My heart bleeds for this fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

He's a drug dealer he shouldn't be allowed near social housing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,610 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

What to do with them then though? Leave em on the street where they're more likely to turn to things like robbery and assault? Or lock em up forever on our buck?

Every year assemble them all on Lambay Island, and let them contest 24 hour death match, where the only survivor gets to get back on the housing list.

We would all watch this via fixed cameras & drones flying above the island.

No one would be falling asleep after their Christmas dinner ever again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Rent from a private landlord - they've access to Rent Allowance if they haven't the means.

It's difficult enough to get a landlord to accept rent allowance though, not to mind to a convict. Similarly with work. I have no sympathy for this lad, don't get me wrong. I don't think anyone with that many convictions should be allowed back on the street. I'd just be wary that crafting a black and white rule like that would end up hardening what were once petty criminals.

Let them live in a shipping container.

And create ghettos of convicts that can form gangs? And where would we put those containers? Not in my back yard anyways. A long term view needs to be taken of how we can either rehabilitate these convicts into society, or adequately remove them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,610 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

And where would we put those containers?

On an old container ship that is constantly going around the country collecting the lads, ensuring they are not a burden on any one county.

Then every year at Christmas it stops and drops them all off at Lambay island for my death match

On an old container ship that is constantly going around the country collecting the lads, ensuring they are not a burden on any one county.

Then every year at Christmas it stops and drops them all off at Lambay island for my death match

I do love the death match, if you get them into international waters you could even wash your hands of the pesky human rights issue. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I'd just be wary that crafting a black and white rule like that would end up hardening what were once petty criminals.

I wouldn't consider people involved in violent crime against innocent people going about thier business 'petty criminals'.

My primary concern would be for the reputation of social housing itself as I can envision an awful lot more people needing it in the future.

There should also be zero tolerance for anti-social behaviour from people who live in social housing, some sort of three strikes system so they can't make life miserable for their neighbours.

I do love the death match, if you get them into international waters you could even wash your hands of the pesky human rights issue. :pac:

Actually, flaw in your plan, now instead of having a lad convicted for manslaughter next door I'll have some kind of killing beast that was evil and strong enough to kill all the others.

Maybe reconsider this part, maybe have a luxury part of the boat with like couches and Netflix and a dog where they can live instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

Wtf is he wearing lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Given that the judge has asked to see the address that was on his charge sheet when he was arrested for the fatal assault, I think it will go his way if he was telling the truth about living there before he was convicted.

Edit: And, the 2009 newspaper stories do describe him as living in Waterpark Heights, Ennis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

He claims he'll resort to crime again if he's thrown out of the house. Ridiculous statement. His original crime wasn't one of him stealing money because he was poor. He beat someone to death for absolutely no reason.

I don't know why scumbags like him are conviced of manslaughter and not murder. He should count his blessings to be living in a country where the law is such a joke. If this was America he'd be on death row.

Here's the original story about his conviction for the murder (and it was murder). http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/clare-manslaughter-pair-jailed-for-a-further-two-years-26868802.html

And is it just me or is this picture vomit-inducing?

harry-dinan-outside-the-house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

This idea of a house for life and inheritance of tenancies needs to go. It was designed for a different age.

I would think something along of the lines of annual reviews with the tenants of what they are doing to move towards providing their own accomodation. A cap of 5 years should apply on social housing support. A scheme can tie in with employment activation efforts for social housing tenants long term unemployed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,016 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

darkdubh wrote: »
    “A man’s home is his castle is the way I look at it."

It's not your house buddy, that's the way I look at it.

no but he lives in it for now and is paying the rent.
    cheaper for the tax payer if he is left there tbh.
    Aw, 'telpis

Tell the fukcer to go look for a job like everyone else and pay for his own damn crib.

can't be done.
    everyone else is a mix of unemployed and employed, he is unemployable so can't afford to pay any more then council rent.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

no but he lives in it for now and is paying the rent.

everyone else is a mix of unemployed and employed, he is unemployable so can't afford to pay any more then council rent.

He's not paying rent though ,

People who commit violent crimes should be automatically struck off the social housing list.

well unless you are going to house them somewhere else then that can't happen.
    Rent from a private landlord - they've access to Rent Allowance if they haven't the means.

not cost effective. rent allowance going to private land lords is one of the huge expences that isn't sustainible long term.
    myshirt wrote: »
    This idea of a house for life and inheritance of tenancies needs to go. It was designed for a different age.

it can't. it's just not practical
    myshirt wrote: »
    I would think something along of the lines of annual reviews with the tenants of what they are doing to move towards providing their own accomodation. A cap of 5 years should apply on social housing support. A scheme can tie in with employment activation efforts for social housing tenants long term unemployed.

nice idea in theory but it's not realistic.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I think his statement about a return to criminality should be enough to electronically tag this model citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,200 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

"All people want to do is bring up the court case"

"No-one is willing to listen to a different side of the story... they just want to talk about that"

Well boo hoo you scumbag, an innocent man enjoying himself on a night out who had his whole life ahead of him was beaten to death by this guy and his equally scummy nephew.

Prison sentences are a joke in this country, these 2 fookers should be locked up for 30 years or more.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

A quick look at this guys Facebook page shows him swanning around on holiday in Portugal without a care in the world.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

I think his statement about a return to criminality should be enough to electronically tag this model citizen.

If anything it sounds like a veiled threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

Get an education or a job or get the fook out onto the streets you waster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

In other jurisdictions i.e. in jurisdictions where criminals actually suffer consequences for their criminality, this smug-looking criminal would soon be arrested if he threatened resorting to crime if evicted.

This low-life is blackmailing society into giving him a forever home rent-free or he'll continue to expand on his 64+ convictions.

By the way Leo and the political establishment are too busy working on minimum pricing alcohol because all of us cannot handle our drink, instead of dealing with the outrageous recidivism rates and laughable sentencing for crimes in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Tbf it is harsh rule,evicting him because he was in jail

Agree to a point, but only if it was his residence before he was imprisoned.

However, the council said he was never on the rent. Surely if he lived somewhere else then the council could find out, ie electoral register.

Would revenue/social welfare have his declared address on file? That could prove his claim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

seeing few similar threads seems life in Ireland is worth approximately 3.5 years in jail. given if you leave person inch away from death.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

A quick look at this guys Facebook page shows him swanning around on holiday in Portugal without a care in the world.

The state of him in those shorts, and those tattoos. Christ!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

The state of him in those shorts, and those tattoos. Christ!

He has an indian ink Nike tattoo on his neck too. I knew Harry years ago, He wasn't the brightest of chaps, easily led as they say. But he isn't a cold blooded emotionless man either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

What to do with them then though? Leave em on the street where they're more likely to turn to things like robbery and assault? Or lock em up forever on our buck?

I think a gameshow where "runners" attempt to evade "stalkers" and the winner gets to spend the rest of his/her life on a tropical island paradise.

Like previous winners Whitman... Price and Haddad

hqdefault.jpg

Get an education or a job or get the fook out onto the streets you waster

can't be done. unemployable, and having him on the street is going to cost us money.

Hostel that or he could move in with his girlfriend

Gatling wrote: »
    Hostel that or he could move in with his girlfriend

i wouldn't want to risk putting him in a hostel given the nature of the crime he was convicted for. how he has a girl friend is beyond me tbh.

i wouldn't want to risk putting him in a hostel ,
    how he has a girl friend is beyond me tbh.

It's ok for other criminals from violent offender's to sex offenders and the other A-Z of offences no point saying it's safer keeping him in a house rent free to keep on the straight and narrow,

Apparently his girlfriend has a preteen daughter but it never surprises me when violent people end up with partners who don't seem to care how much Risk they put themselves and their families in