Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

Ah lads come on you know the Waterford forum is generally the most active and you get a good laugh out of it all the same. There are some genuine posters there who are well able to debate about hurling but they're hidden by the lads who are posting every 5mins about nonsense.

I know 100% Aussie is a lucky man, but you're telling me that you wouldn't have appealed if TJ got sent off because Harry Kehoe tried to stop him off the ball?

The moment the match was over, lads were celebrating but the incident with Gleeson was trending all over social media, that wasn't Waterfords fault. So when that is the talk of Ireland, of course you're going to have lads talking about appeals. He's our star player and you'd worry going into a final without him. That's all it is.

The thing with Conor Gleeson is pointless imo, he's gone and I don't think they'll try to appeal it, but if they do..sure what's the harm if they find a good defense to go with. The country is full of chancers so why not take a punt and try get a lad who has been performing very well all year into his first ever All Ireland.

I'm well aware that we have our own forum and I'll head back there after this post but I was just responding to a poster talking about how foolish we've been acting. Maybe we have been, but I'm sure we'll get a little more experience with the big occasions cause this group of players we have are good enough to be competing with the top 2 for years to come. Besta luck with the u21!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,858 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I agree time to draw a line under this business I think- Waterford are in an all Ireland final and that's where the focus should be rather than all this what-aboutery stuff (from all sides)- it just plays into your opponents hands and takes focus off the hurling itself. There is plenty of time to settle though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

I dunno deise, you're in an all Ireland final, I dunno why ye would be even reading the forum of a county that isn't, but either way, we've had Waterford fans in here on the wind up repeatedly since ye bet us, I just find the fascination with what Kilkenny think of ye really interesting.

Good god man, at least acknowledge that a Kilkenny man literally posted a quote from the Waterford GAA thread for people to discuss. Not even about the incident, about a post a Waterford person made about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I dunno deise, you're in an all Ireland final, I dunno why ye would be even reading the forum of a county that isn't, but either way, we've had Waterford fans in here on the wind up repeatedly since ye bet us, I just find the fascination with what Kilkenny think of ye really interesting.

Good god man, at least acknowledge that a Kilkenny man literally posted a quote from the Waterford GAA thread for people to discuss. Not even about the incident, about a post a Waterford person made about it.
    Good God man, when will the madness stop?!

Anyway you're right.

Good God man, when will the madness stop?!

Anyway you're right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭JimTreacy

Is it cash on the turnstile Saturday evening in Thurles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

JimTreacy wrote: »
    Is it cash on the turnstile Saturday evening in Thurles.

As far as I know, its €15 entry, might have a ticket booth outside but its definitely unreserved seating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Cornerback1

Is there a game on before the game at 4pm?

No, two games 4pm and 6pm.

danganabu wrote: »

No, two games 4pm and 6pm.

Just checked there as I thought I read last week there was an earlier game. There's an U21 'B' game at 2pm: Kerry and Meath. That's a long sit until 7:30ish!!!

Apologies, I must get on to the stadium, I was asked to provide a few bodies for the stiles and that they needed to be there for 3pm!

Just double check that Dangan. I saw it on HoganStand Fixtures page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

What's the feeling for the weekend?you'd expect a comfortable win but as we know it doesn't always work like that but really we should have to much for derry although they probably won't be to bad.
    Cleere and pat lyng are injury concerns according to the paper bit it huw lalor played for olg but conor doheny still out.
    I still think it's a shame kevin farrell has dropped himself off the panel but andy gaffney could be on the squad.
    John walsh done well last weekend he has to be on the team if his fit.
    I still think they need to sort out the number 4 position it might be ok this wknd but i don't think itd be strong enough against limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭JimTreacy

You would be hopeing for a good win to lay down a marker, can not understand these lads dropping off the panel number four has been a big worry all the summer that Conor Doheny must have a bad injury he is not a bad hurler. One thing I be worried is this swepper system I say that's the way Derry are going to line out. Here to a positive result very disappointed with the minors.

JimTreacy wrote: »
    You would be hopeing for a good win to lay down a marker, can not understand these lads dropping off the panel number four has been a big worry all the summer that Conor Doheny must have a bad injury he is not a bad hurler. One thing I be worried is this swepper system I say that's the way Derry are going to line out. Here to a positive result very disappointed with the minors.

You'd imagine they'll play very defensive but anything short of a win would be very dissapointing.
    Infairness to farrell he wasn't on the the 24 for the first 2 matches so he dropped himself off.I know everyone can't make the panel but from what I've seen of him he definitely looks good enough to be on the panel.If he stays improving I wouldn't be surprised to see him brought into the senior set up on the next few years.
    It's a pity doheny hasn't recovered yet but I'd like to see him at 4 his a tidy hurler.
    Mullen probably better on the hb line.he'll almost certainly be on the senior panel next year he has the makings of a good hurler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

Team. Darren Brennan. Michael Cody. Conor Delaney. Niall McMahon. Darren Mullen. Jason Cleere. Tommy Walsh. Huw Lawlor. Luke Scanlon. Richie Leahy (Capt.). John Donnelly. Sean Morrissey. Shane Walsh. Liam Blanchfield. Billy Ryan
    Subs include Alan Murphy, John Walsh. Pat Lyng is out injured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

John Walsh and Alan Murphy on the bench, Eddie is definitely not afraid of making tough decisions.

Lyng is a big loss, dont see him winning the all ireland without him in the team.

It's good they've tried to address the number 4 position as highlighted.this is the 3rd lad to be tried there.
    Intresting that mossy keoughan and conor o carroll on the 24.
    Lyng is injured Walsh still not starting after getting 6 points from play last wknd.
    Murphy apart from frees could do more from play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Village87

Decent panel,good to see Luke playing, South lads wont be happy.. John Walsh and Alan Murphy on the bench, Burke from Ttown who started last day not even on the 24, young Hennessy not on the 24 either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,561 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Who'll be the free-taker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭kkclubhurling

Who'll be the free-taker?

Shane Walsh I'd imagine.

Interesting team. I'd be hopeful we see Martin Keoghan get some game time, if we are to win this grade this year we will need our best 15 starting and 3 or 4 serious subs to bring off the bench. John Walsh is an interesting one, if the team lines out as named he is probably a bit unfortunate to miss out, however he is a very enigmatic talent and I can see how the management might think he is better suited sprung off the bench against a tiring defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭laneykin

Does anyone know which stand is open for the game tomorrow in Semple or are both open? Thanks

Shane Walsh I'd imagine.

Interesting team. I'd be hopeful we see Martin Keoghan get some game time, if we are to win this grade this year we will need our best 15 starting and 3 or 4 serious subs to bring off the bench. John Walsh is an interesting one, if the team lines out as named he is probably a bit unfortunate to miss out, however he is a very enigmatic talent and I can see how the management might think he is better suited sprung off the bench against a tiring defence.

If we can win tomorrow and get lyng and doheny back into the squad plus murphy and walsh fighting for places it strengthen things up.
    Most of this crop will see senior action in the next couple of years so id hopefull they can do themselves justice.
    We already had 5/6 see league action this year and I'd expect mullen,delaney,billy ryan,scanlon and john walsh get walsh cup game time next year.

brookville wrote: »
    We already had 5/6 see league action this year and I'd expect mullen,delaney,billy ryan,scanlon and john walsh get walsh cup game time next year.

Yeah Blanchfield & Cleere especially got some great experience in the league this year. Leahy got almost two full games also.

425511.PNG

Just turned on the TV. Missed the first three minutes. Great start by the lads, 1-01 to 0-00.

Eddie has already subbed Billy Ryan & Jason Cleere. I wonder if some clubs asked him to take players off if they are winning easily?

Jason Cleere is coming back after a bad hand injury. No harm to give lads a run

Whether they asked or not it was definitely the right thing to do, nothing to be gained from keeping those lads on, for either the clubs or the team preparing for a final. Feel bad for Derry, I missed two goals just switching my feed from the laptop to the TV.

The only thing I would take from today is that we are not lumping high balls into the forwards but playing diagonal balls to players in space. Obviously, there won't be the same time against better opposition.

blackcard wrote: »
    The only thing I would take from today is that we are not lumping high balls into the forwards but playing diagonal balls to players in space. Obviously, there won't be the same time against better opposition.

Yeah it's really hard to take much from it, Derry are playing at a much lower standard, you could see it in the opening minute they were not in the same league at all. It's not good preparation at all for the final.