Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cool runnings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

Monday 7th

Easy recovery. Partly on grass.

6 @8.55

HR 113/128

Tuesday 8th

Long-ish easy run. No session, with RnR HM on Sunday. Frustrating day in work, was not going to run at all, then decided it might clear the head a little. As always, glad I did.

10.01 @8.43

HR 116/131

Wednesday 9th

Easy run.

6 @8.30

HR 121/135

Thursday 10th

3m @ HMP. 5.5m wu/cd

6.32, 7.02, 6.38

HR 137/160

Friday 11th

Easy run.

6.02 @8.53

HR 119/138

Saturday 12th

Rest

Sunday 13th

RnR HM.

13.1 @7.17 (1:35:38)

HR 150/158

No report will be forthcoming. A line will be drawn.

Week's mileage 51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

davedanon wrote: »

No report will be forthcoming. A line will be drawn.

Because of the event, the performance, or both (or neither)?

Congrats on the national medal nevertheless.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Because of the event, the performance, or both (or neither)?

Congrats on the national medal nevertheless.

Thanks, appreciate it. Hmmm, yeah, slightly embarrassing to be so down on a performance then get awarded a medal. Highly gratified in any case, and to be fair to myself I was determined to finish because of the possibility of honours. I dnf'd two Halfs a couple of years back, and got rightly told off by a club elder for it. My main concern when the results came out was in checking that my own showing hadn't cost us a silver, in fact. Thank God, it didn't. Massive gap from us to 2nd place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Thanks, appreciate it. Hmmm, yeah, slightly embarrassing to be so down on a performance then get awarded a medal. Highly gratified in any case, and to be fair to myself I was determined to finish because of the possibility of honours. I dnf'd two Halfs a couple of years back, and got rightly told off by a club elder for it. My main concern when the results came out was in checking that my own showing hadn't cost us a silver, in fact. Thank God, it didn't. Massive gap from us to 2nd place.

Well done on the medal, I would take it regardless of how I thought I ran on that course. I passed and was passed by numerous TAC singlets on Sunday. Finished in 1:38 having haemorrhaged time in the last 2 miles in particular.

Monday 14th

Longish easy run.
    10 @ 8.41

HR 116/135

Tuesday 15th

Not sure what's going on here. Went off-plan, quite obviously. Probably some sort of covert self-punishment. Looks like 4 miles at MP, more or less, with some too-nippy miles in the 'cool down' too.

10.09 @7.57 overall

HR 136/155

Wednesday 16th

No running

Thursday 17th

Easy longish run on UCD trail. Never knew of its existence before, but while working at WRWC I had a couple of hours to kill so it worked out nicely.

10.26 @8.43

HR 115/137

Friday 18th

Easy run.

5.01 @8.34

HR 115/130

Saturday 19th

Long run. Up to the waterworks and back. Company for the first few miles only. Contemplating 20, but settled for one fewer.

19.01 @8.27

HR 126/145

Sunday 20th

No running. Domestic revelries today as I recall. Take the day, champ.

Week's mileage 54

Monday 21st

No running. And the next.

Tuesday 22nd

6 miles @ MP. I think it averaged out at 7.05 - I remember it seemed to be harder work than it should have been. But it got done.

6.57, 7.08, 7.13, 7.06, 7.08, 6.58

HR 140/157

Wednesday 23rd

Easy run around local loops.

7 @8.28

HR 122/136

Thursday 24th

Easy run.

8.26 @8.40

HR 117/135

Friday 25th

Early easy run.

6 @9.17

HR 119/146

Saturday 26th

Frank Duffy 10m Race. This went badly. The weather didn't help at all, but it wasn't just the weather. Preparation was ok. The wheels came off to some degree, but I gave up trying as well, as evidenced by the sprint I was able to produce at the end. It may very well have helped to secure us another medal, though, this time a bronze in the Dublin championships, and they're always welcome, but it's nice to run well also. Oh well, it's just a stepping-stone along the way.

10.05 @7.14 (1:12:42)

HR 154/175

Sunday

No running. This time it was my niece's wedding on Saturday evening.

Week's mileage 45

Monday 28th

Longish easy.

9.43 @8.41

HR 124/140

Tuesday 29th

Easy run.

8.34 @8.40

HR 121/149

Wednesday 30th

Brisk run with club colleagues. If you really need to run slow? Run on your own. "Lads, we're too fast". "Alright, we'll slow down" - (pretend to slow down but really speed up). "Lads..." "Ah, jaysus was that really a 7.45 mile?"

8.02 @8.10

HR 131/141

Thursday 31st

7m @MP. Was getting through this, and just about staying on top of it, when the phone rang with an urgent work call. Had to cut it short and hot-foot it back to the house. Got 5 of the 7 done, not quite at MP.

5m @7.15

HR 137/158

Friday-Sunday

Down in Stradbally working for the weekend, as usual. For the first time though, I did no running at all, even though I had my gear with me. Not gonna try and chase the sessions/long run though. Reset and start again next week.

Week's mileage 33

Monday 4th September

Easy run.

8.01 @8.26

HR AV 123

Tuesday 5th

10-12 miles Steady. Steady is MP plus 30-40 seconds. Arrived at club to discover that people were up to all sorts: easy runs, track, etc. The one person who did want to run with me, needed me more than I needed him. A running legend, in his early 60's but still capable of amazing feats. He's currently aiming to run 3.10 in DCM, for instance.

A complication is the fact that he is, quite literally, blind in one eye, and can barely see out of the other. It's the set-up for an old joke, I know. He wears special glasses, because he sometimes mistakes shadows for solid objects. Last week he cannoned into a bus stop - painted bright yellow - on the Airton Rd while running with the group. He's fine when he has someone to run with, and one chap has been doing this service for him, but he was away. I was wondering which route to take, and worrying about J's safety, when I had a brainwave.

We warmed up for a mile up Old Bawn road, then ran the mile loop at Ahern's pub for ten miles, before cooling down back to the club, for a total of 12 miles. Excellent session, and J was delighted with it.

10@7.37 (7.39, 7.33, 7.29, 7.57, 7.37, 7.38, 7.36, 7.41, 7.37, 7.25)

HR 135/152

Wednesday 6th

Easy recovery.

7.07 @8.58

HR 115/131

Thursday 7th

Under orders, an easy run rather than a session.

7.21 @8.44

HR AV 123

Friday 8th

Short easy run.

4.35 @8.33

HR 121/135

Saturday 9th

Wicklow Kilomarathon. Two aims here. One, get 20 miles in in total, and Two, run 16 of them at MP. A slow out and back 4 mile warm-up gave no clue as to the real weather conditions, as it seemed pretty calm. For the first few miles, all was well, and I had no trouble hitting and maintaining my pace. The pre-race description had described how we followed the old N-11 down to Jack White's, and turned left for a small loop on, I quote: "a quiet country road". A clubmate had also supplied a description, and he mentioned "hills at 10, 12, 14. But apart from that nice course*".

So I was completely unprepared for the short, steepish little climbs on this 'quiet country road', and also the severity of the wind. It had been at my back all the way down, but of course you never notice that. Also, I had Beep Beep and his gang of 3.15 pacees behind me, and their presence, sometimes audible, began to bother me more than it should. On one of the hills I was sure they were catching me quite quickly, and I'm not sure if I picked up my pace or not, but they did seem to drop back a bit. This hilly loop, meanwhile, was seeming a bit endless, and also I could swear there was much more uphill than down in it, considering we were rejoining the same road we had come down, if that makes sense.

But end it did, finally, and that brought more trouble, as the wind hit me full on, particularly on the exposed sections. A group of Beep Beep's outliers passed me, and then, so abruptly that I almost surprised myself, i stopped. A few people passed, and I roused myself to go again. Then my knee started to hurt on every stride. I have been struggling a little with it, in truth. I stopped again. Then Beep Beep passed, urging me to latch onto them, but I couldn't. I was quite dispirited, but eventually I forced myself onward. This time the knee was fine, and I managed a decent-enough pace, even passing a couple of people.

Because it was a training run, and not a race, I had stopped my watch both times, so I had an accurate idea of my pace. In the end I struggled across the line in a 7.23 average. More 3.15 pace than 3.10 - lots of work to be done if I'm going to achieve my objective in October.

* got a whatsapp from clubmate after. He was talking about a different course.

16.03 @7.23

HR 153/167

Sunday 10th

Easy recovery.

6 @9.10

HR 119/138

Week's mileage 65

Monday 11th

Recovery run. Bumping into clubmates and running with them is a painless way of ramping up the mileage.

10.08 @8.51

HR 121/136

Tuesday 12th

Easy-ish run. Under orders not to do a session, but most others were doing some sort of tempo, so ran to club and joined in for a couple of sub-8 miles before peeling off for home.

7.51 @8.21

HR Av 128

Wednesday 13th

Easy run. Met clubmate early for part of his long run.

8.02 @8.31

HR Av 128

Thursday 14th

5x1m@10k pace, 3 min jog rec. Instructions were 'not to be redlining. Just for leg turnover'. I wish. Haven't done mile reps for a while, and it showed.

5x1m (6.34, 6.45, 6.30, 6.35, 6.24) Av 6:33.5

HR 133/160

Friday 15th

Recovery run. A suburban stroll.

6.31 @8.57

HR 114/126

Saturday 16th

Long run. Got to club early, no-one around. Ran on my own. MP +75 secs, more or less. Fatigued towards the end, but I've felt worse on long runs. Think I should have hydrated a bit more the previous evening.

22m @8.27

HR 129/149

Sunday 17th

On lockup at the club, which gave me an incentive to get blearily up at 7am, and out for 6-odd miles despite hungoverness.

6.51 @9.04

HR 120/138

Week's mileage 70

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I think I passed you during the week? Did one of your jaunts take you passed the Dodder Park side of the Victory Centre?

Yeah, it's quite close to where I live. Were you running? I should have recognised you, since you gave me a lift to the Beer Mile a couple of years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Yeah, it's quite close to where I live. Were you running? I should have recognised you, since you gave me a lift to the Beer Mile a couple of years back.

Hah...no I was walking down to the school to collect the kids. I wasn't 100% sure if it was you, more down to my poor eyesight than anything! I've waved hello to runners before only to get closer and it's not who I bought it was :pac:

Haha. Well, we all know to steer well clear of obvious nutters such as yourself :pac:.

Monday 18th

Easy recovery.

7.02 @8.47

HR 123/138

Tuesday 19th

4x1m@10k, 3 min rec.

6:34, 6:36, 6:26, 6:23

HR 138/165

Wednesday 20th

No running

Thursday 21st

Easy recovery. A couple of laps of UCD.

7.22 @8.54

HR 119/140

Friday 22nd

No running

Saturday 23rd

I was supposed to be doing the RS Half, but without going into too much detail, as it has been exhaustively discussed elsewhere, I lost patience with the whole situation, drove to the next exit on the M1, turned around and went home without a backwards glance. Then I ran a 22 miler, and felt much better about it than I would have after the fraught and anxious experience that would have ensued, judging by all the comments I've read and heard. Arguably an MP-pace run would have been beneficial, but I honestly feel better with the distance run. The only worry I had was choosing the right route. If I just headed off to the park, with only a vague notion of my movements, it would be a surefire recipe for a serious loss of gumption and a disastrous abort.

Then I had a brainwave. Run to Walkinstown roundabout. Follow course to Clonskeagh. Do lap of UCD. Exit to Clonskeagh and follow Dodder home. Worked like a charm and minimised the dave/traffic interactions.

22.01 @8.18 (3.02.46)

HR 130/154

Sunday 24th

Recovery on local loops.

5.54 @8.39

HR 123/135

Week's mileage 50

Monday 25th

Easy recovery.

8.28 @9.14

HR 112/131

Tuesday 26th

3x2m @HMP, 3 min rec. Except I got confused and started out at closer to 10k pace. Wasn't able to hold it, unsurprisingly, so I think the eventual average pace was almost HMP, albeit a very fast HMP.

6:36/6:41 - 6:42/7:02 - 6:35/6:59

HR 141/163

Wednesday 27th

No running

Thursday 28th

6m @MP. Did this with club legend Jack Tyrell, who's going for 3:10 in Dublin at the age of 61, and despite being so blind he needs a running 'minder'. No fuss about it, though, unlike some. Great session.

7:13, 7:09, 7:05, 7:05, 7:08, 7:03

HR 142/160

Friday 29th

Recovery. In UCD.

4.44 @9.12

HR 119

Saturday 30th

Tymon parkrun. Hadn't done a parkrun in ages, but I've gotten into the habit of doing one just before a marathon, as the mileage gives you great strength even over the relatively short distance. Wasn't disappointed as I recorded 19.37 for a Tymon 'new course' pb.

3.1 @6.19

HR 158/173

Sunday 1st October

Long run of 22 miles, or 3 hours. As it turned out, 4 sessions in a week was unsurprisingly pushing it a bit, and I struggled later on, and was only too glad to take the latter option. I won't be doing a parkrun next week, safe to say.

21.49 @8.23 (3:00:02)

HR 133/153

Week's mileage 61

Monday 2nd

The usual recovery.

7 @8.49

HR 113/137

Tuesday 3rd

A most extraordinary thing happened. I was walking, very slowly, down the stairs, when pain started to spread down the back of my leg. I stopped, flexing my right knee, thinking it was just some sort of weird phantom sensation that would quickly go away. It didn't. Increasingly worried, I walked up and down the hall. Bloody hell. It felt exactly the same as a hamstring pull. A heavy, dull, yet burning pain around the side of my hammer. How was this possible?

A few more minutes of this, and I was on the phone to the 'scone, in a complete jock. He reassured me that it in all probability wasn't a pull, but something else, possibly nerve-related, and hopefully nothing to worry about. The planned 1k reps were out of the question though. Did a nice easy run, and it was fine. Panic over. And breathe...

8.04 @8.44

HR 122

Wednesday 4th

Another easy one. Big, big session looming on the morrow.

9 @8.43

HR 121

Thursday 5th

12 miles @MP. I've done 10, I've done MP Halves and an MP (sort of) kilomarathon. But I have never attempted 12 miles @MP on a training run. What's more, I arrived down at the club, hoping for as much company on this one as possible, only to realise that I had left my damn running shoes at home. There was nothing I could do, but go back and get them. I wasn't going to attempt this in my Skechers, even if they are in the running business. There was a silver lining, though, in that it now made more sense to do these miles on the Aherne's loop. Just over a mile around, and basically flat. It was still a daunting prospect, though. I jogged through my warmup, gauged the wind, and decided which way to run.

About 86 minutes later, I came to a stop, exactly at the entrance to the park opposite The Speaker. My warmup had been 1.5, and it was half a mile back home. 14 miles precisely, and the session had been an..........unqualified success. Right in the groove from the get-go, my breathing stayed even, the legs were strong, and I banged out 12 miles at 7.13 per mile. Bring this sucker on. I'm ready!

12m@7.13

HR 145/158

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

A few more minutes of this, and I was on the phone to the 'scone, in a complete jock.

:pac::pac::pac:

Nice going on the MP session. But I mostly wanted to compliment the above line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

Singer wrote: »
    :pac::pac::pac:

Nice going on the MP session. But I mostly wanted to compliment the above line.

+1 I have been called alot of things in my life but that is certainly a first haha:p

Friday 6th

Easy recovery.

6.01 @9.20

HR 115

Saturday 7th

Easy jog. Split in two either side of a volunteer stint at Tymon parkrun. Was put on timer/stopwatch duty for the first time, and duly made a pig's ear of keeping count. It's very easy to 'double-click' on the machine I was given, evidently, so I ended up with three extra phantom runners. Just as well there's two of us, really. It was absolutely baltic down there, too, even with my base layer on. Hands were still tingling even after I showered at home.

7.64 @8.50

HR 124

Sunday 8th

Long run. The last 20+ mile run, and my fourth of at least 3 hours duration. Not much room left for hay in this barn. Taper doesn't officially start until the end of the week, but I will be scaling things back this week too. I've put in a lot of mileage over the last 3 months, and I want to reap maximum benefit on the 29th.

21.22 @8.32

HR 127/151

Week's mileage 73

Monday 9th

Short, easy.

4.51 @9.26

HR 115

Tuesday 10th

Rest

Wednesday 11th

16 mile run. With a race at the weekend, was advised to do a midweek long run, so decided to ditch both planned Tuesday & Thursday sessions. Felt quite sluggish at times here.

16.19 @8.41

HR 117/140

Thursday 12th

Easy run.

8.06 @8.51

HR 119

Friday 13th

Easy run.

7.04 @8.59

HR 109/126

Saturday 14th

Donadea 10k. Went down to this hoping for a morale-boosting performance, but it didn't really come to pass. The course -
    mostly undulating, squishy forest trails - didn't, I realised afterward, lend itself to fast running, but in truth I didn't perform very well. It was only a sharpener for DCM in any case.

10k in 42.21

HR 157/173

Sunday 15th

Rest

Week's mileage 44

Monday 16th

Rest

Tuesday 17th

Nippy 4 miler. Two days off, so this is what happens.

4.16 @7.46

HR 135/151

Wednesday 18th

8 miles on marathon course. OH and dog accompanied me, and she walked him while I ran from the Garda HQ down to Chesterfield, up to Myo's, then down to Knockmaroon and back into the park, where I turned left at the junction rather than right.

8.04 @8.11

HR 128

Thursday 19th

I had missed out on Tuesday's session due to work, but I wasn't sorry about it, being keener on Thursday's 6 MP miles. Unfortunately, however, I was working all day, so I threw the gear in the car, and as luck would have it, got sent out to St. Anne's Park in Raheny for a quick snap or two. I wasn't due back in town for a few hours, so I got changed in the carpark of the Red Stables and headed out for a warm-up. I was down near the causeway gate when a familiar figure swept languidly past. "Who is this fecker?", I wondered, but my brain was already trying to supply the answer. "It's Clohessy, you idiot".

For a second I considered starting the MP miles then and there and overtaking him, just to see what he'd do. Then the rational part of my brain took over, and I left Mick alone, although I did run into him a couple more times, and said hello eventually.

It was a lovely cool and crisp evening, and I was moving well even on the warmup. When I kicked it up to MP pace I was pleased with the way I felt - controlled, even breathing, no difficulty holding the pace, and I deliberately followed the Leinster 10 mile course because it had a little bit of undulation in it. The final piece of the marathon jigsaw is always running economy, in my book, and the taper is crucial to it.

6m @MP (7.08 av)

HR 142/156

Friday 20th

Easy short recovery.

4.31 @8.58

HR 110/131

Saturday 21st

Rest

Sunday 22nd

90 minute long run. Felt very sluggish: put it down to taper, and the few bits of quality during the week. Forgot towel, one sock, and watch. So no HR stats.

11.2 @8.24

Week's mileage 36

Final week of taper

Monday 24th

Rest on the plan, but there's a fine line to be treaded between the sluggishness (and paranoia) that too much downtime can cause, and the alertness and confidence brought about by a regular training regime. There was a Rest option on the plan, but went with a few really easy miles. Mini-session tomorrow.

4.25 @9.06

HR 118/137

Tuesday 25th

3m@HMP. Only one other running at my pace for this, aiming for 6.50-ish. Felt really good, and hopefully the 3@MP on Thursday will be a breeze by comparison.

3@HMP (6.47, 6.45, 6.46)

HR 134/161

Wednesday 26th

Short dead-slow run.

4.05 @9.41

HR 106/118

Thursday 27th

3 miles @MP. Felt reassuringly good on this. Positively the last run of any significance before...

3m @7.18 (7.14, 7.17, 7.24)

HR 132/147

Friday 28th

Rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Friday 28th

Rest

Still loads of time left in the day to get in a solid MP session :pac:

All the best Dave, hope it goes well on Sunday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Good luck on Sunday. Hopefully we'll be matching strides for a good a bit of the way.

All the way! Best of luck to you too.

Saturday 28th

Got my dates right wrong again, innit. 25 minute pre-marathon jog, dead slow. Blowy today, hopefully things calm down by tomorrow, as is predicted. The weather looks likely to be ideal, so there's no excuses. Training has gone well, there are no injury issues. So I'm quietly confident.

2.68 @9.51

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

Just in case coach hasn't passed on his pep talk - "DFIU" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Best of luck tomorrow, have a fab run.