Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Floyd via DQ
    walshb wrote: »
    We still talking bollix sparring against has-been Paulie Malignaggi?

Yep, him and the never-will-be McGregor !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Floyd via KO-TKO
    A traditional Karate stance, a stance that owes more to martial arts makes sense if you can kick, in a hands only game it is like having lead shoes on.

He watch his leg work, it won't be as orthodox as Mayweather but he is going to know the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Floyd via DQ
    I don't believe McGregor will fight in a karate stance, I think it's a smokescreen to try to sell tickets on the basis of Mayweather never facing something like this before. Same as the pics of McGregor following up on his sparring partner on the ground creating the idea the McGregor might overstep the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,040 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Conor via DQ
    i don't know if it's luck or genius but Mcregor Inc gets it bang on every time. I was underwhelmed after the pressers, but this latest stunt has reignited the spark! They essentially talked a well known former 2 weight champion who likes to talk a lot, into becoming their chief strategist for boxing and sparring partner, a man who said publicly that he would beat the beard off conor with one arm etc..in he goes after having his ego stroked by the media and the doors close. It doesn't matter what happened there, even disregard the photos as PR spin. What did happen was the sparring partner legged it with a spooked demeanour and spouting defensive nonsense to all that will listen, even answering individual tweets ...he was rattled. It means nothing boxingwise but great business!

My previous favourite business move was the red panty night presser...in one presser he secured his future, laughed at the fe's picked a fight with the lw's and here we are now...taking on one of the most successful undefeated boxers of all time...ya couldn't make it up

(if that was movie plot it would be far fetched)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Floyd via DQ
    Max Kellerman in that clip is the personification of all you "experts" in here.

Didn't shut up for weeks that no pro boxer would get touched in sparring by Conor, then as soon as Conor proves him wrong he pivots to lame excuses.

The ol' sweet science eh...

Whether Conor could land on that clearly out of shape, well over the hill and FORMER pro boxer is of absolutely no relevance though, he has not proved he can trouble a pro boxer even in sparring. I have no doubt whatsoever Paulie beat his ass comfortably in the spar for the record obviously and Paulie calling for the tapes to be released only strengthens that belief.

There is hardly a need to be snide anyway btw, just because people disagree with you or pick holes in your arguments/logic.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭boxer.fan

I've been looking forward to the possibility of Sinead O'Connor singing Conor out for the ring walk. Given the latest news on SO'C & how ridiculous Lil Wayne 's effort on behalf of Mayweather is it seems I have little to look forward to 😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭hbhook

Floyd via DQ
    I've decided that to make this tread more interesting for me, I'm going to go over to McGregor's side...McG is gonna land that punch on that uber defensive and laser accurate BOXER that is Floyd Mayweather jr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Floyd via DQ
    Which punch is that?

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Floyd via DQ
    .......clearly out of shape, well over the hill and FORMER pro boxer....

Paulie fought for the WBC Welterweight title in March, ffs!! Give over :p

Floyd via DQ
    Which punch is that?
    it's the one where he quadruple feints to the left and then to the right, twice, comes up around and then feints to his upper right again before feinting to his lower left..before repeating. He'll have to catch him early though...for it to work. Out of the Karate stance...

Damn yo, I forgot to say that he has to throw the left at the end of all of that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Floyd via DQ
    Paulie fought for the WBC Welterweight title in March, ffs!! Give over :p

No he didn't.

Floyd via DQ
    Yes he did.
    Sam Eggington Knocks Out Paulie Malignaggi in Eight Rounds

O2 Arena, London - In a bout for the WBC International welterweight title, Sam Eggington (20-3, 12 KOs) got the biggest win of his career with an eight round knockout over former two division world champion Paulie Malignaggi (36-8, 7 KOs).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

Floyd via DQ
    Yes he did.

Bit of a difference between the WBC International belt that he lost against Sam Egginton and the WBC championship belt. Keith Thurman is the WBC champ. Think theres a silver belt thrown in there somewhere too.

Belts in boxing. Theres lots of them.

Floyd via DQ
    gilmour wrote: »
    Belts in boxing. Theres lots of them.

I said WBC Welterweight Title and there are only two of them.

Paulie fought for the WBC International Welterweight title in March and that's all that matters, and as such, referring to him as being a:
    .......clearly out of shape, well over the hill and FORMER pro boxer....

... is laughable.

Floyd via DQ
    I said WBC Welterweight Title and there are only two of them.

Paulie fought for the WBC International Welterweight title in March and that's all that matters, and as such, referring to him as being a:

... is laughable.

I shall be pedantic, he fought for a paper title, nowhere close to the actual WBC championship belt that Thurman holds at the minute. But if it adds weight to whatever point you're going for then shoot for the stars with it.

You lads need to pour a glass of water over your heads regarding this sparring fiasco though, its actually cringeworthy on all sides.

Floyd via DQ
    ....whatever point you're going for....

Sorry, did you miss the point?

It's that "..clearly out of shape, well over the hill..." boxers don't tend to be fighting for WBC titles.

Thought that was obvious.... not for some it seems.

Floyd via DQ
    Sorry, did you miss the point?

It's that "..clearly out of shape, well over the hill..." boxers don't tend to be fighting for WBC titles.

Thought that was obvious.... not for some it seems.

Hey i'll be honest, i've scrolled past most posts regarding the sparring at this stage, it's a bit mad to notice that there's no mention of the fighter that Conors actually going to fight, Mayweather.

The only thing that jumped out at me was your post saying Paulie fought for the WBC title in March, and thats when i felt i'd offer an invaluable piece of information that its not quite the WBC title you would like it to be to back up your thesis on this sparring saga.

Floyd via DQ
    ..... its not quite the WBC title you would like it to be to back up your thesis on this sparring saga.

I couldn't give a **** which title it was. It's irrelevant to the point I was making. Just because the WBC Welterweight Title he fought for was not the main one, doesn't suddenly justify referring to Paulie now as being a:
    ......clearly out of shape, well over the hill and FORMER pro boxer....

Only an idiot would think it would.

Some limbo dancing in here to try and undermine those sparring sessions with Paulie, it's embarrassing lads.....but hardly surprising given that the consensus in here for the past few months has been that Conor wouldn't land a glove on even a good amateur that was trained in the oh so beautiful sweet science.

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Draw
    Which punch is that?

Superman punch :pac:

Floyd via DQ
    I couldn't give a **** which title it was. It's irrelevant to the point I was making. Just because the WBC Welterweight Title he fought for was not the main one, doesn't suddenly justify referring to Paulie now as being a:

Only an idiot would think it would.

Some limbo dancing in here to try and undermine those sparring sessions with Paulie, it's embarrassing lads.....but hardly surprising given that the consensus in here for the past few months has been that Conor wouldn't land a glove on even a good amateur that was trained in the oh so beautiful sweet science.

hqdefault.jpg

You are all in my man. I'm liking your tenacity to prove your point. But count me out of it, i will never again dare to step in your MMA killer way.

On a side note, of his entire catalogue, Outlaw Pete is the one you pick. Shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ
    @Pistol Pete

So you know exactly what went down in sparring then...??

You have the unedited footage of their 12 round session...??

Or are you basing your assessment of Conor's performance, completely off random photo's... photo's that his camp intentionally leaked?? (because everyone else was forced to switch off their devices prior to those sparring sessions) :rolleyes:

News flash: Everybody gets hit in sparring...

Here look... Muhammed Ali taking some leather off his younger brother...

1313415692.jpg

Does this mean Rahman Ali got the better of their sparring...?? Or does it just mean he managed to land a few punches on his big bro... and someone got a well-timed photo of one of those punches??

You decide Pete... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

Floyd via DQ
    I think the next most likely outcome after a Mayweather win by KO/TKO is a McGregor disqualification. It will take a tremendous amount of restraint and disipline on his part to suppress his natural urge to kick, knee, wrestle Mayweather.

There was a story out during the week about Srisaket Sor Rungvisai, The former Thai martial artist now WBC super flyweight champion of the world.
    He spoke about his transaction into boxing and the hardest things was stopping himself from kicking. He said it was constantly on his mind during fights.

If Conor kicks Floyd and he goes down he be disqualified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ
    Question for all the huge CMAC fans out there....

What kind of psychological effect, will a loss to Mayweather, have on Conor's future fights... whether they be in MMA or boxing??

I was watching a video from Ido Portal recently. The guy pedals a lot of questionable stuff, and comes out with a lot of BS... but occasionally I do find myself agreeing with his POV on some things.

Just incase any of you guys are allergic to snake oil... I have lifted some of the important quotes from the video clip below, for your convenience! :D

"There is a lot to lose"..."Every loss is extremely problematic".... "emotionally draining"...."A loss is severe"... "You will dig into that wound for the rest of your life"...

So, what do you guys think...?? Will Conor "dig into that wound for the rest of his life" if he loses this fight on Aug 26th?? Or is Ido just spewing out more guff...?

I think there is a big chance, that Conor's ego takes a battering (not just his face :P)... Especially if Floyd retires and doesn't give him a chance for a rematch!

PS - Also, watch out for Conor's signature windmill boxing tactic... Floyd ain't seen that one before!! :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Floyd via DQ
    It will obviously not have a positive effect but look how he reacted to the Diaz loss, he wanted it again at the same weight which favoured Diaz.

From a fans perspective it won't change much, most MMA fighters have losses on their records, it's not the same as boxing where records are everything.

At the end of the day he's trying to do something that's never been done or attempted before and he will still be lightweight UFC champ after regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Draw
    Question for all the huge CMAC fans out there....

What kind of psychological effect, will a loss to Mayweather, have on Conor's future fights... whether they be in MMA or boxing??
    If he knows on some level that he'll likely not win, then surely he just locks his wounds and backs his cheque. Even if his self believe is real, surely it's just a belief that he "can" win, rather than a delusion that it's the only outcome.

The only way I can see a negative physiological effect in future. Would be were be a fighter had bought into their own hype and believed that winning was routine, they just had to turn up. For example, Rousey didn't handle her first loss well.
    I don't believe Conor fits that mould.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

Real scummy behaviour from the UFC camp to use a top boxer like that for PR. He was doing them a favour helping out as a sparring partner. No honour shown but thats to be expected from a sport where you try and choke someone to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Real scummy behaviour from the UFC camp to use a top boxer like that for PR. He was doing them a favour helping out as a sparring partner. No honour shown but thats to be expected from a sport where you try and choke someone to death.

As opposed to beat someone to death repeatedly with your fists over 12 rounds. Honestly give me getting choked any day, I'd much rather do without the brain damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Floyd via DQ
    Lukker- wrote: »
    As opposed to beat someone to death repeatedly with your fists over 12 rounds. Honestly give me getting choked any day, I'd much rather do without the brain damage.

The funny thing is.....I think you're being serious !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Conor via DQ

Yes got it in one. All grappling arts main objective when applying a choke is to kill their opponent.

Floyd via DQ
    McG will be just fine after the loss. If it was the other way around Money might be walking with a limp for a while.

I