Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The worst kid's name you've ever heard?

vampyre wrote: »
    I've never liked the name Oisin for a child or adult. My rescue pug... owner was very evasive and said he didn't have a name. Poor dog was registered as Oisin.

Ah. In rural Ireland, destined to become Weeshie.
    Suckler wrote: »
    Jordyn. Destined to have many convictions for petty theft and a clutch of kids by 19.

But doesn't the "y" turn it from skanger name to classy name? No? I didn't think so either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭dizzyn

Memphis

Unfortunately not a joke...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

dizzyn wrote: »
    Memphis

Named after Memphis Raines?

PNlFPf8-dhcl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭weiland79

My cat is called Amelia after the lady I got her from, Emelia.
    My other cat is called Corey and that has nothing to do with me. I got him when he was 7 years old.

I have called animals after people before, like Pat the budgie, Martin the cat, and Mark, another budgie.

My Lizard's name is Richard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I like traditionally boyish names that can be girls names - Alex, Sam, etcetera. Even Jordan I can live with, although I think there's a lot of social cache regarding certain names and the subsequent disapproval of society about them. Goes both ways too - Mary and Evelyn were both boys names.

Don't like names with unneccessary 'y's in them. Martyn is definitely up there. As is Jordyn. Evelyn I am used enough to that Evelin would just look weird. Overall, don't like mucking around with the spelling for unyqueness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭vampyre

Ah. In rural Ireland, destined to become Weeshie.

But doesn't the "y" turn it from skanger name to classy name? No? I didn't think so either...

He became a Figaro known as Figgy. He even answers to it sometimes.

Two little girls I know are Imogen and Saskia, again names that don't seem to suit babies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 190 ✭✭baldtooyoung

I met a braxton today!

Conceived to 'unbreak my heart' blaring in the background. Methinks yes,and fair play! It's a great song but if they liked toni braxton so much,why not name the boy Tony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Gerinspain

Memphis

I posted Memphis a couple of pages back....there can't possibly be 2 so we must know the same people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Samaris wrote: »
    I like traditionally boyish names that can be girls names - Alex, Sam, etcetera. Even Jordan I can live with, although I think there's a lot of social cache regarding certain names and the subsequent disapproval of society about them. Goes both ways too - Mary and Evelyn were both boys names.

Don't like names with unneccessary 'y's in them. Martyn is definitely up there. As is Jordyn. Evelyn I am used enough to that Evelin would just look weird. Overall, don't like mucking around with the spelling for unyqueness.

I'm dealing with a Rychard in work at the moment (through email and phone). I haven't met him but assume he is a fully grown adult.

I met a braxton today!

Conceived to 'unbreak my heart' blaring in the background. Methinks yes,and fair play! It's a great song but if they liked toni braxton so much,why not name the boy Tony

Why you damned Yankee, respect the ana of the ConFEDrusee...that's after Braxton Bragg himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭kitten_k

A girl I know called her baby girl IndieK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭dizzyn

Gerinspain wrote: »
    I posted Memphis a couple of pages back....there can't possibly be 2 so we must know the same people.

New born? Hard to believe I know!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

kitten_k wrote: »

Be worse if it was IndieKate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

Phoenix - boy child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

heldel00 wrote: »
    kitten_k wrote: »

Be worse if it was IndieKate

Especially if she ever became a BMW driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Gerinspain

Gerinspain wrote: »

New born? Hard to believe I know!!

Yes, new born. Has to be the same child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

I know a load of Mike/ Micks but I would never think of looking at a tiny baby and calling it Mike. I know children called Michael but the Mike thing just made me go "huh?". It is his actual full name, not a nickname.

Ok... But you know he's not going to be a tiny baby forever, right? If anything I think parents who choose names that are cute for babies but not appropriate for anyone over 12 are the ones who need their heads examined.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I think it's Welsh with a Y.

Yelsh? Wylsh?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

A colleague's neighbour has named her baby Mike!!!

...never understand that sort of stuff. Name him officially as Michael ..and call him mike/mick/micko/mikey whatever yourself ..that way he's got the option of calling himself whatever version he wants as a teenager..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Esel wrote: »
    Cecily?
    If only. Same spelling as I posted, same as the one in Italy.

I like traditionally boyish names that can be girls names - Alex, Sam, etcetera.
    My sister's name is Dinny, although I think her birth cert might say Diane, but nobody has ever called her that. I'm not sure it works the other way round. I probably wouldn't call my son Raquel (no offence to male Raquels)
    Evelyn I am used enough to that Evelin would just look weird. Overall, don't like mucking around with the spelling for unyqueness.
    On a similar note, apparently Evelyn Waugh and his wife (also Evelyn Waugh) were nicknamed HEvelyn and SHEvelyn by their friends. Maybe a possible route to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

I've just come across a post on Facebook with a woman giving out about her son being bullied at school..... his name is Huxley!!! I wonder why he gets bullied, what a terrible name

Bet they call him fuxley. I would.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Now in fairness no kid should be bullied regardless of what name is given to them, its not like they had a choice in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Snako

Mate worked in a hospital in New York, and said he once came across a kid called J' pronounced Japostrophe

jonnycivic wrote: »

Now in fairness no kid should be bullied regardless of what name is given to them, its not like they had a choice in it.

I'm not really advocating bullying but kids will pick on anything they can and giving your kid a stupid name just gives some kids an excuse. Huxley sounds like a 2 year old trying to say Huskey

jonnycivic wrote: »

I'm not really advocating bullying but kids will pick on anything they can and giving your kid a stupid name just gives some kids an excuse. Huxley sounds like a 2 year old trying to say Huskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Surely this thread calls into question the wisdom of permitting the lower orders to name their offspring at all?

I propose a naming authority be established, staffed by erudite cultured gentlemen possessed of exquisite taste (such as myself), to provide respectable names for these benighted unfortunates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,365 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Surely this thread calls into question the wisdom of permitting the lower orders to name their offspring breed at all?

fyp

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.