Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

They can play it on the moon (or even the Hyde) as long as Dublin Joe doesn't get it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,917 ✭✭✭statto25

Robson99 wrote: »
    How many there today??

Over 65000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,664 ✭✭✭Robson99

statto25 wrote: »
    Over 65000

Really??? Barely looked 50k on da telly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Really??? Barely looked 50k on da telly

And it was probably closer to 50k than 65k for the Mayo game. Kerry & Galway weren't going to hang around in massive numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,531 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

How many there today??

including the hangers on , ( kerry and galway supporters ) probably 50k

i would imagine an all ireland replay would attract around 40000 especially with mayos support , and the rivalry with the two counties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Was 65,746 there, was fantastic atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

If there isn't changes in the full back line, there is no way Rochford should be renewed next year.
    Either we will lose to Roscommon because of our vulnerable full back line or else we just get past them and Kerry will hammer us.
    This weakness is apparent to every gaa follower in the country now except it seems the mayo management.
    If we scrape by the Rossies we are facing humiliation against Kerry as the current team stands. I'd nearly prefer to lose to the Rossies if that's the case.
    We are slowly becoming an also ran team with no chance of winning an AI.

As its two Connacht teams, it will surely be played in Connacht and that can only mean one venue with enough capacity, McHale Park :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Are the gaa not obliged to play everything from the quarters onwards in croke park for the season tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,462 ✭✭✭✭km79

Bambi wrote: »
    Are the gaa not obliged to play everything from the quarters onwards in croke park for the season tickets?

Am ...........limerick .........2014............suppose it depends if there is an NFL game on ......or a concert ...............
    I don't mind anyway better than salthill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,666 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

If there isn't changes in the full back line, there is no way Rochford should be renewed next year.
    Either we will lose to Roscommon because of our vulnerable full back line or else we just get past them and Kerry will hammer us.
    This weakness is apparent to every gaa follower in the country now except it seems the mayo management.
    If we scrape by the Rossies we are facing humiliation against Kerry as the current team stands. I'd nearly prefer to lose to the Rossies if that's the case.
    We are slowly becoming an also ran team with no chance of winning an AI.

Cafferkey is totally out of his depth. How many times did his man get out in front of him time and again today? And this wasn't even against a real top team.
    Surely there must be some better option for the next day?? He's been exposed time and again over the last 4-5 years....and it still continues??
    Even if we do fall across the line in the replay, Donaghy will be rubbing his hands with glee....

We looked very leggy in the 2nd half; this team has been on a long road for several years now and its really starting to show.

Another game next week will not do us any favours, even if we do manage to struggle through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Redriddick

Croker next Monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭naughto

Zeek12 wrote: »
    Cafferkey is totally out of his depth. How many times did his man get out in front of him time and again today? And this wasn't even against a real top team.
    Surely there must be some better option for the next day?? He's been exposed time and again over the last 4-5 years....and it still continues??
    Even if we do fall across the line in the replay, Donaghy will be rubbing his hands with glee....

We looked very leggy in the 2nd half; this team has been on a long road for several years now and its really starting to show.

Another game next week will not do us any favours, even if we do manage to struggle through.

Never mind caf what about sos today though he was shocking bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,666 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

naughto wrote: »
    Never mind caf what about sos today though he was shocking bad

Agreed. They both were!

Seamus has been off the pace all through this championship in fairness, IMO.
    We used to be so strong at midfield, but that day seems to be coming to an end.

I wouldn't change a minute of following my county
    Whatever happens happens

Anyone criticizing caff today is being harsh
    From the first whistle he attacked every ball when he could have hid after all the criticism
    He slipped a few times
    Were ye at the match and witnessed the conditions ? 57 turnovers . Almost one a minute . Probably more when ya consider stoppages and ball out of play

I thought he showed great steel today
    He was far from the worst
    In fact we are probably back to looking at the forwards again :D

km79 wrote: »
    I wouldn't change a minute of following my county
    Whatever happens happens

Anyone criticizing caff today is being harsh
    From the first whistle he attacked every ball when he could have hid after all the criticism
    He slipped a few times
    Were ye at the match and witnessed the conditions ? 57 turnovers . Almost one a minute . Probably more when ya consider stoppages and ball out of play

I thought he showed great steel today
    He was far from the worst

If it was one game fair enough, everyone has one bad game. I don't want to focus too much on Caff so this is my last post on the subject as its unfair to continually criticise any amateur player and I have no doubt he gives it 100% everytime he goes out there.
    Unfortunately he is not a commanding figure, he doesn't dominate on front of goal like all great full backs should, he doesn't close space down, he's vulnerable under the high ball (the game will be over after 5 mins if he faces Donaghy), he stands off his man way too much and he's nearly always second to the ball. Time for Rochford to make a real decision. He inherited a great team and so far his decision making has been questionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

Great atmosphere at the game today. Think Roscommon just about shaded it numbers wise. Thought the first game was flat atmosphere wise.
    We really should have pushed on and won it after giving Roscommon a 7 point start. But we live to fight another day. P.s whoever arranges the special trains are they aware the game started at 4? Was a mad rush to get the 6:30pm train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Panrich

Mayo are reeling at this stage. We've too many miles in the legs and a week won't help us.
    Even if we get past Roscommon, Kerry will apply the knockout.

Indeed we are. COC and the brother had bad days at the office unfortunately. His free kick in fairness was a difficult one towards the end, but I think he should have nailed the other effort.

Even at their best, AOS, KMCL and DOC were not free scoring forwards. We are overly reliant on AM and COC to score from play.
    There are major problems with this Mayo team and they have gone to the well way too many times. You can only rescue games at the death so many times. After that it becomes clear the team is average or in decline.

Panrich wrote: »
    Mayo are reeling at this stage. We've too many miles in the legs and a week won't help us.
    Even if we get past Roscommon, Kerry will apply the knockout.

So what ?
    Enjoy these good times
    They won't last forever
    And they are good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Rain and wet the great leveller really. Hard to judge either team on that pitch today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Panrich

So what ?
    Enjoy these good times
    They won't last forever
    And they are good times

I was at my first Mayo game in the 60s. Joe Corcoran and the late John Morley were playing that day. I know all about the ups and downs and these are certainly the best of times. That doesn't change the fate that most likely awaits us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,625 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

If it was one game fair enough, everyone has one bad game. I don't want to focus too much on Caff so this is my last post on the subject as its unfair to continually criticise any amateur player and I have no doubt he gives it 100% everytime he goes out there.
    Unfortunately he is not a commanding figure, he doesn't dominate on front of goal like all great full backs should, he doesn't close space down, he's vulnerable under the high ball (the game will be over after 5 mins if he faces Donaghy), he stands off his man way too much and he's nearly always second to the ball. Time for Rochford to make a real decision. He inherited a great team and so far his decision making has been questionable.

On Rochford, when many here were delighted Castlebar knocked Corofin out of the All Ireland club series so he could take the Mayo job I mentioned that Mayo then needed a manager to put a defensive structure in place and going by that game, perhaps of the two managers Mayo were looking at the wrong one to achieve that.
    Corofin under Rochford never had much of a defensive structure, relying more on the old Brazilian soccer team maxim of whatever you score, we will score more.
    On Cafferkey, from Joe Brolly`s statement on the Sunday game he seemed to think Kerry believed Mayo would win and that they were practicing for that against Galway today with the high ball into Donaghy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Limerick maybe?

Limerick next Saturday or Sunday would've been ideal.
    Great venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭jasonroche123

Lots to ponder as usual - Atm we are a long way off. Our shooting has consistently been poor. Someone please tell Rochford to start Loftus and use Moran as an impact player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Yes I'm going to echo the sentiments of some of the other posters.I'm afraid but this wonderful band of brothers who have given us so much enjoyment over so many years are in decline.The miles are catching up on them and all the game time thus far this year was very apparent in lethargy today.The lads were very leggy,no human being who is an amateur irrespective of the powers of strength and conditioning can be immune to such a punishing schedule.Fair play to Roscommon,they were full of energy and vibrancy and got the ideal start.

I can't but agree with the opinions of those who believe there has to be a change at full back now irrespective of whither we survive the replay.Donaghy is on fire for Kerry.Kerry hardly moved out of second gear and yet were eight points the better of the Tribesman.In fact at times I thought they were poor,yet they coasted past Galway.

All credit to Keith Higgins who had an excellent game today,our half backs were very good today,Keegan superb,Paddy Durcan popped up two invaluable points.Colm Boyle's substitution was a mystery,he was as always carrying the fight to the opposition.

Tom Parsons was a huge loss and his absence seemed to upset the team's balance with Aidan O Shea out of sorts.Seamie O Shea sadly has lost that yard of pace and added another sub standard to this championship's catalogue.Stephen Rochford's substitution get more mystifying to me by the day,he is very slow to make same.An alteration at midfield would have been advantageous at the interval.

Conor Loftus could have been introduced much earlier with so many misfiring forwards.I could not fathom David Drake's introduction for Diarmuid O Connor into what appeared to be the half forward line?Diarmuid was not having his best day but is always capable of taking a score,surely another forward is the best option when one is chasing scores not a half back.IMO Drake is a fairly average half back,Stephen Rochford appears to favour/rate him.Shane Nally is a superior half back but does not tend to get the call.

Eight days turnaround is a big ask,likely to a smaller crowd travelling,hopefully they fix it for 2 as Kevin McStay mentioned.TBF I thought there was a really carnival and very sporting atmosphere today.If we do manage to win the next outing it's with a heavy heart I opine that we will be making an exit at the semi final stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Rochford's selections and substitutions are questionable at times.

Taking off Boyle for Vaughan doesn't make sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Its starting to look like the subs are pre-planned. Sounds ridiculous, but when Boyle went off I called the next two. There were worse and more tired players than the lads that went off.

Lot of football to play yet but Rochford seems to have taken them firmly backwards in the last 12 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

I think Mayo will learn more from today. Roscommon need to score goals to win. Mayo need to cut off supply line next week - the defensive line down the middle needs to be shored and bulked up. Hopefully Parsons will be full fit.

Boyler tired and is not the player he was. Perhaps too early for Coen to start.

Drake coming on for Diarmuid was a mystery - I guess he is viewed a steady Eddie. What about Regan and Boland - considered busted flushes by Rochford?

Is Conor O'Shea injured? He may have helped somewhat today.

McStay is fueled by desire to stick it to his home county and fair play to him. Proved today that he can cut it as a manager at this level. Fair to say some elements of county board may have some regrets regarding his candidacy for the Mayo manager job two years ago.

The wet proved to work in Rossie favour - their hunger shone through in winning the marginal balls. We were so lethargic at the start and it could have been much worse only for Keegan. He was outstanding.

Looking forward to replay and great to see this rivalry renewed. We have to start stronger next day and all going well sun will be shining.