Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,356 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Water John wrote: »
    Lakill was listening to the Gospel, about the weeding guests trimming their lamps.
    A true farmer, don't miss an opportunity. A wet sod of turf won't give much heat. Rain Tues night/Wed.

ragworth ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,352 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Should be in Dublin in a few weeks time, Is there still touts selling tickets to games in Crocker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Mentioned how theres so much of us out here to work alright. Said if you keep working away here and progress up the career ladder you wouldn't be long becoming a millionaire dairy farmer.

Haha wass he taking the piss ? I know lots of dairy farmers but not many that are millionaires , and definitely not from milking alone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

What the hell happened down in Kilkenny with those cattle? Looks like some lad had a fall out with a neighbour and flipped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Muckit wrote: »
    What the hell happened down in Kilkenny with those cattle? Looks like some lad had a fall out with a neighbour and flipped.

Didn't hear. Whats the story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

whelan2 wrote: »
    Listening to lmfm the pipe is 4.5m under the ground is over 50 years old. The fittings wont fit it as it has mis shaped over the years. They are getting fittings made in the north. It will be at least Thursday before water is back

Anyone have any experience with this sort of water system?

Surely if they dug back a bit further, patched the break with a length of corri pipe cut to fit and poured two or three feet of quick setting ready mix around everything, they would have a near watertight patch must sooner than Thursday.

They are going to have to replace the whole pipe soon anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,910 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Surely if they dug back a bit further, patched the break with a length of corri pipe cut to fit and poured two or three feet of quick setting ready mix around everything, they would have a near watertight patch must sooner than Thursday.

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2017/07/24/were-in-as-much-of-a-rush-to-fix-leak-as-you-were-to-pay-the-bill-irish-water/

Sums it up fairly well IMHO.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Bullocks wrote: »
    Haha wass he taking the piss ? I know lots of dairy farmers but not many that are millionaires , and definitely not from milking alone :D

True enough but out here they can live like millionaires 😂

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

True enough but out here they can live like millionaires ��

Is it still the case that there is no Capital Gains Tax in NZ when a farmer retires and sells the farm?
    That was the the real target, take a sheep platform, convert to Dairy, work your brains out for 30 years and build up solids production, then sell up and live high on the hog in retirment with the fruits of your labours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,000 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The farmer who's land the leak is on was only compensated last week for damage done to his land during a leak last year. From pictures on fb taken with a drone there is no work being done on site at the moment as they are waiting on the fittings to be made. They were saying on the radio that the fitting will be under immense pressure with the volume of water that will be going through it

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Is it still the case that there is no Capital Gains Tax in NZ when a farmer retires and sells the farm?
    That was the the real target, take a sheep platform, convert to Dairy, work your brains out for 30 years and build up solids production, then sell up and live high on the hog in retirment with the fruits of your labours.

Afaik yes.
    On another note there doesnt seem to be a massive labour crisis here like at home even though there were a few of us saying how were taking a nice hit on what we were on back home the other night. I know of some lads only taking €400 home every week after rent as well though still not great for working every 2nd weekend at the same time but theres still not a lot of us here in a rush to go home.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,158 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Feckin bloat in reared suck calf, late may born calf.

Dosed him with baking soda yesterday evening but still bloated this am, in on straw and water, dunging fine.

Will go baking soda again maybe add mineral oil too.

Any other ideas ?

Afaik yes.
    On another note there doesnt seem to be a massive labour crisis here like at home even though there were a few of us saying how were taking a nice hit on what we were on back home the other night. I know of some lads only taking €400 home every week after rent as well though still not great for working every 2nd weekend at the same time but theres still not a lot of us here in a rush to go home.

Has calving started yet?

Just stsrted have worked on 2 moderately staffed herds before in the 300-400 cow range with not a lot of time off. Rota here for calving is 6 on 2 off.

Better living everyone

Glanbia filling water up the road from us for those with no water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Some craic if they were filling it from a river :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

_Brian wrote: »
    Feckin bloat in reared suck calf, late may born calf.

Dosed him with baking soda yesterday evening but still bloated this am, in on straw and water, dunging fine.

Will go baking soda again maybe add mineral oil too.

Any other ideas ?

Have you a long stomach tube to let out the gas? Liquid paraffin maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

mf240 wrote: »
    Fair play to them.

Do the council not pay them to transport the water to a specific spot, where people can collect it? I always assumed they did? :confused:

Was in local town there and saw a lad passing with a bale carrier and weights on the front...... l kid you not..... A dumbbell!! It was one of the cheap ones with the plastic discs filled with sand like what you'd get in Argos!!

I got a great laugh out of it. I don't know if he's trying to be funny or is a bit harmless!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Water John wrote: »
    Lakill was listening to the Gospel, about the weeding guests trimming their lamps.
    A true farmer, don't miss an opportunity. A wet sod of turf won't give much heat. Rain Tues night/Wed.

heading to the bog later with grain trailer and dump trailer . ill bring 1/2 of it. other half needs a week or 2 more

Do the council not pay them to transport the water to a specific spot, where people can collect it? I always assumed they did? :confused:

It was a glanbia tanker. Not sure if the tractor unit belonged to them. I am sure whoever is transporting it is being paid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Odelay

It was a glanbia tanker. Not sure if the tractor unit belonged to them. I am sure whoever is transporting it is being paid

I seen it on TV3 news where there was one lad filling a five gallon drum marked.................Roundup.

'Sure tis triple rinsed. Twill be grand.'

Risk it for a biscuit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Yeah, milk processors have helped with water for villages and towns in Cork in the past. It was usually just a working relationship between the coop and the local engineer.
    Don't know if money or BIK changed hands.

Took a long time to fill the tanker.

Brother is living in Drogheda and his water only ran out today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Muckit wrote: »
    Was in local town there and saw a lad passing with a bale carrier and weights on the front...... l kid you not..... A dumbbell!! It was one of the cheap ones with the plastic discs filled with sand like what you'd get in Argos!!

I got a great laugh out of it. I don't know if he's trying to be funny or is a bit harmless!!

I saw those dumbbells in Lidl. I was working out how much they would cost for 200Kg - the weight I reckoned I'd need fro a post driver. Still too dear.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

heading to the bog later with grain trailer and dump trailer . ill bring 1/2 of it. other half needs a week or 2 more

Tell everyone what happened.....