Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Football Championships 2017 - Read Mod Note Post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Robson99 wrote: »
    So so. Can play much better but the antics of Cooper were cringe. Missed some easy scores and kettle Monahan in handy enough on a couple of occasions.

So so eh.

How are Galway doing this year ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,929 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

CatInABox wrote: »
    And the video would show that he's got a grip on the top of McManus's jersey, and that his arm goes down because he's knocked off balance.

McManus's arm comes across the top of Coopers head, with the elbow hitting Cooper on the upper/back section of his head. Even the commentator says it. You can call it a dive if you want, but if I got an elbow to the head, I'd probably drop to the ground to protect myself as well, that would be my instinct. The rolling around on the ground is excessive, but even without that, it was still a clear yellow for McManus.

...look at the video, there is no hit/contact. Just the arm freely coming over the top of his head. Your insistence in staying in denial of this is just cringeworthy now.

And the late late tackle got no sanction at all. He was going for McManus's neck area long after the ball was gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭Robson99

STB. wrote: »
    So so eh.

How are Galway doing this year ?

Terrible. Why ???

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

...look at the video, there is no hit/contact. Just the arm freely coming over the top of his head. Your insistence in staying in denial of this is just cringeworthy now.

And the late late tackle got no sanction at all. He was going for McManus's neck area long after the ball was gone.

Well, we'll have to disagree there so. I see no way that his arm could come across the top of Coopers head without his elbow also giving a glancing blow.

The "late late tackle" also isn't much of a tackle, what with the whistle being blown ages before hand and McManus ignoring it. You can also see that Cooper has a hold of McManus's jersey, so I wouldn't class that as "going for the neck".

We're both looking at the same video and seeing different things, so I'm just going to leave it at this stage, neither of us will convince the other.

Well, we'll have to disagree there so. I see no way that his arm could come across the top of Coopers head without his elbow also giving a glancing blow.

All you need to do is look. But you are too busy ignoring Cooper's intent all day long, before the throw in even - to get somebody sent off. Despicable in any player.

Robson99 wrote: »
    Terrible. Why ???

Just wondered where you set the bar with your so so ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Dunno Stoner, we came in at halftime in A-T game and they were leaving in droves then, so much so that it was remarked on in the queue by a few people.

Well lots stayed , as Bambi said they left in droves at halftime at M-D game alright

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

All you need to do is look. But you are too busy ignoring Cooper's intent all day long, before the throw in even - to get somebody sent off. Despicable in any player.

Haha, I see his head being hit with an elbow in that video, hence our disagreement. Perhaps you are too busy slamming a player you dislike to see it?

Anyway, I'm looking forward to the Dublin Tyrone game now, we should find out where both teams are standing, as I don't think either have been tested at all this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,731 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

And the video would show that he's got a grip on the top of McManus's jersey, and that his arm goes down because he's knocked off balance.

McManus's arm comes across the top of Coopers head, with the elbow hitting Cooper on the upper/back section of his head. Even the commentator says it. You can call it a dive if you want, but if I got an elbow to the head, I'd probably drop to the ground to protect myself as well, that would be my instinct. The rolling around on the ground is excessive, but even without that, it was still a clear yellow for McManus.

I'm not talking about the video.

I made no reference to the video.

Why are you replying to my post referencing the video?

My post was to point out the lack of credibility in still photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,855 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

r7GlgD8m.jpg

Here's Cooper getting an elbow in the head, so I was wrong, wasn't just the arm. Still think Cooper made more of it than he should have, but I'd probably be on the ground too if I got an elbow in the head.

Also, just so we're clear, you'd ignore a player that commits a foul, then ignores your whistle, picks up the ball and runs towards goal, kicks the ball away (thus preventing play from restarting quickly), and when another player goes over to stop him, you'd book the player that ended up on the ground? In my opinion, you'd be a terrible referee.

The elbow brushed off him, if even that.

And "goes over to stop him"?! The ball was gone about 3 seconds before Cooper got there to try to act the hard man getting a cheap dig in, then ends up rolling around on the ground like a little girl.

I'm not talking about the video.

I made no reference to the video.

Why are you replying to my post referencing the video?

My post was to point out the lack of credibility in still photos.

Apologies then, I thought that you were criticising my putting up a still image.

Haha, I see his head being hit with an elbow in that video, hence our disagreement. Perhaps you are too busy slamming a player you dislike to see it?

Anyway, I'm looking forward to the Dublin Tyrone game now, we should find out where both teams are standing, as I don't think either have been tested at all this year.

You cannot see what isn't there. If there has been contact that video would have shown it.

Dublin didn't get a game yesterday as I said, Monaghan were dead from the get go. Easy pickings and if I was a Dub I would be asking why they didn't put 20 points on them. Tyrone would have. So I am backing Tyrone at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭Robson99

STB. wrote: »
    Just wondered where you set the bar with your so so ?

Dubs capable of much more than shown last nite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Agree with a km post from the last page. Gough sorted the off the ball stuff in the connaught final and he pulled Tyrone yesterday for one awarding Armagh a free in close. He's without doubt the best and most consistent ref in the country and I'd be delighted if he could ref all of our remaining games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭munster87

There's dirty footballers on all the best teams in the country. They play on the edge and sometimes cheat. This can even be the difference in winning and losing a game. We'll all defend our own lads even though we know they are at it! What's needed are referees and their team who can manage games to higher standards than currently on show. Gough at least makes an effort to keep an eye on things around the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭SecretsOfEarth

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    I don't know anything about this paper thing you're talking about or vulnerabilities that you've conjured up and aren't based on actual games played. Maybe they're imaginary games in your paper world.

I haven't seen them play on paper yet but ive observed them in action on the field of play.

Kerry have been a top team and all ireland winners in the last number of seasons. The addition of a fully fit o donoghue and morley àt centrd bàck make them stronger again thiz year. They are playing with pace and are very well organised and set up. Better balanced than prrviously. They beat dublin quite easily in two matches, four months ago.

To say they are an average team by kerry standards is a ridiculous proposition. No amount of sophistry will change that.

I've observed them in action on the field of play too, and if you think the vulnerability in the defence is one that I've "conjured up", you mustn't have been watching them too closely.

munster87 wrote: »
    There's dirty footballers on all the best teams in the country. They play on the edge and sometimes cheat. This can even be the difference in winning and losing a game. We'll all defend our own lads even though we know they are at it! What's needed are referees and their team who can manage games to higher standards than currently on show. Gough at least makes an effort to keep an eye on things around the pitch.

All teams have them, but not all defend it. I know I wouldn't condone it if it happened at club or county level>
    You are spot on about refs, it will only be sorted if they are told and allowed to act. And it's a simple fix. Cost your team and you'll be told to sort yourself out very quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

r7GlgD8m.jpg

Here's Cooper getting an elbow in the head, so I was wrong, wasn't just the arm. Still think Cooper made more of it than he should have, but I'd probably be on the ground too if I got an elbow in the head.

Also, just so we're clear, you'd ignore a player that commits a foul, then ignores your whistle, picks up the ball and runs towards goal, kicks the ball away (thus preventing play from restarting quickly), and when another player goes over to stop him, you'd book the player that ended up on the ground? In my opinion, you'd be a terrible referee.

Can't argue with that.

Cooper didn't go over to get the ball back. The ball had gone. Not up to him to sort out McManus for wasting time either. He went over to see if he could provoke McManus. That happens a lot to McManus. Happens to Connolly too. I'd like to think i'm consistent in calling foul on the lads doing the winding up.

We know Cooper wasn't hurt. The rolling around was to get the referee to bite. He's probably the only Dublin player thats lets say aware of himself on the pitch.
    I really hate the phrase "soccer people" What the f*ck is a soccer person.

Grow up with that nonsense. 99% of GAA fans enjoy both sports.

Fair enough, you don't like the sport, but don't generalise people who do.

Calm down. You misunderstand. I like football and lots of other sports. I think i've posted in every sports forum on this site.

What i meant by soccer people was the commentators you hear on Sky for example who readily excuse behaviour i find appalling. 'There was contact' is often used to excuse cheating bastards when they've hardly been touched. I don't like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

Patser wrote: »
    Donegal beat Dublin in 2014 by sticking to a rigid defend and counter tactics that the Dubs walked into. Since then underdogs have decided that is the way to go. That'll work. As if the Dubs will never learn a lesson and adapt. Over 3 years they'll always fall into that trap, or else the other mantra of keep it respectable.

Kerry believe and fight equally and have this years league title to show for it. Mayo believe (but always just short) and have replays and close, close games to show for it. Tyrone will always go for it.

But too many teams against Dublin or Kerry or Tyrone lack belief and stick to the once in a generation Donegal charm of defend like feck, even when losing. It makes for terrible games as teams meekly surrender while 'keeping it respectable'

Meanwhile Roscommon, based on a team of youngsters who don't know they're meant to lose have a provincial title and a chance of a semi final.

I don't know where to start but basically every sentence is total nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    I don't know anything about this paper thing you're talking about or vulnerabilities that you've conjured up and aren't based on actual games played. Maybe they're imaginary games in your paper world.

I haven't seen them play on paper yet but ive observed them in action on the field of play.

Kerry have been a top team and all ireland winners in the last number of seasons. The addition of a fully fit o donoghue and morley àt centrd bàck make them stronger again thiz year. They are playing with pace and are very well organised and set up. Better balanced than prrviously. They beat dublin quite easily in two matches, four months ago.

To say they are an average team by kerry standards is a ridiculous proposition. No amount of sophistry will change that.

Rabble rabble Kieran Donaghy rabble rabble :P

Seriously though, in 10 pages of absolute monotony and shoitetalk discussing a nothing incident in a game that Dublin didn't have to get out of 2nd gear in [why would they need to put a cricket score up?], the above sentence is definitely the biggest pile of crap.

Kerry managed to beat Dublin in the League Final yes, but easily? No.

And what was the other game that we got beaten by them in? I don't recall...

There's an obvious bias against Dublin amongst a cohort in here. And really, it doesn't matter but it would be nice to read a few balanced points about the team rather than the same worn out crap of athletes not footballers, Jonny Cooper is a scumbag etc.

---
    Both games yesterday went to script. It seems some are annoyed at the teams that won than they are at the inept performances of the vanquished that brought us there.

---

Now I do believe there's a football match on tomorrow as well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

There's head contact there, looks like with the arm rather than fist or elbow, and it lands on the back of the head. Doesn't look intentional, but rather a reckless swing.

In saying that, to me, it looks like Cooper makes the most out of it. I'd still think that it's probably a yellow for making any contact with a reckless swing.

EDIT: When I say reckless swing, I mean it turned into a swing, not that he purposefully meant to swing. I think he tried to grab the jersey and push, but lost the grip and followed through.

I agree that there was contact but I also think he made the most of it (and I'm a Dublin fan) It certainly wasn't the winning or losing of the game so people need to just jog on.

I only mentioned Cooper's antics because they deserved mention on a thread that is about the 'championship'.
    That others got defensive and into a strop is their issue not mine. I already gave my assessment of the game.

I only mentioned Cooper's antics because they deserved mention on a thread that is about the 'championship'.
    That others got defensive and into a strop is their issue not mine. I already gave my assessment of the game.

I'm not saying it doesn't warrant a mention but it should be mentioned in the context of McManus losing the head and trying to hit Cooper (albeit most likely after Cooper goaded him)

I don't think it needs to be said that it would be a totally different ball game if you replace McManus with Connolly but I don't subscribe to the 31 v 1 mentality so I'll leave that can of worms firmly closed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭passremarkable

When do tickets go on sale for dub Tyrone game ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

munster87 wrote: »

There's something particularly repugnant and cowardly about someone who stars a row then cries and rolls around like a baby when he gets a bit back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

harpsman wrote: »
    There's something particularly repugnant and cowardly about someone who stars a row then cries and rolls around like a baby when he gets a bit back

Marty Boyle springs straight to mind for me anyways .......

There's something annoying about people endlessly complaining about the antics of the opposition while refusing to acknowledge there own team is equally as guilty

(Not implying this is you )

Literally like ?

Its Paddy McBrearty isnt it.

Had to get blood transfusions and all.

It was a poor enough game (Dublin v Monaghan) overall.

It was great seeing McAuley and Flynn getting a decent bit of game time.
    I thought our full back line were excellent and the ferocity in the tackle even when the result was no longer in doubt was very encouraging.
    Our full back line were immense and their ferocity in the tackle even when the result was no longer in doubt was very encouraging.
    While I personally wouldn't put Connolly straight back into the starting line-up, I don't think Andrews or for the most part Mannion have been doing enough to keep him out of the team.
    Our shot selection near the end even when we were well ahead was poor at times and won't do against Tyrone and we coughed up 2 goal chances that on another day we could have conceded.
    We're still there, we still have stuff to work on so we can't complain too much