Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

What the last few weekends have shown is the importance of a goal keeper who can kick long, short, straight and quick.

Sadly there has been a severe lack of same in many counties, and even lads who technically are good shot stoppers are unfirtunately unable to kick a ball out.

County teams who address this problem can only improve their chances of progressing further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭spurshero

Syferus wrote: »
    Chin up lads, it's a 1-1-1 record for both teams over three Connacht finals now. With Mayo starting to splutter there may be a few more chapters in this rivalry to come. Makes for a nice change from Connacht being a forgone conclusion. The best times for all Connacht teams have been when there were a few different teams from the province competing at the top level. Best of luck in R4.
    To be fair to mayo they are still a better team than either Galway or ros . They will be playing football in August unlike any other Connacht team . I hope I'm wrong but sat week will be the end for Galway and whilst I would love to see ros get to a semi I just don't see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

spurshero wrote: »
    To be fair to mayo they are still a better team than either Galway or ros . They will be playing football in August unlike any other Connacht team . I hope I'm wrong but sat week will be the end for Galway and whilst I would love to see ros get to a semi I just don't see it

It's hard to make any case at all for Mayo being better than Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭spurshero

Why . I think contesting all Ireland finals in 3 of last 5 years make it ano brainer. We haven't won in croker in championship since 2001 . We wouldn't have beating them this year only for we played with extra man for 50 mins . And just to be clear I like Roscommon but wouldn't have much time for mayo

I'd agree Mayo will still be the strongest team in Connacht by the end of the year in terms of how far they progress. They have the proven players the other sides don't have and have the experience and perseverance to get the job done against average sides even when not at their best. For all their obvious failings and signs that they are on a downward trend there were some signs that they were getting some form back yesterday in the 2nd half even though Clare contributed significantly to their own downfall.

I'd back Mayo to beat Roscommon if they met and definitely would back Mayo against Galway if they met in Croke Park which obviously now isn't going to happen. In terms of the bigger picture the Kerry forwards will do serious damage against any of the 3 teams if they perform to their capabilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Tellyium

Why . I think contesting all Ireland finals in 3 of last 5 years make it ano brainer. We haven't won in croker in championship since 2001 . We wouldn't have beating them this year only for we played with extra man for 50 mins . And just to be clear I like Roscommon but wouldn't have much time for mayo

True. Put it like this, would we have felt confident beating Mayo if we had met them in the semi last year or later this year? Mayo are top 5, we are patently not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Where would you rank both overall so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

threeball wrote: »
    Have we got any development squads working in the background with good club players who didn't make it at minor or u21 but might have been late bloomers or do we just write lads off if they're not pulling up trees by that stage?
    I know I played with a couple of players who were top class but never given the chance at county level. I'm sure its the same story in clubs across the county.

What club players are you referring to? I can't think of many who haven't been given a chance. I'd say in the last couple of years (certainly this year), Walsh has been very willing to give club players a chance. For example, Barry McHugh got on the panel purely through club form. He didn't play a huge amount of underage for Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

Looking ahead Galway play Donegal in a neutral venue. Where would that be? Castlebar, Roscommon, Cavan?

Roscommon will play either Mayo, Donegal or Cork, Also in a neutral venue away from Croke Park.

If It's Roscommon and Mayo the game will likely be in Galway, If Donegal, likely in Cavan and if Cork, likely in Tipperary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

Breffni would be fairest in terms of equal distance, but both counties are so big, it would depend if you were measuring from the centre of the county or any of its extremities. Sligo was used before and would slightly favor donegal in terms of distance from. Castlebar was used in 2003 but was a lot easier to get to for Galway people than Donegal.

The best location probably would be Carrick on shannon, but it only has a capacity of 15k. Pity it wont be croke park, but hey, the GAA are stuck for money and need a rock concert or 2 to make up what they are losing out on, what with sky coming on board 3 years ago and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,455 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Looking ahead Galway play Donegal in a neutral venue. Where would that be? Castlebar, Roscommon, Cavan?

Roscommon will play either Mayo, Donegal or Cork, Also in a neutral venue away from Croke Park.

If It's Roscommon and Mayo the game will likely be in Galway, If Donegal, likely in Cavan and if Cork, likely in Tipperary.

Every quarter final has been played at croke park since 2002. Every quarter final replay has been played in croke park since 2003.

So ifs it Mayo and Roscommon in the quarters it's going to be croke park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Also what was the point in bringing Meehan back, what are we supposed to be Dublin and holding him back for an AI final?.

Didn't mind him not playing in the league but he's back in the squad now for 3/4 months and is togged.

I'm sure he's not happy to be togging and not even getting a game... he hardly came back for training sessions.

Agree entirely. I said on this board last week that Meehan wouldn't get a game because we probably wouldn't need him, I figured the only way he'd get on the pitch is if we were in trouble with 10/15 mins to go and needed a goal.

Well guess what, we were in dire straits at that stage and needed a goal and we had the best goalscoring forward in the country sat on the bench, there was nothing to lose by throwing him in there.

I know it's always easy to blame the management but KW and his backroom team have to take a massive amount of the blame for this. Some of the regular posters on here were saying 6 months ago that our lack of a kickout strategy was a disaster waiting to happen and and the disaster happened today as predicted. Shame KW wasn't listening.

I still feel that we have good young players coming through and there's potential there but it won't be happening under this management, who should be ashamed of that performance.

We do need to find a full back line from somewhere though, as the likes of Kyne and Kerin are no more than decent club footballers, not county standard. God forbid we get to a semi final and they have to face James O'Donoghue and Paul Geaney.

Roll on the hurling semi final.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,560 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Galway have played Donegal in Croker, Castlebar (replay) & Sligo in the recent past. Personally I would prefer Castlebar. And our lads played their best games there last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭rgace

Galway were destroyed by Roscommon, do you think there is any chance at all that would have happened to Mayo?

I can't remember the last time Galway put two good performances back to back, a very overrated team and clearly a poor mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

I'm not sure of what the peronal agendas are on here but trying to absolve the keeper from blame for the short kick outs and putting it all on Walsh is a bit ridiculous.

Walsh's main mistake was picking a keeper who is easily the most sub-standard I have seen at intercounty level- I've seen better Junior B keepers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Looking at hurling draw the semis should be tipp beating Clare and Waterford should just have enough to shade Wexford 3 maybe 4 points.
    The semis will be a draw then for pairings as cork have beaten them both am I right on that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭Ballstein

Delighted for Roscommon. Galway beating a stuttering 14 man Mayo by a single point and all of a sudden they were world beaters. Seeing the posts here and the divisions between the Cunnies and the rest it's clear the bleak times are here to stay as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I'm not sure of what the peronal agendas are on here but trying to absolve the keeper from blame for the short kick outs and putting it all on Walsh is a bit ridiculous.

Walsh's main mistake was picking a keeper who is easily the most sub-standard I have seen at intercounty level- I've seen better Junior B keepers.
    Management picked 4 keepers off the top of my head with short range kickouts. That's not the end of the world if they can be smart with the short game. We've yet to see that and it is a huge factor in Galway losing games. Blaming the keepers exclusively isn't fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Management picked 4 keepers off the top of my head with short range kickouts. That's not the end of the world if they can be smart with the short game. We've yet to see that and it is a huge factor in Galway losing games. Blaming the keepers exclusively isn't fair.

It wasnt just the kickouts - I'll park this now though

This might be a bit off topic but I think the GAA or Connacht Council or the powers that be should ban umbrellas from Stadia.
    It absolutely infuriates me when some ignorant bollix in front of me puts up an umbrella. This to me is the absolute height of ignorance. Why not wear a hat or a hoodie like the majority. If you have to use an umbrella, fair enough then feck off up the back with it where you won't be blocking anyone's view! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

gammygils wrote: »
    This might be a bit off topic but I think the GAA or Connacht Council or the powers that be should ban umbrellas from Stadia.
    It absolutely infuriates me when some ignorant bollix in front of me puts up an umbrella. This to me is the absolute height of ignorance. Why not wear a hat or a hoodie like the majority. If you have to use an umbrella, fair enough then feck off up the back with it where you won't be blocking anyone's view! :(

Can't ya watch the game on sky instead :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Surely Meehan will get a run the next day for Galway with Comer and Lundy out.

Is Comer out with 2 yellows? I dont think so?

I said wrote: »
    Can't ya watch the game on sky instead :)
    Nothing beats being there! ;)

As for Sky I fully agree with Michael Duignan's comment on The Sunday Game last night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Surely Meehan will get a run the next day for Galway with Comer and Lundy out.

Comer is not out. Lundy is but he's not much of a loss these days. Has gone backwards from his great form of a few years ago and basically comes on and picks up cards these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Match is Sligo per Donegal Gaa twitter

i wonder who Galway will put on Michael Murphy. Going to be a very tough day for whoever gets that job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Comer is not out. Lundy is but he's not much of a loss these days. Has gone backwards from his great form of a few years ago and basically comes on and picks up cards these days.

Fair enough re Comer. If things are going bad, Meehan might be an option, but having said that a big ask with no intercounty football under his belt lately. He seems to be in the squad to boost morale more than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭threeball

Fair enough re Comer. If things are going bad, Meehan might be an option, but having said that a big ask with no intercounty football under his belt lately. He seems to be in the squad to boost morale more than anything else.

I doubt he sees it that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

i wonder who Galway will put on Michael Murphy. Going to be a very tough day for whoever gets that job.

Not overly worried about Murphy. he spends most of the time out around midfield these days.

McBrearty against any one of our full-back line fills me with dread though.