Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,902 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

adox wrote: »
    Motivate yourself to kick a ball? They were hardly asked to run a marathon.

It was laughable and inexcusable for most of the misses.

The excuses people come up with...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

I also think that it's looking very fortunate that we've held on to Jones and Smalling for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,058 ✭✭✭✭adox

I also think that it's looking very fortunate that we've held on to Jones and Smalling for now.

Yep Lindelof certainly at this stage looks like he will have to be eased into the team. Looks a million miles off being ready to start the season for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

adox wrote: »
    Yep Lindelof certainly at this stage looks like he will have to be eased into the team. Looks a million miles off being ready to start the season for us.

Just came on to post, while you take no real anything from pre-season, as in "he's playing so well" Lindelof has pretty obviously looked miles off the pace and been pretty poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The morning papers.

WBA to bid £10 million for Smalling.

United to offer £75 million for Veratti.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Meanwhile former United player Gerard Pique posted a picture of himself and Neymar together with the message "He stays".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,801 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Jose blames lacklustre second half on lack of motivation facing Real Madrid youngsters.

Said he didn't pick his best penalty takers and has no idea if Herrera injury is bad.

That was about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Didn't he only have something like a 50% success rate in his last few seasons? LVG took him off pens at one stage.

Funny you say that, i got a pm from someone giving out saying the same thing and that mata was far superior when he only scored two in the league.

Im not not turning this into ****e talk again about rooney, might point was that there was some horrible penalties tonight

From both sides to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

I've seen Christy Brown hit better penalties than these lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

AidoEirE wrote: »
    Funny you say that, i got a pm from someone giving out saying the same thing and that mata was far superior when he only scored two in the league.

Im not not turning this into ****e talk again about rooney, might point was that there was some horrible penalties tonight

From both sides to be honest

Anderson took a mean penalty too when it mattered :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

jayo26 wrote: »
    Anderson took a mean penalty too when it mattered :)

So did Nani....

AidoEirE wrote: »
    Some horrific peno's going on there. Say what you will about Rooney but the lad knew how to bury a penalty

This is not Rooney saga again, just pointing out the guy was a penalty taker
    Didn't he only have something like a 50% success rate in his last few seasons? LVG took him off pens at one stage.

Rooney missed four in a row at one stage I think and lvg took him if penalties...
    as cookie �� says he missed a few in his last few seasons...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Some quotes from Marca:

On the penalty shootout: "With the teams level after the final whistle, matters were settled from the spot, which proved to be a dreadful display of penalty taking, mercifully ending in favour of United, 2-1."

On the United goal: "But the best movement of the first 45 minutes came from United and it was some fancy footwork from Martial, who danced past a couple Real defenders by the end line before feeding the wide open Lingard and it was an easy sweep into net for a 1-0 lead right before half-time."

http://www.marca.com/en/football/real-madrid/2017/07/24/59752e39e5fdea58788b4641.html

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

zerks wrote: »

I'm not spending another 6 mins of my life watching that again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Cant wait for the pre season to finish and the league to start up again.

I was over last year for utd city game for the first time at old trafford, we lost 2-1 but i was literraly first row and zlatan scored the goal. Electric stuff, cant wait to go again this season

Any of ye heading over for a game?

https://twitter.com/ManUtd_HQ/status/889244385832992768

Can't sleep...

Sexy run alert from Tony Martial!

On Smalling: Don't you dare sell him Jose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

As I said yesterday with Rojo out until January I doubt Jones or Smalling were being offered to clubs.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Seen this on Reddevils :pac:

zgb7n5ncehbz.jpg

astradave wrote:
    Seen this on Reddevils

Isn't ed still on the lions tour???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,768 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Was gunna say we should send Smalling on his way to give Tuanzebe a chance......then I saw Lindelöf's "tackle". Guess we'll need all those CB's still. At least until Rojo can partner Bailly anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭chris445

We have conceded 4 goals so far this pre-season and Lindelof has been at fault or at least could have done better for every one of them.
    I don't think he is going to start the season either. In each game he has played at RCB with either Jones or Smalling at LCB. It looks to me like Mourinho sees a battle between Bailly/Lindelof for RCB and Jones/Smalling for LCB with Rojo to step in there once he is fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭wong

If it's between Bailly/Lindelof then I'm afraid Lindelof is never gonna see a blade of grass again.

wong wrote: »
    If it's between Bailly/Lindelof then I'm afraid Lindelof is never gonna see a blade of grass again.

It won't be, Lindelof has bred bought to partner Bailly. He is a ball playing CB whereas Bailly is a destroyer. He just needs to find his feet. I've seen some of the best defenders in the game make tackles like he did last night tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I would reckon José might have had a few choice words last night.The attitude of the players in the second half stunk."Ah sure we are only playing against kids".
    Jose doesn't like this lazy mentality and I hope he weeds it out,preseason or not you at least look like you are interested on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,902 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

zerks wrote: »
    I would reckon José might have had a few choice words last night.The attitude of the players in the second half stunk."Ah sure we are only playing against kids".
    Jose doesn't like this lazy mentality and I hope he weeds it out,preseason or not you at least look like you are interested on the pitch.

Funny that. I said the second half performance was poor last night. Cookiemonster took a shot at me over that specifically and you continued after that saying I would be trying to stop fans having fun. nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,238 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Funny that. I said the second half performance was poor last night. Cookiemonster took a shot at me over that specifically and you continued after that saying I would be trying to stop fans having fun. nice.

Poor you! :-p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

astradave wrote: »
    It won't be, Lindelof has bred bought to partner Bailly. He is a ball playing CB whereas Bailly is a destroyer. He just needs to find his feet. I've seen some of the best defenders in the game make tackles like he did last night tbh

Bailly has some serious skills on the ball and is probably better on the ball than lindelof is as well

astradave wrote: »
    It won't be, Lindelof has bred bought to partner Bailly.

Im not sure how anyone can say this with certainty without quotes from Jose.

Rojo was as good as dead this time last season according to most fans.

Both CB spots are up for grabs and the competition is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Think I posted a while ago that with the signing I wouldn't expect Lindelof to start the season, but ultimately be gradually brought in alongside Bailly. That the likes of rojo, Jones and Blind had earned their spots, and they shouldn't be stripped away. They played well when it counted last season.

Slotting in a new CB is difficult work, as with any position but especially in CB where mistakes or confusion are quickly exposed. That Bailly took to things quickly is testament to himself but he was also rash and positionaly all over the shop for a good portion of his introduction last season, making up for it with his pace.

Obviously be better if Lindelof was settling quicker in terms of the on the pitch setup, but wouldn't get overly worried. Would have been nice for him to have a strong performance on the tour, but there is enough good reporting and discussion on him that there is likely no major panic required, that he is a strong reader of the game and when he is up to speed will hopefully be a strong CB for us. Some indication in the matches I've watched of that to be honest, some good covering positions and snuffing out danger.

Hopefully his confidence hasn't taken a dent as it's blatant he has been poor. Few reporters been picking up on it and pushing that narrative early, especially with two English CB's there likely to lose out. So he is going to get it tough if he has some ropey games.

bangkok wrote: »
    Bailly has some serious skills on the ball and is probably better on the ball than lindelof is as well

Havnt watched a full pre season match so cant comment on Lindelof, but Bailly is a lot better on the ball than he's given credit for.