Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

km79 wrote: »
    Do people still want O shea dropped to the bench as an impact sub cos he is only a 50 minute man at best ?
    No?
    Ok so ;)

Nonsense if the highest order when it was posted. And by some regular posters too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

km79 wrote: »
    Do people still want O shea dropped to the bench as an impact sub cos he is only a 50 minute man at best ?
    No?
    Ok so ;)

answered your own question , either leave him i midfield or full forward and dont keep moving him around the place , playing him center forward is a total joke few years back he was the best midfielder in the country , if he is lacking pace or fitness do a donaghey on it and stick him full forward , i cant really see where a debate should arise over him , still a top player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,051 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Just watching it again. Dessie Dolan at HT: "7 or 8 of this Mayo team are 32-33" How do these guys gets jobs with RTE.

From the starting team: Clarke and Moran are the only two that fit into that category, Boyle is 31 afaik. I don't think there was another 30 year old that started or came on... Seamie & Tom might be boardline but I think they're both 29 still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

answered your own question , either leave him i midfield or full forward and dont keep moving him around the place , playing him center forward is a total joke few years back he was the best midfielder in the country , if he is lacking pace or fitness do a donaghey on it and stick him full forward , i cant really see where a debate should arise over him , still a top player

Quoted the wrong poster in the last post. So your telling me the head boss man New he had that performance in him tonight after the last couple of club games and with his club games performance in recent weeks there is now way you could start him on the back of that if u can't do it for your club what are the chances u do it for county.
    I am delight he did what he did to night we needed a big man to stannd up

If i iam being honest that had to be the worst 70 mins of mayo football I have sat threw and I have being at a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

naughto wrote: »
    Quoted the wrong poster in the last post. So your telling me the head boss man New he had that performance in him tonight after the last couple of club games and with his club games performance in recent weeks there is now way you could start him on the back of that if u can't do it for your club what are the chances u do it for county.

If i iam being honest that had to be the worst 70 mins of mayo football I have sat threw and I have being at a lot

He has been doing it for his county for years. He is along with Cillian and Lee Keegan one of our most important players
    Some people just seem to have a problem with him for some reason...........again I'll say we are lucky to have him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

naughto wrote:

The shooting was shocking alright, Fielding and running the ball was not that bad though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Just look at this if you have any doubt about the depths Derry were prepared to descend to, to damage Diamuid O'Connor and other players. There's fisticuffs and then there's the gutter.

You can't play football against a team that has a gameplan that dosn't include football.

1343386.jpg

421262.JPG

naughto wrote: »

qualifiers are not about performance it all about momentum , our hurlers have used it as a springboard for several years now to compeate in the all ireland

you will always have bad days when you win in these type of games , its complete catch 22 , you are playing a team thats division 3 next year if you win by 10 "its only derry " if you struggle "its a bad days work"

AOD is a serious midfielder at inter county level surly what he dose at his club position wise should not matter , lee keegan or kevin mccgloughan would be good examples of that

Oldtree wrote: »
    Just look at this if you have any doubt about the depths Derry were prepared to descend to, to damage Diamuid O'Connor and other players. There's fisticuffs and then there's the gutter.

1343386.jpg

421262.JPG

it happens in several situations in different levels in gaa , whats the solution let the lads on the sunday game have a 30 minute dabate about it ...or move on , i highly doubt killian is too worried about it tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,192 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I said last week that this team would not fill us with confidence.

Well they went a step further and are now trying to drain the last ounce of confidence out of us.

I seriously thought that was lost, after the umpteenth wide I thought that it over.

I've never seen such a terrible display of shooting before in my life.

And the problem is, for all their great work tonight, Loftus and Doherty will probably suck next week.

it happens in several situations in different levels in gaa , whats the solution let the lads on the sunday game have a 30 minute dabate about it ...or move on , i highly doubt killian is too worried about it tonight

Ffs he's trying to gouge out David's eye!!! Do that on the street and it's a serious assault. Would any of ye teach that to.our younger players as an ok and acceptable thing to do.

It's all fun and games until someone loses an eye.

Oldtree wrote: »
    Ffs he's trying to gouge out David's eye!!! Do that on the street and it's a serious assault. Would any of ye teach that to.our younger players as an ok and acceptable thing to do.

It's all fun and he's until someone loses an eye.

yes you are right , but you are talking about players who have been in the gym for this for the last 10 months , who have been expecting this type of hassle for the same number of time ect , i hardly it was a one sided argument either , if the player has a problem let him make a complaint , ect ,

you dont teach kids to do it ,but its a tough game where players careers are on the line something is going to give , the way the championship has gone you would need joe duffy presenting the sunday game rather then michael leister or des cahil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭statto25

yes you are right , but you are talking about players who have been in the gym for this for the last 10 months , who have been expecting this type of hassle for the same number of time ect , i hardly it was a one sided argument either , if the player has a problem let him make a complaint , ect ,

you dont teach kids to do it ,but its a tough game where players careers are on the line something is going to give , the way the championship has gone you would need joe duffy presenting the sunday game rather then michael leister or des cahil

Are you having a laugh? Are you telling me it's OK to stick not one but two fingers into an opposing players eye because it's a "tough game" Absolute bollocks. Regardless if Diarmuid did something untoward that sort of **** is beyond a joke.

I do appreciate it is a hard tough game. Mayo are no shrinking violets but over the years their skills have won through. if you don't have the same level of skill or fitness on the day against say Dublin or kerry yes it can get a bit more on the physical side, But there had to be a line and for me the line is eyes. That's somthing them do!

While I agree that there's a lot of fuss made these days, you have make a distinction and say that it's totally unacceptable to be gouging someone's eye. It looks bad from that picture, if video backs it up, then he should get the book thrown at him.

No excuses for that at all. Hit a shoulder, give a few digs etc etc but that carry on is something a scumbag would do.

Was Emmett McGuckin no 14 and he was specifically mentioned before the match as one to watch for trouble. So known for it and clearly tolerated by the Derry management who also did themselves a disservice today too.

statto25 wrote: »
    Are you having a laugh? Are you telling me it's OK to stick not one but two fingers into an opposing players eye because it's a "tough game" Absolute bollocks. Regardless if Diarmuid did something untoward that sort of **** is beyond a joke.

did you read any of my comment or just some of it , it hardly was a one sided argument , yes eye gouging is wrong but what rules exactly exist between a scuffle in the middle of a game ?

PARlance wrote: »
    While I agree that there's a lot of fuss made these days, you have make a distinction and say that it's totally unacceptable to be gouging someone's eye. It looks bad from that picture, if video backs it up, then he should get the book thrown at him.

No excuses for that at all. Hit a shoulder, give a few digs etc etc but that carry on is something a scumbag would do.

yes no excueses for eye gouging but it didnt just happen out of chance ,

did you read any of my comment or just some of it , it hardly was a one sided argument , yes eye gouging is wrong but what rules exactly exist between a scuffle in the middle of a game ?

What did Diarmuid do to provoke such a reaction ?

so ....there is rules now in a of the cuff scuffle in the middle of a high octane game of football where your season rests on the next 70 minutes even your career

if a fight breaks out in the field anything goes , and dont worry there are no saints involved either

so ....there is rules now in a of the cuff scuffle in the middle of a high octane game of football where your season rests on the next 70 minutes even your career

if a fight breaks out in the field anything goes , and dont worry there are no saints involved either

I don't care what went before, no player should stick his fingers into another players eye.

look you are right , no player sets out to do that , it all happened in a moment , the derry player in qustion will surly be embarresed when he sees it , but whats the point in hanging him out to dry on the sunday game or in the media ,

all that crap is ridiculous if mayo people are serious about wining an all ireland , an isolated incident that happened yesterday should hardly be a problem ,

i seriously cant get over the reaction to this , things like this happen every week in gaa

look you are right , no player sets out to do that , it all happened in a moment , the derry player in qustion will surly be embarresed when he sees it , but whats the point in hanging him out to dry on the sunday game or in the media ,

all that crap is ridiculous if mayo people are serious about wining an all ireland , an isolated incident that happened yesterday should hardly be a problem ,

i seriously cant get over the reaction to this , things like this happen every week in gaa

Your posts that were trying to excuse the incident are getting more of a reaction than the incident itself.

I don't even know who the offending player was nor do I care. If it's found that he did do it on purpose, throw the book at him. Himself or Derry aren't of any concern anymore but that doesn't mean scumbag behaviour should be accepted / excused.

No they fu1cking don't what sort of games do u go to. 12 weeks will not be enough for this p1rick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,192 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

franklyon wrote: »
    We pulled through, thats all that counts. Guy gave Conor Loftus MOTM??:confused: Yes was a great goal but I thought Aidan O Shea had his best game in the jersey for...well ever. Real tough game with some bad wides but we live to fight another day.

As they said on the broadcast they picked Loftus because his two scores changed the game.

Mayo were so inconsistent they could not find anyone else.

As they said on the broadcast they picked Loftus because his two scores changed the game.

Clarke or O'Shea should have got it

Is there anything out about Leroy how bad is the injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭TommyDe

Have you ever had someone stick their finger into your eye? It's frightening and your eye won't be right for a week after it. A couple of mm more in would be all it takes to lose the sight in it.

This is a serious question as your talking it down; but are you well in the head?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,785 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Got to admit, if I was from Mayo, my legs would be jelly after watching a game like that! As it is, I worry about Dublin not getting tested for ages and then being caught cold by a team with more desire, but you guys get my respect for just being able to walk after that!

Not very versed on how Mayo are going outside of when you play Dublin, but from what I saw, Aidan O'Shea had a stormer. Seemed to pop up everywhere, and not in a bad way, he was always affecting the game.

I wonder if Andy Moran isn't more suited to be an impact sub at this stage, an immense player, but surely he's lost a bit of pace?

Do you guys have good forwards coming through from the underage teams?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

Very true, but Aidan O Shea was anything but inconsistent, he pulled this Mayo team through yesterday, I wouldn't be his biggest fan but he deserved MOTM.
    On another note, how is Lee Keegan? I heard yesterday was just taken off after a bad knock and nothing long term. Hoping this is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Ciaran Whelan put the nail on the head,the lads confidence is shot at the moment.Derry are a very average team whom Tyrone put to the sword with relative ease.That being said I do not believe that this team has become a bad team overnight.In spite the sheer awfulness of the performance for 65 minutes or so they dominated the contest.

Hopefully we'll get a home draw on Monday,any favours from the Gods are to be gladly accepted.Sligo or Meath at home would be met with open arms.I would not fancy a trip up to Ballybofey or Cusack Park.

The full back line is under serious pressure,Ger Cafferkey is really struggling at full back,Chris Barrett was very solid in the corner.But both men struggle under the high ball,I dread to think what damage a Kieran Donaghy like player could inflict.

If as seems likely Paddy Durkan is gone for a month,two games.He is a huge loss I'd like to see Shane Nally see more game time in the half back line.We can't afford to lose Lee Keegan,hoping that the fact he did'nt require the stretcher might be a good omen.Yet again when a man was needed to step up he was not found wanting on a day when even the best of Mayo players was no more than average.

Tom Parsons workrate and highfielding was exceptional but similar to Colm Boyle his accuracy of footpassing and shooting like the whole team needs working on.Primarily a lack of confidence that could be so easily rectified by one good day out.

Well done to Aidan O Shea,there was no evidence of any impediment to his performance due to that groin injury.Aidan really stood up,won some vital ball in the middle and when switched inside layed off some nice ball.Although he was inclined to barge on occasion.

The forwards are as always what is be the winning and losing of contests for us.I think the management are far too slow to make switches,Donal Vaughan is quite an athlete but I'm not so sure there was a lot of constructive end product.Stephen Coen is primarily a half back/midfielder and no forward.

I am on the side of those that believe Andy Moran should not start but Andy is a fantastic player to have in your armoury as an impact substitute for the last twenty minutes.

Delighted for Conor Loftus who I believe is the most talented young forward coming through,he has demonstrated his potential at minor,under 21 and senior level when given decent game time.He alongside Jason Doherty must come in to the reckoning as starters the next day out.Conor's cameo yesterday was sublime.He has the vision of a young Kieran McDonald from what I have seen thus far of him.

I think we have all said it before but please let us never see Kevin Mc take a free on the right side again.Cillian O Connor freetaking is still exceptional although not as good as a few years previous.Kevin Mc is a much more likely to score when he has no time to think.Amongst the team he is the most obvious confidence player and hopefully will get a shot in the arm with a few handy scores.

How about putting Donal Vaughan in full back?Just a curveball,Ger Caff will be given more to get rid of all those cobwebs after his long layoff.He's bound to be a bit ring rusty.Presumably Keith Higgins will slot into the half backline.I'd be inclined to start Shane Nally ahead of Donal Vaughan in place of Paddy Durkan.That soft centre of ours has been a recurring theme for years that has yet to be resolved with or without sweepers.I suppose many of the top teams are vulnerable when one runs at them.

I can't see Fergal Boland holding onto his place,Diarmuid O Connor was one of the more effectual forwards yesterday when he was brought on.Nice to see the management appears to be picking the team based on form and I'd have believed they were quite within their rights to drop Diarmuid and Seamie O Shea after the Galway game.

A place for Jason Doherty and Conor Loftus must be considered with Andy Moran coming in off the bench.

Re the eye gouging incident,I hope the book is thrown at that player for such a downright despicable act.

I am hoping we will no more acts of indiscipline and the war wounds of Cillian,Lee etc are insignificant.

It's a wonder Bernard Flynn was'nt whining about Aidan O Shea getting a rub down at half time in extra time away from the main group huddle,no team player. In fact it was Aidan who galvanising the players in the huddle before the commencement of extra time.TBH I have never given any countenance to this opinion that Aidan should be used as an impact substitute.

Roll on 8.35 tomorrow.