Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Conor via DQ
    begbysback wrote: »
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=RNANbhf_LjM

Ok timeline may not be after paulie actually left, but it is definitely after first session(s)
    No, it was before they ever sparred. McGregor was asked after the first stop of the press tour about the possibility of Malignaggi coming into his camp to spar and he said that he was being brought in to answer for his words.

It's about three minutes into this video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

Floyd via DQ
    Which is the REAL reason of course behind Paulie's meltdown.

This is the guy who said that Conor wouldn't even have a chance against him if he had one hand behind his back, ankle weights on and a neck brace holding his chin up..........

Which was (to be fair to Paulie) pretty much the consensus among the entire boxing community and now, as you say, Paulie has suddenly gone from the magic man to being about as popular as Gary Glitter would be at a school sports day.... and now everyone is suddenly emphasizing that he's a retired, and out of shape, who's last fight didn't mean anything at all and pay no attention to it being a WBC title, they're not all the same, the one he fought for was the bad one................... they can't ghost this guy quick enough :P

Straight after the '12 rounds' spar what did paulie do? Confronted Conor in the dressing room and demanded that he not put out any more pictures....... but sure of course he did, as he had just gone to the boxing media a few days before that and told them all that Conor's power was "severely overrated" and so the last thing he needed was any more pictures being released showing him to have been troubled by that same mma guy he demeaned in front of them mere days before..........

Let's be honest, Paulie thought he was going to the McGregor camp to teach Conor how to box, as he sniggered away to himself at the notion that this cage fighter thinks he can try his hand at the sweet science, bless him........... and instead he was actually given a fight, and boy can he not stand that.....

Jesus Christ man you are drinking Conors cum :D
    Ask any serious boxing fan who the WBC international champion is at any weight, see how many of them know without looking at Google. I'm going to guess nobody. Why? Because it does not matter in the slightest. It carries no weight, its nice for promoters to say his fighter is the international champ but in reality nobody gives a ****.
    Case in point. If it truly mattered, we would be demanding that Sam Eggington fight Keith Thurman to "unify" the belts ASAP.

Your level of confirmation bias is pretty strong, you want to believe every single thing that puts Conor and MMA in a positive light and refuses to listen to someone who has anything different to say. Why? What are you getting out of this? Unless you're sitting in his Vegas camp right now you really need to get a grip of yourself.

And for what its worth (not a single thing to you no doubt), the boxing media can be snobbish about Conors boxing ability and in the grand scheme of things they're not really covering it compared to other mega fights in the past. But they're not saying that he can't box. They're saying that he can't box and/or beat Floyd Mayweather. Theres a long list of lifetime boxers that they would put on that list too.

Basically give it a rest. I love boxing and i'm a big fan of MMA and Conor too, and i'm sure theres others exactly like me. Yet for hardcore MMA fans only, this seems to be the coronation of the sport over boxing. So instead of actually enjoying both sports you're going out of your way to try and make this exactly what it isn't - the fight that finally decides what sport is best, MMA v Boxing. Its pure childish ****, it really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Draw
    begbysback wrote: »
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=RNANbhf_LjM

Ok timeline may not be after paulie actually left, but it is definitely after first session(s)
    He may have said something like that after the spar. He'll likely say words to that effect when he's asked about it. My point was that he also said it during the press tour before Paulie stepped foot in the gym.
    Rousey had the opinion of herself based around the fact that she was demolishing opponents in the Octagon. It was based on her past performance despite all the hype being too much.
    She had an incredibly sheltered career. All she knew was judo her whole life, 24/7 judo for years. And when she transitioned to mma, all she used was judo and was successful. Even though she was dominating, a lot of people could see that her striking was dire*. She was oblivious of course, he had never seen striking before and had her coach telling her she was a natural.

I think it's fairly obvious, from watching Conor's documentaries, and behind the scenes stuff. That he has spent a ridiculous amount of time studying all aspects of fighting. Grappling, capoerira, gorillas fighting in the jungle, and Boxing. He definitely know more about boxing that some random drooler commenting on youtube. Whatever he says, whatever way he acts. He's absolutely aware how good Floyd Mayweather Jr is. I certainly wouldn't confuse self belief with ignorance.

*a lot of people couldn't see too. including those that thought she'd beat men at 135lbs :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ
    Mellor wrote: »

I think it's fairly obvious, from watching Conor's documentaries, and behind the scenes stuff. That he has spent a ridiculous amount of time studying all aspects of fighting. Grappling, capoerira, gorillas fighting in the jungle, and Boxing. He definitely know more about boxing that some random drooler commenting on youtube. Whatever he says, whatever way he acts. He's absolutely aware how good Floyd Mayweather Jr is. I certainly wouldn't confuse self belief with ignorance.

Personally I think you are giving him far too much credit, he seen the $ and jumped into a boxing match under boxing rules against one of the best ever. Regardless of whether it's ego or self belief if he gets rattled and Ko'd it will have an effect. Would have an effect on anyone. Being Ko'd.

This fight though is being given far too much attention by boxing fans considering GGG vs Alvarez is just around the corner. A boxing match that is really tight , hard to call between two of the best out there right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,458 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    darced wrote: »

Paulie is not a hitter, (as you quoted on) and IMO he has been well past his better days, which really weren't all that great to begin with. He is a pot shotter defensive minded feather fisted boxer. He is also retired and not in fighting condition-shape.

Any half decent pro out there today focused and ready to go easily gets the better of Conor in a boxing match, and if a spar, and he went for it, yes, he gets the better of him.

Not sure why these mickey mouse spars with Paulie Malignaggi are even being brought up as some sort of credence for Conor.

Ok, another way to say it is that any top level Irish amateur today would be far too good for Conor, and if they sparred and they decided to focus and try to dominate then they would...

Generally sparring is for boxers not to overly focus, but to be sharp and to experiment and be a little more relaxed and easy going.

And it all comes back to Conor not having a hope in hell of beating Floyd.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    And also, for the record, an in shape and prepared Paulie easily beats Conor in a boxing match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

Conor via DQ
    walshb wrote: »
    And also, for the record, an in shape and prepared Paulie easily beats Conor in a boxing match.

Them goal posts are moving out the stadium at this rate :-D

Floyd via KO-TKO
    GerryDerpy wrote: »
    Them goal posts are moving out the stadium at this rate :-D

Not moving at all.

I could also have said that an out of shape (as in not in camp) Paulie beats Conor as well. May be a little tougher, but he beats him in a boxing match

This nonsense debating back and forth about mickey mouse sparring....

What exactly is it supposed to show or prove?

What exactly is it supposed to contradict?

Plus, the whole con that this is, who's to say what did or did not happen, and what is and is not genuine? Remember, it's a circus to begin with...

And even if Conor beat the daylights off Paulie? So what....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,037 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Conor via DQ

My uncle would be my aunt if....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Call me cynical and I'm not denying that McGregor is a cock, he probably is but this just seems like more promotion for this fight. Just seems all a little too convenient McGregor having a spat with a retired boxer doing analyst work for Showtime one of the companies promoting the fight.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    My uncle would be my aunt if....

If what?

Read it again.....an in shape and prepared Paulie "easily" beats Conor in a boxing match

Nothing to do with balls or aunties....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ
    Some promotion work to be fair. The fight is all over the place again because of some nothing story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Floyd via DQ

Paul said he gassed in the first spar, really struggled to get through 8 rounds since he was just off a plane, had done no training and Conor got the best of it due to conditioning.

He said he was competitive in the second spar for the first 5 rounds, then he took over until he again started to fade and Conor rallied in the 11th and 12th, didn't say he won them but did say he rallied and credited him for it. Would have liked to find out if it was due to his character which he had seen little evidence of, or was it due to him taking it easy cause he was knackered, having again got off a plane the day before and his conditioning not being what it should be.

I believe pretty much all of what Paulie actually said funnily enough, the only part of it that surprises or even interests me a little is that Conor is working on his cardio which is obviously a good thing for him as I would say it would be a glaring weakness for him in a boxing match. Also, whether it was due to Paulie fading or whatever it doesn't matter you have to credit a guy for getting beat up and coming back toward the end of the fight.

No new information really from the talk of the sparring, nothing you would not expect other then that he rallied in the final couple of rounds in a 12 round spar. Positive from his POV, that's about it though.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Conor via DQ
    The amount of talking that Malignaggi is doing is suspicious. First I thought he was doing it for self-promotion, or to position himself to fight McGregor if Mayweather pulls out due to injury or something, but now I think he's just hyping the fight, and is probably doing it at the request of the Mayweather camp. He's trying to make it seem like it will be a competitive fight, by admitting that Conor won the first sparring session, and won a few rounds in the second session as well.

Edit: I suppose he could be hyping the fight on behalf of Showtime, not Mayweather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Floyd via DQ
    Paul said he gassed in the first spar...

Said he "gassed out" in the second spar too............ but he's gassing out for a reason and that's because he is fighting someone who he can't keep up with.........

An mma guy.
    Who just got his boxing licence.
    Never even been in a professional boxing bout before.
    Paulie should be schooling him with the sweet science........

213379_v1.jpg

Floyd via DQ
    Said he "gassed out" in the second spar too............ but he's gassing out for a reason and that's because he is fighting someone who he can't keep up with.........

An mma guy.

213379_v1.jpg

12 rounds for a lad carrying that weight and not in training .. will you give over with the cant keep up nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Floyd via DQ

An mma guy.

213379_v1.jpg

1808b81347a742eb7a37ef254376ffee.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

No doubt Paulie got played completely and is now lashing out. His political leanings will tell you he's not the smartest. I mean what did he expect when he got the call from McGregor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Floyd via DQ
    "got a pasting". Lol, closed sparring my ass, clearly insiders everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Floyd via DQ
    I may be in the minority here, but it all seems a bit funny. Do I believe Mc got the better of Paulie in the first spar, quite possibly.
    Did Paulie underestimate him, for sure.
    But, also, the limelight disappeared from this fight somewhat. Forums got quieter, Hey presto, were all talking about it again.
    Remember this isn't a sell out yet.
    I'm just not buying into the whole thing. I believe McGregor camp posted the pictures unfairly, there's unwritten rules in sparring, but, and I know Paulie likes to talk, it seems there's new stories every 2 hours. It's just a bit odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Floyd via DQ
    You could be on to something there - ive long suspected wonderfullife, Gery Derpy and Outlaw Pete to be the same person :pac::pac: and getting paid to drum up interest on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Floyd via DQ
    Jack v Cleverly agreed for the undercard according to Hearn. Decent fight.

Floyd via DQ
    12 rounds for a lad carrying that weight and not in training ..

Yeah, he's a real fat bastard these days..............

pauliesparring88.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭hbhook

Floyd via DQ
    If we know anything about Clev it's that he brings it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,186 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Floyd via DQ
    How is Paulie gassing an excuse? He was meant to be able to clown Conor with nothing but pure skill. I'm great shape at the minute, if I spar Paulie will he eventually fade and take a licking from me :)

I believe most of what Paulie says as well but what he is saying is a long way from what he claimed he could do to Conor before they sparred. He completely underestimated McGregor and got a pasting in the first spar and has been on damage control since, that is pretty clear.

Interesting viewpoint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    Not sure why these mickey mouse spars with Paulie Malignaggi are even being brought up as some sort of credence for Conor.

hahahaha

You guys in here didn't shut up about the Chris Van Heerden spar as a "reason" why Conor is laughably bad at boxing.

Now you're saying "well, now, let's not be hasty, you can't judge anything... it's only sparring".

The mental gymnastics performed in here are awesome to see and I sincerely hope Conor shuts the whole lot of you up with a decisive victory.
    SHOVELLER wrote: »
    No doubt Paulie got played completely and is now lashing out. His political leanings will tell you he's not the smartest. I mean what did he expect when he got the call from McGregor?

He's part of the Trump cult who believe their "leader" is a billionaire who cares about the little people despite living his entire life screwing the little people.

So, yeah, not the smartest cookie. He knows his boxing but he's not the sharpest tool.