Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Feck, well behind here.

Where are you getting the surgery?

Don't do what I did and go to a different physio, go to the physio with the surgeon as they are used to recovery and what you need to get done. Keyhole surgery and you should be flying though. My friend got his knee done on a Friday and was out and about Saturday in town, I thought he had it done weeks before.

50 miles a week, eh don't bother. Go easy and don't worry about the pounds as they will come back off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Bit late catching up here as well. Sorry to hear about the injury, but glad to hear the prognosis is good. Best of luck with the procedure, and easy does it in the meantime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Fri 2nd-thur 8th: no running.

I did 3 x 80 mins walks and 3 S&C sessions.

A bit of a concern is the pounds are starting to go back on. No running and comfort eating is a double whammy so I need to carefully keep it in check. I'm almost a stone heavier that I was last October.

Fri: surgeon said to start running again but no hills or twisting/turning. Did 4 miles easy around the grass pitch, spent too much time worrying that I'd twist my knee on the uneven surface and not enough time enjoying it!

Sat: late evening run, 5 miles easy on local roads, felt surprisingly stiff!

Sun: did a family relay with the 3 kids, the 7 year old ran his 1.7 miles without stopping or complaining, the two teenagers, mother of God, moaning and groaning before, durning and after!

5 miles very easy.

Pm: got out for another easy 4 miles.

9 miles for the day.

Short term goals: (next 10 days)

- I want to run 50 easy miles next week.

- clean up the diet and lose the few extra pounds put on over last 2 weeks

- 3 S&C sessions

- 1 session in the pool with 10 easy front crawl lengths. (It better be a small pool :))

TbL

Just catching up too - sorry to hear you're in grief. Hopefully you'll be back at it fully soon. Don't knock the pool as an alternative - I've taken to it recently of necessity along with the bike & I'm definitely moving more freely. Good luck with the op & the recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Currently working on a very short term goal approach, with a 10 day block horizon as I think this will help me achieve more and also give less wiggle room for excuses. A goal of running a sub 3 this year is too general and allows to much latitude for shifting the goal posts.

Completing shorter objectives will also obviously help with the sub 3 target. I've also decided that I don't need to put undue pressure on myself to run a sub 3 while being miserable and carrying a hape of niggles. So I'm not committing to anything apart from getting fit and strong at this stage.
    Anyway that geriatric Itizger just ran sub 3 and he's older than me :)

Mon: decided to run at lunchtime and I was in the vicinity of St Endas school so I parked up and did 5 miles at around 8.30 pace around the pitches. Haven't been up there in 35 years (the place hasn't changes much) and the pitch isn't as flat as Dangan so I'll probably only run there again if no other option. One side of the pitch is along the boundary of Salthill golf club and there was plenty of middle aged fat lads driving carts after a small white ball. I was thinking the knee better heal up as I'd rather be a one legged high jumper than a golfer!

5 miles @ 8.31

After work I went for my S&C session, today we concentrated on core work and I was really put through my paces. The guy is very good and is currently working with the Galway footballers. (They did look strong as they put Mayo to the sword again!) Don't enjoy doing it but always feel good afterwards.

I'm back on "My Fitness Pal" which really worked well for me last year. The discipline to accurately record everything you eat and the calorie intake display really force you to carefully manage what you eat. I must have been consuming 6000 calories a day over the last few weeks!!!

Tuesday: heading to London for the next few days. Was up early to get a run in, ran the 1.5 miles up to the local GA pitch, did 3 miles around that and jogged home.

6 miles @ 8.27

Landed at my hotel late evening, knee was stiff after the flight and driving, room service or a run?? I was on the way over to hit the hotel treadmill for 3 miles when I realised it would be bright for another while yet. Did a 3 mile Nursing Home Special on a badly cut up narrow path, as cars whizzed past. Very slow to start but finished it feeling a lot better.

3 miles @ 8.59

9 miles for the day.

Good start, need to keep the momentum going.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

That Itziger fella is thinner and faster than ya too though. And he doesn't have a job that sends him to New York, Tokyo and Galway in one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Feck ! I'm only catching up on logs now so sorry to hear about the knee. Hope the recovery goes well.

Bit of a disappointing last few days on the mileage front.

Thur: was still in London and had arranged a very early morning run with a work colleague but I slept it out! Didn't get home till very late, so no run.

Fri: saw the consultant, he was very positive and is hopeful that I'll be back on the road in a short timeframe.

I had a S&C session and I really worked myself to the limit, so much so that a few minutes after finishing I was feeling very pukey. No run.

Sat: did nothing but sit on my arse.

Sun: Not great weather when I got up this morning but apparently everywhere apart from West Galway is basking in glorious sunshine.

I had intended or running the Annaghdown 5k but in the end it didn't suit so I got out around 1pm and the sun had started to shine and it was lovely and warm. Mixed it up between laps of the local GA pitch and local boreens and tried to pick up the pace for the last few miles. Enjoyed this but I could still feel the stiffness in my core from Friday's session. Longest I've run in weeks and it'll be weeks before I run as long again, 10 miles @ 8.01 and I finished with 7.52, 7.33, 7.45 & 7.18.

The last mile had me fairly puffing and although I could have kept running for miles at the slower pace my "speed" has fallen ever further back.

On the diet front this week has been one of the best in months and I dropped a couple of pounds.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Best of luck tomorrow C!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Don't forget to get the gastric band fitted to, help with that gut of yours.

OOnegative wrote: »
    Don't forget to get the gastric band fitted to, help with that gut of yours.

It's buy one get one free surgery day so I'm having the mole on my arse, the one that intrigued you so much that day down at the canal, removed. :)

Tnx Annie

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

It's buy one get one free surgery day so I'm having the mole on my arse, the one that intrigued you so much that day down at the canal, removed. :)

Tnx Annie

TbL

You swore blind that day that it wasn't a mole it was a beauty spot, fooking liar!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

I see you.

How did you get on yesterday as presume it was 3 for 2 day?

Online in hospital bed or home?

aquinn wrote: »
    I see you.

How did you get on yesterday as presume it was 3 for 2 day?

Online in hospital bed or home?

:D:D:D love this, you can run (I hope!) but you can't hide!! (well, actually you can hide, she'll never see me online :p).

Tell us all - ah he's gone again!

In and out in the day.

Was nervous as the last time I was under a general anaesthetic was over 40 years ago! Superb care and professionalism in Galway Clinic and the surgeon was absolutely fantastic.

The anaesthetist was a gas man :), was chatting about running and said he did 5k's and his pb was...

Next thing I woke up in another area surrounded by other patients either still asleep or coming around, it was all a bit surreal.

Surgeon came around and said all went very well with no surprises, so happy enough with that.

Felt a bit ropey after the GA and the journey home wasn't that pleasant.

I'm minus half a meniscus but I've been told I should be able to continue marathon running.

Started some exercises today, more tomorrow, gentle swimming and cycling in 6 days (provided wound healed) followed by a slow return to running.

All in all happy with the prognosis.

Ive also got a tummy tuck, lost the double chin and am down to a 28A cheat size :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

oooohohhhh will there be a grand reveal of the new you?

Seriously though, delighted to hear it went well and you're home and on the mend already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

I was at graded track meet last night and was convinced I saw yours and AMK love child (basically looked like you with A's tan) was thinking to myself the surgeon had done wonders.

All in all happy with the prognosis.

Ive also got a tummy tuck, lost the double chin and am down to a 28A cheat size :)

TbL

What the heck is a cheat size :D I'm fairly sure the lowest you can go is 32 btw.... ;)

Glad to hear it went well, even gladder to hear you'll be swimming and biking :D. Don't forget the yoga!

Here's to a quick recovery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Great to hear that it went to plan.
    Best of luck on a full and speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Speedy recovery :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Recover well TbL :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

All the best chief - hope the recovery goes well. Don't get too fond of the bike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good news, C, all the best with the rehab. Must try to race you when you're still injured. :)

I definitely don't make a patient patient.

24 hours after the operation my knee swelled up and was very sore, stiff and immobile. I was up all night draped in self pity wondering why I was getting more knocks than a cheap hookers front door!

Ran the surgeons office in the morning and was told I'd probably overdone things and to ice it and rest it more. Had to cancel a work trip to the US and took a few days off.

That seemed to do the trick and it settled down pretty quickly to the extent that over the next few days I was able to do the prescribed exercises and 30 mins walking.

Went back to my S&C sessions mainly concentrating on core work and did some low resistance cycling on the gym bike.

Also got the walk up to 3 miles.

Was told that after a week I could incorporate some gently running if I was able to handle it but after a S&C session my knee was stiff and tender so I decided to put it off for a few days.

It's a delicate balance trying to decide if your not pushing it enough or overdoing it and there doesn't appear to be any general template as everyone's recovery is different. This is the bit I struggle with most, I much prefer a more prescribed approach and I'm hoping to see the surgeon this week and get a more formal recovery plan.

Anyway I decided to go to the school pitch up the road this morning. I'd planned on walking a lap and then doing a shuffle jog up the sideline at the end of every lap. Planned on doing 10 of these. I even put on the Garmin so I'd feel like I was running again!!

Decided to call it a day after 6 laps and sideline jogs as the knee "feels funny", it's not sore but it feels like the muscle fibres are tingling. So not knowing if that's a good or bad sign I decided to call it a day.

Not much running going on here but posting here makes me feel like I going in the right direction.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Take it easy fella, it's a longish road. Pushing too early would be a disaster.

Yep, the whole 'everyone's different' is a real pain the jacksie! I'd say erring on the side of caution is always going to be better though (says she, yes I know, pot/kettle etc etc.) You need to play the long game, which is no fun in the short term but will be worth it.

What about your swimming? And nothing wrong with walking for the time being either..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Take it easy TbL & Listen to the Surgeon/experts. Your recovery will be all the better if you don't rush it.

With apologies in advance for the lack of running on a running forum but posting here is inextricably linked to my running for the last few years and I'm trying to convince myself that I'm back "training"

I think it was A Quinn that advised to use a good physio to monitor your rehab and I should have heeded this advise from the get go. You are somewhat left to your own devises when you leave the hospital, I got a sheet of exercises from the hospital physio and about 5 minutes explaining them, and that was it. I e-mailed the physio department at the hospital a week ago, asking a couple of questions and I'm still waiting for a response.

Decided to take matters into my own hands and see my own physio last Monday and I was glad I did. I was concerned that I was overdoing it and that was why my knee was stiff/sore. She spent a good bit of time assessing me and came to the conclusion that I wasn't doing enough exercises or knee mobility. Was told no running at all for the week, got new exercises and was told to embrace my inner tri fairy and hit the pool and bike.

Since Monday I've embraced a Captain Ahab like whale obsession to rehabilitation, Captain Rehab at the ready.

Tuesday:

3 x 20 exercise routine, knee massage and 4 mile walk.

Wednesday:

-early morning physio.

- hit the watt bike in the gym, had to be shown how to set it up. Did a warm up for 20 mins and then 5 x 1 min at a faster pace. Interestingly even with a sore knee the right leg was producing more power than the left leg.

- hit the pool, mother of mercy, I swim like a 3 legged hippo on acid and at one stage I ended up with a mouthful of the lane separating rope!!!
    Water was flying everywhere and I only managed 6 lengths "freestyle" before I calved.

- a few lengths of pool jogging

- cyro bath

Thursday:

- 3.5 mile early morning walk followed by a massage.

- lunchtime, hit the watt bike again. Another 20 min warm up followed by some fast 1 minute intervals. I had planned on doing 6 faster reps but only managed 3 as I was knackered. Did the faster stuff at 300 watts and 120 rpm. I'm sure some tri fairy will tell me that that probably generated enough power to get a child's tricycle up a slight incline :)

- did some jogging lengths of the pool.

- evening 2 mile walk followed by exercises.

Knee vastly improvement since Monday and hopefully I'll be gentle jogging on the pitch shortly.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Tell us about the cryo bath. Any side effects? ;)

Good work - stay patient!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Knee vastly improvement since Monday and hopefully I'll be gentle jogging on the pitch shortly.

No need to rush back to the pitch, we are loving the pool updates :pac:.

Your progress is so fast I might request a damaged meniscus for my next injury. Check in with that physio about the return to run details though ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Good to see you on the road to recovery, C. Keep up the good work. A month of that kind of stuff and you won't know yourself when you do get back to full running. If you have the option I would favour the pool rather than the pitch as your location of choice for running for the time being. You will get far more bang for your buck and we all know you're a value for money kinda guy ;)