Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Me at Matic announcement

latest?cb=20120705231254

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,397 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

TheDoc wrote: »
    Never cursed at a ref before Mitch? :rolleyes:

Think you've just gone heavy on the two lads there from the bat :)

I have, and I was wrong to do so - and rightly sent off for it once. Have I done it, yes, does that make it excusable? No.

I'm not saying the lads should be sacked. I'm not saying the uefa procedures aren't sometimes stupid. I'm saying Jones was wrong to swear and be abusive towards an official.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Im almost sure I've heard of people being banned due to alcohol being found in their sample as a potential masking agent. I'm sure it would be easily differentiated from a small bit of post game champagne though

Sure that's what done for Michelle Smith or is she a de Brun now :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Interesting. Matic fee is £35m with £5m add ons.

https://twitter.com/RobDawsonESPN/status/892041306255626240

bangkok wrote: »
    team is starting to take shape....

de gea

Valencia
    Lindelof
    Bailly
    Darmian

Matic

Herrera
    Pogba

Rashford
    Lukaku
    Mkhiatarayan

Swap Rashford and Mkhitaryan and I agree with that as our likely first choice line up. Lindelof needs to earn that spot though, not done so on pre-season performances.

Interesting. Matic fee is £35m with £5m add ons.

https://twitter.com/RobDawsonESPN/status/892041306255626240

In todays world, that is downright reasonable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,101 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

TheDoc wrote: »
    Shouting for Ferdinand to be sold I suppose back in the day?

Yeah, I thought MU handled that whole situation very poorly.

I understand why they did what they did, and in the end the made the right decision results wise. Would every other club do the same. Yeah.

But look at Suarez and the outcry Pool got over that, rightly so. There comes a point when standards are more important.
    Im almost sure I've heard of people being banned due to alcohol being found in their sample as a potential masking agent. I'm sure it would be easily differentiated from a small bit of post game champagne though

The whole point of drug testing is that the officials are incontrol. No allowance, can, or indeed should, be taken of circumstances. If the player is on something they will then just say they need a minute, and down a vodka or something. Look at Michelle Smith.

And officials can't use 'common sense'. That way leads to corruption. A guilty player will simply offer the official a bride to take account of celebrations.

They heard all these excuses before. You don't think they drug test after every final?

Anway, just my two cents. Matic has signed, far more interesting, and positive, topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,838 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Im in two minds about Matic

Delighted we got him, we badly need that position filled but just feel we should've done better but maybe Jose was just dead set on Matic all the long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭ericzeking

They should be doing the tests, no questions asked...it's actually ridiculous that photographs and laps around the pitch are being put forward as excuses for professional athletes not wanting to do a doping control.

Headshot wrote: »
    Im in two minds about Matic

Delighted we got him, we badly need that position filled but just feel we should've done better but maybe Jose was just dead set on Matic all the long

Seems that Dier was the first choice, Matic second.

I think Matic is a better short term signing, and Dier a better long term one.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Leroy42 wrote: »
    And officials can't use 'common sense'. That way leads to corruption. A guilty player wil simply offer the official a bride to take account of celebrations.

They heard all these excuses before. You don't think they drug test after every final?

Jesus, you've gone down the rabbit hole here. The whole squad and management were in the dressing room. The tester could have waited 30 seconds while the photo was taken and not let Jones out of his sight. How you can equate that to leading to bribing the tester.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭paulbok

Adamocovic wrote: »
    Wait....have you never won one before?

Adox played Sevilla,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

If the Matic, Herrera, Pogba midfield lives up to it's "on-paper" potential, we should at least seriously challenge for the league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Swap Rashford and Mkhitaryan and I agree with that as our likely first choice line up. Lindelof needs to earn that spot though, not done so on pre-season performances.

just think rashford has a great cross on him and will be useful when crossing first time into lukaku.... also i would like to see the both of them swapping sides during games

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

My starting 11 as it stands....

DeGea
    Valencia - Jones - Bailly - Darmian
    Matic
    Herrera - Pogba
    ----Mkhitaryan - Lukaku - Martial

I think Martial has done more in preseason to earn the starting place than Rashford has done, and Mata could easily come in for Mkhitaryan once he gets his fitness up.

J. Marston wrote: »
    If the Matic, Herrera, Pogba midfield lives up to it's "on-paper" potential, we should at least seriously challenge for the league.

left back and centre back would be my worries in a first choice side.

I like Bailly.
    Rojo surprised me last season but is out for the first half of this one.
    Smalling and Jones are Smalling and Jones.
    Lindelof didn't impress at all in preseason, has to improve a lot.

So I have some worries.

None of Blind, Rojo (injured) or Darmian are a good long term left back option, imo. Shaw has potential but is yet to show it consistently for United. Won't get a chance til September either. He may take that chance, and I think he has to be given the chance to do so, but it remains a worry imo.

On Lindelof, I am by no means writing him off. Highly rated in Portugal. Highly rated in Sweden. Zlatan apparently thinks he is brilliant. But, until I see that promise fulfilled on the pitch for United, especially after a poor pre-season, I'll reserve judegment on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

If the player is on something they will then just say they need a minute, and down a vodka or something. Look at Michelle Smith.

She didn't actually drink the whiskey, you do know that right?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Jose Mourinho said: "Nemanja is a Manchester United player and a Jose Mourinho player. He represents everything we want in a footballer; loyalty, consistency, ambition, team player.
    "I would like to thank him for his desire to join us because without that, it would be impossible to have him here. I am sure our players and supporters will love him. A big welcome to our new number 31."

A nudge nudge to some other players...

Jesus, you've gone down the rabbit hole here. The whole squad and management were in the dressing room. The tester could have waited 30 seconds while the photo was taken and not let Jones out of his sight. How you can equate that to leading to bribing the tester.......

I'm not saying that would have happened here, but it opens up the possibility. People have used fake penis (i)?, catathers, taken alcohol. Why should they believe that Jones is all sweet and pie?

Player is told of the need for a test and from that moment on he is under the control of the tester. Thats the rule. Its not about Jones.
    paulbok wrote: »
    And what would you have done with Cantona?

He should have been fired, no question at all. To attach a fan, no matter how much a piece of sh1t he may have been. Totally unacceptable.

She didn't actually drink the whiskey, you do know that right?

Yes poor wording. I was focusing on the point rather than the detail but you are quite correct.

WHich makes the plea to give Jones 30 secs to take a pic so absurd. Nothing to stop him taking the opportunity to get hold of something similar from a teammate etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

nemanja woooooo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

I'm not saying that would have happened here, but it opens up the possibility. People have used fake penis (i)?, catathers, taken alcohol. Why should they believe that Jones is all sweet and pie?

Player is told of the need for a test and from that moment on he is under the control of the tester. Thats the rule. Its not about Jones.

He should have been fired, no question at all. To attach a fan, no matter how much a piece of sh1t he may have been. Totally unacceptable.

roy keane attacked fellow employee's.... wouldnt have last a week if you were the boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

What about Ferguson when he hit Beckham with the boot

ericzeking wrote: »
    They should be doing the tests, no questions asked...it's actually ridiculous that photographs and laps around the pitch are being put forward as excuses for professional athletes not wanting to do a doping control.

I dont know though like, could you imagine usain bolt being pulled in straight after he won an olympic gold medal to do a drugs test instead of getting to do a few laps of honour there would be uproar about it.

I'm not sure of the timeline of events but players should be given time to enjoy winning a cup win.

If it happened after a reasonable amount of time mind its silly. Its silly anyways I guess but I could understand if they werent given reasonable time

Just came to mind when I saw the contract....

Financially, in terms of accounting, a player price is spread over the length of their contract (options not included, iirc). So at 35million matic is 11.6 or something like that per season.

From an accountancy perspective, we could have signed Dier at 55million on a five year contract for what would be considered the same money.

I'm not saying its that simple in reality, or we shouldn't have signed Matic, or that we could have even got Dier for 55 - but just something I found briefly interesting when looking at the (quite reasonable in todays market) 35million, and then saw it was a 3 year contract.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Goals from the wing would be nice then team is perfect hopefully mkhitaryan will up his game along with rashford and martial.

Yes poor wording. I was focusing on the point rather than the detail but you are quite correct.

WHich makes the plea to give Jones 30 secs to take a pic so absurd. Nothing to stop him taking the opportunity to get hold of something similar from a teammate etc.

wouldn't that make it a bad time to have called for the test then? As a general point. This was back in the changing room. After the on pitch celebrations - so a good chance all the player have already taken on some drink. Plenty of time between the final whistle and the changing room (given trophy celelbration) to take some masking agent if a player needed to.

Again, a general question on the procedure - not trying to paint some excuse here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

wouldn't that make it a bad time to have called for the test then? As a general point. This was back in the changing room. After the on pitch celebrations - so a good chance all the player have already taken on some drink. Plenty of time between the final whistle and the changing room (given trophy celelbration) to take some masking agent if a player needed to.

Again, a general question on the procedure - not trying to paint some excuse here.

I would imagine if your plan is to drink alcohol in order to fool the testers then downing a bottle of poteen wouldn't be enough to do the job. At which stage you would be dead anyway so pretty pointless I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I have, and I was wrong to do so - and rightly sent off for it once. Have I done it, yes, does that make it excusable? No.

I'm not saying the lads should be sacked. I'm not saying the uefa procedures aren't sometimes stupid. I'm saying Jones was wrong to swear and be abusive towards an official.

Ah that's fair enough, I thought I was catching you at the start of an outrageous statement of BURN THEM!!!! :D

Coincidentally, my only red card was having a bit of mouthy with another player, after a goal was scored against us, where the ref came over and sent us both of and both stunned were like "for ****ing what?"

Ref came over at half time, got me and other player and two managers and was like "on reflection I actually shouldn't have sent you both off, as there was no real breach of rules...so...you can both come back on and how about we just forget about it"

Was a notorious ref for a season or two. I remember playing Priorswood away and the opposition keeper claimed a ball and just shoulder barged our striker, in grand scheme of things nothing I wouldn't have done when I played in goal. Was in midfield,ref beside me and just went "oh thats a peno" and he blew for it.

Most imfamously playing a game against Home Farm where their keeper clattered our striker in on goal. Was a red card and peno. Ref instead went to the keeper "So we've a choice here, either I send you off, or give a penatly and you a yellow card". Was standing near and was like "and what are you giving if you send him off" ..."well, a freekick at the edge of the box". Of course the keeper chose penalty.

Anyone my age that played Brenfer premier or whatever the top league was called, would have come across him. Absolutely brutal, dopey looking eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Brilliant, I bow to your superior argument.

The players have caused themselves to be banned and brought the club the wrong type of headlines.

That to me is enough. Maybe you are prepared to overlook it in order to win but I think we should have some standards.

Whatever about Blind, Jones should be out the door

When you say players in the plural what do you mean ?