The Tipperary GAA (Club and Intercounty) Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭1eg0a3xv7b82of

tipps second half shows alot more work to be done with this side, promotion was the main objective for tipp this year and we got that.
    ref was very poor for both sides but i thought armagh more then deserved the win.
    the attendance today i thought was very poor, tipp has alot of football strongholds in south and west tipp, where was everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

Agree with attendance comment. 6800 odd was what was called out. About 2 -2.5k of that was Armagh. Not good enough. Though In fairness to those that were there they couldn't be criticised, great supporters.

On the train back to Cork now where you'd often hear the joke "If the footballers were playing in the back garden I'd close the curtains". We are the exact same, and its such a shame. Instantly lose all respect for those who only support one code.

I'm absolutely gutted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,285 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Mokuba wrote: »
    Agree with attendance comment. 6800 odd was what was called out. About 2 -2.5k of that was Armagh. Not good enough. Though In fairness to those that were there they couldn't be criticised, great supporters.

On the train back to Cork now where you'd often hear the joke "If the footballers were playing in the back garden I'd close the curtains". We are the exact same, and its such a shame. Instantly lose all respect for those who only support one code.

I'm absolutely gutted.

Was stuck in work today, otherwise would've been there. Sickener to go out alright. Wouldn't it be great next year to have a full squad to choose from without dual players deflecting, emigrations, suspensions and injuries? There's massive potential there but things need to start aligning or otherwise the rot will set in again.

Attendance wise, the official number was 6,283. Not good enough is right. It's all too easy to only follow the hurling team. Especially annoying when hurling fans from south Tipp don't show any interest in the footballers considering there are more local lads on the panel compared to the hurlers.

tipps second half shows alot more work to be done with this side, promotion was the main objective for tipp this year and we got that.
    ref was very poor for both sides but i thought armagh more then deserved the win.
    the attendance today i thought was very poor, tipp has alot of football strongholds in south and west tipp, where was everyone.

I'm absolutely gutted.

I heard the other day that u16s are not counted amongst the official attendance but it might be different for senior championship. I do think though that more people should be coming to the football. These guys deserve support they have done us immensely proud

Disappointing but lets not panic just yet. Next season i hope we get the bit of luck re injuries and hopefully perhaps we can add one or two players to the panel such as Stephen Quirke and perhaps Stephen o'brien if he feels he isnt getting enough starts with the hurlers. Hopefully the Faheys, Shaughs, maybe Jason Lonergan too can stay fit.

How about Josh Keane today? outstanding.

Acheson's loss was felt this year too. He was a leader and a driver. Division 2 football next year and if we can win a Munster semi final and/or the Munster final or the qualifier should we lose that we are into the Super 8.
    The core of our squad is still young and they are as honest a group of lads that every kicked a football in blue and gold.

Keep the faith. Up the Premier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

I agree with what you said, I'm still very optimistic over next year - hopefully we will have a bit of luck, a few less injuries, more players available.

Playing Div 2 should help us with issues like teams countering our kick outs etc. Gives us time to develop effective strategies against quality opposition.

Still doesn't make today any easier to take, feel we left both games that we lost behind us. Really don't think Armagh were any great shakes and a game vs Down would have been a 50/50.

Onwards to Clare next week.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

A sickening loss really but we weren't sharp enough on the day. If Quinlivan was at full health I think we win but having him on the edge of the square for most of the game offered us very little apart from the superbly taken goal.

Ref was poor but it affected both teams to be fair. Although I think he needed to be more decisive in last 10mins.

Hopefully the current management team can stay on, they've developed a great rapport with the players.

I agree with what you said, I'm still very optimistic over next year - hopefully we will have a bit of luck, a few less injuries, more players available.

Playing Div 2 should help us with issues like teams countering our kick outs etc. Gives us time to develop effective strategies against quality opposition.

Still doesn't make today any easier to take, feel we left both games that we lost behind us. Really don't think Armagh were any great shakes and a game vs Down would have been a 50/50.

Onwards to Clare next week.

No its a tough one to take being honest. Armagh are far from the machine they once were in the early noughties but at the same time you'd feel if they can have a good championship then perhaps they can push on. I was very impressed with their two forwards and i thought Geezer showed great caution the wind and great calmness to push up those players on the kickout.

Criminal of us not to get more ball into Conor Sweeney today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

The Ref never played advantage for either side either half when Armagh scored a great goal and we were in for a goal respectively. Overall he was a poor ref. We actually benefited from some mad decisions. Such a pity we're out but at least we have a chance to build next year. Division two football and hopefully we can keep the key players fit and get in a few new faces.

fyfe79 wrote:
    Attendance wise, the official number was 6,283. Not good enough is right. It's all too easy to only follow the hurling team. Especially annoying when hurling fans from south Tipp don't show any interest in the footballers considering there are more local lads on the panel compared to the hurlers.
    poor crowd but how can you change people's attitudes towards Gaelic???
    I heard the other day that u16s are not counted amongst the official attendance but it might be different for senior championship. I do think though that more people should be coming to the football. These guys deserve support they have done us immensely proud
    would have thought u16s would have to be included for insurance/safety reasons even if in free???

poor crowd but how can you change people's attitudes towards Gaelic???

A good question to be fair. Gaelic football has taken a dip in popularity with the implementation of defensive systems and Tipperary are primarily a hurling public. Fair enough but you dont have to be a disliker of football to love hurling. The cost is a big factor and a way to bring families in might be the key. This particular group of Tipperary footballers have captured the hearts of not only the county but everyone who talks about them speaks of them in the highest praise for the way they have risen while playing the game the proper way. and against all the odds. If these great bunch of lads cant get their own to come out and support them then Im lost for solutions.
    I would think today being honest that if the price was dropped that it may have enticed a few more fans. 20 is too much for a qualifier. 15 fair enough with a 10 entrance for students and OAPS. A price of 10 though would might swell attendances over the 10k but it would have to be advertised. Perhaps as part of a package? Take for example its 30 next week for the hurling and 20 today. Charge 35 or 40 and entice people to both. Same with the season tickets. Offer a 'home' season ticket with the benefits of the regular season ticket.
    would have thought u16s would have to be included for insurance/safety reasons even if in free???

Yeah, but im not sure they declare the attendance of u16s publicly, They omit them from the total and only give the stats for the paying public. Could be wrong on this because i didnt hear this officially from anyone.

A good question to be fair. Gaelic football has taken a dip in popularity with the implementation of defensive systems and Tipperary are primarily a hurling public. Fair enough but you dont have to be a disliker of football to love hurling. The cost is a big factor and a way to bring families in might be the key. This particular group of Tipperary footballers have captured the hearts of not only the county but everyone who talks about them speaks of them in the highest praise for the way they have risen while playing the game the proper way. and against all the odds. If these great bunch of lads cant get their own to come out and support them then Im lost for solutions.
    I would think today being honest that if the price was dropped that it may have enticed a few more fans. 20 is too much for a qualifier. 15 fair enough with a 10 entrance for students and OAPS. A price of 10 though would might swell attendances over the 10k but it would have to be advertised. Perhaps as part of a package? Take for example its 30 next week for the hurling and 20 today. Charge 35 or 40 and entice people to both. Same with the season tickets. Offer a 'home' season ticket with the benefits of the regular season ticket.

Some good points there. I thought the ticket price was too high today, especially when you consider the cost of following both codes deep into the championship. Maybe fill a smaller ground in Tipp, rather than a near empty Semple? Had that game been on in Clonmel, there would've been some atmosphere. (I know, I know, too small a ground and would never happen...but would've been mighty!)

The team is definately going about it the right way, though, in terms of how they play the game. It is entertaining to watch and surely some people have been converted. It's too Keystone Cops at the back still, so maybe if they sort that out they'd be taken a little more seriously. Hopefully next year they avoid relegation and take advantage of playing better teams on a more regular basis and improve at the back. Going forward, there isn't much better anywhere - just a shame two of our forwards weren't really match fit today. Had they been, we would've won I think.

Anyway, let's hope some of the lads missing today give serious consideration to coming back into the fold next year. The future's bright, lads.

fyfe79 wrote: »
    Some good points there. I thought the ticket price was too high today, especially when you consider the cost of following both codes deep into the championship. Maybe fill a smaller ground in Tipp, rather than a near empty Semple? Had that game been on in Clonmel, there would've been some atmosphere. (I know, I know, too small a ground and would never happen...but would've been mighty!)

The team is definately going about it the right way, though, in terms of how they play the game. It is entertaining to watch and surely some people have been converted. It's too Keystone Cops at the back still, so maybe if they sort that out they'd be taken a little more seriously. Hopefully next year they avoid relegation and take advantage of playing better teams on a more regular basis and improve at the back. Going forward, there isn't much better anywhere - just a shame two of our forwards weren't really match fit today. Had they been, we would've won I think.

Anyway, let's hope some of the lads missing today give serious consideration to coming back into the fold next year. The future's bright, lads.

There was a few moments we'll look back on today. Austin came back deep for a kickout and made a hames of it. Did we get penalised for an improper kickout too at some stage? Also Tin cup was straight through and had a man to his left but put a poor shot into the goalkeepers hands. We had a goal chance in that first half too.

The key for Tipp football is to keep that panel of players together and perhaps add one or two more. Will Sean Carey come back for example? Maybe Peter Acheson? Or Stephen o'brien ?

There was a few moments we'll look back on today. Austin came back deep for a kickout and made a hames of it. Did we get penalised for an improper kickout too at some stage? Also Tin cup was straight through and had a man to his left but put a poor shot into the goalkeepers hands. We had a goal chance in that first half too.

The key for Tipp football is to keep that panel of players together and perhaps add one or two more. Will Sean Carey come back for example? Maybe Peter Acheson? Or Stephen o'brien ?

Did the ref inform the players how much added time they had? There were a few attempts at goal late on which had the lads might've knocked over the bar had they known the ref was going to play, what was it, 7 minutes? Could easily have been a draw. And not playing advantage for Austin there at the end? Jesus.

But, let's be honest, we were sloppy enough in the second half and Armagh deserved it. The main goal next year is consolidate and stay in the division, that would constitute a good season I think.

Did the ref inform the players how much added time they had? There were a few attempts at goal late on which had the lads might've knocked over the bar had they known the ref was going to play, what was it, 7 minutes? Could easily have been a draw. And not playing advantage for Austin there at the end? Jesus.

But, let's be honest, we were sloppy enough in the second half and Armagh deserved it. The main goal next year is consolidate and stay in the division, that would constitute a good season I think.

The added time saga was a farce. it was announced on 73 minutes. mental stuff.

I think our three targets next year should be

1. Maintain our Division 2 status
    2. Munster final
    3. Super 8.

Keep the panel fit and add to it and i think this is doable.
    Big question with regards to our fitness this year. last year we were flying the last ten minutes but this year we looked heavy legged and out on our feet.

The added time saga was a farce. it was announced on 73 minutes. mental stuff.

I think our three targets next year should be

1. Maintain our Division 2 status
    2. Munster final
    3. Super 8.

Keep the panel fit and add to it and i think this is doable.
    Big question with regards to our fitness this year. last year we were flying the last ten minutes but this year we looked heavy legged and out on our feet.

The fitness issue, and injuries, are a concern. Were there some rumblings about the training ground being too hard? Not sure.

Please explain the Super 8 thing 'cos I've no clue? Is it the sort of thing Tipp would actually benefit from?

The fitness issue, and injuries, are a concern. Were there some rumblings about the training ground being too hard? Not sure.

Please explain the Super 8 thing 'cos I've no clue? Is it the sort of thing Tipp would actually benefit from?

From next year, instead of straight knockout quarter finals, there will be a super 8 competition which consists of 2 groups of four teams per group. To qualify for this you have to either win your province or your 4A or B qualifier depending on which side of the draw you are in. By last years standards, both Tipp and Clare would have qualified for this competition.

Spirit of 67 who is a knowledgeable football man on this thread was saying the other day afaik that the hard surface on Dr Morris park was causing many hammer injuries and to be fair the hurlers havent been exactly blessed either. Is there a new 4G pitch there or something? Surely we should mirror the Semple pitch in Dr Morris?

To further answer fyfes questions re the Super 8, i think it would benefit us hugely because we would learn so much from playing against 3 top class teams. Armaghs experience in Ulster coupled with their recent Division 2 spell in 2016, perhaps stood to them tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

I'm absolutely gutted.

Bizarre logic. Two different sports. Do you think people should suddenly start liking football now and going to games because the team is decent? Where does it end? Do you respect people who go to football and hurling but don't go to camogie? How much money do you think people have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Triboro

Yesterday one of the Tipp lads was shooting for a point and it clearly deflected off an Armagh defender and out over the end line.
    Ref didnt award a 45 and I could see him tapping his head.
    Anyone know whats the rule there? If it goes out off opponents head then no 45??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,187 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Triboro wrote: »
    Yesterday one of the Tipp lads was shooting for a point and it clearly deflected off an Armagh defender and out over the end line.
    Ref didnt award a 45 and I could see him tapping his head.
    Anyone know whats the rule there? If it goes out off opponents head then no 45??
    Think someone said it came off sweeneys head but would have to see it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

First of all hard luck to everyone on here. That was a tight match and although I thought we shaded it, your good selves will no doubt be reflecting on players missing that could have made a difference, refereeing decisions that could have gone either way or indeed the absence of a fully fit Quinlivan - what a thorn that lad has been in our side. Hopefully those points above underline the fact that there is plenty of reason to be optimistic about the future of Tipperary football.

I still believe that you achieved a result in Cavan that we would not have managed, and it had me doubting our lads. I won't try and analyse it too much, but I thought youse were not as defensively orientated as other sides we have faced and which we have struggled with. I also thought you seemed to tire a wee bit and maybe had less potent options off the bench than we did. Possibly a factor in your players who were missing? And still for all that, it could have gone either way late on.

Can I just add that many Armagh supporters who were in Thurles have all commented on how Tipp fans shook their hands at the final whistle and wished them well for the future. A couple of Tipp lads have come on to our own site and done the same and a few mentioned how Michael Quinlivan stayed on the pitch at the end of the game and got photos taken with Armagh youngsters. Absolute respect to all. It just shows that class is not just all about winning.

Good luck to Tipp footballers in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,051 ✭✭✭digzy

You know the ref had a horror show yesterday when the 'sheep' isn't defending him:pac:

Better side won yesterday. Honestly believe we lost that game due to not having a good squad. Mq was not fit yesterday. But mgmt didn't believe they had anyone to replace him.

If I were Steve o brien I'd be with the footballers but obviously he prefers the hurling and we've to respect his prerogative.

That nonsense earlier criticising Tipp people following only code is beyond ridiculous. Where are all the Kerry, mayo,Tyrone (I could be a while listing them all) hurling supporters.

We live in a predominantly hurling county where football is also strong. There's not too many counties that are reasonably competitive in both codes.
    Most tipp kids dream of emulating the likes of callanan and bubbles than Philip Austin whether we like it or not.

Awful pity that game wasn't on free tv. I'd be in duignans camp re that particular nugget.

Can I just add that many Armagh supporters who were in Thurles have all commented on how Tipp fans shook their hands at the final whistle and wished them well for the future. A couple of Tipp lads have come on to our own site and done the same and a few mentioned how Michael Quinlivan stayed on the pitch at the end of the game and got photos taken with Armagh youngsters. Absolute respect to all. It just shows that class is not just all about winning.

Good luck to Tipp footballers in the future.

To to be fair to ye I've seen photos on my facebook feed of young Tipp supporters posing with Armagh players as well. Great respect all round - a throwback to the old days.

Must be said that Tyrone and Mickey Harte for all of the criticism they receive for their style done likewise two years ago.
    For people to travel that far to support their county shows a real love of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Both decisions crazy- the Armagh one was taken at a time in the game when anything could have happened as it could have had several different impacts.
    The Tipp one- well if they had gotten a goal there then it would have gone to extra time- I think the phrase "absolutely baffling" was apt- I can only commend the Tipp players and management for keeping their heads as I'd have lost mine with the ref.

digzy wrote: »

That nonsense earlier criticising Tipp people following only code is beyond ridiculous. Where are all the Kerry, mayo,Tyrone (I could be a while listing them all) hurling supporters.

We live in a predominantly hurling county where football is also strong. There's not too many counties that are reasonably competitive in both codes.
    Most tipp kids dream of emulating the likes of callanan and bubbles than Philip Austin whether we like it or not.

I don't think anyone's slagging off the real hurling fans in Tipp, the people who genuinely follow the team regardless of success, it's more the bandwagoners. But you're right, every county has them.

I enjoy hurling and used to go watch both codes, but since the kids arrived and time has become more limited I now just go to watch the footballers. I figure the hurlers have enough support, but I played football a lot more than hurling when younger so I have more of an affinity with it. It's possibly the same for a lot of the hurling fans, tbf. Still, there are (some) supporters who are only interested in success and being along for the ride.

The other aspect to the whole argument is that the footballers are crying out for support so if the bandwagoners and event junkies can come on board then all the better. We cant complain about lack of support and bandwagoners in the same breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

A good question to be fair. Gaelic football has taken a dip in popularity with the implementation of defensive systems and Tipperary are primarily a hurling public. Fair enough but you dont have to be a disliker of football to love hurling. The cost is a big factor and a way to bring families in might be the key. This particular group of Tipperary footballers have captured the hearts of not only the county but everyone who talks about them speaks of them in the highest praise for the way they have risen while playing the game the proper way. and against all the odds. If these great bunch of lads cant get their own to come out and support them then Im lost for solutions. I would think today being honest that if the price was dropped that it may have enticed a few more fans. 20 is too much for a qualifier. 15 fair enough with a 10 entrance for students and OAPS. A price of 10 though would might swell attendances over the 10k but it would have to be advertised. Perhaps as part of a package? Take for example its 30 next week for the hurling and 20 today. Charge 35 or 40 and entice people to both. Same with the season tickets. Offer a 'home' season ticket with the benefits of the regular season ticket.
    cost is an issue but laziness is big part in why a lot from tipp won't support the footballers.
    Cost is possibly an issue but would tipp be able to drop prices or would they have to get permission from croke park to do that??
    Yeah, but im not sure they declare the attendance of u16s publicly, They omit them from the total and only give the stats for the paying public. Could be wrong on this because i didnt hear this officially from anyone.
    I just don't see how they would not count them as there is too many issues if something does occur if you don't count all who are in the ground.
    digzy wrote:
    You know the ref had a horror show yesterday when the 'sheep' isn't defending him
    haha. I just find people who look to blame ref at earliest opp ridiculous.
    The other aspect to the whole argument is that the footballers are crying out for support so if the bandwagoners and event junkies can come on board then all the better. We cant complain about lack of support and bandwagoners in the same breath.
    people need to stop referring to other supporters as bandwagoners. You are either supporters of a team or you are not.

cost is an issue but laziness is big part in why a lot from tipp won't support the footballers.
    Cost is possibly an issue but would tipp be able to drop prices or would they have to get permission from croke park to do that??

It would be a Croker decision but Tipp should be pushing for some form of concessions all the same. We got a semi final package last year for the hurling and football so the GAA can be flexible.

haha. I just find people who look to blame ref at earliest opp ridiculous.

Those choosing to ignore blatant evidence of incompetence are equally ridiculous. There is simply no defending this fella. None whatsoever. He'll look back at this game and have a wee cringe to some of his decisions (in particular the advantage rule twice)

I felt sorry for Martin Sludden the time Louth were conned out of that Leinster final because frankly his umpires the cowards sold him out. They should have spotted that blatant infringement. Wasnt easy for Sludden from his vantage point.
    people need to stop referring to other supporters as bandwagoners. You are either supporters of a team or you are not.

Wow, just wow.....your actually serious about this? Talk about a binary view. its either 1 or 0?
    Bandwagoners are people who take a partial interest in the game and might go to the odd game if it was a final or an important one. They are not really emotionally involved in the team as the die hards who are at every game and thats fair enough.

No way on earth can they be compared to the likes of Kevin Hanly, Anthony Shelley (Big john from PV), and a few others for example who wouldnt miss a Tipp football game for love nor money through the good times or bad.

I would safely doubt for example that many of the Tipperary hurling supporters from the All ireland final last season would go to a Waterford crystal game in January but im only happy to see a large contingent of tipperary fans anywhere regardless of the level of support they give. The footballers in particular need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

In fairness, nobody is scapegoating anybody. It was just an incompetent refereeing display yesterday and it didn't favour one particular side. Nobody wants to see referees being slaughtered or receiving abuse, but in that position you have to be able to get the obvious decisions correct or there is a big problem.

On the two goal incidents, I have watched the Austin one quite a few times and, if anything, it seems to be the defenders have him covered there. Quinlivan had a bit more time and space for his chance, they're not quite equal in my eyes. The Armagh one is just plain baffling as has been called, incredibly poor decision and no defending it.

I believe the Jack Kennedy black card was one of the big moments of the game, it was silly by Jack and deserved the card. He's young and he'll learn, a massive player for that team. I'm not sure we'd have lost if he stays on the pitch.

But then, later on, that veteran sub for Armagh, forget his name right now, hauls down a Tipp player going in on goal and gets - yes, you guessed it - a yellow card. Another ridiculously inconsistent decision in a game loaded down with them.