Is the LUAS red line as bad as you all make out?

• 19-07-2017 05:02PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,015 ✭✭✭✭

Some posts here would make the causal reader think that the LUAS is dangerous

I have to go to Moran's Hotel in Red Cow tomorrow.

www.a-b's suggestion involves the Red line from Heuston, and a bit of a walk.

What say ye - am I throwing myself to the tigers of Dublin's northside? Or is it 99.999% likely to be just fine?

Or would it be best to arrive earlier and catch a bus instead?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,565 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

heh - the red line is mainly on the southside.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Its not the most pleasant experience depending on the time of day, however I've never had anything bad happen to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

heh - the red line is mainly on the southside.

Westside = Northside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Just ignore the wallet inspectors and you'll be fine.

(They only operate at weekends....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

If you arent offended by the Abbey street crew shooting up on the seat next to you, no problem.

Green line deteriorated a fair bit too after the last expansion. Theres such a thing as too far south.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Westside = Northside.

Dublin doesn't have a Westside. Never had, never will just an attempt to define the southside as greater D4

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I get it twice a day (im on it now!). Its fine 95% of the time. You do get the odd unpleasantness.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,012 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

No it's not.

Which parts of the route are you planning to use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭threetrees

You'll be fine. There are a few rough and undesirable individuals on it but they won't harm or bother you. It's just the general feel of the Red line is that's it's a bit rough but I wouldn't be avoiding it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,371 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Just stand behind the driver in case you need to beg to get into the safety of his cab.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

I though I seen it all till the morning when a passenger pulled down his trackies and took a ****, Howls of laughter glee and delight from his buddies who thought it was hilarious, A few other disgusted passengers moved up the carriage, "Lads, Have ye any tissues" He shouted after them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Its on the southside,
    and its grand 95percent of the time
    the other 5 percent is basically just muppets and weirdos
    can't forget the kids who are between 7-13 acting a maggot throwing stones at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭thomasj

Del.Monte wrote:
    Westside = Northside.

Remind me never to go camping with you ................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AlanG

Generally grand while on the North side - a bit more trouble once it gets to the south side but you will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

A moving lunatic asylum which fills me with anxiety and dread!

You'll be fine, but it won't be pleasant

Honestly i cant understand how anyone can commute on that daily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I though I seen it all till the morning when a passenger pulled down his trackies and took a ****, Howls of laughter glee and delight from his buddies who thought it was hilarious, A few other disgusted passengers moved up the carriage, "Lads, Have ye any tissues" He shouted after them.

Sounds like he's going to be a well turned out productive member of society, I'd love to swap wasters like him for a Pole who comes over to work and contributes to the country anyday.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

I got the Red Line from The Point to Abbey Street Daily and rarely saw an issue to be honest, once you go further south though it gets worse and Jervis is not always a nice stop to be at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

devnull wrote: »
    I got the Red Line from The Point to Abbey Street Daily and rarely saw an issue to be honest, once you go further south though it gets worse and Jervis is not always a nice stop to be at.

The Abbey Street Stop is also an 'experience'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Have used the Red Line relatively regularly over the last number years (usually Connolly to Tallaght or Saggart) and never had any issues, regardless of time of day/night. Some of the stops can be 'interesting', but I've not had issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭seanrambo87

Ah Jasis you'll be grand bud, just enjoy the view out the window, keep to yourself and try not to look like a victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Its the primary transportation system for scumbags since they dont have to pay a penny and fines do not apply to them, only decent folk.

I'd just keep your eyes peeled. I seen some amount of **** on that line.

My own rules for it are to move down/up the carriage away from whatever is kicking off or about to and if its really messy get out at the next stop and wait for the next tram on the line, usually only 3-5 minutes wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,015 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Ah Jasis you'll be grand bud, just enjoy the view out the window, keep to yourself and try not to look like a victim.

Cheers lads - I think the above is great advice in lots of situations.

I'll be travelling Heuston to Red Cow on the way out, and Red Cow to Abbey St on the way back, I know about Abbey St, have been around there before.

Hopefully won't have any down-trou incidents to report!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 mishkashubaly

If you have any sort of awareness of your surroundings it's fine. I use it daily for work and at night at the weekends and worst I've come across is the odd zombified junkie asking for change or a smoke, or the annoying young teenagers who like to get a chase off the luas security lads between Rialto and James. It's not the NYC subway in the 80's like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Sounds like he's going to be a well turned out productive member of society, I'd love to swap wasters like him for a Pole who comes over to work and contributes to the country anyday.

dey tuk r... jobbies... it appears!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

My only problem is when those beautiful nomadic folk get on at Kylemore with no comprehension of how to behave in a civilised society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,628 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

The 13 bus may be just as quick from James's Street if not faster given the reasonably long walk back from Red Cow LUAS stop to Moran's Hotel.

For reference the closest stop on the 13 is stop 1941 which you can get to by walking 5 minutes up Steeven's Lane, turning left at the top and crossing to the far side of James's Street. The 69 serves stop 7078 outbound on Parkgate Street.

The return stop opposite the Morans Hotel is 1977 which is served by the 13 and 69.

You can check real time information at www.dublinbus.ie/rtpi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭StreetLight

An even shorter walk is bus 69, just around the corner at Parkgate Street. Only runs once an hour, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,825 ✭✭✭plodder

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Westside = Northside.
    Southside = Northside I suppose, since the Luas is mostly south of the Liffey. :rolleyes:

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

The Red Line is really an eye opener to be honest but you'll be grand. There are people regularly tapping on it now, 2 euro bud, etc. I was at the Red Cow stop one Friday when there was a crash at Kingswood meaning all trams stopped at Red Cow. The platform filled up quite quickly with shedloads of people who could only be described as being in a very bad way. Tram after tram. Really sad to be honest to see such a volume of people destroyed by drugs, and hanging, absolutely hanging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Birdie Num Num

plodder wrote: »
    Southside = Northside I suppose, since the Luas is mostly south of the Liffey. :rolleyes:

I always found it laughable when people describe the green line as servicing the southside and red line servicing the northside. They are both a service from the Southside to the city centre. Just one happens to end up slightly north of the Liffey.