Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Wheety

Really? Referring to the black lads in the gym in rocky as dancing monkeys is grand? Or were there actual monkeys I'm forgetting about?

I agree with the above comment about Conor being like a 5 year old. He would have said the same thing if they were white dancers. Not everything is racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Floyd via DQ
    If there's racial tension to be exploited for promotional purposes, expect it to be. Boxing has a long history of it. To be honest, i thought the 'boy' comment last night was very deliberate, and probably discussed between camps. First night he said it you could tell he was very quick to try to rescue it. Last night he just let it out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

walshb wrote: »
    I agree. I think they are heavily scripted and then an agreement that they can throw in the odd improvisation...

Like I said, no ties whatsoever between these two. Their supposed hostility is based of 0!

I don't know that it's too tightly scripted, but yeah it's basically just salesmanship from two of the best around at it (and two of the best there have been at it for a very long time). Both of them are hugely into the money/business side of their sports, and credit to them for it since you should get what you can while you can, and it's highly entertaining, but I wouldn't by any means take this as straight up bad blood stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    I wonder who will win this one tonight

Floyd is under pressure because he lost the last one 10-8 apparently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Floyd via DQ
    Scoring pre fight press conferences... Only in cuckoo land eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Floyd via DQ
    Burial. wrote: »
    Scoring pre fight press conferences... Only in cuckoo land eh

What time is it on? Suppose same time as last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Floyd via DQ
    What time is it on? Suppose same time as last night?

11:30pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

snowflaker wrote: »
    And it was conor that threw the flag on the ground. Neither should have it

He clearly tried to throw it to the ground, why do the Irish people constantly need to try bring any Irish person down once they make there way to the top.
    Are you all that jealous of people, maybe its a insecurity at your own failures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    irishman86 wrote: »
    He clearly tried to throw it to the ground, why do the Irish people constantly need to try bring any Irish person down once they make there way to the top.
    Are you all that jealous of people, maybe its a insecurity at your own failures

So everyone has to love him regardless of what he says and how he acts because he is Irish ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Floyd via DQ
    He tried, and succeeded in throwing it to the ground alright

I personally don't feel any need to take any Irish person down once they reach stardom, generally it is quite an incredible achievement and one to appreciate. It doesn't mean you have to champion every thing a person does though, or lose your rationality on something because of geography which should be kind of an obvious point.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

So everyone has to love him regardless of what he says and how he acts because he is Irish ?

Not at all just the pathetic attempts to bring him down, why not just ignore him if he affects you that much.

He tried, and succeeded in throwing it to the ground alright

I personally don't feel any need to take any Irish person down once they reach stardom, generally it is quite an incredible achievement and one to appreciate. It doesn't mean you have to champion every thing a person does though, or lose your rationality on something because of geography which should be kind of an obvious point.

:rolleyes: He clearly threw it back where it came from. You personally may not but most here do, Ireland is a jealous nation. So many people hate him because he comes from the north side of the river. For years Robbie Keane got abuse purely because of where he was born, now its Conors turn.
    I think its sad actually how jealous people get over others success, like I said just because you(not you poster) have failed or not achieved anything doesnt mean you should **** all over someone elses success.
    You say lose rationality on something because of geography when infact most of the people dislike him for the very reason hes a successful Irish man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,391 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Floyd via KO-TKO
    If coverage starts at 11:30 they probably won't be on stage until after 1 am, think the one tomorrow starts 7:30 pm in London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Floyd via DQ
    So many people hate him because he comes from the north side of the river. For years Robbie Keane got abuse purely because of where he was born, now its Conors turn.

North of which river? The Dodder?

Technically "the Liffey, of which the Dodder is the largest tributary"
    So when talking off rivers of Dublin its pretty obvious which one people talk about :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Wheety

So when talking off rivers of Dublin its pretty obvious which one people talk about :rolleyes:

Not sure if I'm reading your messages wrong but McGregor is from Crumlin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

Not sure if you need to read McGregor's Wiki page or study a map of Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Conor via DQ
    :rolleyes: He clearly threw it back where it came from. You personally may not but most here do, Ireland is a jealous nation. So many people hate him because he comes from the north side of the river. For years Robbie Keane got abuse purely because of where he was born, now its Conors turn.
    I think its sad actually how jealous people get over others success, like I said just because you(not you poster) have failed or not achieved anything doesnt mean you should **** all over someone elses success.
    You say lose rationality on something because of geography when infact most of the people dislike him for the very reason hes a successful Irish man
    Wheety wrote: »

And to clarify Crumlin is south of the Liffey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,391 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Tallaght for Keane and Crumlin for McGregor aren't north of the liffey unless this isn't opposite day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,047 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Conor via DQ
    The whole trash talk thing is kinda ruined when floyd gives an interview 2mins later saying he enjoyed it and it reminded him if when he was a cocky young fella and sure it's great for business :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,047 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Conor via DQ
    Tigger wrote: »

I only found out this recently but some people from out in the stchticks believe posh dubs are southside and what's known as the 'Dublin accent " is from the north side.
    So when a girl from tallaght shouts." oi young fellah giv iz a sha orr yer Mickey " someone from kerry might assume they are from Beaumont.

Wheety wrote: »

Im not from Ireland, I presumed he was from the northside, Im happiy corrected

Tigger wrote: »

Im guessing its jealousy of a low-wealth Irish man making it then, I honestly had no idea he was from Crumlin as I dont watch MMA, I just see the constant hate of lads from council areas in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    snowflaker wrote: »
    But he's not 5, so he needs to be accountable for his words

FYI - Conor has called himself a dancing monkey and/or compared himself to a monkey on 4 separate occasions. I can provide links if you wish.

My point (quite obviously) is that the monkey thing isn't a black or white issue in the context Conor uses it. He uses it to describe "being a lackey". He called himself a dancing monkey because he didn't want to do what the UFC was telling him to do. He called himself a caged monkey in the lead-up to the Aldo fight.

More cynically, racial tension in sports sells. Always has, from Jesse Owens all the way to the present day.

It's just a stone-cold-fact that 3 of the 4 lowest-revenue fights Floyd has had in the last 13 years were Zab Judah, Shane Moseley and Andre Berto (all black) while his 3 highest were 2 Mexicans and a Philipino.

Black v white or black v hispanic sells better in the modern era, for a lot of reasons, one probably being because boxing for so long (1950-1990) was dominated by black athletes.

TL;DR - Intentional or otherwise, if this becomes a black v white thing it'll only increase PPV sales, especially in Trump's America.

I'd hate to see Conor *intentionally* going down that road because I firmly believe he's nowhere near racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Floyd via DQ
    Watching the presser from last night again, Conor easy won but, that that dig where Flyod says to Dana 'I like you Dana' and moves to Conor 'thats your boss you little bitch' Conor was stumped.

Floyd via DQ
    Was it any good tonight?

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Hasn't started yet

Floyd via DQ
    Woops!

Thought it would have been on a bit earlier being an East Coast one no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Oh yeah it should have started around an hour ago I think. At least that was the start time I seen when I Googled it earlier