Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Border and Brexit

• 28-07-2017 11:01AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,196 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

This topic has crept into another thread on northern Ireland but this really concerns us all.

Is Coveney right to do what he did at this stage and what should Dublin's position be on this?

My own opinion is that we should, right from the get go, be very very clear that we will not tolerate or operate a hard or soft border on the island.
    The move would antagonise the Democratic Unionist Party, which is propping up the Conservative government and is at loggerheads with Sinn Fein over a power-sharing deal in Belfast. The DUP would object to any implication that Northern Ireland was not being treated as part of the UK. Simon Coveney, the Irish foreign minister, told his European counterparts that the republic “cannot and will not” accept the return of a hard border after Brexit and specifically took aim at the idea of solving the problem using technology. A Whitehall source said: “There is a new taoiseach and a new foreign minister and they’re stamping their authority. We’re being as positive as we can but it’s true to say that their attitude has hardened.”

The issue of the 310-mile Irish border has been thrown into sharp relief by Mrs May’s commitment to leave the customs union after Brexit, as it would become a potential smuggling route. Neither government wants a situation that would be reminiscent of the checkpoints that operated during the Troubles. In February The Times reported that Irish officials were working on technical solutions including the use of surveillance cameras.

In a significant departure from that position, Mr Coveney told a meeting of EU foreign affairs ministers: “What we do not want to pretend is that we can solve the problems of the border on the island of Ireland through technical solutions like cameras and pre-registration and so on. That is not going to work.

“Any barrier or border on the island of Ireland in my view risks undermining a very hard-won peace process and all of the parties in Northern Ireland, whether they are unionist or nationalist, recognise that we want to keep the free movement of people and goods and services and livelihoods.”

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/news/irish-want-sea-border-with-uk-after-brexit-lvb6n35fq?t=ie

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,277 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

In some ways there isn't a lot we can do since they're the ones who want to leave the EU and we're not forcing them to.

The official British position is a bit of a paradox. One of their main reasons for leaving was to control their own borders. Except for the one land border that they have, where they don't really want a border, or not much of a one at least.

Neither the British government, nor the British voter, has really thought this one through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

In some ways there isn't a lot we can do since they're the ones who want to leave the EU and we're not forcing them to.

The official British position is a bit of a paradox. One of their main reasons for leaving was to control their own borders. Except for the one land border that they have, where they don't really want a border, or not much of a one at least.

Neither the British government, nor the British voter, has really thought this one through.
    True, there's no solution that'll satisfy everyone[or anyone for that matter].

Is there any precedent for a customs border between an EU and non-EU country, which works as a "soft" border?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Thomas__

None of them has thought anything really through. That is the main problem and despite the fact that the real problems are one after another emerge on the surface and call for solutions, they still appear to have no clue at all where to begin with and how to solve it in a way where every side can live with it. This is how they are just making it all worse and time is running out for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,353 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

My own opinion is that we should, right from the get go, be very very clear that we will not tolerate or operate a hard or soft border on the island.

Tail wagging the dog. Ideally an Irish sea border would make life easier, but the DUP are in charge of the show now.

The British will still have to implement some port checks in any case because they'll be none on our northern border.

This topic has crept into another thread on northern Ireland but this really concerns us all.

Is Coveney right to do what he did at this stage and what should Dublin's position be on this?

The move would antagonise the Democratic Unionist Party, which is propping up the Conservative government and is at loggerheads with Sinn Fein over a power-sharing deal in Belfast. The DUP would object to any implication that Northern Ireland was not being treated as part of the UK. Simon Coveney, the Irish foreign minister, told his European counterparts that the republic “cannot and will not” accept the return of a hard border after Brexit and specifically took aim at the idea of solving the problem using technology. A Whitehall source said: “There is a new taoiseach and a new foreign minister and they’re stamping their authority. We’re being as positive as we can but it’s true to say that their attitude has hardened.”

The issue of the 310-mile Irish border has been thrown into sharp relief by Mrs May’s commitment to leave the customs union after Brexit, as it would become a potential smuggling route. Neither government wants a situation that would be reminiscent of the checkpoints that operated during the Troubles. In February The Times reported that Irish officials were working on technical solutions including the use of surveillance cameras.

In a significant departure from that position, Mr Coveney told a meeting of EU foreign affairs ministers: “What we do not want to pretend is that we can solve the problems of the border on the island of Ireland through technical solutions like cameras and pre-registration and so on. That is not going to work.

“Any barrier or border on the island of Ireland in my view risks undermining a very hard-won peace process and all of the parties in Northern Ireland, whether they are unionist or nationalist, recognise that we want to keep the free movement of people and goods and services and livelihoods.”

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/news/irish-want-sea-border-with-uk-after-brexit-lvb6n35fq?t=ie

There are some ways in theory how to deal with that, but neither of those I have in mind seem to be that realistical as that they would be either considered or realised.

1. The UK dismisses NI from her being a constitutional part

2. Only GB leaves the customs union and loses access to the single market (like the diehard Brexiteers like to have it but the DUP doesn´t), setting up some special agreement that allows NI to remain within the customs Union in a semi and co-operative construct together with the Republic of Ireland and allowing NI access to the single market. That of course requires the consent of the EU and her member states.

3. The Suggestion of the Irish govt is taken on and checks are limited to ports and Airports with both, UK and Republic of Ireland facilitating the sources for implementation.

4. The present UK govt collapses, a snap GE is to be Held and the DUP is dismissed from her Need to Support the present UK govt and with a GE result that votes the Tories out of power, making it more likely that a Labour govt takes over, all is about to reset and start again.

5. In the event of a collaps of the present UK govt and a different new govt that allows to give the UK electorate a second chance to vote in a BrexitRef2 and with a different result to last years, making it likely that the UK withdraws from leaving the EU, the matter of a hard border in Ireland would become irrelevant again.

6. The present UK PM is forced to resign and steps down after becoming the victim of a plot by her own Party and another diehard Tory takes over from her, seeking to get rid of the DUP Support or simply ignoring them, with the Instrument of reinstating direct rule over NI, then decide on a hard border in order to secure the demands of a hard Brexit, the border is reistalled and neither DUP nor the Irish govt could do anything against it. That´s because as long as NI remains part of the UK, it is the territory of the UK and on such matter, the UK govt can decide by herself whether or not she reistalls a hard border with everything that is to be facilitated along that border.  

Whatever any of these theoretical considerations might or rather might not become reality, I really can´t say. It´s all theory and it´s hard to predict the near future. However, what is apparent is that Mrs May as a PM is weak, becoming more weak by losing support within her own party and thus within the parliamentary conservative party in the Commons and her chances of staying on as PM beyond this year are melting down. It is just a question of time when the plotters are going to overthrow her, but not whether they will do it. That leaves it all open regarding what will come up next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Jeb it's more that your average brexit voter like your average remainder in England didn't care about Northern Ireland's border. They don't care about norther Ireland full stop and it wouldn't have come into their thinking when at the polls. Even now this is little more than a minor inconvenience for the UK government in the grand scale of the mess that is brexit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,196 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Tail wagging the dog. Ideally an Irish sea border would make life easier, but the DUP are in charge of the show now.

The British will still have to implement some port checks in any case because they'll be none on our northern border.

The arrangement with the DUP will not survive another election. ANd there will be one sooner or later in the Brexit process.
    And them being in a UK government should not prevent us working with our EU partners to pressure the UK to implement the simplest solution to this - an Irish sea border.
    For once unionism should be made to lie in the bed (and other than a dent in pride, it represents the simplest, least economically damaging solution for them too) it has made for itself.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,277 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Jayop wrote: »
    Jeb it's more that your average brexit voter like your average remainder in England didn't care about Northern Ireland's border. They don't care about norther Ireland full stop and it wouldn't have come into their thinking when at the polls. Even now this is little more than a minor inconvenience for the UK government in the grand scale of the mess that is brexit.

It's more than even caring, there's a lot who don't even know this is an issue. You'd be amazed at how many people over there aren't even aware there is a border and, if they are, which bit of of Ireland is part of the UK and which isn't.

Tail wagging the dog.  Ideally an Irish sea border would make life easier, but the DUP are in charge of the show now.

The arrangement with the DUP will not survive another election. ANd there will be one sooner or later in the Brexit process.
    And them being in a UK government should not prevent us working with our EU partners to pressure the UK to implement the simplest solution to this - an Irish sea border.
    For once unionism should be made to lie in the bed (and other than a dent in pride, it represents the simplest, least economically damaging solution for them too) it has made for itself.

I haven´t read anything about how the EU looks at that suggestion.

Thomas__ wrote: »

I don't have any faith in FG's willingness or ability to stand up for us but we should be insisting as the member of the EU that our solution become the official EU one.

At least Coveney has fired a shot across the bows.

I don't have any faith in FG's willingness or ability to stand up for us but we should be insisting as the member of the EU that our solution become the official EU one.

I find the idea of the sea border a good solution. The reaction by the DUP on this proposal speaks for themselves and shows again that they´re often against everything but can´t provide an alternative one themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,890 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Presumably it would be one of our responsibilities as an EU land border country, much like Poland, Greece, Finland etc. I'd expect its in one of the treaties we signed and we just never thought it would apply to us.

The other thing to bear in mind is that while, officially, the status of the border (along with exit bill and citizens rights) is part of the first stage of negotiations, it may not be resolved until later, because a lot depends on what kind of Brexit the British ultimately go for - whether they stay in the EEA or if there's a customs union or if there's no deal at all.

Tail wagging the dog.  Ideally an Irish sea border would make life easier, but the DUP are in charge of the show now.

I hope that this arrangement won´t survive this year and that until it falls apart, the people in GB get a better understanding what sort of these DUP people really are. I can imagine how embarrassed some Brit might be by looking at them and the way they "perform" themselves by being more British than the British themselves. Up to the day this deal was struck, many Brits in GB didn´t pay much attention to NI for that was always considered to be the backyard of the UK and not as much important to them like Scotland and Wales.

The other thing to bear in mind is that while, officially, the status of the border (along with exit bill and citizens rights) is part of the first stage of negotiations, it may not be resolved until later, because a lot depends on what kind of Brexit the British ultimately go for - whether they stay in the EEA or if there's a customs union or if there's no deal at all.

With the present UK govt in charge and he diehard Brexiteers in charge of the Tory Party, it´s clear to me where they are heading. They have but only one aim and that is to crash out of the EU even if that means with no deal at all. The moderate Tories have no control over the hard Brexiteers and this is where the real problem is. Otherwise the negotiations had went a bit more swift and with some results during the past two weeks. Nothing has really achieved yet and it´s all on the side of the UK govt as they change their opinions and proposals every nearly every day. That makes it difficult to deal with anything and let alone to say to settle.

With the present UK govt in charge and he diehard Brexiteers in charge of the Tory Party, it´s clear to me where they are heading.

Pre-election, yes, I definitely think an exit without any deal was quite possible. Post-election, I think it's less likely. Sooner or later, the government there will have start dealing with the realistic options are as opposed to just hand waving. Given their slim majority, moderate Tories could sabotage any bid for a proper hard Brexit.

With the present UK govt in charge and he diehard Brexiteers in charge of the Tory Party, it´s clear to me where they are heading.

Pre-election, yes, I definitely think an exit without any deal was quite possible. Post-election, I think it's less likely. Sooner or later, the government there will have start dealing with the realistic options are as opposed to just hand waving. Given their slim majority, moderate Tories could sabotage any bid for a proper hard Brexit.
    They could, yes, whether they´ll do is another thing and I am waiting to see the downfall of Mrs May as PM being due and happening in autumn this year. I don´t expect anything else from this present UK govt than worsening the mess they already are in. It might be all be done on purpose to bring her down, that they can´t make anything progressing in this going negotiation process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,872 ✭✭✭View

Bar a sudden outbreak of clarity & flexibility in London, it is becoming increasingly likely that we will have to both tolerate & operate a soft border (at the very minimum) or more probably a hard border.

We can be "clear" that we dislike it but that won't help anyone magic up a solution and would likely just paint us into a corner where we suddenly end up facing an EU exit because we aren't prepared to face up to this being an either/or issue as seems increasingly probable.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,431 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

The UK border will be the water around GB, inc the North Sea, the English Channel, and the Irish Sea - whatever is decided about NI.

The NI Irish border will be impossible to police as strictly as it should.
    It was impossible when there was smuggling.
    It was impossible when there large scale fraud in agriculture product. (Daisy the Cow became Dizzy the Cow, she crossed over so often)
    It was impossible when there were guns and bombs involved, and lots of soldiers.
    It was impossible when there was diesel washing.

A solution needs to be akin to NI staying within the EU for agriculture - paid for by the UK Gov by contributing the equivalent of the tariffs involved. Otherwise, the UK does the customs work at the ports. It is not as if the NI economy is huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,615 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

The post brexit situation will be decided in London, Dublin and Brussels. There will be lip service to unionists but no one really cares what they think as it's only a regional assembly. Good to see Irish govt getting tough with a frankly incompetent British regime.

As somebody who lives and works on the border and who lived through the troubles and saw the damage a pointless frontier wrought, I am relieved the Irish government have finally voiced a strong opinion on this. hopefully they will keep it up and it isn't just lip-service.
    They cannot 'stand idly' by again and allow vacuums to form.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 260 ✭✭Irishweather

Red_Wake wrote: »
    True, there's no solution that'll satisfy everyone[or anyone for that matter].

Is there any precedent for a customs border between an EU and non-EU country, which works as a "soft" border?

Is there considerations being made for the fact that our island, is an island and thus not part of Mainland Europe?

So Undemocratically force a United Ireland on the people of Northern Ireland? No thanks!

We'll decide that for ourselves.

So stuff the Unionist people then?

You can see why Unionists would be hostile to a United Ireland, with this horrific approach.

So Undemocratically force a United Ireland on the people of Northern Ireland? No thanks!

We'll decide that for ourselves.

I didn't say anything about a UI, either undemocratically or any other way for that matter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

The DUP could collapse the Tory government tomorrow. So that is a non starter. Also DUP ruled out this idea from the Souths leader.

The DUP could collapse the Tory government tomorrow.

They can do that once. Life and government will go on though and the problem will still be there.

The DUP could collapse the Tory government tomorrow. So that is a non starter. Also DUP ruled out this idea from the Souths leader.

The DUP doesn't have a veto over brexit talks. Trade with the republic and other European countries will supersede any unionist concerns up north in any decision made by London. The north also voted to stay in the Eu so it's democratic will is quite irrelevant.

This is very true. Only May and Arlene know what deal was done. For all we know Arlene could have sold anything for the cheque to wave. She needed to save her own political career.

I love the way Unionists think they have some kind of big say in the whole thing! It has a population the size of a suburb in Birmingham. The game has changed lads - this isn't remotely in your control.

The British govt are completely overwhelmed it seems at the size of this project with the EU shaking its head at its total incompetence. When they eventually get to grip with things the last thing they will care about is people who don't even vote for the governing party.