I don't believe in the death penalty but i will make a exception...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Because the Dept of Justice is in the hands of dreamers who believe that scum like this, even after 90 plus convictions, can be taught to be good citizens if we are nice enough to them and tell them we understand.

Do we have any politicians who listen to the people?

Simple answer no as judges were once solicitors and are more then delighted for the system as it makes other solicitors plenty of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

The do gooder tossers would be more outraged at the suggestion of him being hanged then of his crime itself.
    Let that sink in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Negative_G

Honestly never knew it was a traveller name. I guess you learn something new everyday :pac:

Hopefully he won't have an easy time in prison.

Cash, Mongan, Ward, Joyce, McDonagh, Maughan, Connors.

All common traveller names.

Interestingly, if you were to Google many of the above names along with the word "assault", "conviction", "robbery" or "theft", you probably wont be surprised at the results.

I suppose the hand wringers could argue that you could do the same for any name but then again, anecdotal evidence (and common sense) would suggest that the certain segments of the traveling community have over subscribed to the past times of assault and robbery.

But sure, that's society's fault. Or so I'm led to believe in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Negative_G

you can't make an exception. you either believe in the death penalty or you don't.
    hanging this yoke won't send any message, this has been proven through the centuries.

You may claim that hanging this piece of worthless, good for nothing piece of pond scum, might not send a message. And you may be correct.

What it will do however, is make very sure that this scumbag can never abuse another person again.

That single fact on its own is good enough for me. I'd wager it's good enough for many others as well.

Vermin like this have no place in society.

Just like a rabid dog that can't be socialised. You do your best to treat it and break the behavior but in the end you have to put it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,008 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Negative_G wrote: »
    Cash, Mongan, Ward, Joyce, McDonagh, Maughan, Connors.

All common traveller names.

Interestingly, if you were to Google many of the above names along with the word "assault", "conviction", "robbery" or "theft", you probably wont be surprised at the results.

I suppose the hand wringers could argue that you could do the same for any name but then again, anecdotal evidence (and common sense) would suggest that the certain segments of the traveling community have over subscribed to the past times of assault and robbery.

But sure, that's society's fault. Or so I'm led to believe in the media.

common sense wouldn't dictate such, as for it to do so it would mean that anyone of those names are all convicted of crimes, which there is no evidence to prove. there is evidence some people with those names have been convicted of crimes.
    Negative_G wrote: »
    You may claim that hanging this piece of worthless, good for nothing piece of pond scum, might not send a message. And you may be correct.

What it will do however, is make very sure that this scumbag can never abuse another person again.

That single fact on its own is good enough for me. I'd wager it's good enough for many others as well.

Vermin like this have no place in society.

Just like a rabid dog that can't be socialised. You do your best to treat it and break the behavior but in the end you have to put it down.

that could be done for a lot cheaper by having a whole life sentence. hanging is murder and murder is illegal.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Very common names have lots of criminal convictions attached. I'm shocked, Joe, we should lock them all up. Especially all those Murphys.

Hyperbole about the death penalty aside (we don't have it and we're never likely to have it, unless some complete nuts get into power), I agree that the sentence is way too short. 92 convictions, even if some of them were batched together (breaking and entering, theft, trespassing, etc) is well enough to be sure that the guy knew what he was up to, well before he did this.

There is some very lenient sentencing in this country (unless you don't have a TV license), but the answer is definitely not private prisons either. That has been a disaster in the United States and it's really not something we want here either. Especially when legal loopholes are left to allow for judges to get kickbacks for sending defendants to specific prisons, which absolutely can happen. http://www.nytimes.com/2009/02/13/us/13judge.html

(Bets on whether we'd get the Sisters of Mercy to run the new private prison system? :P)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Has she got family around? If so I'm surprised it got to court.

Most of us don't take the law into our own hands

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Strange, no posts saying "we don't know all the specifics of this case, judges are never wrong, the legal system is perfect and staffed by passionate and diligent professionals such as myself, unless you have worked in law for 20 years you can't possibly comment, I will only accept criticism if you can back it up with the full case notes from prosecution, defense and a transcript of the judges innermost thoughts, etc..."

edit:
    As for death penalty, i don't think it works. It's supposed to he a deterrent, but looking at the only modern western country to use it, their prison population and crime statistics tell a very different story. They wish they had crime like Ireland. As for less developed countries, where heads and limbs get hacked off with swords, there's still crime and who would want to live there anyway?
    But some real sentencing would be nice.

In Germany, if you have served your sentence, you are not automatically set free. If you are deemed to still be a hazard to society, you don't get out. Simple as. And it keeps some very dangerous scumbags off the streets here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Strange, no posts saying "we don't know all the specifics of this case, judges are never wrong, the legal system is perfect and staffed by passionate and diligent professionals such as myself, unless you have worked in law for 20 years you can't possibly comment, I will only accept criticism if you can back it up with the full case notes from prosecution, defense and a transcript of the judges innermost thoughts, etc..."

Yeah, I commented early in the thread that they would be along any minute - can't understand it. There are two lawyers in particular on here that do that on every thread relating to sentencing. They must be on holiday or something.

Hopefully when they get out they do it to the wrong house and person and a shotgun is in their way....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Hopefully when they get out they do it to the wrong house and person and a shotgun is in their way....

The only glimmer of hope, guys like that rarely make it past 40. With a bit of luck they'll croak it in the gutter with a needle in their arm or a knife in their back. One can only hope...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

There are very few crimes possible against me where i would go for retaliation myself.
    If this had been my mother or granny, this would have been one though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,963 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

It was a savage, despicable attack by a scumbag but the elderly lady did not die and the perpetrator should have been put away for longer than 8 years.

But calling for the death penalty is ridiculous and just shows a purely knee jerk, reactionary attitude all too common on boards and in the wider social media.

In my opinion the death penalty is never justified and it is a view I have never wavered from since I was in my mid teens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Samaris wrote: »
    (Bets on whether we'd get the Sisters of Mercy to run the new private prison system? :P)

Now there's an idea to re-purpose the old Laundries. It may breach the prisoners human rights though to be treated that badly. :P

A common in-joke with nuns is that the Sisters of Mercy have no charity and the Sisters of Charity have no mercy. So maybe the SoC are the better candidates?

I hadn't heard of this case before and I'm disgusted. That poor lady! I don't care what their excuses are, breaking into the home of an elderly person is scumbag behaviour and no amount of rehabilitation could redeem them in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,746 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Neyite wrote:
    I hadn't heard of this case before and I'm disgusted. That poor lady! I don't care what their excuses are, breaking into the home of an elderly person is scumbag behaviour and no amount of rehabilitation could redeem them in my eyes.

Story doing the rounds on news now, tis rough, poor woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

222233 wrote: »
    Realistically it would be more economically viable to have the death penalty, instead of having the same offenders constantly in and out of prison costing us a fortune. Just saying

Would it? If there was a death penalty, it would be tied up in appeals for years, perhaps decades which would put significant additional cost on the prison time and further tie up the legal system.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

that could be done for a lot cheaper by having a whole life sentence. hanging is murder and murder is illegal.

the government can change the law so that hanging un repentant scum like this ) is legal but it wont

as an aside i was in bray court house yesterday that little POS was laughing joking and abusing the prison officers from the cells . could be heard easily from the court room

Buer wrote: »
    Would it? If there was a death penalty, it would be tied up in appeals for years, perhaps decades which would put significant additional cost on the prison time and further tie up the legal system.
    mynamejeff wrote: »
    the government can change the law so that hanging un repentant scum like this ) is legal but it wont

as an aside i was in bray court house yesterday that little POS was laughing joking and abusing the prison officers from the cells . could be heard easily from the court room

what would we actually learn from capital punishment? how would we learn what causes these people to behave in the way they do, and if we killed them, how would we actually learn to prevent this kind of behaviour occurring in others in the future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

And the Irish justice Industry strikes again,

High time for judges and lawyers to held accountable for their actions.

Their decisions are costing you and yours:

Time
    Money
    Some cases their Life.
    Their personal well being.
    Their security

Victims of crime seem to be secondary to all these discussions.

Its all about the criminal and their upbringing and how rough it was, BLAH BLAH ****IN BLAH.
    A never ending circle of sh1tetalk from every lawyer given to every judge across the land.

Fcukin parasites of the justice Industry cause more grief and pain than the bloody scummers cos at least with the scummers you know what you get. (ok that may be a bit of hyperbole but you get my point)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,008 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

mynamejeff wrote: »

it can't change the law to make this form of murder legal thankfully. the death penalty is not legal within the EU.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

The only glimmer of hope, guys like that rarely make it past 40. With a bit of luck they'll croak it in the gutter with a needle in their arm or a knife in their back. One can only hope...

Really hope is a knife in their back. From one of their own. :mad:

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    what would we actually learn from capital punishment? how would we learn what causes these people to behave in the way they do, and if we killed them, how would we actually learn to prevent this kind of behaviour occurring in others in the future?

How in gods name can one learn from them....

They have gone too far and couldn't give a flying rats tail end about you or anyone else.

We have learnt something and that's that they always seem to get away with feck all sentences or nothing at all.

How in gods name can one learn from them....

They have gone too far and couldn't give a flying rats tail end about you or anyone else.

We have learnt something and that's that they always seem to get away with feck all sentences or nothing at all.

have a chat to some professionals that have to deal with criminals on a regular basis, including mental health professionals etc, its a fascinating subject matter. we re a complex species, particularly our behavioural habits. we ve actually learned a lot so far by studying these kind of individuals and this kind of behaviour. more to learn of course.

Don't worry I know a lot about it and how these so called professional go on in some cases.

great stuff, do share your findings?

Its not always a good thing. These people are in it for themselves and don't get a dam who they have to go through.

I agree with you for some things but it isn't stopping these guys.

Sure there was another case where guy has over 300 convictions how has all these professionals sorted him?

What is actually the story with these lads having loads of convictions and strolling around? The guards must be tearing their hair out. Is it prison overcrowding? Or is that a total red herring? Is it the restrictions judges are under? Or is it purely discretion on their part?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭Synthol

Vic_08 wrote: »
    Those sort of figures are always thrown about as some sort of reason not to lock up habitual and violent criminals. What is never highlighted is the financial cost to of having them on the streets instead. Scummers like that cost the state (and innocent citizens but we don't give a fcuk about these) an absolute fortune through police, courts, legal aid, dole, housing, etc.

As a society we spend an absolute fortune picking up after a small % of the population who cause absolute chaos and misery for their entire pathetic lives.

It is completely insane to keep propping up the utterly broken justice system which neither provided justice for victims, punishment for perpetrators or any effective rehabilitation for those whose criminality is mainly substance abuse based.

The only people who seem to be happy with it are those running it, after all the constant merry-go-round of criminalality creates lots of lucrative and high status work for those with their snouts in the trough. Their lobby groups and friends in the Dail work very hard to resist any meaningful reform of their status quo.

Yes punishment, bet you get a hard on when you see a criminal suffering.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭Synthol

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    You don't necessarily need a multi million euro spanking new prison. There are lots of demands on our valuable tax dollars.

Pick a deserted or near deserted island off the west coast. Bring out a shit load of timber and razer wire. Build fences and machine gun towers. The camp in mates will sleep in the elements. Help to build discipline and fortitude in them. They will occupy their days on alternating teams digging trenches and filling them in. Indiscipline or poor work ethic will result in no food or water. 'Food' being a very loose term for what they're served.

No time off for good behavior. Time added on for bad behavior.

Man you are a genius! How has nobody thought of that before???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

My mother, albeit not as old as that poor woman, is not a million miles away in years on this earth. If it happened to her, I would refocus my priorities, and make it my life's work to get them both. The repercussions for myself would be of no consequence.