Gardaí criticised over Ian Bailey investigation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,135 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

You can't blame the French when the Gardai have probably been telling them for years that Bailey did it. They will believe the Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Discodog wrote: »
    You can't blame the French when the Gardai have probably been telling them for years that Bailey did it. They will believe the Guards.

Indeed the French really should be taking a closer look at Ireland's famous 'police force'.The problem is the French don't know the kind of yokes that are providing them with 'information' on Bailey.

They should google corrupt Irish Gardai before making any more extradition requests.

Anyhow according to one of Ireland's finest "Bailey was on the beach dancing with 13 naked lesbians" presumably the lesbians and the guard would have to go to France to give evidence :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Bailey was writing about the case in the local papers at the time, Cork examiner I think, and was describing the crime scene and revealing details that were not publicly known or released by the Gardai, they brought him in for questioning and that led him to becoming a suspect.

If I remember correctly, had muted about committing the crime to someone, had scratches and marks on him and was known to have been violent in the past as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

lastman100 wrote: »
    Well the French lost their extradition of Bailey again! I wonder why they're so keen. Our DPP has passed on it 3 times already. There's no evidence- even if he did do it- no forensics, no witnesses, nothing.
    If there was a trial it would be an embarrassment to the Irish State. It was a balls up from the start- the crime scene wasn't secured, the overworked only pathologist arrived a day late- the body was left lying in that field for 24 hours. France will be laughing at the antics of PC Paddy Plod if that ever goes ahead. The only excuse: it was the last century.
    Of course they weren't helped by that useless witness who didn't contact them for 20 days. She should have been locked up for contempt or perjury.
    I was searching around trying to find out why the Garda picked him out in the first place. Any ideas?

Bailey and his partner trampled all over the crime scene as reporters in the aftermath,a garda let them through the cordon.

Any forensics linking him to the scene was useless anyway

tara73 wrote: »
    I'm also baffled about this lie detector stuff. I never heard about it used in the real world to testify anything about criminal suspects. In films, yes, (or with scientology..:mad::)) but not as a way to proof the guilt of criminal suspects from the investigators..
    The UK police is using lie detectors on sex offenders and terrorist informants right now

I don't believe anything is admissible in court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

The Rte show on him the other day was a farce. It never went into forensic evidence or lack thereof or talked abput how Gardai bribed and blackmailed to get statements. My girlfriend also commented about.the difference in lighting when they were interviewing du Plantier's son and when they were interviewing Bailey.The son was in a dark room with warm,normal light highlighting his face while Bailey was in a dark room with a bright,white light giving his face a grey appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

smurgen wrote: »
    The Rte show on him the other day was a farce. It never went into forensic evidence or lack thereof or talked abput how Gardai bribed and blackmailed to get statements. My girlfriend also commented about.the difference in lighting when they were interviewing du Plantier's son and when they were interviewing Bailey.The son was in a dark room with warm,normal light highlighting his face while Bailey was in a dark room with a bright,white light giving his face a grey appearance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

I do think the Gardai are covering up information on this case because they handled it so badly.

Justine McCarthy, in the Sunday Times, suggests that the answer is to hold a trial in Ireland irrespective of the DPP opinion. Apparently Bailey approves of this. He now can't leave Ireland because of the European arrest warrant.

I'm sure Bailey does approve

He will be acquitted as the Dpp has already determined there is insufficient evidence

Can you elaborate on this? How can the presumption of innocence be absent from the French legal system? I can't get my head round this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

A lot of people who live in and visit West Cork are strongly convinced he did it.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

A lot of people who live in and visit West Cork are strongly convinced he did it.

A lot of people believe in Aliens. If he were a local "respectable" man it would be different.

There's a lot of circumstantial evidence pointing in his direction

I don't recall him ever offering to take a polygraph in all this time

Whatever happened to innocent until actually proven guilty ? You shouldn't have to prove your innocence.

UK police are using polygraphs all the time.

Hardly. Two forces are trialing them specifically for sex offenders. You should read how easy it is to fool these tests

A lot of people believe in Aliens. If he were a local "respectable" man it would be different.
    Sure this fella wasn't even involved in the GAA!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,008 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

There really isn't a lot of circumstantial evidence though.

Someone lied and placed him close to the scene. He was never actually seen there.

He had scratches on his arms but none that matched the sort of scratches associated with a person scratching him or with the brambles that scratched Sophie.
    Several people witnessed him climbing a 20ft tree to cut down the top a few days before and saw him be scratched by that.

He made a sarcastic remark to the effect "Oh my life would be grand if I wasn't going around killing women".

He had domestic violence issues in the past that he was remorseful for. That could be true of several men in Cork.

Polygraphs are known to be inaccurate. All they can honestly deduce is if a person is nervous, that's why they're inadmissible as evidence.

If there was at all enough evidence to justify 20 years of hounding the man it would also have been enough to convict him.

Hardly. Two forces are trialing them specifically for sex offenders. You should read how easy it is to fool these tests

They're using them for more than that

I bet that the DPP, in the UK, won't throw out a case because the polygraph says he didn't do it. There are plenty of cases where convicted people have offered to take tests to prove their innocence . Needless to say this is ignored.

The flaw with polygraphs is the base line. You are asked simple questions to calibrate the machine. All you have to do is overreact so the baseline is high.

Im Surprised Bailey has never offered to take a test

It can only work in his favour assuming he's innocent

Im Surprised Bailey has never offered to take a test

It can only work in his favour assuming he's innocent

You really don't get this. The test is highly unreliable, which is why it can't be used in evidence. It can't prove anything & can just as easily make an innocent man appear guilty.

He doesn't need anything in his favour. He is innocent until proven guilty. Maybe the Guards are the ones who need to take the tests ?

One of the most disturbing and inappropriate things in this case (and there's a very long list of them), is the media citation of, and preoccupation with, members of the du Plantier/ Baudey-Vignaud families, especially the victim's parents and her son.

It is so inappropriate for much to be broadcast about Ian Bailey's alleged guilt, other than the official review, the decision of the Supreme Court, and statements by the DPP, none of which attach blame, or any prospect of a trial, to Ian Bailey's innocence.

It is completely unfair to posit the statements of any victim's family against the authorities, as if there is some quiestion to be answered. The family are allowed to say they are "shocked" and "disappointed", and call Ian Bailey "a very strange man" with the complicity of the Irish media.

Ian Bailey may not be the most likeable man in Ireland, or even the most wise, but for goodness' sake I wish the media would stop counterpointing his innocence with the views of the French families, which are completely irrelevant to Bailey's status, as numerous investigations, reviews and court decisions have shown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

As are a lot who think he didn't

There's absolutely no actual evidence linking him. All the circumstantial "evidence" is nonsense.