Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,449 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    I would offer to bet with you that Conor either wins or lasts at least 8 rounds but you'll reply with some nonsense about Floyd maybe *allowing* Conor to last 8 rounds as an excuse.

Not money, mind. Something like loser doesn't ever post in the opposite forum again :pac:

You're gas..

Read what you claimed..

Backed Conor to go 8 rds at least against almost any pro boxer from 145-160

Not just Floyd..you are posting such sh1t that you can't even remember it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    By the way, the only reason I say this is because Floyd is a total pussy. If it was Maidana, Spence, Canelo, GGG etc they would have hi out of there quicksmart!

I'd back Conor against Maidana and Canelo all day of the week but the other 2 fair enough.

Conor via KO-TKO
    walshb wrote: »
    You're gas..

Read what you claimed..

Backed Conor to go 8 rds at least against almost any pro boxer from 145-160

Not just Floyd..you are posting such sh1t that you can't even remember it!

He's fighting Floyd? I've no way of proving he'd last against every boxer 145-160 but funny enough I do have a way to prove he can last 8 rounds against Floyd.

If you're so confident take the bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

My posts are clear and consistent..

There are more disciplines in MMA..

If I said what you claim I would rethink that.

No issue saying I was wrong or off target..

Unknowns? Subjective that...

You did say that. In fact you said, "You don't learn boxing, at least not completely. It's probably the most unique sport on earth in terms of variables and permutations and unknowns..."

So on one hand you are saying your posts are clear and consistent and then on the other, you're willing to rethink what you've posted once called out on it.
    But, here's one to consider. Boxing is 36 minutes..

Your mind and body has to expect and plan for and cope with 11 more minutes of unknowns..

Boxing is 36 minutes with a 1 minute break every 3 minutes.
    MMA is 25 minutes with a 1 minute break every 5 minutes.

You also face a much larger aresenal of attack in MMA compared to Boxing.

In boxing, you have to be concerned about being boxed.
    In MMA, you have to be concerned about being boxed, kicked, elbowed, kneed, taken down, clinch work etc.

It is more mentally taxing to face a larger spectrum of attack, over a longer period than it is a smaller spectrum of attack over a shorter period.
    Now, as you got onto me about other parts of your posts, what about your response to other parts of mine?

Boxing is a specialised craft - I agree.
    MMA is a mixed bag - I would disagree based on how I believe you're trying to frame it. Case in point, Demian Maia, BJJ expert who is successful in MMA and would handle his own with the top BJJ guys.

Thurman having a better chance to contend in MMA - I don't know enough about him/boxing to be able to say to be honest but based on his record and the fact you picked him out, I assume he's very, very good. Therefore an athlete of his pedigree, I'd have no doubt had he went into MMA he could have been a contender.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    I've watched (probably) over 1,000 boxing matches in my life and I've attended boxing events at the National Stadium.

Either pissed drunk or with your eyes closed it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Floyd via DQ
    Everyone has a slim chance. Berto had a slim chance against Mayweather in his previous fight. Berto was about 40/1.
    Berto would be a big favourite against McGregor in a boxing match yet McGregor here is a lot more favourite.
    I'm looking at this as a pure mathematical outlier/money making opportunity. Completely emotionless. Mcgregor fanboy money is completely skewing the odds and I intend to profit from it!

Good for you, but what the fcuk does that have to do with anything?

You're as bad as Paulie for avoiding points put to you :P

Lots of users on this thread that give McGregor a chance have reasoned it and articulated it (including myself) but all they have been met with is strawman nonsense each and every day, with boxing forum regulars salivating for them to say Conor will batter Floyd, as that's the only argument they have an answer to.

The vast majority of arguments made on here going the other way about Conor's chances have been shown to be horse bollox. Some of ye saying Conor wouldn't land one punch on an amateur, and giving Floyd Snr a better chance. Waffling about the sweet science and how there couldn't possibly be a chance that McGregor, a mere cage fighter, would be able to deal with the sheer complexity and specialty of the kind of skills boxers have at their disposal.

You all sucked the bones off the Van Heerden footage, repeating how boxers would just school McGregor in a ring, laugh at him, and so applauded the news that the magic man was being brought in to show him just how out of his depth he is, but maybe teach him a few things that maybe he could use so that he wouldn't look too foolish......... but now that the magic man appears to have taken a bit of a pasting, he's a has been, a fat ex pro, who didn't have any sting anyway and sure that title he fought for is nothing...... guy can't be ghosted quick enough by you, all scrambling for excuses as it couldn't be that ye were wrong about him, now could it.

You wanna call me a fan boy for given him a slim chance of winning early doors by TKO.......... so be in it, that's your opinion, but it's a far fcuking cry from an informed one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Floyd via KO-TKO
    I'd back Conor against Maidana and Canelo all day of the week but the other 2 fair enough.

You would back 0-0 Mcgregor vs Canelo
    :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,228 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Floyd via DQ

You think Conor beats Maidana and Canelo in a boxing match? Jesus Christ!

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Naos wrote: »
    You did say that. In fact you said, "You don't learn boxing, at least not completely. It's probably the most unique sport on earth in terms of variables and permutations and unknowns..."

So on one hand you are saying your posts are clear and consistent and then on the other, you're willing to rethink what you've posted once called out on it

Thanks for rejogging my memory..

I remember now. FFS, I have hundreds of posts on this thread. You can't expect me to remember the precise details of all them, hence my acceptance that I could be wrong from time to time..just not here it seems.

Clear and consistent. And I do not believe I said it had more unknowns and permutations than MMA..

I actually made a point to say this..

Thanks for rejogging my memory..

I remember now. FFS, I have hundreds of posts on this thread. You can't expect me to remember the precise details of all them, hence my acceptance that I could be wrong from time to time..just not here it seems.

Clear and consistent. And I do not believe I said it had more unknowns and permutations than MMA..

I actually made a point to say this..

You said it was the most unique sport in the world in terms of variables, permutations and unknowns. And actually when I questioned you on it originally, you said it was equal to MMA.

So my question is - how can it possibly be equal?

It is the equivalent of saying there are as many ways to pass/score/kick in soccer as there are in football. It's utter nonsense.

Floyd via DQ
    QUOTE=normanoffside;104359209]You think Conor beats Maidana and Canelo in a boxing match? Jesus Christ![/QUOTE]

Actually watch this again. Maidana may be crude, but watch how he throws the fake jab 'trap' in order to make Floyd react and set up the big right hand. Despite his reputation as being crude he is actually showing great boxing skill. To say McGergor is better than this is ludicrous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭hbhook

Floyd via DQ
    QUOTE=normanoffside;104359209]You think Conor beats Maidana and Canelo in a boxing match? Jesus Christ!

Actually watch this again. Maidana may be crude, but watch how he throws the fake jab 'trap' in order to make Floyd react and set up the big right hand. Despite his reputation as being crude he is actually showing great boxing skill. To say McGergor is better than this is ludicrous.
    [/QUOTE]

Maidana didn't do a bad job at turning his head during the first replay either. I love that draw the jab/punch and counter move by MW.

Conor via KO-TKO
    You think Conor beats Maidana and Canelo in a boxing match? Jesus Christ!

Maidana gets slept by Conor, he's too small and too sloppy. He's 5ft 7in with a 69in reach and probably 140lbs wet. Conor is 5ft 9in pushing 5'10 (I've stood with my arms around his shoulders), 170lbs with 74in reach and too accurate with his counters. I wouldn't fancy Maidana lasting 3 rounds.

I need to repeat this for emphasis:

THIS. JUST. AN. OPINION.

(I'm not psychic, maybe I'm wrong and Maidana creams him).

I'd prefer to discuss the Floyd fight because it's the one actually happening :)

Floyd via KO-TKO
    You said it was the most unique sport in the world in terms of variables, permutations and unknowns. And actually when I questioned you on it originally, you said it was equal to MMA.

So my question is - how can it possibly be equal?

It is the equivalent of saying there are as many ways to pass/score/kick in soccer as there are in football. It's utter nonsense.

Unknowns and variables and permutations...

They don't necessarily have to do solely with the stuff you can do in MMA compared to boxing..

Boxing is so specialised. It is loaded with subtleties and nuances...

So, think outside the box...

And remember that I never made the claim that boxing had more permutations, variables and unknowns than MMA..

You'll have to try harder to trip me up..

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Maidana gets slept by Conor, he's too small and too sloppy. He's 5ft 7in with a 69in reach and probably 140lbs wet. Conor is 5ft 9in pushing 5'10 (I've stood with my arms around his shoulders), 170lbs with 74in reach and too accurate with his counters. I wouldn't fancy Maidana lasting 3 rounds.

THIS. JUST. AN. OPINION.

I'd prefer to discuss the Floyd fight because it's the one actually happening :)

Im 5 foot 9 and 170 lbs.
    I also have a 0-0 boxing record like mcgregor. Would i beat Maidana too?

Floyd via DQ
    Good for you, but what the fcuk does that have to do with anything?

You're as bad as Paulie for avoiding points put to you :P

Lots of users on this thread that give McGregor a chance have reasoned it and articulated it (including myself) but all they have been met with is strawman nonsense each and every day, with boxing forum regulars salivating for them to say Conor will batter Floyd, as that's the only argument they have an answer to.

The vast majority of arguments made on here going the other way about Conor's chances have been shown to be horse bollox. Some of ye saying Conor wouldn't land one punch on an amateur, and giving Floyd Snr a better chance. Waffling about the sweet science and how there couldn't possibly be a chance that McGregor, a mere cage fighter, would be able to deal with the sheer complexity and specialty of the kind of skills boxers have at their disposal.

You all sucked the bones off the Van Heerden footage, repeating how boxers would just school McGregor in a ring, laugh at him, and so applauded the news that the magic man was being brought in to show him just how out of his depth he is, but maybe teach him a few things that maybe he could use so that he wouldn't look too foolish......... but now that the magic man appears to have taken a bit of a pasting, he's a has been, a fat ex pro, who didn't have any sting anyway and sure that title he fought for is nothing...... guy can't be ghosted quick enough by you, all scrambling for excuses as it couldn't be that ye were wrong about him, now could it.

You wanna call me a fan boy for given him a slim chance of winning early doors by TKO.......... so be in it, that's you're opinion, but it's a far fcuking cry from an informed one.

Jesus Pete you have lost it. Google Katie Taylor vs Rigo. Katie lands a few blows. Do you think she would beat him?
    FTR I think Katie has more chance of beating McGregor in a boxing match than McGregor does of beating Floyd...

Unknowns and variables and permutations...

They don't necessarily have to do solely with the stuff you can do in MMA compared to boxing..

Boxing is so specialised. It is loaded with subtleties and nuances...

So, think outside the box...

And remember that I never made the claim that boxing had more permutations, variables and unknowns than MMA..

You'll have to try harder to trip me up..

Okay, even though you said it was the most unique sport in terms of variables etc, I take back that you said Boxing has more than MMA. You said that they are equal.

I'm asking you how is that possible? You can have these same subtelties and nuances in boxing as you can in MMA. Except MMA adds in additional subtelies and nuances, therefore they are not equal.

MMA has more permuations, variables and unknowns than boxing. Agreed?

Conor via KO-TKO
    hbhook wrote: »
    Actually watch this again. Maidana may be crude, but watch how he throws the fake jab 'trap' in order to make Floyd react and set up the big right hand.

Conor throws a lot of fake jab trap setups himself in MMA.

Watch the 1 minute sequence here from 8:39 to 9:39 how Conor uses the fake jab to set up the straight left.

Floyd via KO-TKO

THIS. JUST. AN. OPINION.

Maidana sleeps Mighty Mouse in the Octagon

Too big

Just an opinion...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭pastorbarrett

Conor via DQ
    Autochange wrote: »
    Im 5 foot 9 and 170 lbs.

No, but you're a healthy BMI. Rejoice.

Conor via KO-TKO
    Autochange wrote: »
    Im 5 foot 9 and 170 lbs.

I haven't seen you compete at a world class level in MMA, show me some footage of you winning world titles and I'll answer you.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Okay, even though you said it was the most unique sport in terms of variables etc, I take back that you said Boxing has more than MMA. You said that they are equal.

I'm asking you how is that possible? You can have these same subtelties and nuances in boxing as you can in MMA. Except MMA adds in additional subtelies and nuances, therefore they are not equal.

MMA has more permuations, variables and unknowns than boxing. Agreed?

Ways to fight and win and lose? Yes...permutations.

Unknowns? I don't agree or disagree..

Variables...boxing has such nuance and craft and detailed skills...tough one to call that.

Floyd via DQ
    Maidana gets slept by Conor, he's too small and too sloppy. He's 5ft 7in with a 69in reach and probably 140lbs wet.

Maidana came in on Fight night at 160+ against Broner And Mayweather

Floyd via KO-TKO
    I haven't seen you compete at a world class level in MMA, show me some footage of you winning world titles and I'll answer you.

Iv surely got a punchers chance?

The sooner this fight is over and done with the better

Conor via KO-TKO

Too big

Just an opinion...

Delusional.

Not doing this all night with you. Maidana lasts 45 seconds maximum against DJ.

If you're a boxer and you can't defend a takedown or defend yourself on your back, you have 0.000001% chance and that's if you land the absolute perfect uppercut as your opponent level-changes to clasp his hands on a takedown.

I get the impression you used to box at an amateur level and are outraged that boxers are not the toughest fighters anymore. Nobody fears boxers anymore, people fear mixed martial artists.

That will become even clearer when Conor beats Floyd.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    That will become even clearer when Conor beats Floyd.[/QUOTE]

Im out. Best of luck lads. He has gone postal

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Delusional.

Not doing this all night with you. Maidana lasts 45 seconds maximum against DJ.

If you're a boxer and you can't defend a takedown or defend yourself on your back, you have 0.000001% chance and that's if you land the absolute perfect uppercut as your opponent level-changes to clasp his hands on a takedown.

I get the impression you used to box at an amateur level and are outraged that boxers are not the toughest fighters anymore. Nobody fears boxers anymore, people fear mixed martial artists.

That will become even clearer when Conor beats Floyd.

You actually fell for that..

Comical..

Too big

Just an opinion...

Mighty Mouse has beaten guys as big as Maidana.

Ways to fight and win and lose? Yes...permutations.

Unknowns? I don't agree or disagree..

Variables...boxing has such nuance and craft and detailed skills...tough one to call that.

Okay - I shall make this simple.

What unknowns and variables does boxing have that MMA does not?

The threat of a takedown is just ONE unknown and variable that MMA has over boxing.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Mighty Mouse has beaten guys as big as Maidana.

MM beats Maidana in the Octagon..

Read back to maybe why I posted that post..