Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

Phoenix magazine ads.
    Is the VO guy putting on a voice?
    Heard somewhere it is (was) supposed to be a takeoff of Charlie Haughey's voice (or at least Dermot Morgan's interpratation of it, as in "Get in here Mara").
    Why then, would they continue to use a voice which hasn't been heard in over 20 years in order to sell something?
    Unless it's his real voice.
    In which case I'd recommend him getting a new job.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

"Sh1t in this box and post it into us" add is back. Off with the radio again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Phoenix magazine ads.
    Is the VO guy putting on a voice?
    Heard somewhere it is (was) supposed to be a takeoff of Charlie Haughey's voice (or at least Dermot Morgan's interpratation of it, as in "Get in here Mara").
    Why then, would they continue to use a voice which hasn't been heard in over 20 years in order to sell something?
    Unless it's his real voice.
    In which case I'd recommend him getting a new job.

Surprised he managed to avoid a slagging here until now. It was meant to be a take off of CJH. Wasn't a great take off long ago and is basically meaningless now.
    Ciaran_B wrote: »
    "Sh1t in this box and post it into us" add is back. Off with the radio again.

Don't think you need to send in a full 2 footer :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Just heard it for the first time this morning but that new ad for 1,2,3 with the complete g0b****e who can use the SatNav got very annoying after the first listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Lemonposset

Ugh, the Opel OnStar ad with the obnoxious bratty teen who won't talk to her dad and demands to know if the car has wifi. Just imagining a trip anywhere with that kid makes me shudder and not want to buy an Opel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"But, I just got your name tattooed on my ..."

What? Arse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ShazGV

Really like the new ad for 123.ie of a guy arguing with his sat nav. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,419 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Ugh, the Opel OnStar ad with the obnoxious bratty teen who won't talk to her dad and demands to know if the car has wifi. Just imagining a trip anywhere with that kid makes me shudder and not want to buy an Opel.

Was gonna post that myself. They should spend the money on therapy instead of numbing wi-fi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,168 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The 2 Cork rowing lads advertising eggs, such utter utter sheite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    "But, I just got your name tattooed on my ..."

What? Arse?

I thought it was going to be elbow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

I thought it was going to be elbow.

Who knows??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Toyota service ad with the ominous music and the Opel ad with all This 'gravitas ' tone about he speaker ....,. They're only shagging cars ffs .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Oops69 wrote: »
    Toyota service ad with the ominous music and the Opel ad with all This 'gravitas ' tone about he speaker ....,. They're only shagging cars ffs .

I hate car ads. They all seem so arrogant. How can you ALL be arrogant? Surely you should look at each other and the less good ones should be sort of less arrogant? But then again, as you say they're only cars. Almost everybody I know owns one already. They're not exactly rare and precious.

You said you'd drive a Mercedes Benz one day. Yes, I did. When I was a kid. I also used to argue that Burger King was significantly better than McDonald's, before I realised that both were in real terms identical. In much the same way a Mercedes would drive me to Lidl in exactly the same way as the second hand Mondeo sitting outside my house does. Only the Mondeo also drives me to the airport a couple of times a year, since I can afford to go on holidays to interesting places, having not wasted my money on a Mercedes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I'm sure your selection of interesting holiday destinations is in no way influenced by advertising. But your choice of car for the trip to the airport may just have been due to a subliminal message you picked up.

My choice of car was influenced by my missus saying "They're selling off the old rep cars in my work. Do you want one,they're way cheaper than at a car dealiership, and the '00 yoke you're driving now is falling apart."

"Yeah, sure. What kind of car is it?" I said.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I hate car ads. They all seem so arrogant. How can you ALL be arrogant? Surely you should look at each other and the less good ones should be sort of less arrogant? But then again, as you say they're only cars. Almost everybody I know owns one already. They're not exactly rare and precious.

You said you'd drive a Mercedes Benz one day. Yes, I did. When I was a kid. I also used to argue that Burger King was significantly better than McDonald's, before I realised that both were in real terms identical. In much the same way a Mercedes would drive me to Lidl in exactly the same way as the second hand Mondeo sitting outside my house does. Only the Mondeo also drives me to the airport a couple of times a year, since I can afford to go on holidays to interesting places, having not wasted my money on a Mercedes.

Totally agree. There's one, not sure what car it's for, but it has a bit of self-awareness and humour. Talking about how there will be no cold bums and no getting caught in the rain because of the heated seats and umberellas that come as standard.

That Mercedes one is particularly bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭mimimcmc

I know they're probably pronouncing it correctly but they way they say "Mer-say-dayz" on those ads drives me insane!! :mad:

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,793 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

"People spend half their lives chasing shadows..."

Do they really?

The BMW marketing dept must be one of the most condescending and insulting to the intelligence of their target market.

"We call [our outrageous pricing] BMW Economics..." Incoherent meaningless drivel with a bit of extortion thrown in for good measure is what I call it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭plodder

The weirdest car ad has to be that one for Renault with the chap in the strange French accent saying things like "menage a trois" and they're saying everything sounds better in French -- not in that creepy accent, it doesn't !! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

that muck savage roaring out of the radio on the Expert Hardware ad:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭dogmatix

Totally agree. There's one, not sure what car it's for, but it has a bit of self-awareness and humour. Talking about how there will be no cold bums and no getting caught in the rain because of the heated seats and umberellas that come as standard.

It's for Kia. And I hate that particular ad.

I just heard an ad for Volvo (Made in Sweden, they sincerely tell me. Why do they all think I give a f*ck where they're made? And each one seems to think that's what'll make me shell out the 20+ grand.)

It started with a child telling me that this Volvo will see him/her even if I don't.

So there you go. Buy a Volvo or risk killing children. It's up to you.

I swear to jesus...

The prof . / "guinea-pig scientist" ads for energia , typical ad executive idea where anyone who has any scientific bent is caricatured as an absent minded EInstein .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,419 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Oops69 wrote: »
    The prof . / "guinea-pig scientist" ads for energia , typical ad executive idea where anyone who has any scientific bent is caricatured as an absent minded EInstein .

Are they based on Michael D. Higgins? Or is it just me?

Birneybau wrote: »
    Are they based on Michael D. Higgins? Or is it just me?
    In any case, if you have to ask if a voice is an impression of someone, the impression isn't good enough! :pac:

Reminds me of that Battery World one on Nova a while back, took me ages to realise it was meant to be Jeremy Clarkson.

The '3' mobile ads , he thinks he has such a cool voice , he just really drags out his pronunciation -- fake !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I just heard an ad for Volvo (Made in Sweden, they sincerely tell me. Why do they all think I give a f*ck where they're made? And each one seems to think that's what'll make me shell out the 20+ grand.)

It started with a child telling me that this Volvo will see him/her even if I don't.

So there you go. Buy a Volvo or risk killing children. It's up to you.

I swear to jesus...

Heard that one too, the tagline should be "If you need your car to spot potential dangers before you do, buy a ****ing bicycle instead" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,122 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Heard that one too, the tagline should be "If you need your car to spot potential dangers before you do, buy a ****ing bicycle instead" :D

The best bit is they mumble a disclaimer at the end that they're not responsible if the car kills somebody or something to that effect.

Just heard that again.

What the f*ck is your problem you stroppy a-hole? Get the f*ck out of the car and walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

The current ad for Air Arabia Maroc.

It's not the content, and to be honest it's probably not the worst, but it sounds like one of those spoof ads that turns out to be for the TV Licence.