Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

PressRun wrote: »
    I don't know why people give out about the free taking as if it's so easy. It's not an exact science and it takes a lot of practice to perfect. Cillian has been a bit hit and miss this year, but a team without a solid free taker is going nowhere.

TBF I don't think people are giving out,it is just noticeable that the exceptionally high standard of freetaking we have come to expect from Cillian is'nt quite there for a period time.

I'm sure he'll resume normal service when we most require it.I would agree to a degree with that poster that he's been a tad off colour from general play.Some of that may come down to a role he's been given or his tendency to drift out the field rather than staying inside where he's most effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

km79 wrote: »
    For what it's worth I'd have Diarmuid ahead of him too
    And Andy of 2 years ago :D

Diarmuid o Connor ahead of comer? Mayo don't get half the returns from play or fouls that Galway get from comer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Damien Comer showed his true colours today too. Very lucky he got a second yellow and not a straight red. He's a thuggish player with little skill and a big temper, and when the pressure came on and his team needed him to kick points with a strong breeze he wasn't able. Shane Walsh carried him. Damien Comer = over rated.

Any county panel would take Comer in a heartbeat. Reckless but he is one of the very best young talents in the game. Like an AOS who can actually run.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Syferus wrote: »
    Any county panel would take Comer in a heartbeat. Reckless but he is one of the very best young talents in the game. Like an AOS who can actually run.

Ah Syferus, you disappeared 12 months ago and now your back on the Mayo thread....... :rolleyes:

If you can't support your team when their low no point coming out when they are winning really! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭jeffred

No I'd prefer to be drawn against Kerry.

Likely to have to play them anyway so better to get them after a months break and two fairly straightforward wins over much weaker opposition.

Monaghan nearly caught them in 2007 and Down certainly did in 2010.

I was thinking the same but the fact it's a one week turn around for us (if we win the next game) is a bit of a worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

jeffred wrote: »
    I was thinking the same but the fact it's a one week turn around for us (if we win the next game) is a bit of a worry.

Very good point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Ye won't expend much energy beating us. Probably could rest a few lads as we are dreadful. I presume it will be Ennis again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

He has risen from the dead that he is lord as the song goes.
    Syferus where have you being the sheep are looking for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭casscass4444

Very enjoyable seeing the same Galway knobs that were on here having a dig at us earlier in the week back on the Galway thread turning on their own players and management this evening.

Bit harsh don't you think when people on the Mayo forum were calling for rochfords head a few weeks back.theres banter and there's name calling and abuse.bit far?

This coming for some 1like you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

A quarter final against Donegal or galway will be a big help to them though in terms of ironing out any issues or playing lads into form

They've had it incredibly easy in Munster I just feel now is the exact time to rattle them.

Like last year too if we did pull off the upset we'd have an easier semi and perhaps a chance to calm down any hype or delusion before a potential final. I do think the more tame build up last year was a huge help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

He's a tremendous ball winner, he's tremendously strong but technically he is poor. He has a thuggish mentality, similar to Diarmuid Connolly, obviously without the skill set of Connolly. I don't rate Comer too highly, he's effective yeah, but he's not exceptional by any means. Shane Walsh is in a different realm to Comer. Comer seems to have an ego about him too, it's egos like his that lead to Galway crumbling in games like today when they go behind. Maybe his disgraceful behaviour at the end of the game is tainting my view on him slightly.

Comer is decent enough, but there's definitely a nasty side to him. He supposedly spat on Keith Higgins in the semi-final prior to the sending off.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Weren't you escorted off this forum a few times already..... anyway go back and plan for Donegal. Just watching it on the Sunday Game, how Mayo didn't beat Galway is beyond me. Comer through a punch, should have gotten straight red.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

yop wrote: »
    Weren't you escorted off this forum a few times already..... anyway go back and plan for Donegal. Just watching it on the Sunday Game, how Mayo didn't beat Galway is beyond me. Comer through a punch, should have gotten straight red.

Just watching that on Sunday game now. Comer will surely get a ban, a good few punches thrown

McStay looked like a worn man, happy for him and for all the abuse he took from social media, radio and ex Rossie players. I wasn't a backer of him for the Mayo role but he has shown today a great tactical awareness.

Just watching that on Sunday game now. Comer will surely get a ban, a good few punches thrown

Spillane and Brolly will mention it here now, if it was Connolly.... Sorry Stoner/ProudDub! :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

McStay looked like a worn man, happy for him and for all the abuse he took from social media, radio and ex Rossie players. I wasn't a backer of him for the Mayo role but he has shown today a great tactical awareness.

Agreed I'm delighted for Kevin McStay,he was quite emotional in the interview.

I'm sure Kevin McStay feels vindicated after all the abuse he's gotten. Had a feeling they had a big performance in them. Delighted for Kevin tbh.

Ah Syferus, you disappeared 12 months ago and now your back on the Mayo thread....... :rolleyes:

If you can't support your team when their low no point coming out when they are winning really! :D

And again, I've been posting regularly on other forums. I just don't like the sanitized, commercialized approach to discussion that Boards.ie deals in. Whatever about any other topic that is totally at odds with the rough edges and the ethos at the heart of GAA support.

When you feel the same you know where to find me if you want to talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Spillane and Brolly will mention it here now, if it was Connolly.... Sorry Stoner/ProudDub! :D:D:D:D

I'm always confused when Interior Design mod trys to be sarcastic. Should I say something snarky back about tassels, or the shag carpet Mammy O'Shea has in her house or something? :p

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I'm always confused when Interior Design mod trys to be sarcastic. Should I say something snarky back about tassels, or the shag carpet Mammy O'Shea has in her house or something? :p

Haha, now now,

And again, I've been posting regularly on other forums. I just don't like the sanitized, commercialized approach to discussion that Boards.ie deals in. Whatever about any other topic that is totally at odds with the rough edges and the ethos at the heart of GAA support.

Also known as disappearing when the sh(te hits the fans. No need to find you its grand ;)

The Dubs will be delighted now with the coverage there of the Mayo lads! :D Wonder they didn't comment on Comers punch into the face of the Rossie lad..... Outcry now on Hill16 page I assume! :D

So your off again for 12 months is it

The Dubs will be delighted now with the coverage there of the Mayo lads! :D Wonder they didn't comment on Comers punch into the face of the Rossie lad..... Outcry now on Hill16 page I assume! :D

Sorry. What was that? Are you talking about a qualifier game?

Did something happen in a qualifier game?

Yeah, we don't really pay any attention to them.

We leave that to ye lot.

Wake us up when it's August. :D

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Sorry. What was that? Are you talking about a qualifier game?

Did something happen in a qualifier game?

Yeah, we really don't pay any attention to them.

We leave that to ye lot.

Wake us up when it's August. :D

;) Oh we will wake ye up for sure! Dermo will be fully prepared for battle!

COC and Harrison could get banned for them challenges, I think COC was a pat more than a punch, but Harrisons wasn't a nice take down.

Dermo?

Which Dermo?

The burnt out shell of a Young Footballer of The Year?

Or the one that was at Coldplay last night? :p

Didn't think there was a whole lot in the Cillian incident, tbh. He was being hassled by the Clare goalkeeper and fullback off the ball all day.
    Brendan Harrison was very lucky to get away with what he did though. Very bad tackle and unneccessary stuff really. Management need to look at the team's discipline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Don't get me wrong I think harrison should be banned for life or imprisoned or whatever but the headlock carry on needs to be stamped out too, that can just as easily be a neck crank

naughto wrote: »
    So your off again for 12 months is it

Ah Naughto, I always had time for you and I've no inclination to fight with you or Yop who is a proper supporter of his county if nothing else. Pop along to GAABoard sometime, you'd fit in well lad.

All the best in R4. Wouldn't have any issues with a Ros-Mayo AIQF.