Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭stanflt

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Now now tut tut Stan !!!!

An elephant never forgets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

thisyear wrote: »
    Lads any of ye still doing AI, let the bulls out last week as I was worried(lazy) I might miss a heat but one of the feckers is lame this morning. Any thoughts on heat detection on 3rd or 4th rounds going back to AI?

Still at it here, teaser bulls with chin balls top up tail paint once a week and on anything served.
    Using beef ai going grand dont think i am missing anything, keeping a couple of teaser bulls is cheaper than buying beef bulls to cover small number of cows. Just over 8 weeks ai done, cows checked at milking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,482 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

stanflt wrote: »
    Were you not spouting on about feeding no meal earlier in the yearðŸ႒

No. have never not fed meal here and never said we didn't feed meal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

And your some elephant !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

7 ft here and it's nice and spacious but I think it's too wide. Doing an extra step to get to the other side than is necessary. I'd go 6 ft max if it was to be done again
    Have seen removers in without swing arms and it's fairly dangerous tbh. They can come across the pit at you with out them

5f6 pit here, with swingovers, and its plenty wide enough I think. I'll admit I've never been in a pit with acrs and no swingovers, I just know it can be done. Much more common is a 4f6 pit with no acrs but the vacuum drops when the cow is milked.

No. have never not fed meal here and never said we didn't feed meal

Ay I must be confusing you with another poster that used to be on here-green grass was his handle- he was on twitter too

Think I remember that lad too ,if he had to feed meal and only if it would be just hulls to get him out of a hole ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Timmaay wrote: »
    5f6 pit here, with swingovers, and its plenty wide enough I think. I'll admit I've never been in a pit with acrs and no swingovers, I just know it can be done. Much more common is a 4f6 pit with no acrs but the vacuum drops when the cow is milked.

A lad in the group got that fitted dunno what it's called but seems to work teat ends ok and clusters dont fall off. Is it duovac or something from delaval

K.G. wrote: »
    You can be thinking of me tonight as you press the button and i hump my way through1/2 ton a day at the minute.

Can't believe how long we went without feeders, used to come home from school and throw out 300kg with buckets, got a root chopper then and extended the auger to throw it out in the feed passage. And with all the bollixing because they were fed in yard or passage heifers or timid cows got feckall. Was a damn fit minor tho went full circle once I hit college tho ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭visatorro

Timmaay wrote: »

How does the vacuum drop? Does the cluster fall on the ground?

Maby but never seen it Tim,also if building new DONT go with a small narrow pit as it's a complete balls of a job and there's no changing it .4ft 6 with acrs is an accident waiting to happen with clusters been whipped off and narrow work space .ideal pit width would be somewhere beteween 6 and 7 foot

Excuse my ignorance but what could happen with the cluster coming off?

visatorro wrote: »

Swing out from cow and belt you in the balls!

Mooooo wrote: »
    Swing out from cow and belt you in the balls!

Be a while before you put the next row on so!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

If it's an Elephant he's feeding he's gone a wee bit too far with the cross breeding thing.

visatorro wrote: »

Narrow pit and get whacked in the head with cluster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,810 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Narrow pit and get whacked in the head with cluster

I am not tall. Never had a problem with being hit anywhere with an cluster coming off, depends on your parlour set up

whelan2 wrote: »
    I am not tall. Never had a problem with being hit anywhere with an cluster coming off, depends on your parlour set up

Wide pit whelan ???,I got whAcked a bit when I went to new parlour but not anymore ,6ft 6 wide pit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,482 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

As I said, Always fed meal, never denied it or made out otherwise

Herd test all read ,one fookin reactor ,only ainmals with a lump worth measuring ,.not convinced she has it and hoping for no legions and clear cultures and one clear test and I'm clear again .obe of my better cows too ........

Sorry to hear that-

Is there much tb in your area? That's a pain

whelan2 wrote: »
    Is there much tb in your area? That's a pain

Nope no restrictions on any one ATM .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

If she's registered the financial hit won't be too bad.

She is ,also milk recorded and has high ebi ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Will all the stock bulls you sold need to be tested? Do you think it'll affect future sales?

Don't know ,hopefully not ,a bit miffed really at the reactor no one else in area down ,not a lump to be measured in anything else ,only animal bought in is 2 stock bulls which are from herds clear for years .ill be pushing to get ainmal out of here asap and if no legions and cultures clear I want clear herd status after one clear test .anyway there's worse things in life ,no one died just a pain in the ass and an inconvience .any beef stock and bulls I had to sell are sold and next time I'd of wanted to sell stock voluntarily is next janurary when culls go

Fcuking tb 5 reactors including stock bull bollix ta fcuk

Only see you're gone down as well mj. Commiserations. Will plant kale again in case I have extra stock in winter

Fcuking tb 5 reactors including stock bull bollix ta fcuk

Fook it. Was the bull bought in?

Only see you're gone down as well mj. Commiserations. Will plant kale again in case I have extra stock in winter

Sorry to hear that chief ,pure bollix of a thing is tb,bad enough is testing but having reactors and extra testing is just pure draining