Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Conor via DQ
    Using a racial stereotype to prove your not a racist is pretty dumb, though his comments and behaviour have garnered him plenty of love from one section of American society,the Pepe led frog avatar wearing kkk type. What a wonderful shower to have on your side

:pac: KKK types? Your own bias is showing and coloring your commentary here, ever think of that?

He didn't use any racial sterotypes, but the segments who THRIVE on victimhood never let a moment pass to play just that: victim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    I have never seen anyone bomb like Conor up there

Surrounded by yes men it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,495 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    I don't think Conor is a racist in the sense that he has a beef with people that are non white. But he is just so arrogant and clueless here that he can't change his ways or show class and maturity. Plus, this being so staged, he may even be told and encouraged to say certain things. The whole thing (all them) is the epitome of duurrt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ
    Amazingfun wrote: »
    :pac: KKK types? Your own bias is showing and coloring your commentary here, ever think of that?

He didn't use any racial sterotypes, but the segments who THRIVE on victimhood never let a moment pass to play just that: victim.

Really? Did you just really claim that black people are playing the victim?

Conor via DQ
    Really? Did you just really claim that black people are playing the victim?

Hmmm, interesting you immediately assume I am talking about BLACK people :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ
    walshb wrote: »
    I have been thinking on this

Few things

Conor is not a dummy,. He is not the man off the street. He is young, fit, capable, athletic, and talented with his hands and feet.

Can he box? Yes. So can many non pros. Can he box good enough to win on points? 100 percent no. It won't be remotely close if it's points. Cards will read 120-102 or thereabouts if Mayweather doesn't "give away" rds.

Has he a KO chance? Of course. It's slim, but what if for whatever reason they are close and he throws a whopper just as Floyd is open and moving in and it lands perfect?

I have not at all changed my view as I believe barring a fluke KO this will be a ridiculously easy night for Floyd....

The problem is this though... In order for Conor to land something hard enough, that Floyd can't get back up... It has to be the hardest punch Conor has ever thrown in his life!!

And it has to be perfectly placed on floyd's chin too... which basically means he can't see it coming. Because if Floyd sees it coming - even late - then it won't have enough power to end the fight.

So basically, he just needs to land one of the greatest KO punches of all time. And he doesn't even have very much time to pull this feat off... because he doesn't have the stamina to go 12 rounds with Floyd. lol

Even if you look at his greatest finishes in the UFC... How many of them were perfect one punch KOs, that left his opponent lifeless on the canvas??

Many of them were TKOs... Those type of punches are just not going to be enough to get the job done on Aug 26.

So, unless he has some clever plan to make Floyd walk straight into that left, and eat something HUGE... I don't see how he really has a hope!?

Certainly would be one of the greatest sporting moments in history, if he managed to pull it off though... they'd build statues of him! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Floyd via DQ

Ok, tell you what. I think we can all agree wonderful life is a pretty biased mcgregor fan, see his post regarding the right wing attention he has garnered over in the mms forum.

He didn't use racial stereotypes......so he didn't claim to be black from the belly button down, playing on the stereotype that black men have big dicks.......okey dokey

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ
    Hmmm, interesting you immediately assume I am talking about BLACK people :pac:

I asked you a question, are you incapable of answering it?

Conor via DQ
    Why don't you link the post you cite here?

And no, that crass dick remark was a troll in response to the hysterical racial attacks that day, why shouldn't he mock it? I guess you would prefer he knelt on stage in contrition for his imaginary crimes, lol

Conor via DQ
    I asked you a question, are you incapable of answering it?

Why am I obligated to answer your loaded question when I already cited THE MEDIA as the origin of this fake "racist" incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Floyd via DQ

He did. What do you think "I'm black from the waist down" was???

Conor via DQ
    Already addressed this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Floyd via DQ
    Utterly pointless

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Floyd via DQ
    I think he's just a bit thick, and he wants a reaction so bad he says the first thing that comes to mind, sometimes he is very childish from the **** you suit that a 12year old would think is "bleeding deadly " to just cursing for the sake of it,
    You know your bad when you look like you have less class than Mayweather .
    He shouldn't have brought up the race thing at all, he made a show of himself , Also how did someone not advise him that wearing a polar bear to be cool is not cool,.
    Is 2017 no one was going to be impressed that your wearing a dead polar bear it lacks class

Floyd via DQ
    Why am I obligated to answer your loaded question when I already cited THE MEDIA as the origin of this fake "racist" incident.

It wasnt a loaded question, I wanted clarification on your previous post. There is nothing "fake" about reporting what he said. Dance for me boy is obviously racist to any american. If you have an issue with that being "fake" it's on you.

Conor via DQ
    Dance for me boy is obviously racist to any american. If you have an issue with that being "fake" it's on you.

No it wasn't, plenty of Americans understood it's all banter. And I am not the one with the "issue" , clearly.

Floyd via DQ
    No it wasn't, plenty of Americans understood it's all banter. And I am not the one with the "issue" , clearly.

Ah banter, the get out of jail card of the moronic.

Conor via DQ
    I guess reading all kinds of thought crimes into said banter is a mark of genius, yeah?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

Arghus wrote: »
    Weak enough. The barbs were super moronic tonight, both men sound really stupid at times. Though McGregor finds more creative ways to sound like an idiot; Floyd just has the same three or four phrases he keeps repeating. How many times can a human being shout Yeaaaahhh?

Usually the same amount as you can say "All Work" :pac:

Floyd via DQ

Show me where Americans understood it as banter.

Floyd via DQ
    I guess reading all kinds of thought crimes into said banter is a mark of genius, yeah?

What are you rambling on about????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

Christ lads this is absolutely cringe inducing stuff. The sooner it's all over the better.

I notice Conor has lost that ridiculous accent he had.

$100 pay per view in the states?? You'd need your head examined if you paid that for this ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Floyd via DQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PWYCjW8Ebzo

Was up early this morning and on the commute I stuck on the car crash that was last night's presser. Just a load of ****e, as per, but still people ( me included) watch so they are doing their job.

Couple of things for me though that really didnt sit well. McGregor tried to address being called a rascist, thats absolute ****e .. blah blah blah .. then goes and does it again. He's a bona fida idiot. Race tension in america isnt a joke and he should leave it or better yet apologize to black people and try and show some sort of class.

Why would he apologize, for the dancing monkeys thing. If he was fighting Hatton he would have used the same sentence hes used similar words before, or maybe its for the boy word, a word most Irish use in day to day speech.
    Just because hes fighting a black man doesnt mean everything has to be censored

Conor via DQ

haha "show me".....how about you do some reaching out yourself?

Anyhow, this guy is funny about it, nice T-shirts as well :)

As I said, Americans would perceive that as racist.

He should apologize.

You are like a dog with a bone, we get it you dont like McGregor :rolleyes:
    I wonder what you will jump on in the next conference and wrong presume

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,495 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    The problem is this though... In order for Conor to land something hard enough, that Floyd can't get back up... It has to be the hardest punch Conor has ever thrown in his life!!

And it has to be perfectly placed on floyd's chin too... which basically means he can't see it coming. Because if Floyd sees it coming - even late - then it won't have enough power to end the fight.

So basically, he just needs to land one of the greatest KO punches of all time. And he doesn't even have very much time to pull this feat off... because he doesn't have the stamina to go 12 rounds with Floyd. lol

Even if you look at his greatest finishes in the UFC... How many of them were perfect one punch KOs, that left his opponent lifeless on the canvas??

Many of them were TKOs... Those type of punches are just not going to be enough to get the job done on Aug 26.

So, unless he has some clever plan to make Floyd walk straight into that left, and eat something HUGE... I don't see how he really has a hope!?

Certainly would be one of the greatest sporting moments in history, if he managed to pull it off though... they'd build statues of him! :D

Agreed. The shot has to be perfect and have the perfect conditions.

But what is perfect?

Innocuous shots have knocked men unconscious. Floyd is a man.

So, just because to date he has not been knocked out does not mean that a good connecting shot from Conor won't do it. It may not even need much force. Boxing and physiology aren't always black and white...

Look, very slim chance, but a chance.

Ad in the likelihood that Floyd is so superior that maybe he becomes very easy and complacent, and all it takes is a split second shot to land.

Guys, we gotta' get our excuses ready here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

We are all "racist and intolerant". How many people here have called someone gay, said that's gay, told someone they fight like a girl, called someone the black sheep, slipped on black ice, referred to an unemployment "blackspot", said about the Rosa Parks situation that they would always move for a black person, because it's not worth getting stabbed over a seat, said they had a black friend and Sher he's grand as if they expected the starting point to be that there would be something wrong

It is something inured in our culture and behavior, but behind it no one holds any ill will, it is something that will change with a generational change in culture. Conor McGregor isn't the right person to be asking to champion and lead that. The man is but a product of his environment and experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Floyd via DQ
    irishman86 wrote: »
    As I said, Americans would perceive that as racist.

He should apologize.

You are like a dog with a bone, we get it you dont like McGregor  :rolleyes:
    I wonder what you will jump on in the next conference and wrong presume
    Am I missing something ? maybe i'm not getting the reference but didn't Drago have lads doing everything for him in Rocky strange how he remembers the one with the black guys as the one with the dancing monkeys ,
    Why is dancing monkeys remind him of Rocky 3  , I can' t remember the whole movie ,

Floyd via DQ
    myshirt wrote: »
    We are all "racist and intolerant". How many people here have called someone gay, said that's gay, told someone they fight like a girl, called someone the black sheep, slipped on black ice, referred to an unemployment "blackspot", said about the Rosa Parks situation that they would always move for a black person, because it's not worth getting stabbed over a seat, said they had a black friend and Sher he's grand as if they expected the starting point to be that there would be something wrong....................

One can use the word black without race connotations ;)
    As you've just illustrated.

Black ice, sometimes called clear ice, refers to a thin coating of glaze ice on a surface, especially on roads. The ice itself is not black, but visually transparent, allowing the often black road below to be seen through it.

black sheep, a member of a family or group who is regarded as a disgrace to it, late 18th century: from the proverb there is a black sheep in every flock

black spot, A place or area marked by a particular trouble or concern.