Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Football Championships 2017 - Read Mod Note Post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭C__MC

I'd be weary of cork if I was mayo, the knives from the media are really being fired at them. Dangerous game as you'd expect a response for the sake of pride in cork football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

jr86 wrote:
    I remember cork threw together a makeshift "blanket" in 2014 after being trounced by Kerry. To be fair it worked well in the first half v mayo

Lots of teams do well against Mayo in the first half. It's what makes them a serious team, they are with the Dubs till the end too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Stoner wrote: »
    You know it's about Spillane making sure he got it though, you're a reasonable man you must see the distinction between accepting DC was wrong and how Spillane handled it

And a Mayo poster brought it up here, and you've brought it up too, and I'm talking about it . Maybe we should all move on.
    This would be like Ciaran Whelan paying particular attention to COC on the Sunday game to make sure action is taken. COC and Harrison still did whatever they did, but you wouldn't like a Dub pointing it out. That's what Dolan and Brolly pulled him up for.

That hasn't happened here, and hopefully no more agenda based media trials happen again this year. The championship is too short for lads

Totally agree Stoner but irrespective of the bias of Pat Spillane,he had in my opinion little influence on the likely outcome.Little more than a smokescreen.He may have relished the opportunity to put the boot in but all the CCCC had to do was as always view the match tape on Monday morning and the incident was black and white.It was always likely to feature strongly given it was televised live and was a big talking point.

He interfered however little with a match official whose protection I believe is absolutely sacrosanct,hence the three month ban as per the rule book.

You are dead right that I wouldn't particularly be overjoyed at Ciaran Whelan throwing in his tuppence re an incident involving either of the O Connor brothers.TBF I really rate Whelan as an analyst,little of histrionics and I don't believe he's overly biased,very fair in his opinions.

Time to move on.;)

C__MC wrote:
    I'd be weary of cork if I was mayo, the knives from the media are really being fired at them. Dangerous game as you'd expect a response for the sake of pride in cork football

But they don't respond to that do they? It just seems to make them worse, their last three managers all look lost although they did win in 2010, that team should have won more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

km79 wrote: »
    He started collecting POTY trophies
    Diarmo doesn't have one of them ;)

You need more than one of something before its a collection :D

That reminds me, I hear Mayo are hoping to start a full forward collection this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

You know it's about Spillane making sure he got it though, you're a reasonable man you must see the distinction between accepting DC was wrong and how Spillane handled it

Yeah Spillane maliciously read that rule for all to hear. Did you hear how he twisted the meaning of the rule to ensure that the CCCCCCC would have to change their minds and bow down to our Kerry Flag waving 8 All Ireland Medal wielding overlord and ban poor Dermo!

I mean the referee's report where the linesman documented the shove was never going to be enough on it's own. Luckily Spillane tarnished Diarmuid "punching Lee Keegan and knee dropping a prone Kildare player" Connolly's good name just enough to ensure that the 12 week suspension would hold out.

Pat Spillane spouts an enormous amount of ****e - the one time he stays sensible and on task Jim Gavin devotes a press conference to calling him out and RTE give Brolly unlimited air time to attack him. I guess he'll have to stick to religious references and calling every bit of good play from any county "Kerry-esque" from now on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Ah, the Spillane/Connolly stuff again. All my Christmases are coming at once!

Can we talk about Carlow GAA maybe! What a Championship for them so far! 3 wins! Gave Dublin a bit of a game as well. Could be very dark horses Saturday week ! (Disclaimer...I know they haven't a realistic hope!) Broderick is second top scorer as well!

DDC1990 wrote:
    Yeah Spillane maliciously read that rule for all to hear. Did you hear how he twisted the meaning of the rule to ensure that the CCCCCCC would have to change their minds and bow down to our Kerry Flag waving 8 All Ireland Medal wielding overlord and ban poor Dermo!

Didn't hear him read a rule about taking PEDs though.

I'm with Dessie on this one. Pat had an agenda.

We all know and recognise what DC did, there's no point reminding you about that again, you seem to prefer the simple argument.

Anyway I'm not revisiting this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Why would he read the rule out about someone that had already been banned months earlier? Hardly topical. Dumb comparison that does nothing to further your argument tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Didn't hear him read a rule about taking PEDs though.

I'm with Dessie on this one. Pat had an agenda.

We all know and recognise what DC did, there's no point reminding you about that again, you seem to prefer the simple argument.

When you are with Dessie on anything- you are probably wrong. Dessie is just trying to make a name for himself and as he offers nothing in the way of insight he must go down the tried and tested RTE controversy route.

I dont think Pat had an agenda- it was a big talking point from a big player in a game where essentially nothing else happened- it had to be covered.

Factor in that Sky had already covered it and it was something that they were always going to discuss, in detail.

It's actually getting quite hard to understand how people cant get their heads around the fact that Sky had dealt with it and everyone was already talking about it- but I guess it helps in Gavin's attempts to build some kind of petty/childish 'us v them' mentality.

An agenda would be Pat and several Kerry journalists all coming out at the same time on the same topic in advance of a big match with the intention of influencing it but sure that would never happen ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Surely Cillian O Connor is getting a hefty ban after Saturday?

Clare people very agreived after the game, 6 or 7 big calls against them which turned the game and then helped keep it there in Mayos favour.

Another ref or one doing its job properly would have seen Clare win. Some shocking poor decisions and every one of them then turned into a key moment in the game.
    getting away with nasty stuff for the last few seasons
    he's always in the referees ear too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

nice_guy80 wrote: »

Yeah it's funny as I hadnt noticed it until last year really- but he's very nasty/petty on the pitch.
    How he jumped into/over the keeper the last day while leaving a bit on him was hilarious in its sneakiness and he constantly seems to be wasping away at people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Jayop wrote: »
    Why would he read the rule out about someone that had already been banned months earlier? Hardly topical. Dumb comparison that does nothing to further your argument tbh.

Ah but that's not a true context of the timeline either Jayop .. Sports Ireland confirmed that O'Sullivan was banned on 29th May, Dublin game was 3rd June - both stories were the same week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

nice_guy80 wrote: »

given the straight reds for Higgins and Durkin in the first two games, the 2 head high tackles on Saturday plus the O Connor punch and the WWE style body slam by Harrison that both also went unpunihsed, are Mayo now the dirtiest team in the GAA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

given the straight reds for Higgins and Durkin in the first two games, the 2 head high tackles on Saturday plus the O Connor punch and the WWE style body slam by Harrison that both also went unpunihsed, are Mayo now the dirtiest team in the GAA?

People will still give that title to Tyrone for one reason or another I would say.

Mayo are filth though. And in fairness, they've tried everything else to lift Sam. They may as well give cute hoorism and assault a go.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

People will still give that title to Tyrone for one reason or another I would say.

Mayo are filth though. And in fairness, they've tried everything else to lift Sam. They may as well give cute hoorism and assault ago.

Same filth as Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone. No difference anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,799 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Is it Tuesday mornings now that we all wind up the Mayo fans?

Aidan O'Shea is a shaper and Cillian O'Connor is a no-trick pony if so.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Is it Tuesday mornings now that we all wind up the Mayo fans?

Aidan O'Shea is a shaper and Cillian O'Connor is a no-trick pony if so.

It's every day I thought?

yop wrote: »
    Same filth as Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone. No difference anymore

Ah there is. Those teams win All-Ireland's.

It's every day I thought?

No that's just the persecution complex.

keane2097 wrote: »
    No that's just the persecution complex.

It really is hard to tell anymore. It's gonna be a long summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,679 ✭✭✭elefant

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Ah but that's not a true context of the timeline either Jayop .. Sports Ireland confirmed that O'Sullivan was banned on 29th May, Dublin game was 3rd June - both stories were the same week

What good would reading a rule out have done for that? He had already served his suspension.

He was analyst for a game, where an incident happened that was already in the centre of the media spotlight. You expected him to bring up a doping case where the punishment had, not only already been meted out, but actually fully served? Why? To somehow prove he's not forwarding some sort of Kerry agenda on the Sunday Game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,051 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Some lads are peaking way too early.

elefant wrote: »
    What good would reading a rule out have done for that? He had already served his suspension.

He was analyst for a game, where an incident happened that was already in the centre of the media spotlight. You expected him to bring up a doping case where the punishment had, not only already been meted out, but actually fully served? Why? To somehow prove he's not forwarding some sort of Kerry agenda on the Sunday Game?

In fairness I (or anyone else) would never expect Pat to bring up, a doping case in relation to a Kerry player. Be realistic.
    PARlance wrote: »
    Some lads are peaking way too early.

Peak in August lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,195 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Ah there is. Those teams win All-Ireland's.

Tyrone have the same amount of All Irelands as Mayo.

A purple patch in the mid '00s, just like Mayo had in the early '50s.

Let's wait a while before we start using them in the same context as Kerry and Dublin.

Tyrone have the same amount of All Irelands as Mayo.

A purple patch in the mid 00s, just like Mayo had in the early '50s.

Let's wait a while before we start using them in the same context as Kerry and Dublin.

Ah Jaysus Tod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,679 ✭✭✭elefant

In fairness I (or anyone else) would never expect Pat to bring up, a doping case in relation to a Kerry player. Be realistic.

If he was asked about it I'm sure he'd talk about it. I don't think the issue was ever broached on The Sunday Game?

They were specifically discussing the Dublin match, and having not seen the game myself, all I'd heard about it all day Sunday was Diarmuid Connolly potentially being in trouble.

I can't believe we're still talking about this matter, but I can't see anything that Pat Spillane did wrong here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Stoner wrote:

That's fine but don't expect people to give you a pass on your bull**** when you claim Spillane influenced the ban.

It's bad enough that Gavin has resorted to that ****e to try and motivate the team without people actually genuinely believing it.

Not for Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

elefant wrote: »

The point I was making was that both stories were relevant to the same week. If the Connolly incident hadn't happened would the O'Sullivan case have been a topic on TSG? The fact that the offence and ban had been punished and served doesn't take away from the relevance of the story