Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

I think McGregor will knock Mayweather out in the first two rounds.

FairCarefreeAfricanaugurbuzzard-size_restricted.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

I won't say too much but ever since he tweeted out my blog post, Ariel texts me every week to ask how I'm doing and to talk a bit of MMA or give me a little snippet, I'm sure he has better things to be doing than to text some depressed insomniac in Ireland, so from my viewpoint he's far from a "weasel". He's a good guy.

Honestly, if anyone else posted that I would say they are full of ****.

Fair play to him. Thats unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

I won't say too much but ever since he tweeted out my blog post, Ariel texts me every week to ask how I'm doing and to talk a bit of MMA or give me a little snippet, I'm sure he has better things to be doing than to text some depressed insomniac in Ireland, so from my viewpoint he's far from a "weasel". He's a good guy.

thats cool wonder fair play.

look the only person calling him a weasel is a dana who is the biggest two faced **** in existence so nobody listens to him anyway, i like ariel most of time but i'd never consider myself a fan as such, he does sometimes go too far example being brock leak for 200, i seen him break it on twitter and was a bit shocked, but watching the event that night with a few mates and their excitment at seing it announced in the promo made me feel robbed a bit and resentful if thats not too strong a word, to this day i don't know why he just didn't tweet massive announcment tonight and let ufc break it.... anyway tangent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Gamebred wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/DamonMartin/status/884487268291018752

Knew Helwani had an agenda, done a 180 on this and went full blast promoting it laughable ''journalist'', Dana must have no call on these no way he'd want Helwani involved.

I really don't get the Ariel hate?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I think he plays too many sides or tries to anyways, tries to be everyone's mate I feel hence Dana calling him a weasel, he has played a decent part in McGregors story I think giving him a platform when no one else would but hes a glorified fanboy when it comes to SBG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Glad to hear and im sure hes a nice guy (and most people say hes sound to talk to) but some of his journalist tactics rub me up the wrong way. Also his jumping on the mayweather v mcgregor bandwagon is laughable.

I suppose though i am a bit of a "weasel" criticizing him as i do enjoy listening to the mma hour every week

Wasnt long ago he was laughing saying zero truth to it happening, funny enough deleted them tweets now, amazing when your pocket is greased your attitude changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,306 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

That is class man!! Met him at the weigh ins at UFC Dublin and got a pic, he's a legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

I think he plays too many sides or tries to anyways, tries to be everyone's mate I feel hence Dana calling him a weasel, he has played a decent part in McGregors story I think giving him a platform when no one else would but hes a glorified fanboy when it comes to SBG.

I don't think he will ever be a Veronica Guerin type journalist and to be fair I don't think there's a market for it in MMA.

If he "went after" his guests with genuine hard-hitting questions - for example asking Conor why was there 40 nitrous oxide cannisters in his hotel room - I think he'd end up having nobody wanting to come on his show.

The way I'd look at it is it's more of a Graham Norton style interview than a Jeremy Paxman.

I don't think he will ever be a Veronica Guerin type journalist and to be fair I don't think there's a market for it in MMA.

If he "went after" his guests with genuine hard-hitting questions - for example asking Conor why was there 40 nitrous oxide cannisters in his hotel room - I think he'd end up having nobody wanting to come on his show.

The way I'd look at it is it's more of a Graham Norton style interview than a Jeremy Paxman.

True I probably expect too much of him, I think mma is too small to burn bridges with people so any hard interviews and he will have problems finding guests so understand that.

Michael Buffer saying it's looking promising for Bruce to be in the ring on fight night!

I'm thinking they might get Bruce to introduce Conor and then let the regular Showtime announcer introduce Floyd? That'd be a cool touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭hewhoscares

ricero wrote: »
    Schaub is a clown. Makes sense to have him involved with this circus of an event.

Also i agree with uncle Dana's nickname for Helwani.

Without being too b!tchy - your posts on here, while normally well researched, quite often annoy me with the obvious bias (They border on full blown McGregor propaganda, with logic and the known world ignored, articles and details that counteract your moot points are deemed irrelevant im favour of slanted views to support your own - im digressing and b!tching sorry!)

But the blog post in question was beautiful and this little titbit makes me quite warm inside and think alot better of you both:) What a lovely thing to read. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,306 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭hewhoscares

https://twitter.com/DamonMartin/status/884487268291018752

Knew Helwani had an agenda, done a 180 on this and went full blast promoting it laughable ''journalist'', Dana must have no call on these no way he'd want Helwani involved.

I really don't get the Ariel hate?

He's very much a sh1t stirrer and has his own agenda and self promotion as a priority.

Last year the big Brock drama and subsequent pity party MMA hour was just that. He bit the hand that fed, literally! He was being paid by the organisation that he was supposed to provide impartial news on. Thats rulebook 101 on journalism.

But he does seem a lovely guy and provides a platform and outlet for fighters they often wouldnt get. Conor himself owes a decent bit of his sucess to Ariels MMA hour, his early appearances on there started the hype train (sure his fight style did the business, but there is far more to his sucess than just the KOs), and it was Ariel giving him that platform to fly, even if it benefited them both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Interview with Dana earlier.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Ariel is class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

You cannot argue with the math.

John_D80 wrote: »
    Honestly, if anyone else posted that I would say they are full of ****.

Fair play to him. Thats unreal.
    Jesus Wept wrote: »
    Ariel is class.

I was having a rough time of things a few months back and Ariel messaged me to see how I was doing and I said "not too good but I really enjoyed the MMA Hour today it kept me occupied". Even though he had just wrapped up a 4 hour show, he still yapped away to me for nearly 2 hours until I felt a bit better.

I think we're thankfully moving in the right direction as a society when it comes to mental health and I'm posting this mainly to show if someone like Ariel can take the time to ask how I am (a nobody to him), then it might encourage us all to remember to do the same for others. Those 3 words ("how are you?") might not even get a reply but for someone in need of hearing them, they can carry a lot of weight.

I sometimes run things close here with being banned for my running disputes with EagerBeaverer but last Xmas, our mod Axwell was the first to ask me if I was doing ok and he was a huge help to me. Scudzilla offered me a ticket to a show to try get me out and about to watch some fights. DaRobot (thank you), Depp, Mean LaQueefa, Muahahaha, darced, swashbuckler, DeVore (the head honcho), moneyman, TimRiggins, BoHtox, GerryDerpy, Mellor (thank God you're on Australian time otherwise I'd be here on my own all night!)... I could go on but all of you have been great. John Kavanagh offered me a personal free lesson in jiujitsu if I could overcome my anxiety to get there and Richy Condon seconded that (maybe they just wanted to heel-hook me for writing these meandering essays :))

My point is there are some really good people in the MMA community and on this forum - which I think is the best on this website.

Helwani is one of those good guys. (I asked for his permission to post these private messages).

Boards.ie Scoop - He's wearing a suit and not his check shirt tomorrow :)

2q9anmu.png

10y1cp1.png

qso9c6.png

11wa683.png

Open to correction but I think that's the same TMZ interviewer who asked him who'd win in a fight between him and Jesus?

Either way Conor looked about 2 seconds from throwing that left hand if he asked another question :pac:

Q. Are you going to be smarter with your money than Floyd?

A. Mate I'm on Rodeo Drive blowing money what does it look like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Sorry lads....im not reading through the **** to see if this has been posted.

Has it been confirmed this is tied into a 6am fight start time ?

Its hard to be a serious journalist in MMA because UFC control access to everything. Ask a question that they don't like and your credentials are revoked. It's a ****ty situation but Ariel has to choose between his livelihood and his integrity. Integrity won't put food on the table so I don't blame his decision.

Karim Zidan has done serious journalistic pieces including covering fighters who associate with warlord Kadyrov. But he's not the type of journalist who needs to be at every event so he can afford to do these pieces. If Ariel asked Werdum or Frankie what they were playing at, he would probably never get to talk to them again.

Same goes for Kavanagh and his association with that Bahrain prince. They have dismal human rights over there. I would love someone to ask him what the **** he's playing at. Not going to happen, no journalist wants to be cut out of the McGregor loop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I've no idea how more people don't snap at ****wit journos like that TMZ chap.

**** off outta me face, and let me walk down the street in peace!

Open to correction but I think that's the same TMZ interviewer who asked him who'd win in a fight between him and Jesus?

Either way Conor looked about 2 seconds from throwing that left hand if he asked another question :pac:

:pac::pac::pac::pac:

Conor begs for a fight with Mayweather for ages and then says "Mayweather should have kept my name out of his mouth" lmao.

I am also hating the way Conor is so serious in every interview these days, I miss him from a year or two ago where he used to joke around and be light hearted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Syphonax

dashoonage wrote: »
    Sorry lads....im not reading through the **** to see if this has been posted.

Has it been confirmed this is tied into a 6am fight start time ?

See page 322 post 4817

I am also hating the way Conor is so serious in every interview these days, I miss him from a year or two ago where he used to joke around and be light hearted.

I'd agree with you there but I still want to wait for tonight before judging it because TMZ can rub anyone up the wrong way chasing them down the street.

That specific 'reporter' was the one who got Conor embroiled in that Jesus controversy too (I think) so there's no love lost there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭VW 1

He did make a joke about rodeo drive tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,926 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Paid his taxes and stayed retired? Where would Conor get his 100 million from then? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Anyone else find it funny he keeps posting topless selfies on instagram with things like Animal or beast on it, He's 5'8 and about 170 lbs , Not exactly a unit is he,
    Although not many regardless of size have a left hand like his

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭fitzparker

Flights for the presser were €50 the other day, same day flights.. now €250.... cannot of gone up because of that!!!

anyway 4 tickets there if anyone wants them haha :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

fitzparker wrote: »
    Flights for the presser were €50 the other day, same day flights.. now €250.... cannot of gone up because of that!!!

anyway 4 tickets there if anyone wants them haha :)

Couple of days out, it's a Friday, and there's a huge event on in London?

You'll find hotels are probably similarly hiked.

Supply and demand, baby.