Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

getting reports from early birds that signage up saying motorway closed on Sunday despite AA roadwatch saying its open from 6pm tonight. Wonder does the sign mean its closed during the daytime on Sunday till 6pm?
    WESTMEATH: The M6 Galway/Dublin Rd is closed for works westbound from J5 Tullamore to J6 Moate East and eastbound from J8 Athlone East to J7 Moate West until 6pm. Diversions are in place via the Old Dublin Rd.

https://www.theaa.ie/roadwatch/newsroom/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

DDC1990 wrote: »
    My bad maybe its just the first 3 rows they block off.

They do tend to block off rows A,B and C only.

looks like it may be back to the bad old days of the R446 if its closed on sunday

423570.png
    A section of the M6 Dublin to Galway motorway in Offaly will be closed for the next week to facilitate works.

The M6 is closed westbound from Junction 5 Tullamore to Junction 6, Moate East until 6pm on Monday next, July 31. The M6 is also closed eastbound from Junction 8, Athlone East to Junction 7, Moate West.

Diversions are in place via the Old Dublin Road.

http://www.offalyexpress.ie/news/motoring/261398/section-of-motorway-in-offaly-closed-for-a-week.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Farmer_3650

It was confirmed It's opened for the match

have you a link for that please/

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

ill be up there in the morning, ill post if its open.

Dont believe anything Farmer is telling you, fecker is lying all day! :);)

*I'm joking of course.

yop wrote: »
    ill be up there in the morning, ill post if its open.

Dont believe anything Farmer is telling you, fecker is lying all day! :);)

*I'm joking of course.

Thanks, I'll let you get ahead of me so :p

I'm willing to give Farmer_3650 the benefit of the doubt (until he links me to a 7th son of a 7th son site :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

That's what I was going to ask.

There is nothing to show that Roscommon are fitter than Mayo.

Mayo are one of the best conditioned teams in the land and have consistently been for the last number of years.

And more importantly Mayo have one of the best benches in the country.

When you can spring experienced guys from the bench in the second half then you have a advantage.

That's what helped Mayo in these qualifiers.

How is Roscommons bench ?

Durcan and Vaughan will likely start Sunday. How much Senior AI series experience does Crowe,Nally,Kirby,Drake,Regan offer off the bench? Coen and Loftus two young lads that are still looking to establish themselves at senior level. Might be 2nd thoughts about bringing Dillion on after that hospital pass he delivered v Cork and another experienced player Barry Moran hasn't seen a Mayo bench all year?

Its well known at this stage Roscommon had big turnover of players in a year leaving their strength in depth not as good as it should be however can still bring on senior club AI winners in Ronan Stack,Ian Kilbride or lads such as the Compton brothers,Donie Smith who have beaten Mayo at underage level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,303 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Durcan and Vaughan will likely start Sunday. How much Senior AI series experience does Crowe,Nally,Kirby,Drake,Regan offer off the bench? Coen and Loftus two young lads that are still looking to establish themselves at senior level. Might be 2nd thoughts about bringing Dillion on after that hospital pass he delivered v Cork and another experienced player Barry Moran hasn't seen a Mayo bench all year?

Its well known at this stage Roscommon had big turnover of players in a year leaving their strength in depth not as good as it should be however can still bring on senior club AI winners in Ronan Stack,Ian Kilbride or lads such as the Compton brothers,Donie Smith who have beaten Mayo at underage level.

Drake started an AI SF v Dublin in 2015
    Regan came on as a sub in last year's final.
    Coen and Loftus have both played championship in Croke Park.

None of the Roscommon starters, let alone the subs, have experience at this stage of the championship.

And as for Roscommon lads having beaten Mayo at underage level, a good few of the Mayo team have won All Irelands at underage level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

For the last number of years they were a great team and even deserved to win the all Ireland last year. However this year, You would be foolish to believe they are still as good as they were

Agreed, I hate to say it but I think they are past it. If we get by Roscommon and I'm having more and more doubts about that, there's the question of Kerry and I'd be afraid of what will happen to us.

If we leave Caff 1-1 with Star, then we could get bate out the gate with Geaney and JOD feeding off him. And if that happens, then we deserve to get bate out the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭SecretsOfEarth

Agreed, I hate to say it but I think they are past it. If we get by Roscommon and I'm having more and more doubts about that, there's the question of Kerry and I'd be afraid of what will happen to us.

If we leave Caff 1-1 with Star, then we could get bate out the gate with Geaney and JOD feeding off him. And if that happens, then we deserve to get bate out the gate.

This isn't cute hoorism by me, because I have no reason for it but I wouldn't be as fearful of some epic Kerry demolition job on Mayo. Yes, the FF line is potent and has the potential to wreak havoc, but the team has major fault lines. The defence has been on shaky ground for years, and direct running has always managed to penetrate fairly easily. Tackling seems to be a problem too, where focus quickly gives way to sloppy play and fouls are committed.

Mayo may be declining, but they are by no means past it and are still a formidable threat. When the O'Connors, the O'Sheas and co. are on form, there's no reason to say that Mayo couldn't go toe to toe with Kerry and beat them. If Donaghy, Geaney and O'Donoghue were to be left room, then yes they would cause problems but I can't see Rochford being naive in that instance, if the two teams do meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

None of the Roscommon starters, let alone the subs, have experience at this stage of the championship.

And as for Roscommon lads having beaten Mayo at underage level, a good few of the Mayo team have won All Irelands at underage level.

Please stop lying. Thanks.

Syferus wrote: »
    Please stop lying. Thanks.

Ok sorry some may have been around in 2010, I forgot.

Who exactly and how did they get on ?

Not a whole not of experience in the likes of Drake,Regan,Coen,Loftus so and certainly not at the level of experience that the likes of Kerry or Dublin can bring on.

Sean McDermott off the top of my head would have the experience at this stage of the championship on a mainly new team but Mayo were in a similar place in going into the Quarter final against experienced Cork in 2011 and their odds were as long if not longer than Roscommons on Sunday.

The Mayo U21 All Ireland winning team of last year were lucky to get past Roscommon in the Connacht final and the Roscommon minor team of 2013 weren't that far off the Mayo minors either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Not a whole not of experience in the likes of Drake,Regan,Coen,Loftus so and certainly not at the level of experience that the likes of Kerry or Dublin can bring on.

Sean McDermott off the top of my head would have the experience at this stage of the championship on a mainly new team but Mayo were in a similar place in going into the Quarter final against experienced Cork in 2011 and their odds were as long if not longer than Roscommons on Sunday.

The Mayo U21 All Ireland winning team of last year were lucky to get past Roscommon in the Connacht final and the Roscommon minor team of 2013 weren't that far off the Mayo minors either.

And if my aunty had balls etc. etc.
    The Mayo team have years of valuable experience of playing in Croke Park. That value cannot be overstated. And the average age of the Mayo team is around the 27, 28 mark - the ideal mix between youth and experience.
    I think Mayo will do it by at least 6 on Sunday.

A good few Mayo in 2011 had played in 2006 final, 2008 4th round (lost by a point to Tyrone in CP) and 2009 QF loss v Meath.

That's 3 CP appearance in 6 seasons.

Stop trying to make out that Roscommon are equal in experience to Mayo.

In you want to compare the past have a look at 2010.
    Cork with three SF and two final appearance in the past 5 seasons meet and beat unexpected Connacht champs Roscommon.

Mayo have the edge in experience, it may not count for anything at the end of the day, but if it comes down to it Mayo have the experience.

A good few Mayo in 2011 had played in 2006 final, 2008 4th round (lost by a point to Tyrone in CP) and 2009 QF loss v Meath.

Mayo have the edge in experience, it may not count for anything at the end of the day, but if it comes down to it Mayo have the experience.
    Agreed. Mayo have far more experience especially in Croke park. Will be a huge advantage to them on the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Did not a number of this Roscommon team also win a minor AI, beating Kerry in the process? Also played several times over the years in Croke Park.

This Roscommon team are used to playing in big games and I don't think Croke Park will faze them. Previous Roscommon teams tended to collapse in Croke Park. I think this team will put it up to Mayo. The fact Mayo struggled against average Div 2 teams should be a wake up call.

I know Roscommon were relegated, but they are still have 2 years of Div 1 under their belts. They will not be a pushover.

Did not a number of this Roscommon team also win a minor AI, beating Kerry in the process? Also played several times over the years in Croke Park.

This Roscommon team are used to playing in big games and I don't think Croke Park will faze them. Previous Roscommon teams tended to collapse in Croke Park. I think this team will put it up to Mayo. The fact Mayo struggled against average Div 2 teams should be a wake up call.

I know Roscommon were relegated, but they are still have 2 years of Div 1 under their belts. They will not be a pushover.

They did win a minor AI but that was in 2006. There is not that many players from that team left. Most of them left last year because they didn't like McStay or McHale. It's a pity, there was some serious talent there. In 2013, Roscommon were favourites to win the minor AI. They got to a semi-final but were bet by Tyrone by a point. A lot of the new names on the team were on the 2013 minor team.

What have this team, that have gone 1 and 6 in the league and have beaten Leitrim and a complacent Galway, done to be seen as some way different from other Roscommon teams that have collapsed in Croke Park ?

Nothing if you ask me.

What have this team, that have gone 1 and 6 in the league and have beaten Leitrim and a complacent Galway, done to be seen as some way different from other Roscommon teams that have collapsed in Croke Park ?

Nothing if you ask me.

Well first of all, I wouldn't base anything off the league. It was clear that Roscommon were putting all their effort into the league. They learnt from their mistakes of 2016 with an exceptional league but a poor championship.McStay even said so himself. Leitrim is a division 4 team so fair enough, nothing too difficult there. However, people seem to think Galway played a lot worse than they did. In the second half, they scored 6 unanswered points within a matter of minutes bringing them within 2 points of Roscommon. It reminds me of the 2016 Connacht Final between Roscommon and Galway. It ended up a draw but yet everyone was saying Galway played well and Roscommon played very bad. The reason people were saying that is because everyone thought Roscommon would do much better after a brilliant league. It's the exact same reason people think Galway played so poorly against Roscommon, because when they look at how well Galway played in the league they expect more from them. Also ever since the game against an extremely poor Donegal side, people are saying that Galway were terrible against Roscommon even more than before the Donegal game

In you want to compare the past have a look at 2010.
    Cork with three SF and two final appearance in the past 5 seasons meet and beat unexpected Connacht champs Roscommon.

Not trying to compare or make equal with Roscommon just making the argument that the Mayo strength and experience on the bench isn't has strong as you may think.

But it's multitudes of times stronger than Roscommon's is, that my point.

Mayo's big advantage is the they a lot more experience than Roscommon, especially in Croke Park.
    However, Roscommon also has a huge advantage in that it is a younger and fitter team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

Mayo's big advantage is the they a lot more experience than Roscommon, especially in Croke Park.
    However, Roscommon also has a huge advantage in that it is a younger and fitter team

Fitter? What are you basing that on?

[/B]

And if my aunty had balls etc. etc.
    The Mayo team have years of valuable experience of playing in Croke Park. That value cannot be overstated. And the average age of the Mayo team is around the 27, 28 mark - the ideal mix between youth and experience.
    I think Mayo will do it by at least 6 on Sunday.
    I didn't use any if. Average age of the Mayo team that started against Cork was 29. Winning by 6 on Sunday against a Div one team will be a big improvement from drawing with Cork,Derry two div two teams after 70 mins.

km79 wrote: »
    Fitter? What are you basing that on?

I've answered this question already, but I'm basing it on the fact that they were going strong up until the end of the Galway match and the fact that they are a young team. I don't know how many exactly but a good few of them are 23 or 24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

I've answered this question already, but I'm basing it on the fact that they were going strong up until the end of the Galway match and the fact that they are a young team. I don't know how many exactly but a good few of them are 23 or 24.

Mayo were still going strong against same Galway team with a man less
    Were much stronger than Derry and to a lesser extent cork in second period of extra time
    Much stronger than Clare second half

I won't bother going back over the last few years but mayo were on a par with Dublin fitness wise
    No way Roscommon were

As for the age thing mayo have a fair few around that mark too and the likes of Cillian is only 25 Aidan 26 maybe 27
    3\4 tipping 30 bring experience Roscommon dont have

Roscommon will not edge mayo on fitness
    If they are to win it will be due to their super duper forwards and their backs all having the games of their life's to contain Mayo's misfiring forwards ;)