Is there any public figure that you see a lot of in yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

It's a hard one. I'm quite funny so maybe I'm.a bit like those great comedians Stewart Lee or Brendan Grace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭123shooter

KungPao wrote: »
    Sir Jimmy Savile.

Now then ....Now then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

This thread has descended into the sort of terrible nonsense I mistakenly hoped would be avoided. There appears to be a number of posters who consider themselves to be in the vein of George Carlin or Dylan Moran, but in reality are little more than Stewart Lee or Brendan Grace.

I thought Roger Federer don't make no mistakes. You is John McEnroe you is.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

123shooter wrote: »
    Now then ....Now then.
    How's about that then?

:eek::eek::eek: Jeez run lads.

It's a hard one. I'm quite funny so maybe I'm.a bit like those great comedians Stewart Lee or Brendan Grace.
    I wish I was as funny as Stewart Lee...I'm more of a Richard Herring :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I see a lot of myself in you Aongus, but you are not a public figure yet.

Aongus for Love Island!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,391 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

This thread has descended into the sort of terrible nonsense I mistakenly hoped would be avoided. There appears to be a number of posters who consider themselves to be in the vein of George Carlin or Dylan Moran, but in reality are little more than Stewart Lee or Brendan Grace.

Hang on. You posted this:

As I polished off my glass of wine (a wonderful 2013 Barolo, heavy on the silky tannins, stone fruits, and with a classic mid-weight nose profile), and watched Roger give yet another truly humble and gracious interview, it got me thinking that I share so much in common with the man.

Like me, Roger pays an extraordinary attention to detail, and has a work ethic and professionalism that continuously ranks him above his peers. He has an uncanny ability to read a situation, and to take strong combative action when needed. He keeps himself in incredible shape, and while I have never reached the pinnacle of any sport, my times in 10k, half marathon, and triathlon are the envy of men 15 years younger than me. He's a huge believer in the restorative powers of sauna - a belief I'm fully in agreement with.

You then went on to say this:

I got back in touch with the essence of what makes me a human, and what I have to give to the world. In Roger's case, this is at least two or three more Grand Slam titles; in my case, it represents continuing to be at the vanguard of European Finance.

Please tell me your OP was satire? Otherwise, I'm afraid you don't share Federer's "humble and gracious" nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Holly Willoughby.

Cos she's got great tits.

Same.

Unfortunately I'm male though.

Hang on. You posted this:

As I polished off my glass of wine (a wonderful 2013 Barolo, heavy on the silky tannins, stone fruits, and with a classic mid-weight nose profile), and watched Roger give yet another truly humble and gracious interview, it got me thinking that I share so much in common with the man.

Like me, Roger pays an extraordinary attention to detail, and has a work ethic and professionalism that continuously ranks him above his peers. He has an uncanny ability to read a situation, and to take strong combative action when needed. He keeps himself in incredible shape, and while I have never reached the pinnacle of any sport, my times in 10k, half marathon, and triathlon are the envy of men 15 years younger than me. He's a huge believer in the restorative powers of sauna - a belief I'm fully in agreement with.

You then went on to say this:

I got back in touch with the essence of what makes me a human, and what I have to give to the world. In Roger's case, this is at least two or three more Grand Slam titles; in my case, it represents continuing to be at the vanguard of European Finance.

Please tell me your OP was satire? Otherwise, I'm afraid you don't share Federer's "humble and gracious" nature.
    He's just a fantasist, is Herr von Bismarck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,948 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

"Professor wrote:

It was...'vanguard of European Finance' was the punchline.

Because European finance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Rowan Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I wish I was as funny as Stewart Lee...I'm more of a Richard Herring :(

Don't forget his grace Brendan Grace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Sienna Miller. Only because I'm told I look like her at least twice a week.

He's just a fantasist, is Herr von Bismarck.

It would appear so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

anna080 wrote: »

Who do you look like the rest of the week?

So you do or you don't look like her?

It was...'vanguard of European Finance' was the punchline.

Because European finance.

Went over my head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

I'd like to see a lot of Chris Hemsworth in me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

123shooter wrote: »
    So you do or you don't look like her?

Probably more like her chubbier, uglier and poorer younger sister.

Arr dont put yerself down.

Do you like short fat hairy men with muzzies who make films?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Sir Jimmy Savile.

Would the knighthood really matter? I wouldn't have thought so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

While at work, I think I'm quite like a well mannered Roy Keane

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    Would the knighthood really matter? I wouldn't have thought so.

There are so many things to go with that but nobody but nobody would dare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

John Holmes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

How dare you !
    I like to think of myself as a bit like Laverntiy Beria , he made Stalin a bit uneasy , no mean feat in itself and was eventually executed on trumped up charges by an NKVD General in the basement of "the Lubuyanka " by genera....

oh my takeaways here , 'scuse me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Wana mate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Ann_Landers

I took some time out myself last year to refocus and recharge my batteries. The highlight of this was spending a number of weeks in the Canadian wilderness building a log cabin from the ground up with a number of other people.

Sounds more Unabomber than Federer. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Amy Winehouse without the hair makeup or drug problem. Bit nuts from time to time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Like George Clooneys older brother