Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Messing around with race stuff is dumb, and he should give it over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

Am I missing something ? maybe i'm not getting the reference but didn't Drago have lads doing everything for him in Rocky strange how he remembers the one with the black guys as the one with the dancing monkeys ,
    Why is dancing monkeys remind him of Rocky 3  , I can' t remember the whole movie ,

Maybe you are racist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

Floyd via DQ
    We know it's not a real boxing fight. It's one of, if not the greatest boxer of all time beating up a man who never boxed at any high level before. It is way more WWE than anything else.

Well people might as well draw some entertainment from the shyte talking, because the fight itself will be terrible.
    Conor may be able to land a verbal Jan but he would be able to land a physical one. The main event could be over quick, If Conor tries to engage, It may not last a round, Floyd will nail him with a counter punch combo, and it will be lights out

The difference there was Pacquiao actually had a chance in that fight, even though he lost clearly and unanimously.
    He was one of the greatest boxers of this generation and he still couldn't hit Floyd. Conor has absolutely no chance and will probably get KO'd in the early rounds.

Even with Pacquiao's world class boxing skills, quick feat and lightning hand speed. He couldn't hit Floyd.

What hope does McGregor have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Floyd via DQ
    irishman86 wrote: »
    Am I missing something ? maybe i'm not getting the reference but didn't Drago have lads doing everything for him in Rocky strange how he remembers the one with the black guys as the one with the dancing monkeys ,
    Why is dancing monkeys remind him of Rocky 3  , I can' t remember the whole movie ,

Maybe you are racist
    How u working that out ?  I'm asking what happened in the film that would make Conor say is Rocky 3 the one with the dancing monkeys , what is he referencing ?
    Or can I not ask a question about your hero without upsetting u that you call me racist ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Maravilla33

Floyd via DQ
    The problem is this though... In order for Conor to land something hard enough, that Floyd can't get back up... It has to be the hardest punch Conor has ever thrown in his life!!

And it has to be perfectly placed on floyd's chin too... which basically means he can't see it coming. Because if Floyd sees it coming - even late - then it won't have enough power to end the fight.

So basically, he just needs to land one of the greatest KO punches of all time. And he doesn't even have very much time to pull this feat off... because he doesn't have the stamina to go 12 rounds with Floyd. lol

Even if you look at his greatest finishes in the UFC... How many of them were perfect one punch KOs, that left his opponent lifeless on the canvas??

Many of them were TKOs... Those type of punches are just not going to be enough to get the job done on Aug 26.

So, unless he has some clever plan to make Floyd walk straight into that left, and eat something HUGE... I don't see how he really has a hope!?

Certainly would be one of the greatest sporting moments in history, if he managed to pull it off though... they'd build statues of him! :D

I like this break down of the fight

There was a monkey in a cage, dancers and a celeb gym in Rocky 2. No smoking gun there as far as I'm concerned. The other stuff though... Not defending that.

Floyd via DQ
    Grayditch wrote: »
    There was a monkey in a cage, dancers and a celeb gym in Rocky 2. No smoking gun there as far as I'm concerned. The other stuff though... Not defending that.
    Ah I see , I couldn't remember the movie, makes sense so ,

Floyd via DQ
    Ah I see , I couldn't remember the movie, makes sense so ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Conor via DQ
    Great fun here:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Kidantrim wrote: »
    I thought Floyd looked more worried and shocked when Conor started f'ing Showtime and their Execs out of it than he did after the bucket of abuse Conor gave him.

You mean when Floyd started laughing harder? (@11.21)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ
    Amazingfun wrote: »
    haha "show me".....how about you do some reaching out yourself?

Anyhow, this guy is funny about it, nice T-shirts as well :)

You are defending the comments as Banter and said plenty of americans took it as such. Wouldn't be a story if that was true.

What he said was perceived as racist in america whether you want to admit it or not is irrelevant to the conversation really.

McGregor is hurting his own image stateside which wont sit well with potential sponsors, that will hurt him more than anything else, money. He should just front up and admit to his ignorance on it having racist connotations, everything would be smoother for him if he stayed away from that conversation altogether to be fair.

His below the belly button comments were cringe inducing last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ
    You are like a dog with a bone, we get it you dont like McGregor :rolleyes:
    I wonder what you will jump on in the next conference and wrong presume

Couldn't be further from the truth. Lots of respect for Conor, I think what he's done in the last three years has been nothing short of spectacular. One of the greatest irish sports achievements ever. He's completely dominated the UFC and achieved greatness there. Personally I believe thats where he should have stayed and used the skillset he has developed.

But I personally believe he should have a little more about him with regards to these pressers and I think the dance for me boy comments were a massive mistake.

How u working that out ?  I'm asking what happened in the film that would make Conor say is Rocky 3 the one with the dancing monkeys , what is he referencing ?
    Or can I not ask a question about your hero without upsetting u that you call me racist ,
    Hes not my hero at all, i actually dont particularly like him.
    I was making a joke about you not remembering the dancers cause you were racist, maybe take a deep breath instead of getting so wound up

Couldn't be further from the truth. Lots of respect for Conor, I think what he's done in the last three years has been nothing short of spectacular. One of the greatest irish sports achievements ever. He's completely dominated the UFC and achieved greatness there. Personally I believe thats where he should have stayed and used the skillset he has developed.

But I personally believe he should have a little more about him with regards to these pressers and I think the dance for me boy comments were a massive mistake.

Funny how you seem ready to jump on everything he said then :rolleyes:
    Im guessing you are a devout Mayweather fan, or else well you are just a little to precious
    As for staying in UFC, why on earth would he do that if he can convince the best boxer of our generation to fight him for massive money, something he wouldnt get in UFC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,503 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Hes not my hero at all, i actually dont particularly like him.
    I was making a joke about you not remembering the dancers cause you were racist, maybe take a deep breath instead of getting so wound up

Certainly going out of your way to defend him against what you seem to perceive as unjust attacks on his character...

Why does it bother you that he is legitimately and justly being pulled up on certain behaviours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,612 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Is there anything up for grabs in this fight, or is it just an exhibition fight like Apollo V Drago ??

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Is there anything up for grabs in this fight, or is it just an exhibition fight like Apollo V Drago ??

Just an exhibition (at least to Floyd) type scenario.

Conor has eff all to lose here and a sh1t load to gain.....

Floyd via DQ
    Funny how you seem ready to jump on everything he said then :rolleyes:
    Im guessing you are a devout Mayweather fan, or else well you are just a little to precious
    As for staying in UFC, why on earth would he do that if he can convince the best boxer of our generation to fight him for massive money, something he wouldnt get in UFC

Nope not a Mayweather fan at all but I absolutely respect his boxing skills.

A little precious? Ah so taking offence to racist comments are me being precious.

If he stays in the UFC he's famous for something he's good at, moving to boxing will tarnish his career. Being hammered in the ring isnt any good for his image. Although it sure will be good for his bank account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Draw

He didn't "remember the one with the black guys" as dancing monkeys. He was asked about Rocky 3 specifically.
    Dancing monkeys is an expression that means being surrounded by lackeys. He was refer to Stallone in the celebrity gym.

There was no referral to black peoples. Trying to say he was taking about apollo are just shît stirring, looking to be offended, or have their own issues that they think "black person" whenever they hear the word monkey.
    I'm familiar with monkey as a slur, mostly from football, but it's not something I associate with monkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭hbhook

Floyd via DQ
    why are people going on about racism?

Conor via DQ
    You are defending the comments as Banter and said plenty of americans took it as such. Wouldn't be a story if that was true.

What he said was perceived as racist in america whether you want to admit it or not is irrelevant to the conversation really.

McGregor is hurting his own image stateside which wont sit well with potential sponsors, that will hurt him more than anything else, money. He should just front up and admit to his ignorance on it having racist connotations, everything would be smoother for him if he stayed away from that conversation altogether to be fair.

His below the belly button comments were cringe inducing last night.

No, you aren't America, and don't get to speak on behalf of it. This is showbiz, and he is showbizzin. America 2017 has a lot of moving parts, and most aren't moaning about it as much as some here, funny enough.

And why you think any of this will hurt him in the money department is simply laughable. I don't know where you get the idea you just "know" stuff like this, but there it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭highbury1913

I'm not surprised with McGregor here.

He has said similar about Diaz, Aldo and Siver. He even brought up the names of dos Anjos' children saying they weren't Brazillian names. Not to mention talking about people dying making his diamond watch. I could go on.

I will never understand how he is seen as this national treasure of ours.

About time the media and especially the Irish media at that start calling him out on this.

Conor via DQ
    hbhook wrote: »
    why are people going on about racism?

It's all the fashion in Ireland at the moment, lol :p

Ah here. Saying "dance for me boy" to a black lad in America is a dumb move. It's weird that people think it's not. Sure have a go yourself and see how it works out ;)

Floyd via KO-TKO

I will never understand how he is seen as this national treasure of ours.

By whom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭hbhook

Floyd via DQ
    Two tossers on stage selling a con job and ''dance for me boy'' is offensive? I didn't pick up on that at all. Floyd was actually dancing..

Conor via DQ
    Ah here. Saying "dance for me boy" to a black lad in America is a dumb move. It's weird that people think it's not. Sure have a go yourself and see how it works out ;)

None of you have yet grasped how much of your own "racism" this reveals. You keep reading into what you want to see. Truth is, you wouldn't bat an eyelash if he said it to a White man, which he would, haha.

I agree to a certain extent and I don't think he meant it like that at all. But there's certain things I think you just should avoid to be a bit more clever about things, in a country that has really high racial tension right now.

He's ruining him on the mic anyway, I think he should sidestep anything that could be taken like that.

None of you have yet grasped how much of your own "racism" this reveals.

Oh dear, hahahaha.

Floyd via DQ
    None of you have yet grasped how much of your own "racism" this reveals. You keep reading into what you want to see. Truth is, you wouldn't bat an eyelash if he said it to a White man, which he would, haha.

Ah ok , so you don't understand why it is racist, grand I understand your thinking now.

You can live in bliss.