Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Mega Mk7 Golf GTI/GTD/R thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,550 ✭✭✭JoeA3

I'd expect 2.5k, but if you push a bit you might get a bit closer to 3k. Or try asking them to "throw" something in like metallic or a wheel upgrade...

19's will be fine but it does depend on what you are used to. I don't think there's a significant difference in comfort from 18-19 tbh. Personally I think that the new standard 18's are so ugly that the 19's upgrade would be the first box I'd tick. You could consider the adaptive dampers (DCC) if going for 19's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Having an issue with the drivers side front still on the GTD. Horrible squeaking at slow speeds which used to be only on cold mornings but now all the time, and a clunking over speed bumps. Been to a large (and useless) main dealer in Cork three times now with the issues and they have basically ignored it.

I'll mention it again at next service but they really couldn't care less. It would actually put me off another VW, I'd have to go elsewhere if I even considered it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭Neilw

Having an issue with the drivers side front still on the GTD. Horrible squeaking at slow speeds which used to be only on cold mornings but now all the time, and a clunking over speed bumps. Been to a large (and useless) main dealer in Cork three times now with the issues and they have basically ignored it.

I'll mention it again at next service but they really couldn't care less. It would actually put me off another VW, I'd have to go elsewhere if I even considered it.

Probably top mounts, they seem to be weak on some cars. Ask them to replace them.

Yeah. Suspension top mounts. I had them done in the GTI. It cured the problem in that car. Front suspension creaks and groans are a common enough MK7 problem. Is it particularly noticeable at slow speeds, e.g. when parking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

I know that other choices in Cork are limited without travelling but it might be worth trying to see if Deasys do warranty work as they have VW service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Cheers lads. I will try get it done somewhere else. The squeaking seems to be related to the brakes too i think. Its completely related to movement at slow speeds then goes once speed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭blingrhino

4 Wheel drive not working on the R. now its just driving the front wheels.

Booked into dealer next week.

151 - still under warranty?

blingrhino wrote: »

Yeah you have 3 years. What's the symptom? Warning lights / error code?

Haldex pump is probably gone. It has happened a few cars, you shouldn't have any problem getting it fixed.

Spinning front wheels at junctions , i never ever have even had a squeak when pulling out at junctions in the last two years !

No warning lights but the traction control light flickers and it cuts in.

i know this sounds correct but previously i have never ever seen the traction control light flicker.

Basically it seems to be driving like a normal GTI and not an R.

Spinning front wheels at junctions , i never ever have even had a squeak when pulling out at junctions in the last two years !

No warning lights but the traction control light flickers and it cuts in.

i know this sounds correct but previously i have never ever seen the traction control light flicker.

Basically it seems to be driving like a normal GTI and not an R.

That's exactly what happens, the clutch doesn't engage on the drive to the rear so you are basically driving a fwd car.

Try doing a launch, then you'll know for sure!

I am absolutely f***king jinxed lads. Woke up this morning to see this on my driveway. There are no words to describe the scum that come onto someone's driveway in the middle of the night and do sh1t like this.

If you see R mirror caps on dungdeal, adverts, eBay, they're probably mine! Cnuts.

IMG_0275.jpg
    IMG_0276.jpg
    multiple image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Jaysis, that's shocking. Havn't seen that before, are the housing damaged?

The badges on the front quarter panels are popular for getting fleeced too.

Jaysis, that's shocking. Havn't seen that before, are the housing damaged?

The badges on the front quarter panels are popular for getting fleeced too.

It's apparantly common. I've heard of this and similar incidents happening but you always think/hope it won't happen on your doorstep.

Yep the cnuts left screw driver marks on the black housings. Fortunately those parts are only €9 a pop. The caps however are €142 each! (Retail). Fortunately the local dealers were really good to me in terms of tea and sympathy and the cost to my wallet when I called in this morning with my very sad face.

It's worrying me tbh that it happened outside my home when I and my wife and child were in bed asleep. I'm giving serious thought to downgrading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

JoeA3 wrote: »
    I am absolutely f***king jinxed lads. Woke up this morning to see this on my driveway.

Ffs, pricks.

Id be worried about replacing them too, as they are easy pickings and the scum could be back in a week for a fresh set.

I fúcking hate **** like this. No deterrent for it here at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,168 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Pure scum, I'd say rather than resale they are putting them on their bog standard Golf to gloss it up, unlikely they would take them again unless a few of the same crowd have Golfs.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Ffs, pricks.

Id be worried about replacing them too, as they are easy pickings and the scum could be back in a week for a fresh set.

I fúcking hate **** like this. No deterrent for it here at all.

Exactly. What can you do. I'll have a fresh set on it and then bang, some pikey will be back again for another set FFS!! I've been looking into alarms and auto lights for the driveway, CCTV, etc etc but fcuk that, I'm not up for turning the house into a prison for the sake of a pair of door mirrors.

I just have this feeling all day that it's no longer worth the aggravation as my priorities have to shift elsewhere at some stage. it's depressing. :(

Pure scum, I'd say rather than resale they are putting them on their bog standard Golf to gloss it up, unlikely they would take them again unless a few of the same crowd have Golfs.

Possibly. They definitely knew what they were at though. They knew this car was here. They knew how to remove them quickly without breaking them or raising any alarm. I suspect they also knew the car is alarmed - so trying for the wheels / lights was a no no. I'm surprised my wheels, badges, lights all survived untouched though - this time.

A Garda friend of mine said he has never heard of the same car getting hit more than once. I guess there's always a first time......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Yeah all that security stuff is worth feck all to be honest. For stuff like that they'll still take them. A hoodie up and lights and camera mean nothing. We have cameras, alarms, lights etc but I wouldn't put any real value on them for security. Best thing is the dog but that's not always possible or even wanted. As you say, no point rearranging your life for a set of wing mirror caps.

Pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,037 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

F**king low life scumbags. Very sorry to hear that Joe.

Take comfort in the fact that their lives will amount to nowt.

It's hard to get anything in life without some scumbag trying to ruin it :(

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,168 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Possibly. They definitely knew what they were at though. They knew this car was here. They knew how to remove them quickly without breaking them or raising any alarm. I suspect they also knew the car is alarmed - so trying for the wheels / lights was a no no. I'm surprised my wheels, badges, lights all survived untouched though - this time.

A Garda friend of mine said he has never heard of the same car getting hit more than once. I guess there's always a first time......

Do you know if the coverings are compatible in other Golfs of the same era? I am guessing they are. I suppose you could super glue the screws when you put the new set on but if there is another attempt on them they might then butcher the mirrors in frustration to take them off.

Yeah they are identical to any MK7 Golf. Even though the caps a pricey to say the least, the one thing is I don't have to get them painted. They're brushed silver / chrome out of the box.
    You'd have to get them painted on the other Golfs. Maybe I should just get blue ones!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Gutted for you Joe, you're not having a good run at it lately.

Thanks man. Yeah it's been one thing after another I'm afraid. Nothing like a few incidents like this to suck the joy out of car ownership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Hebegeebee

FFS, what absolute fcuking scum! Some people have no respect for other people's property.
    I'm absolutely gutted for you Joe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,542 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Unfortunately there is a black market for VAG parts and VWs and Audis are especially popular with the unwashed in this country. When I had a CC I had one of the front fog light brackets stolen from my driveway. They must have been disturbed as they only took one and it only cost €45 from VW.

I'd say those caps will never see donedeal but instead some knacker will be putting them on their tarted up **** box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭ofcork

Sickening I had both foglights and a chrome look strip stolen from my avensis a few months ago cost me nearly 600 to replace.

Thers nothing worse joe and i know you would love to catch the cnuts but you never know how that situation might have developed if you confronted them, all be it, the natural reaction.

Even if they were caught by the guards it would only be a slap on the wrist.

No deterant in this country for those scumbags.

i Can understand you feeling about downgrading and im sure like me it was a factor when you were buying the car but give it a while and see how you feel in a month or so. CNUTS !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,479 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Sorry to add more non-GTI/R discussion but does anyone have experience haggling the price of a car that had a price drop? The Highline I ordered has dropped by €1,000 so the haggling I doesn't save much. The salesperson is to call me back today about the price. I think I could have got more off the original cost so I think even with the price drop there's room to come down a bit more.

Has anyone been in this situation before?