weeks in prison being checked out is a small thing compared to the death of innocents, even if those innocents are unbelievers.

Sorry but a second or third generation immigrant is native. What are you suggesting otherwise? That we somehow round up people descended from migrants? Which migrant groups and how far back?

Half of the nutters committing terrorist acts in the U.K. were of African or West Indian descent and were Islamic converts, there's more than a few white radical Muslims about too who have been involved in notorious groups.

I'm not suggesting there isn't a problem by the way, but it isn't some simplistic issue involving hordes of foreigners - rather a problem involving our own citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

Another attack? this time in Finland, what have the poor people in Finland ever done to Muslims?

Then we can change tack. For now they wear beards and carry backpacks, if it's beardists and backpackist to search them, tough.

not tough at all. your suggestion doesn't work as there is huge room for extremists to get through.
    They don't work with the authorities now so we would lose nothing.

they do work with the authorities now so we would lose a hell of a lot.
    In the 90's I marched for peace like many others. If I had known anyone who was involved in plotting ira terrorism, I would have reported them to the gardai. No double standards here chump, on my part anyway.

i suspect you are in a minority.