Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 7 Episode 6 "Beyond the Wall" - "Non book readers" - Spoilers from post 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,779 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Thats a big factor allright .
    However the show takes in more than 1 billion dollars a year ,at an average cost of ~$10m an episdoe.
    An extra $30m isnt going to make much difference,especially when some tv channels show ads.More ads ,more revenue.

You're mental if you don't think someone is telling them there's no way in hell they can spend that 30m. Say it takes in a round $1bn, they're just going to toss away 3% of revenue?

why oh why did i watch it. Now I have to last another 10 days without thrones.

what an episode, when I saw all 3 dragons flying of I knew one was gone. but I was so excited that all three were flying north together I didn't really care. Brilliant stuff altogether!! great way of showing the passing of time with the Ice freezing over and being strong enough to hold all that weight.
    The Banter boys were great seriously meaningful scenes and brilliant comedy, I dont get why Arrya is talking in riddles with Sansa it makes no sense, have a chat sort it out kill Littlefinger simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Does the army of the dead not have any archers? Pretty poor organisation from them if not. Could have just picked off the lads from the edge of the lake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Pugzilla wrote: »
    It's the biggest TV show in history, more episodes will pay for themselves. Don't even need more CGI scenes, just dialogue and build up.

They're broke, they can't afford any more CGI.

See for yourself, the poor wildling at back had to fight thin air:

ImpossibleBowedAustraliancattledog-size_restricted.gif

• Site Banned Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

Nightking seems to be the only one with any brains. Even the normal white walkers are pretty stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭golfball37

Loved it. The dialogue amongst the lads whilst the viewer was waiting for hell to be unleashed was fantastic and edgy. Didn't expect as many of them to make it alive. I was half expecting the other dragon to come back for Jon and for Jon to mount him.. Beric then saying I told you he looked nothing like Ned Stark!
    Didn't care much for the winterfell scenes at all but the scenery north of the wall was just amazing and beautifully shot.
    Despite this season feeling rushed it has now produced two top rated episodes that stand with any previous in this and episode four.

How badass is the night king btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Was that the Westorosi equivalent of radioing in for a helicopter evac from a hotzone?

Pugzilla wrote: »
    Nightking seems to be the only one with any brains. Even the normal white walkers are pretty stupid.

Nah, he's a bellend too. Has an undead army, use it to test out the ice every now and again.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

Season is practically over now.
    I imagine the last episode will be battle of Kings Landing after Cersei/Euron try to ambush Jon and Danny at the meeting. The Red Keep will be destroyed as per the house of undying vision in season two. Whitewalkers will break through the wall in the final scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Nah, he's a bellend too. Has an undead army, use it to test out the ice every now and again.

Or wait until they freeze to death....

Not like he's in a rush anywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Would have been a better ending had Jon Snow been rescued by the other dragon...

Thought the best ending wouldve been him being killed under the water and becoming a Walker, commanding the dead dragon from there since theyve shown affinity for him

Suppose there would be no explanation of him being a Targeryen and rightful King in that case so knew he would survive

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,783 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Great episode, lots to be happy about.

Re Arya and Sansa, I seem to be one of the few that like that story thread. I felt the face to face faceoff, regarding the faces was fairly tense, their argy bargy will lead the direction and ownership of Winterfell. Remember when we mostly cared about the Stark kids and where they were, well that's why I probably see their end of things as being important. Throw some Direwolf action in there and I'll be ecstatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

GoT as we know it is officially dead, that episode was absolutely dreadful.

The deus ex machina, not once, but twice. And after using deus ex machina in the very episode beforehand (Bron saving Jaime)

The nonsensical idea of using the deads' fear of water as the only means of holding them back from attack - when later in the episode we see them reclaim the dragon from being submerged, as well as seeing them fighting while in the water (against The Hound).

The blacksmith's very speedy race to the wall, followed by a raven flying the length of Westoros, plus the time it would have taken the dragons to fly North, all to make it in the nick of time for a last minute save (that was shown to be expected for what, 20-30 minutes?). This really validates the time travel complaints heretofore and shows there's no real thought or consistency anymore to maintain the geographic relevance of Westeros that's been crafted thus far to give weight to the world. A real waste for something that gave so much context to the dynamics between the families, the world's history and lore, etc.

The miraculous surviving being plunged into water while being attacked by many enemies? Check. And bonus points for coming straight after the last episode where other main characters survived by the exact same means :rolleyes:

I could go on. GoT was so special because of the level of care and detail given to the writing and world building, the dialogue and obsessive respect to the world that has been built around the characters, as well as the interconnectivity between them. The writing since it's veered from the books is so mediocre, the only thing it has going for it now is the credit the show has built thus far and the high production values. A real shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

The show has always felt really compressed and rushed compared to the books. It's not a particularly new flaw. They could have doubled the number of seasons to get to the point they're at now and it wouldn't really drag. I suppose the budget and general production logistics make it impossible to do more slowly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,385 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

If there's any hint of a Stark left in Bran, he needs to give those two a slap and tell them to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Did anyone think it was odd that they loaded the undead into the boat when Danaerys could have flown it back to Dragonstone and then transported it to the meet in Kings Landing?
    A great episode nonetheless despite another gripe with timing,how long were they on the outcrop in the lake? Long enough for help to arrive from 1000 miles away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,792 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

zerks wrote: »
    Did anyone think it was odd that they loaded the undead into the boat when Danaerys could have flown it back to Dragonstone and then transported it to the meet in Kings Landing?
    A great episode nonetheless despite another gripe with timing,how long were they on the outcrop in the lake? Long enough for help to arrive from 1000 miles away.

I think her arriving in Kings Landing on the back of a dragon would have been seen as a threatening move after last week's episode.

Can you not understand that while you are okay with it, other people might not be? And, might, just might, want to discuss it on a discussion board?

Yes, so why can't you understand that people who are happy with it, might, just might want to discuss that on a discussion board?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,226 ✭✭✭✭klose

I'd normally try to catch a show when it airs and avoid leaks but no way was I able for with this as I knew spoilers would be everywhere I browsed online.

Great episode, really getting to the big climax of the story now. I'll be interested to see what happens when they bring the wite to kings landing, I also assume they'll bring him to winterfell? Not big into the arya/sansa/Littlefinger plot, arya is just a smug brat and I'm bored of little fingers double/triple crosses and stirring the pot. I understand it's his character and fancies the thrones himself but if he dies the next episode id be happy tbh.
    Interested for the finale, correct me if I'm wrong but the penultimate episode of every season is the 'omg' episode for what of a better term? Eg neds beheading, blackwater bay, red wedding? If they keep that trend I can't see a wall falling type scene taking place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭pah

Scrolling through YouTube earlier before I got to see the episode and come across "Jon Snow says sorry to Dany for the death of one of her dragons - clip"

FML

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,340 ✭✭✭Guffy

Am i reading to much into the captured white?

When the "captain" or whatever was killed by John every white in group died but him.

When the hound hit him the other whites screamed (felt it?). They didn't do anything like that when he threw the rock braking the white's jaw.

When they got to the Island, a lot of the white's seemed focused on freeing him from the rope and hood. This seems lile a different interaction from previous white fights.

Also i reckon the chains were probably originally intended to bring the wall down some how.

Guffy wrote: »
    Am i reading to much into the captured white?

When the "captain" or whatever was killed by John every white in group died but him.

When the hound hit him the other whites screamed (felt it?). They didn't do anything like that when he threw the rock braking the white's jaw.

When they got to the Island, a lot of the white's seemed focused on freeing him from the rope and hood. This seems lile a different interaction from previous white fights.

Also i reckon the chains were probably originally intended to bring the wall down some how.

You're confusing wight and White Walker.

Jon killed a White Walker with his valyrian steel sword and the wights (reanimated corpses) around him (except one) disintegrated. The suggestion the characters ordered was that it had probably been raised by a different white walker to the one Jon killed.

As for then trying to reach the captured wight, I understood that as the NK and his colleagues having an understanding of what their plan was for the captured wight and seeking to stop it. But daft as killing them all would do that too but...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,340 ✭✭✭Guffy

You're confusing wight and White Walker.

Jon killed a White Walker with his valyrian steel sword and the wights (reanimated corpses) around him (except one) disintegrated. The suggestion the characters ordered was that it had probably been raised by a different white walker to the one Jon killed.

Ya assumed this too but the reaction to the hound hitting it was my main thing. Wasn't confusing them, just didn't realise they were spelt different.
    As for then trying to reach the captured wight, I understood that as the NK and his colleagues having an understanding of what their plan was for the captured wight and seeking to stop it. But daft as killing them all would do that too but...

This

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭marcus001

Just thinking back on it, the way they did the rescue was stupid. This was the perfect opportunity for Bran to put his powers to good use. He should have been the one to send the raven, possibly before they even got into difficulty rather than having Gendry run back to Eastwatch then having a raven fly 1,000 miles then the dragons fly 1,000 miles to find them in the exact spot they're in.

marcus001 wrote: »
    Just thinking back on it, the way they did the rescue was stupid. This was the perfect opportunity for Bran to put his powers to good use. He should have been the one to send the raven, possibly before they even got into difficulty rather than having Gendry run back to Eastwatch then having a raven fly 1,000 miles then the dragons fly 1,000 miles to find them in the exact spot they're in.

At this stage it's reliability to be consistent and make sense within its own world is just broken. Anything can happen now for any reason it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,244 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

It's a fantasy show so I'm willing to suspend reality re the timelines and ravens flying unimaginable distances but...

What I did find a tad stupid was Jon and his band of merry men facing certain death yet they are still bothered about protecting the wight they had captured! Surely at that stage, you'd be thinking we'll be lucky to get out of here so fook that!

Lemlin wrote: »
    It's a fantasy show so I'm willing to suspend reality re the timelines and ravens flying unimaginable distances

I'm not. Just because it's a fantasy show doesn't mean it shouldn't still make sense in its own way, as someone nicely explained earlier in the thread. It should still follow its own rules if it wants to be respected as good story telling.

The integrity of the world GRR Martin has painstakingly crafted over 20 years is being smashed in just a few episodes.

It's lazy, rushed and basic writing, plain and simple.

When I watched the red wedding episode I considered not watching more because I was horrified (soon got over that!), after watching this episode I'm considering not watching it any more because it's just kind of trash.

Cianos wrote: »
    I'm not. Just because it's a fantasy show doesn't mean it shouldn't still make sense in its own way, as someone nicely explained earlier in the thread. It should still follow its own rules if it wants to be respected as good story telling.

The integrity of the world GRR Martin has painstakingly crafted over 20 years is being smashed in just a few episodes.

It's lazy, rushed and basic writing, plain and simple.

When I watched the red wedding episode I considered not watching more because I was horrified (soon got over that!), after watching this episode I'm considering not watching it any more because it's just kind of trash.

I don't get why people are complaining about the timelines.

We have no real idea how long Jon Snow and co were sitting in the middle. They were sleeping at one stage so it looks like they were there quite a while, what if it was a day or two?

Nor do we know the distance Gendry had to run.

Do we know the exact location of the battle, I don't think so.

The only issue is the raven but do we really know how long it takes them to travel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

velo.2010 wrote: »
    I think re-animated Viserion will breathe ice. How that brings down the wall, I'm not sure.

Anyhow, when the Hound tried to stop the captured Wight from screaming, by covering its mouth, his glove was frozen from the breath of the Wight.

I wonder can the Wights and the ice Viserion operate outside the frozen environment - maybe for a short while? I take it that the Night King/White walkers can as we've seen them walk through fire.

i would say blue fire and not ice. just my hunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,967 ✭✭✭✭Penn

marcus001 wrote: »

It's fairly common in fantasy/sci-fi stories that characters with powers comparable to Bran/3ER is that they could use their powers to do things, but they don't because they see the way things are supposed to happen and it's their role to help make sure things happen that way even if it goes against what they would personally want.

It's Bran's job to help the pieces move in the right direction based on his visions/foresight. It's not his job to change where the pieces are supposed to move.